Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Tuddenham Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Tuddenham Caravan Park > Reviews

Tuddenham Caravan Park
California Road
California
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR29 3QW
Tel: 01493 730845
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Huggy bear 10 reviews from this member

 Been coming here for 11years, owned by the lovely Tuddenham family Wayne, Andrew & their lovely mum Elizabeth,

There are no showers or toilets so you have to use your own.

There is a club on site run by a wonderful couple Kev & Nikki, the food is amazing 👌👌

Here is a cafe and pub outside the gate and a 2 minute walk to the beach, very dog friendly,

You have to be careful when cooking breakfast as Andy enjoys a rasher or 2 lol 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cwells 1 review from this member

 Keeping it brief.

-owners are friendly and professional, willing to help where they can.

-Site is clean and well kept.

-disabled facilities good and all areas kept clean.

2 minute walk to beach, but steep access which makes wheelchair users finding it impossible to use.

-local shop, chippie, pub and arcades. Close to Caistor on sea and great yarmouth.

-good value for money

-would recommend to anyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Huggy bear 10 reviews from this member

 This is a great quiet site that is close to the beach, great walk with the dogs down through the tent pitches, through the heather and down on to the beach, a walk along to the steps and up a small hilly path to the pub. The calafornia tavern serves great beer and serves fantastic food, dogs are very welcome.

Wroxham is half an hour away and the Broads are within 10 minutes (Arcle), Horning is worth a visit with 3 pubs on the river edge all dog friendly.

The campsite has two toilet blocks both with showers and always clean, all caravan pitches has electric hook ups and the grass is kept in top condition. In the evenings you can watch the rabbits running around, the only down side is the TV reception but we only watched it to see what the weather was going to be like!the owner is very friendly and always about if you need him.

We've been there 3 years in a row now and we will be going again next year

This is not a great site for kids but if you travel 10 minutes one way you have Hemsby and 10 the other way Great Yarmouth you have lots to do, there's a swimming pool just up the road in a chalet sites such well. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TONYBASIL 1 review from this member

 Well looked after site with basic and rather dated but clean facilities including laundry room and dish washing area with hot water. Tents are pitched on a large field, with grass cut regularly, with electric hook-ups if required and overlooking a good beach and the sea. Easy access to the beach through a gate with an incline down to a few steps at the bottom.

The clubhouse was generally rather quiet through the week but there is a great pub - not the cheapest but very good meals- just outside the site. Alternatively there are clubhouses on the surrounding sites, some having entertainment every night, some free and others a small charge entry.

Only had breakfast in the clubhouse but this was pretty good and reasonably priced, the young waitress being very friendly and helpful.

This site is just a short drive from Great Yarmouth where there is plenty to see and do - the stock car racing being well worth a visit - but this site is perfect when the weather is fine for taking the kids on the beach.

Would definitely visit again! 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hikerkol 1 review from this member

 I visited this site on Friday and Saturday 17th & 18th July 2015 and was charged 45. 00 for a 2 berth frame tent for the two nights. The site was very clean and tidy. There were only seven or eight pitches occupied, a fraction of the availability. Electric hook ups are provided in a line at the top end of the site. I did not see a designated children's play area.

I have used this site during the last twenty years on many occasions.

The site is located at the end of a side road off the main Hemsby to Caister road and is approached through a Static caravan park. On arrival, book into a small but well marked reception building in the centre of the park. Behind this structure lies the club house bar. Touring Caravans park up by taking the road straight ahead, beyond reception and behind the Club house. Tents are pitched by taking the left fork through the static caravans.

Pitches are marked out on the grass which is usually well cut and fairly fine. Most of the site is level, with some undulation, but running on a gentle slope. Most pitches would, however, be considered level. Generally, I have always found this site to be very tidy and clean.

The tent area has its own '1950's' style male and female toilets at the top end of the site near the caravans. The Elsan disposal chamber lies at the back of the the block, and there is a drinking water tap outside on the front wall. There are no hand washing basins at this facility but a more comprehensive toilet block lies a few yards from the reception area which I have usually found to be adequate and clean.

This site is on an exposed clifftop and has beautiful views all around; the beach is visible from some areas and the wind farm dominates the sea view. The periphery of the site is guarded by a four foot chain link fence at the cliff top side. Low shrubs grow along the outer boundary along the cliff top and offer some shelter from the wind.

The beach can be reached through a footpath at the lower end of the site. Although views are open, because there are no surrounding trees or substantial fencing, this site can be very windy. I have seen tents blown away in extreme conditions. Also, driving rain can come off the sea, and there are often heavy mists at the extremes of the season.

If pitching near the clifftop shrubs, expect occasional swarms of insects at certain times, especially in the evening. I have also noted that there are often rabbit droppings on the grass in these areas.

The pitching area has a waste bin and fire station set up in its centre, and a tall lamp post which gives adequate but non intrusive security night at night. There is a regular security and bin checking patrol.

The Club house/bar often has live entertainment, but there is also a public house at the site entrance which also has live entertainment at times. In this vicinity there is also a general store, a chip shop and small amusement arcade all within easy walking distance. Access to the beach is by following the road a few yards beyond the chip shop. There are nearby holiday chalets and caravan parks which offer their own facilities and entertainments including a swimming pool at separate charges for non members. These and several other shops are all within walking distance.

Hemsby is an easy walk along the beach, and is like a mini Blackpool. There is also a bus route to Hemsby which runs back towards Great Yarmouth.

I have always found staff to be helpful and pleasant. On this occasion I found the pricing to be high, normally I would expect to pay between 12 and 18, per night. Previously this has been a bargain priced site, lower than average.

However, in summary, this site can be comfortable and stunning on sunny calm days. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debs398 38 reviews from this member

 Weather forecast was good and this site has been recommended to us before so thought we would give it a go.

Arrived on Friday afternoon, given an EHU pitch 17. 00 a night, our pitch did have a few dips in it but nothing we couldn't cope with. We have a six man tent and our tent was slightly too long for the pitch, we encroached onto the marked out grass which is used as a 'road' also with our guy lines out we could just get our car beside us on our pitch but when neighbours arrived it made it difficult for them to pitch as our car was extremely close. Not a problem as we moved our car over the 'road' but if the site was full it may cause a problem.

A lovely basic site, facilities are basic but clean, I would have liked a sink in the toilets on the campsite rather than having to walk to the main toilets but it was copable for a weekend.

This site is right on the cliff top, short walk to the lovely long beach, pub, shop and eateries all very nearby. We don't normally use a clubhouse but we did on Saturday evening and had a lovely evening, you can't hear the noise on the campsite.

There was a lovely relaxed vibe on this site and we would definitely return even though its only 40 mins from home. Definitely a good location for those who want to be able to visit Great Yarmouth but don't want to be right in the hubbub. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lily67 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 5 nights in our van for the first time. The caravan pitches were all kept clean and were mowed. Field was flat and drained very well, as it was pouring when we arrived. We found it to be a lovely quiet site. Plenty of wild life, birds, rabbits and bats. The toilet blocks were always clean and always open.

Plenty of toilet paper, my only gripe was no soap, which I feel let them down. The showers were clean hot and free, with plenty of space in the cubicle, so you would be able to shower children with no problems. Each shower had plenty of hooks and a seat, so clothes were kept dry and out of the way. They had a laundry room which was also very good and had everything you would need.

The owners were very helpful and friendly and gave us good advice when our gas failed to work. It is minutes away from a lovely sandy beach, just a stroll down, but you would maybe struggle with a pushchair or wheel chair as it is a sandy lane or steps. We heard no traffic noise and no noise after ten pm.

Although there is a club house we did not go in but it did look very nice, and we also heard no noise from it even though they had entertainment on. There are plenty of shops within walking distance that sell almost everything and the premier shop was open till midnight every night. There are also plenty of places to eat and all were very reasonable prices. We had a pint in the pub directly opposite the camp site and it was nice with a lovely beer garden. We ate fish and chips from the chippy also across the road and they were delicious. I can also recommend Abigales cafe around the corner for great meals which we loved and also catered very well for vegetarians, so my daughter was happy too.

The site is in a very good position for seeing all the sights and attractions of Norfolk without having to travel any distance. We will go back when we visit norfolk again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Volkatron 1 review from this member

 Fantastic Site

This is my 8th visit to this site, ranging from 1994 to present date.

Very friendly staff, nice flat pitches adjacent to the beach, ( easily accessible)

Very nice pub across the road, with a fast food facility, fully stocked shop with clothing and accessories, and also amusements for the kids.

The amenities are always clean and always stocked with loo rolls

Fantastic site, perfect for days out to Gt Yarmouth, Cromer, Norfolk Broads and surrounding areas

Will definitely be back 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lesley S 1 review from this member

 Enjoyed a long weekend (4 nights) at Drewery Park, check in was easy and they were very flexible as we rang a few days before we were due to arrive and they said we could start our break a day early :)

Toilet & shower facilities were kept very clean but as others have mentioned could possibly do with updating.

The clubhouse was very under-used but at least we didn't have to queue to get a drink! Entertainment was a bit hit and miss, 2 out of the 4 acts we saw were brilliant, the other 2 not so.

There was a bit of a problem with some people playing very loud music which was dealt with by site owners very promptly.

We would definitely go again but not with children, as we were unable to use the pub just outside which was not very child friendly unless you can sit outside, which got a bit chilly.

No playground or entertainment for children, but as base to go elsewhere, great location. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shelldean 15 reviews from this member

 Visited this during the Jubilee week.

On arrival we was quickly checked in and given instructions on how to reach our pitch. We also paid the balance on arrival, as the site allows this.

Access to tent pitches is through a small amount of statics.

Pitch was level and grass nice and short.

All tent EHU pitches are on one side of the cliff top field, against a fence with statics on the other side.

The rest of the field appears to be a pitch where you want. The ground is mostly level however there are some quite big dips. We noticed these more after heavy rain as they filled with water and took a while to drain away.

There are two toilet blocks.

One next to the tent field and one back through the statics next to the club house. Nearer to the tourers who pitch behind the club house.

Next to the tent field block is a standpipe for water.

The block near the tent field only has toilets, 3 ladies and 3 for the gents, plus what my boys describe as an French urinal (think they mean open air). There are no showers here nor any sinks to wash your hands.

The other block near the clubhouse, is bigger.

There are several toilets, sinks and 3 showers in the ladies (forgot to ask about the mens but assume similar set up) Showers were free, but we found them slightly hot. The temperature of the water is non-adjustable.

Also within this block is the launderette.

Dish washing is also in this block.

There is only one washing up sink. There are other sinks but several signs ask you not to use them for washing up just for clothes washing. Our problems arose as they locked this room, when they locked the launderette for the night. We tried several times once as early as 6. 15pm only to find it locked. We gave up and washed up at tent or waited until the next morning. This was an inconvenience. However we never found a queue for washing up.

My other gripe about the toilet blocks was the decorating. It had been done very slapdash. Meaning windows were painted open, and and you could see stalactites of paint from rafters - not the best look. Also where wooden doors hadn't been sanded down prior to painting, they got stuck. I had issues with a couple of toilet doors plus a shower door. I had to pull from the bottom of the door to get out. And I know one of my boys (16) also struggled to get out. This would be more of an issue for a younger weaker child.

Both blocks were clean at all times.

The site also has an independent clubhouse. We only visited once during an afternoon and it was very quiet. There is also a restaurant, we didn't use this. The boys did go over and make use of the pool table in the clubhouse which they enjoyed.

At the entrance to the site is small shop. Stocks most things at usual camp site prices. Also sells beach items.

Tescos is along the road near the stadium. Plus a big Asda in Great Yarmouth.

Also near entrance is a pub and a chip shop. (not used by us) There is also an amusement arcade plus another just along the road.

There is no playground on site, but while we was there, there was plenty of space to play in the tent field. Space in busier periods might be limited.

Access to the beach is down a quite steep path, with direct access from the tent field. Or you can access it near the chip shop down some steps. We didn't visit the beach due to awful weather.

Drewery is located well for easy access to Great Yarmouth and all it's tourist attractions.

I doubt we'll visit again as the weather we suffered during our stay was awful. While this is beyond the sites control, I believe this site often suffers from wind being a cliff top site. I mean the wind farm isn't situated just off this coast without good reason! Drainage during heavy rain also caused concern.

Problems with sticking doors, no sinks near the tent field and the issue with washing up are also concerns. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Tuddenham Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tuddenham Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tuddenham Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3172 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement