Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Le Rhone (was Camping De Tournon)

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Rhone-Alpes > Tournon Sur Rhone > Camping Le Rhone (was Camping De Tournon) > Reviews

Camping Le Rhone (was Camping De Tournon)
Promenade Roche De France
Tournon Sur Rhone
Rhone-Alpes   (Browse area)
07300
Tel: +33 04 75 08 05 28
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 Stayed here twice again this holiday, the site was full by late afternoon each time.

There were a limited number of pitches free, but we were glad to be allocated one.

The pool was very welcome in the hot weather. 


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mjyou7 1 review from this member

 The site is in a good position on the banks of the River Rhône.

Some of the pitches are rather small and close together, especially for touring caravans, so the site does feel overcrowded in places.

Our pitch was one of only two larger ones we could see on the site. The facilities are excellent, as is the pool, although the gate opening mechanism is difficult to operate.

There is no bar or cafe on site but plenty within easy walking distance.

The site is beside a good cycle path which runs along the River Rhône.

Access to the site can be difficult due to car parking on the approach road.

Very friendly and helpful staff. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 Stayed here twice this trip, going south and north. We originally tried to get into the campsite on the other side of the river for a change, but it was full by 1pm, so we came here instead.

This too is a very popular stopover site and fills up quickly, especially the riverside pitches.

Some of these were reserved each time we were there. We managed to get a riverside hardstanding pitch on the way south, no shade on those and it was very hot.

Good to see the new facility block. The exterior has been retained and added to, the 2 M/F areas are now unisex, and the washing up/laundry are at the end of the block, undercover with some indoors.

And the outdoor swimming pool was very welcome too. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 125 reviews from this member

 The site is a bit scruffy with half given over to statics. However the location is excellent, overlooking the Rhone, and only a short walk into town with a number of restaurants.

ACSI rate was 18. 90 Euros for two adults with electric. The toilet facilities were being re-furbed as we arrived. There is free WiFi. Reception only open from 17. 00 to 19. 00 each day.

The limited number of touring pitches meant that it was fairly full even in March but it is a very convenient night halt when travelling South. However, on our return journey we found a much better site (Les Lucs at Tain L'Hermitage) just across the river. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 116 reviews from this member

 The site is rather dilapidated in structure but has some good qualities.

Close to the motorway, in the old sanitaire blocks there is hot to scalding water available, the pitches are all flat and well draining and there is an excellent free wi-fi throughout the site.

The brilliant reason for staying here is its position, right in the town, bordering the Rhone, shops in easy walking distance and the voie vert passes right outside the camp.

It is an excellent place from which to explore the region, even down to Valence.

An added advantage is that it is open all year round.

It is an ACSI site and claims to be in the second highest category (€17 in 2017). My feeling is that it should be one category lower at least.

Still location is everything and we will possible return 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lizzie 63 reviews from this member

 A well placed site for stopovers if a little forlorn at this time of year. There is only one ablutions block open at this time of year and it needs updating - it was a little smelly and three out of the five wcs were the Turkish type. The reception was closed when we arrived but a notice helpfully on the door telling you to choose a pitch and return at 5.

As it was a Sunday afternoon in early April when we were there, the town was very quiet and most shops and restaurants closed. I can imagine that later in the season when the trees are in leaf, both toilet blocks are open and the town is lively, it would feel like a very different place. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 An update as there has been no review for some time. We continue to use this site most years, as we love the situation on the side of the Rhone. The site has changed hands more recently and is now run by a young family, who are very relaxed and flexible. When we arrived in the afternoon they were almost full, but the warden found us a space, which was perfectly ok.

OH says the gents facilities could do with updating, I found the ladies to be in good condition, even though slightly old fashioned.

The site is in the ACSI discount scheme now. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 We came here again twice on this trip, now with our campervan. The first time we managed to get a pitch on the gravel area overlooking the river, stunning to see the sun shining on the vinyards on the hill opposite. On our second visit, all the riverside spaces were full, so we pitched on the road side. There wasn't much grass there so it was rather muddy under the trees.

We noticed that the campervan aire in the town square has been very much reduced, there are only a few spaces there now, and the campsite was quite busy instead. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Teetime 15 reviews from this member

 Lovely site on the edge of the river, close to the town with shops and restaurants. Some pitches are shaded and some face the river. Pleasant river cruises available from the town to a huge lock and back again. Very helpful staff in the tourist information office, interesting castle with views. One evening a cruise ship was moored nearby and was a bit noisy with a disco at around 11pm - but then it sailed off.

Wifi is available on site for a small cost if you need to catch up with emails etc. Toilets and showers are spotless. This is a lovely site for couples and to visit the town and local area. Regular markets are held, sometimes in the evening. We would be happy to use this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with car, tent and bikes.

We have used this site many times and I think I would say it's my favourite ever. It is not far from the A7 south of Lyon, and is not difficult to find on the opposite side of the Rhone to Tain L'Hermitage. It is right in the town centre on the riverbank, adjacent to the town square.

The pitches are mostly flat and grassy, and partly divided by bushes, there is a section of gravel too. Some of the pitches overlook the river and there is lots of shade. There are chalets on the site. The reception is by the barrier, you need a code to get in. The warden speaks some English.

One time we were there in very heavy rain, and there was some flooding on the gravel road, but it disappeared very quickly.

The campsite is right in the town centre, where there are shops and restaurants. The town square is next to the quay, river cruisers come in there. (There is also a large campervan stop in the square).

There is 1 toilet block, with separate facilities for men and women during the season. During low season the mens are shared by all. The washing up is covered round the back, and there is a laundry and drying area. Everywhere is very clean. There is a small playground and a games room. There is a snack bar which must open in summer.

You can cycle along the riverside, and on the Tain side the cycleway is quite extensive. There is a pleasureboat stop there too, I believe.

The supermarket is about 20 mins by bike.

Tournon is on the edge of the Ardeche, with it's watersports, cycling, and walking.

The price of this gem of a campsite is moderate, and if I really had to pick any faults I could only say that sometimes the cruisers come in early morning and can be a bit noisy. It's a great stopover, but also nice to stay for a few days. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Rhone (was Camping De Tournon) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Le Rhone (was Camping De Tournon) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Rhone (was Camping De Tournon)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Rhone (was Camping De Tournon) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tournon Sur Rhone      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Rhone-Alpes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


45213 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement