Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Municipal De Macon

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Burgundy > Macon > Camping Municipal De Macon Reviews

Camping Municipal De Macon
1 Rue Des Grandes Varennes
Macon
Burgundy   (Browse area)
71000
Tel: 0033 03 85 38 16 22
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 266
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Montesa 34 reviews from this member

Little to add to previous reviews.

Decent enough convenient stopover site on mainly grass pitches - we stayed 2 nights to also do a vet visit & Macon centre walk through. Vet - do check directions very very carefully ! - ring first for appt. Pet check was e3. 40 in sept 2017 !

Dr J M Gilbert

At Replonges, - close to Macon

Speaks good English

46. 300377, 4. 876058

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 36 reviews from this member

After 21 years since our last visit, much was familiar about the site. However there had been improvements as well. This large site is mainly used for overnight stops, particularly by Germans and Dutch, as it is close to the A6 autoroute. Since our last visit the toilet blocks have been replaced with modern ones (no Turkish style W. C. S) although no seats. Toilet paper is on one large roll by the main door. Restaurant Le Tipi on site worth a visit, with a Buffalo Grill and a McDonalds close by. Also an Aldi across the road. Worth pre-booking in the main season as on return trip site was full by about 6. 00pm. This can be done online, pitch reserved but you still pay on arrival. Good sized pitches, all with electric, once you have booked in, they say to find your own pitch wherever you choose.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wp1234 13 reviews from this member

Stayed here at the beginning of July for 2 days as the weather wasn't great and thought Macon would provide some inclement weather entertainment. The welcoming warden at the desk was a bit of a misery but female assistant very helpful.

The site is huge and some pitches are nice and private. The site is obviously a mass transit camp for those campers(mainly Dutch and German caravans this time of year ) that are travelling North or South, most visitors are in for 1 day only with mass exodus starting from around 0700 hrs. What looks like an empty site at midday will be probably full by teatime.

That said the facilities are good with pool, free wifi, good restaurant on site and a buffalo grill and McD's just outside the gate. Showrs etc are numerous and it's a 'take your own bog paper' affair.

The town is 30 mins walking along the river or 15 mins by bike( recommend the bike ). Macon has an old part and a good self guide walking tour and some good eateries on the river. The town lays on free entertainment from end of June through the Summer.

At Euro 48 for 2 nights it's the most expensive site we stayed on this year but my no means the best.

Would stay again if I was passing this way otherwise no.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nazk 3 reviews from this member

I and my husband, we (50-52 years old) were travelling with a hired motorhome from lyon to dijon. We stayed there for one night. The weather was so hot but thanks to the shadows of the trees on the site we did not feel it. The showers were clean. We have chosen a pitch close by the shower 3 area which was clean and there were lavatories to clean our dishes.

Since it was a one night stay we did not try the pool and other facilities on the area. But ı can say that we prefer to stay there again.

Also the site is very close by the town Macon. Although it can be considered as pricey I strongly recommend the restaurant Pierre which is very close to the tourism information office.

There is lidl and auchan very close to the camping area. This is a plus too.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue-k-2009 3 reviews from this member

We used the site for a 1 night stop again this year. It was equally as good as last year. Toilet block still well kept and bar and restaurant were good. We booked as soon as we arrived and were glad we did as it was busy. We will definitely use it again.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue-k-2009 3 reviews from this member

Used this site as an overnight stop on our way to the South of France. We are a family with 18yr old son. It was easy to find and just a short hop from the AutoRoute. Check in was friendly and efficient and the staff spoke English. I had emailed 2 months before to ask if they could reserve us a pitch and they had all my details to hand when we arrived. Good flat pitch and had plenty to choose from we arrived at 5pm. Brilliant toilet block and very clean. Site is close to lidl and Auchan so we were able to get some food and drinks for our journey next day and fill up with cheap fuel. We booked a table at the site restaurant as soon as we arrived and were glad we did as it was very busy. It was 8. 8. 15 so height of the season. Food was superb - plat du jour 15 euros and it was steak and chips with a side salad with a choice of starter and dessert we couldn't fault it. An excellent site for a stopover and we will definitely use it again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hotel California 10 reviews from this member

Another one nighter. Plenty of room when we arrived mid afternoon but it soon filled up. English spoken in reception. The site was clean and tidy. The usual hedged off pitches and lots of trees so plenty of shade. There were very new looking toilet and washing blocks. The pool was closed. It was being renovated. Lidl and Auchan within easy walking distance. Free Wifi all over site. Quiet night when we were there. Went for a very pleasant stroll along the river into the town. This was a fair old hike there and back. Not the most economic site at 18. 45 for Campervan, 2 adults with electric.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 664DaveS 31 reviews from this member

We stayed for 6 nights, as we wanted to see the area. It is a large site which fills up quickly after about 4 pm, as it is close to the A6. It was very quiet and peaceful during the day. Some noise from the main road and the fire station opposite.

There was a lot of noise from adjacent nightclub one night ( a Thursday) but this appears to have been a one off as it was quiet at the weekend.

Pitches are large and fairly level. Toilet blocks large and cleaned daily, very modern.

The pool was nice, we had it to ourselves, no lifeguard present. A notice prohibits wearing shorts.

There is a small shop where you collect bread ordered from reception the day before. It sells essentials.

The adjoining restaurant is good, but got full due to world cup. (Big screen tv in bar) You can get a drink from the bar if you do not want to eat. Food was good and not too expensive. It has a nice terrace to eat on if weather permits, we felt they could do with extra waitresses, as the 2 there worked very hard.

There is a Buffalo Grill next to the site which is good but is a US style steakhouse. Good service and food though! We used it one night as the bar was too full and we do not like football!

There is a Lidl opposite and a massive Auchan a couple of minutes away-it has a fuel station.

It is about a 20 -30 minute stroll along the river too the town centre which has some old parts and a pleasant riverside promenade, with ample cafes and restaurants.

To get there you turn left out of the site along the side road, past the exhibition centre.

Cross the road by the roundabout into the park, then follow the footpath past the marina to the riverside

It is short drive from the site into the pleasant Bourgogne/Burgundy countryside with loads of pretty villages and wineries to isit. You can also follow the tourist Route desVins, which is a nice day out.

A good site for short or long stay, the staff are pleasant and speak english. We paid 21. 60 euros for oufit, 2 people and 6 A hookup.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Family AW 3 reviews from this member

Easy to find and only 10 minutes from the motorway making it an ideal stop over. We stayed two nights and visited the town too which was delightful. A lovely cycle along the riverside only taking 10 minutes.

Though a large site it had lots of shade and tree cover, was well set out offering pricacy and good sized pitches. Some pitches baked dry due to the hot summer and a challenge for our tent pegs but we were able to hunt around for one that suited us. Brand new toilet block, showers and washing up facilities which are excellent, cleaned daily and plenty of them.

Very good central play area for the kids and small swimming pool. Though BEWARE as speedos for boys and men only and a rather official man making sure all complied, even throwing out an older guy in swimming shorts.

Shop selling mostly booze, and bread and pain au chocolat etc in the morning. The campsite is opposite an Aldi and 5 minutes from a shopping complex so this isn't an issue.

Restaurant too on site which we visited offering Plat du Midi and Plat du Soir, plus a range of options. Prices mediocre and food of a good standard.

The staff were helpful and friendly. We didn't book and there didn't seem to be any need to given the size of the site and its high turn over of visitors passing through.

A very good site and good location if spending a few days or just passing through - worth a visit we would come back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JeanAvTow 4 reviews from this member

We are a party of 4 adults and stayed overnight here on our way to Annecy, and were pleased with the quality of the campsite. We were given the option of choosing our own pitch.

Very large campsite for a municipal, but no complaints at all. Pitches were plenty big enough for our needs, level and grassy. Clean, modern sanitaires. We had take-away pizzas which were very nice. Although we didn't use the restaurant, it did look busy. Shop on site was good, with lovely fresh bread in the morning.

Unfortunately we walked looking for a way down to the River Saone, which we were told was only 10 minutes, but could not find it after 30 mins of searching. (probably 10 mins in car?)

Would definitely stopover here again. Good value for money.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Macon      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Burgundy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5685 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019