Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Municipal De Macon

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Burgundy > Macon > Camping Municipal De Macon > Reviews

Camping Municipal De Macon
1 Rue Des Grandes Varennes
Macon
Burgundy   (Browse area)
71000
Tel: 0033 03 85 38 16 22
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 266
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 Just an update since last year.

I didn't think the site was quite as busy as usual, for the first Saturday in Sept.

The pool was very welcome in the hot weather, also the parkland along the riverside. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 Spent a night here on our journey south. Nothing seems to have changed since we were last here, 3 years ago due to Covid.

The sanitaries are of a very high standard, plenty of them too, and very clean.

Handy supermarkets across the road. A pleasant cycle to the river and then on into the town where we were lucky to find a Folk Festival with music and dancing.

Not in the ACSI discount scheme, so a little dearer than we would normally pay, but not excessively expensive. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Montesa 39 reviews from this member

 Little to add to previous reviews.

Decent enough convenient stopover site on mainly grass pitches - we stayed 2 nights to also do a vet visit & Macon centre walk through. Vet - do check directions very very carefully ! - ring first for appt. Pet check was e3. 40 in sept 2017 !

Dr J M Gilbert

At Replonges, - close to Macon

Speaks good English

46. 300377, 4. 876058 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 36 reviews from this member

 After 21 years since our last visit, much was familiar about the site. However there had been improvements as well. This large site is mainly used for overnight stops, particularly by Germans and Dutch, as it is close to the A6 autoroute. Since our last visit the toilet blocks have been replaced with modern ones (no Turkish style W. C. S) although no seats. Toilet paper is on one large roll by the main door. Restaurant Le Tipi on site worth a visit, with a Buffalo Grill and a McDonalds close by. Also an Aldi across the road. Worth pre-booking in the main season as on return trip site was full by about 6. 00pm. This can be done online, pitch reserved but you still pay on arrival. Good sized pitches, all with electric, once you have booked in, they say to find your own pitch wherever you choose. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wp1234 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed here at the beginning of July for 2 days as the weather wasn't great and thought Macon would provide some inclement weather entertainment. The welcoming warden at the desk was a bit of a misery but female assistant very helpful.

The site is huge and some pitches are nice and private. The site is obviously a mass transit camp for those campers(mainly Dutch and German caravans this time of year ) that are travelling North or South, most visitors are in for 1 day only with mass exodus starting from around 0700 hrs. What looks like an empty site at midday will be probably full by teatime.

That said the facilities are good with pool, free wifi, good restaurant on site and a buffalo grill and McD's just outside the gate. Showrs etc are numerous and it's a 'take your own bog paper' affair.

The town is 30 mins walking along the river or 15 mins by bike( recommend the bike ). Macon has an old part and a good self guide walking tour and some good eateries on the river. The town lays on free entertainment from end of June through the Summer.

At Euro 48 for 2 nights it's the most expensive site we stayed on this year but my no means the best.

Would stay again if I was passing this way otherwise no. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nazk 3 reviews from this member

 I and my husband, we (50-52 years old) were travelling with a hired motorhome from lyon to dijon. We stayed there for one night. The weather was so hot but thanks to the shadows of the trees on the site we did not feel it. The showers were clean. We have chosen a pitch close by the shower 3 area which was clean and there were lavatories to clean our dishes.

Since it was a one night stay we did not try the pool and other facilities on the area. But ı can say that we prefer to stay there again.

Also the site is very close by the town Macon. Although it can be considered as pricey I strongly recommend the restaurant Pierre which is very close to the tourism information office.

There is lidl and auchan very close to the camping area. This is a plus too. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue-k-2009 3 reviews from this member

 We used the site for a 1 night stop again this year. It was equally as good as last year. Toilet block still well kept and bar and restaurant were good. We booked as soon as we arrived and were glad we did as it was busy. We will definitely use it again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue-k-2009 3 reviews from this member

 Used this site as an overnight stop on our way to the South of France. We are a family with 18yr old son. It was easy to find and just a short hop from the AutoRoute. Check in was friendly and efficient and the staff spoke English. I had emailed 2 months before to ask if they could reserve us a pitch and they had all my details to hand when we arrived. Good flat pitch and had plenty to choose from we arrived at 5pm. Brilliant toilet block and very clean. Site is close to lidl and Auchan so we were able to get some food and drinks for our journey next day and fill up with cheap fuel. We booked a table at the site restaurant as soon as we arrived and were glad we did as it was very busy. It was 8. 8. 15 so height of the season. Food was superb - plat du jour 15 euros and it was steak and chips with a side salad with a choice of starter and dessert we couldn't fault it. An excellent site for a stopover and we will definitely use it again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hotel California 10 reviews from this member

 Another one nighter. Plenty of room when we arrived mid afternoon but it soon filled up. English spoken in reception. The site was clean and tidy. The usual hedged off pitches and lots of trees so plenty of shade. There were very new looking toilet and washing blocks. The pool was closed. It was being renovated. Lidl and Auchan within easy walking distance. Free Wifi all over site. Quiet night when we were there. Went for a very pleasant stroll along the river into the town. This was a fair old hike there and back. Not the most economic site at 18. 45 for Campervan, 2 adults with electric. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 664DaveS 54 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 6 nights, as we wanted to see the area. It is a large site which fills up quickly after about 4 pm, as it is close to the A6. It was very quiet and peaceful during the day. Some noise from the main road and the fire station opposite.

There was a lot of noise from adjacent nightclub one night ( a Thursday) but this appears to have been a one off as it was quiet at the weekend.

Pitches are large and fairly level. Toilet blocks large and cleaned daily, very modern.

The pool was nice, we had it to ourselves, no lifeguard present. A notice prohibits wearing shorts.

There is a small shop where you collect bread ordered from reception the day before. It sells essentials.

The adjoining restaurant is good, but got full due to world cup. (Big screen tv in bar) You can get a drink from the bar if you do not want to eat. Food was good and not too expensive. It has a nice terrace to eat on if weather permits, we felt they could do with extra waitresses, as the 2 there worked very hard.

There is a Buffalo Grill next to the site which is good but is a US style steakhouse. Good service and food though! We used it one night as the bar was too full and we do not like football!

There is a Lidl opposite and a massive Auchan a couple of minutes away-it has a fuel station.

It is about a 20 -30 minute stroll along the river too the town centre which has some old parts and a pleasant riverside promenade, with ample cafes and restaurants.

To get there you turn left out of the site along the side road, past the exhibition centre.

Cross the road by the roundabout into the park, then follow the footpath past the marina to the riverside

It is short drive from the site into the pleasant Bourgogne/Burgundy countryside with loads of pretty villages and wineries to isit. You can also follow the tourist Route desVins, which is a nice day out.

A good site for short or long stay, the staff are pleasant and speak english. We paid 21. 60 euros for oufit, 2 people and 6 A hookup. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Municipal De Macon child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Municipal De Macon have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Municipal De Macon?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Municipal De Macon dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Macon      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Burgundy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43683 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement