Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Huttopia Sarlat

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Sarlat La Caneda > Camping Huttopia Sarlat Reviews

Camping Huttopia Sarlat
Rue Jean Gabin
Sarlat La Caneda
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24200
Tel: +33 5 53 59 05 84
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 180
Open: 05/04 To 03/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Hobbits 20 reviews from this member

We spent 12 nights on this site and absolutely loved it. Driving home we were discussing what could be better and we really struggled to think of anything except it could be a bit less expensive!

Location is fantastic, it is just a 10 minute walk to Sarlat and although it is back up the hill it's really not that bad (unless you have toddlers / a pushchair ) and Sarlat is so worth the walk. The site itself is also steep but for me that just added to it's charm as you are rarely aware of how many pitches there are because they are split across so many different levels and areas.

Other reviewers have commented on the difficulties of getting a caravan / motorhome on the site but there were loads there during our stay and most seemed to manage OK. There is one corner leading to the upper levels (beyond where the caravans etc go) that has bad potholes but if taken slowly it's OK even when fully laden.

The site is in woodland so is very shady which we really value. We were even able to sling our hammock between 2 trees on our pitch. The pitches seem pretty flat and ours had electricity. There are sanitary blocks across the site so no-one is too far away from one and they were kept very clean and tidy.

Only occasionally did even 1 of the 4 cubicles near us run out of toilet paper. There was plenty of hot water and although the amount of time per button press on the showers was a bit short they are free and were good and powerful.

The leisure facilities are excellent - the outdoor and indoor pools were both lovely and very clean. There is also a paddling pool. The tennis court is pretty good (a couple of patches) and there were also a play area, ping-pong tables, boules, a table-football table, darts all near reception, plus a football field and volleyball pitch right at the top of the site.

The site was pretty much full while we were there and although the pool was a bit busy at times it never really felt too much.

The shop is rather expensive, but you have a Carrefour and LeClerc both within 10 minutes drive so no need to shop there unless desperate! The restaurant does great chips and we did have tapas there one night which was a bit of fun (and very tasty) if a bit overpriced.

You can order bread and pastries every morning and they always have extra if needed. You can recycle glass, plastic, cardboard etc at their bins that are opposite the entrance - we were impressed with this as many sites in the UK don't offer the chance to recycle and we end up taking stuff home.

There are also daily activities that range from kids club stuff to music quizzes, ping-pong tournaments and tree climbing. They all seemed to be well-attended and enjoyed but we didn't do any of them. However we did do a kayaking trip on the Dordogne that was arranged through the site - we were picked up by a bus at 9am and taken for the day, returning at 4pm.

It cost no more than it would have done direct with the canoe company and took all the hassle out of organising it, plus we were all pretty tired after the canoeing so there were a few snoozing on the bus back to the site!

The staff were all excellent, friendly and helpful with pretty good English from most of them. The fellow campers were a mix of British, Dutch and French.

As for the region, what can you say about the Dordogne! So much to do and so little time. We went to Chateau castelnaud (amazing both for the building, the museum of medieval warfare and the views) and the Jardins de Marqueyssac (quiet and shady, with a couple of fun play areas), the villages of Domme (stunning) and St Leon sur Vezere (lovely place for a riverside picnic), the wonderful Lascaux IV (the staff at there are very helpful) plus Sarlat itself a number of times.

Walking into Sarlat in the evening after dinner is wonderful as the town is still alive with street entertainers, buskers and people and although the main streets are busy you can wander down side alleys and find little bars and quiet corners.

Top tip if you visit in high season like we did would be to try and book tickets for some of the main attractions ahead of time e. G. Lascaux only has a few English language tours a day

I would highly recommend this site. Yes it is at the top end of the price range but you do get what you pay for in this case and we would definitely consider returning to the site when we come back to the Dordogne.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peeceecee 3 reviews from this member

A convenient site for Sarlat about 15 mins walk from the town, which is a gem. Downhill to town, but a steep walk back.

Site was fairly easy to access, but on a sharp bend so care needed. Strongly suggest avoiding market day for arrivals and departures.

The site itself is a series of terraces, some of which could be very difficult to access unless you have 4wd and a powerful vehicle as the access roads are very steep in places. We saw quite a number of front-wheel drive outfits and motorhomes struggling with much tyre stress.

The site facilities were good, clean and with plenty of hot water. Our pitch was a Camping+ pitch, which was of good size and access OK with a motor mover.

Power supply was good at 10amps, but unreliable. We were on battery power for some 36 hours before anyone managed to call an electrician.

The site was very pretty with lots of mature trees and shrubs and the swimming pool appeared to be good although we did not use it. There was a play area for children.

The free wifi in the reception area was useful, but extremely slow, about 200k only.

The staff were very helpful, speaking clear French or English if you preferred. The shop was very basic but bread could be ordered.

We were concerned at the poor security, there was no barrier and code, so access in and out on foot and by vehicle was unchecked.

This is not a site we would return to again, we thought it was very expensive, at nearly 30 Euros in mid September.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 34 reviews from this member

Main benefit of this site is its proximity to sarlat-down a steep hill-quite taxing coming back in the noonday sun. The campsite in September end of season had a very bedraggled appearance-minimal staff -only 1 toilet/shower block open.

Bar not open after7. 30. However, the swimming pool area is delightful-modern and clean all be it with strange low slung deckchairs type loungers!. As stated wifi only available at reception. Reception staff very pleasant but offered no guidance about suitability of pitches for caravans. -we weren't bothered about this but another couple just before us were given a pitch obviously not suited to their outfit.

I got the impression that the staff were trying to put everyone in the same area of the campsite. Lovely and quiet at night but not well lit so torches definitely needed. We would definitely go there again in the low season as we fell in love with the buildings and atmosphere of sarlat

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 167 reviews from this member

Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

An update of my review of 6 years ago. We have used the site since then, but not since it was taken over by the Indigo group, and indeed, joined the ACSI discount scheme.

Since we were last here, the main change has been the addition of many chalets and pre erected tents. These are mostly on the higher sections of the site. The bar has been refurbished too, but the rest is mostly the same as before.

We were invited to choose a pitch in a particular area. There had been heavy rain and some of the pitches were not in a good condition, but we had quite a good choice. Others arriving later struggled to find a suitable pitch.

The nearest sanitary block was up a steep hill, we had a good workout going up and down. All facilities are unisex, and not many toilets, so they were extremely busy as the site was quite full. Seemed quite clean though.

It was good to be back, and able to cycle down into the town.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Filly65 4 reviews from this member

Nice site close to Sarlat, easy to walk down to the town but uphill is steep on the way back. Site is on a hill and terraced, mixture of pitches with sun and shade.

We were told to pick where we liked to pitch within certain areas. Chose to be on a sunny terrace close to the facilities. Showers and toilets good, also plenty of hot water. Dish washing in the same block outside but under cover.

Outdoor pool not in use whilst we were there but the indoor pool was open and lovely on a hot day.

The town is lovely to visit and we will return to this site again, very reasonable price with the ACSI card.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: SWHITFORD 1 review from this member

We stayed for 6 nights at this site during the last week in August and feel that it's only fair to write an up to date review. We really enjoyed our break. We stayed in one of their wood and canvas tents, which was absolutely lovely. The facilities were modern and clean. There is a pretty pizza bar serving food and drinks until 10. 00pm. The staff were friendly and helpful. The site itself is fairly steep, but terraced, so the pitches are level. It is very shady with lots of trees and shrubs - perfect for hot, sunny days. The swimming pool area is tastefully laid out, with a small indoor pool for inclement weather: there are also ping pong tables and a children's play area. The position of the site is perfect for visiting the historic town of Sarlat - an easy 10 minute walk downhill into town and a slightly taxing 15 minute walk back - really not bad at all and easily manageable for middle-aged grandparents and children alike. We were slightly put off by older reviews, but since Indigo have taken over the site things have obviously improved significantly.

Yes, you may need a torch (bliss!) No, there are no pool flumes or cabaret (bliss!) - just a lovely ambiance and laid back, relaxed atmosphere. Well done Indigo, we shall definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Littlemorag 3 reviews from this member

We booked and prepaid for a 9 night stay last year. The website is very comprehensive and tells much of the nice facilities.

The site has a good rating on the AA camping guide to France so we felt confident that we were making the right choice.

The campsite is up a steep hill through the very busy medieval town of Sarlat and we arrived on Market day which was frankly terrifying getting through the traffic and crowds!

We have a 4 berth Ace and a hardy 2litre diesel estate but we arrived at the site only to be given a pitch, right up the top of the hill. We tried once to get up, and didn't succeed, the second time we got up but the entrance to the section was a total hairpin which was partially blocked by a mound of gravel. There were only tents and a very small tourer in the section so we went down to reception to explain the situation. We were told there's no more space available and it was that pitch or none- we had also paid in full so there was to be no refund.

We did not want to try again as the clutch nearly burned out on our second try.

I pride myself on researching sites thoroughly and there was no mention of the difficulty in accessing some of the pitches, in fact the steepness of the site was only mentioned in one review. I would not recommend this site to any double axle tourers, or even a mid sized tourer unless you had a big 4x4.

The site looked very nice but incredibly busy with children and families as it was peak season. We were so disappointed and it resulted in us having nowhere to stay for the 9 nights of our holiday. I believe the customer service could have been better handled as, frankly, we were left high and dry. We are pursuing a refund from our credit card issuer but we have learned our lesson to check the gradient on google earth Before setting off!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Franbee 167 reviews from this member

Reviewers - mature couple with car, tent and bikes.

We have used this site many times over the years and always look forward to coming back.

It is situated up a steep hill to the NE of the town centre, about 10 mins down on the bike, and 25mins pushing back up! It's a bit tricky to find, but just keep going round the ring road and it's signposted. The site is a wooded valley which rises up all around from the entrance, and the pitches are off terraced roads.

The pitches are mostly flat and grassy, though there is an area of gravel which is not suitable for tents. There are some stone chalets near the entrance.

The reception is at the entrance, the pleasant lady owner speaks good English. There is a small shop, and bar with TV. There is a snack bar but it has never been open when we have visited out of season. In the centre of the valley floor is the pool area, 1 heated indoor with sauna, plus outdoor swimming and kiddies pools, open all day and evening. Also a small playground and 2 tennis courts. Right at the top of the site is a large grass area suitable for sports, and further down a games room.

There are several toilet blocks, but only 1 or 2 have been open when we were there out of season. They are cleaned every day with bleach. Washing up is under cover. There are washing machines and dryers.

The narrow roads on the site are great for walking, cycling or jogging.

There are lots of shops and restaurants in town, which has a tourist trail, and a big market on Saturday.

The activities of the Dordogne region are nearby.

This campsite is expensive, but we consider it well worth the money. The only negative I can possibly think of is the steep hill up from the town. I believe the site may be up for sale, so check before you go.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Sarlat La Caneda      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5486 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019