Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Elsich Barn Farm Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Craven Arms > Elsich Barn Farm Certificated Site Reviews

Elsich Barn Farm Certificated Site
Seifton
Craven Arms
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY7 9LF
Tel: 01584 861284
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 7
Open: 15/07/2020 to 30/09/2020
           01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ecookiemon 1 review from this member

 We canít recommend this site enough. Beautiful location, wonderful lady who runs the site (and working farm), great cakes and amazing space for kids to play. We go back every year and look forward to our next trip. The location is great for biking and walking as well as being close to Ludlow. Highly recommend******* 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SamJon01 1 review from this member

 We stayed here August bank holiday in our VW campervan, 2 adults and 2 children (aged 2 and 3).

The site was lovely, amazing views, electric, seeing the cows being milked was a definite highlight! The farmers and family were very friendly and polite. Will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joebonamassa 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location and the owners are very friendly. An average sized pitch with electric hook up (two small tents on there, one with two adults and one with a 15 year old cost us £21. 00 per night. The facilities were extremely clean. The showers were great unless there was a drop in water pressure and then they went cold. One of the showers would not turn on at all and we waited about half an hour and then it came on again. The grass had not been cut and it did not dry out very quickly because of this. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jazzist 1 review from this member

 Good base for exploring Ludlow, Much Wenlock, Ironbridge, etc. One of the nicest areas of the country.

Harry Tuffins nearby for supplies.

If passing through Church Stretton buy fuel here at the apple green garage, it's about 2p/litre cheaper than in Craven Arms and there are next to no petrol stations in Ludlow for example.

Good chippy by the post office / opposite the church hall in Craven Arms.

Quiet, slightly sloping campsite with lovely views over Corvedale. A good place to relax. Well away from any roads as it's up a long tarmac drive. Only noise is the odd cluck or moo, this is a big working farm.

2 x showers, sinks and toilets. Doubt it's ever full here so this is plenty.

No washing up facility, playground, etc. Not a problem - this is small CS site.

Plenty of electric hook ups.

They accommodated us at very late notice no problem and you can arrive when you want which is a plus. Bit expensive for a small CS site at £16 / night with electric. Knocked down CS to 9/10 as the price for some reason increased by £1/night from booking to when we paid. Arrivals can find it difficult to find the host as they're working in the farm, but not much of a problem unless the weather is dire as you can just sit on the grass and admire the view whilst you wait!

Would be high up the list if returning to the area but it's a little expensive for a small CS site. We noticed whilst walking the Shropshire Way that a CS site in Much Wenlock was completely empty (though probably not quite as nice as next to a road) so that might be worth checking out if you want to be within walking distance of a lovely small town. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Terrychris 3 reviews from this member

 A site I would recommend to stay at. The views are stunning. The toilet and showers are lovely and clean. The site is very quiet. Chickens come around most days. The owners are very friendly and helpful and they make a very delicious cake. The pub and shops in craven arms are very good. I would definitely recommend it. We will be back as the 5 nights went so soon. A good base to see all of Shropshire. Not too far to Ironbridge 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sammie1 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our second visit to this site.

Again, we had a fantastic time. Site is well

Kept and the owners are very friendly and

Helpful. Our son spent may a happy hour watching and following the chickens which were roaming freely around the site.

Facilities good and the field very well drained.

We tried the home cured bacon and it was delicious as was the cake we also bought.

Lots to do in the surrounding area - National Trust houses and also English Heritage.

We will be booking again soon! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jessandoli 1 review from this member

 Located on a working farm, the site is ideal for young children. The Farmer & his Wife are really nice allowing us the chance to:

Watch the cows being milked and taste some!

Visit the calves and have a really good explanation of how the farm functions.

See Rusty the bull.

Feed the lambs.

Hold some kittens.

Stroke a duckling.

Chickens roam freely around the site. Cockerel announces the new day, but not to the point of it being anything but pleasant (not annoying or disturbing).

We were offered a choice of lemon & chocolate cake, we had both, a fair price at £3. 50, delicious.

We also had a dozen fresh farm eggs for £2, (breakfast).

Also bacon, beefburgers & sausages on offer (I'll have these next time we go).

Shower & toilet block is modern and useful. Electric showers with good pressure.

Chemical waste is clean & covered with industrial grade cover, good for keeping kids safe (I can't stand it when chemical waste points are neglected).

Lovely seating area to the back of pitch 2/3 gives stunning views across the valley.

All in all a lovely site with lovely people running it, we will go back, soon! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zoeandjack 1 review from this member

 This was our first trip away in our caravan, and the family who ran Elsich Farm made it a fun and interesting experience!

It is a small site. Only one other caravan was there when we went. The facilities (toilet and shower) were lovely and clean. The views from the camping field were beautiful!

My five children had a great time. We got to see the chickens, baby ducks, lambs and calves and watch the cows being milked. The family who run the farm and the campsite went out of their way to answer questions and show us how the farm was run.

We bought a chocolate cake made by the lady and it was delicious! We definitely recommend that!

The only downside for us is that I was quoted £12 per night for electric hook on booking, but when my husband went to pay, he was charged £13. Only a small point, and all in all, we felt that we had much more than value for money anyway!

We will definitely be returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zoe J 8 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely small site on a working dairy farm. The owner are very friendly and actively encouraged out boys to watching the milking process. We then looked at the new kittens she allowed them to enter the barn to see the new baby calfs. The kids loved it as you would imagine!

The site itself is also lovely with fantastic views. The pitches are marked and if you had to pitch between the marked posts the you would be in trouble. Our caravan and awning along took up more that the allocated pitch. This didn't include our car or any seating area.

Fortunately the site was quiet (4 units in total) The owner did say that they were always quiet and this was just how she liked it as the working farm kept her busy so you would probably be fine any time of the year. (we went during school holidays and were fine)

The toilets are rustic. In a positive way and spotlessly clean and tidy.

The farmers wife's chocolate cake is scrumptious! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slimdaz 5 reviews from this member

 Just back from a great weekend at Elsich Barn farm. Although we had 14mm of rain last night, 07.05.11, as informed by the farmers wife, the site has great drainage. Farmers wife informed us they had put the site on a stoney bed, nicely turfed now though.

Paid £12.00per night inclusive of EHU and the was only 1 other tourer here, tintenting they was.

When I arrived I realised had the wrong note in my wallet, but the nice lady informed me that Craven Arms has a couple of cash points and not to worry, but to settle up later or tomorrow. She also advised me that she had made a Strawberry and cream cake or a coffee cake. So I plumped for the coffee cake as its my fave, and that was added to the bill too. Farmers daughter even bought it out to our tent.

The toilet and shower block were spotless, with 2 loo's and 2 leccy showers, free, they did the job.

The views from the site are spectacular and we even had some of the free range chucks wander about the site. The farm is a working dairy farm and you do get to see the cows but they don't bother you.

While we stayed here the Spring event at Ludlow was on, didn't manage to get in as no dogs allowed, even though we were told by the bus driver at the park and ride and at the gate, security wouldn't let us in.

We will use this site again, and it is a real gem of a place, 5 miles from Craven Arms and about 7 miles from Ludlow.

Well worth the money we paid, 10 out of 10 in my opinion. Its a great site to go and unwind, read a book, drink a few bottles of plonk, or you can use it as a great hideaway base. Although there are no child facilities to play with, my 3 kids was able to use thier imagination and make up games instead of getting RSI on their thumbs from too much xbox or playstaion.

This site is now on our list of return sites. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Elsich Barn Farm Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Elsich Barn Farm Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Elsich Barn Farm Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Craven Arms      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


970 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December