Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Astro Clear View Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Site Reviews

Astro Clear View Camp Site
Oaklands
Kerrys Gate
Abbeydore
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR2 0AH
Tel: 01981 240882
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 16 Reviews
                9/10 from 16 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robrichrow 1 review from this member

Beautiful views from a remote site with wide open space for camping. Very helpful owners who let us use their 4x4 to ferry our gear up to the field after some wet weather. Basic facilities but clean. A lovely place to get away from it all (well nearly all - I could still get 4G). Recommend a drive up the Vale of Ewyas to Llanthony Priory followed by a nice walk. A hidden gem. Will be coming back for a clear night.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grhm 2 reviews from this member

This is a fantasticly quiet site, we camped in August during the school holidays and there was only one other tent on site on the Sunday we arrived.

The owners told us we could pitch anywhere we liked, help ourselves to the free firewood, use the barbecue, and chimineas. There was a fridge in the garage near the farmhouse that we could use and a couple of wooden picnic tables available too.

The owner had told us to move the picnic table near our tent if we liked. We've struggled with 3 small children on camping chairs and a flimsy camping table before, but using a solid pub-style picnic table instead was brilliant!

There's a small washing up station (with cold water only) and a portaloo, so facilities are basic but clean. We were after getting away from it all, so this didn't bother us.

If you're after all the mod cons, and lots of on-site facilities this site isn't for you. If you want a peaceful site with a great view over the valley to unwind, then we'd recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barneyblackburn 1 review from this member

This is such an amazing natural campsite it should remain a hidden secret. I stayed with my partner and my 2 nephews (aged 7 and 8) for the kids first camping trip and it couldnít have been a better experience. It was a lovely weekend in the middle of August and we shared the campsite with only other 1 tent on 1 night (when every other campsite in the area was full!). The facilities are simple (limited to mains water tap at the end of field, lovely little dish washing facility, cleanest port-a-loo Iíve ever seen and a fridge in the garage by the owners house a 7 min walk away) and not for everyone, but for a truly easy relaxed weekend away of a real natural camping experience you couldnít get better. This is as close to a civilised wild camping experience you can get!

Site is a beautifully setup farmers field with garden furniture, gazebos, 2 chiminers, free wood, swing on the woods, and lots of safe space for kids to play. View is amazing throughout the day Ė lovely countryside in the day, and the best unspoilt sky at night (we were in the Slovenian alps 2 weeks prior and where impressed, but this blew that away). Owners are lovely and very willing to assist in any way they can. Site is remote and a decent drive to a town / supermarket, but that is what makes it special.

We will definitely be back for a school / uni friends get together. If you have a reason owners are happy to close the campsite for you to make it a private site! Who could ask for more!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CinderellaMan 2 reviews from this member

We have been camping at Astro Clear View for several years now and know of no better campsite! The views from the site are beautiful up and down the Golden Valley from Garway Hill Common in the south, past Ysgyryd Fawr (Skirrid) along the ridge of the Black Mountains, up to Twmpa (or Lord Hereford's Knob) in the north west.

Ann and Eric always make everyone feel really welcome, and the sort of campers that come here are always friendly and respectful. Ann manages the bookings to make sure that it is never too busy - part of the site's attraction.

It is a great site for children as there is loads of space to play, no rules, campfires in the evening and places to explore around the farm an in the woods behind the campsite. Eric and Anne have also supplied a small stash of rackets and balls and a net that mean you don't have to bring everything with you.

In addition to the fabulous home-made chiminea (made by Alex) which allows you to have a camp fire experience, there is a bar-b-que, 2 picnic benches and a sheltered area under a large garden parasol mounted on and secured to half a dozen poles. Itís best to be aware that the toilet facilities here are basic but perfectly adequate in the form of a single, functional, up market portaloo that is kept clean at all times. Eric built a covered washing up / wash area last year which is helpful if you're staying for longer than just a couple of nights or if itís a bit wet. There is running cold water in the wash / washing up area for that purpose from a large tank. Drinking water is near the entrance to the field (about 150 metres from the main camping area).

As well as this being a fabulous site - we hardly left the site during our first few visits - there is plenty to do in the local area including: loads of footpaths for local countryside walks; canoeing on the river Wye; hill walking in the Black Mountains, at Ysgyryd Fawr (Skirrid) and Garway Hill Common within 30 mins drive, and in Brecon Beacons (50 ins); more gentle countryside walks all around the site; nearby towns to explore - Hereford (25 mins), Abergavenny (30 mins), Hay-On-Wye (30 mins), and Monmouth (40 mins); Forest of Dean (40 mins); good cycling on road from the campsite, and off road within easy reach; and the tea shop at Abbey Dore Court Gardens is always worth a visit (5 mins by car and only 40 mins along the river by foot).

There are plenty of useful amenities nearby including: a playground and playing fields at Ewyas Harold; lots of pubs, many serving food, within easy driving distance; local shops at Ewyas Harold, Locks Garage (junction of B4348 and A465) - which also sells camping gaz - and Madeley all close by; chip shop at Ewyas Harold. Hereford has large supermarkets and other shops you'd expect in a county town, and Hay -on Wye has lots of quaint shops and tea shops; outdoor / camping shops can be found at Hereford and Hay.

All in all a great site - our favourite.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magmar 22 reviews from this member

This is back to basics camping but lovely with it. The views are fantastic, looking out to Skirydd, Sugar Loaf and the Black Mountains. Perfect place to take children as is really safe with lots of space to run and play. The extra facilities: Eating Shelter, Large and Standard Chimeneas with stacks of free firewood as well as stacks to collect in the woods behind the site are brilliant. OK the toilet facility is basic festival style but it is kept extremely clean and well stocked with the necessaries. There is a washing up area that works fine and again has what you need. Ann and Eric (The Owners) could not be more friendly and helpful. We will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Twentyeightbore 1 review from this member

No traffic noise, no light pollution. , a warm welcome, stunning scenery. Who could ask for more? This site is superb. The facilities are basic but kept spotlessly clean.

The surrounding area is wonderful to explore, Harold Ewyas the closest village, has two very good pubs both serving food, one incorporating a tea room, excellent fish and chip shop, and an excellent general stores and post office.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Saeeda 1 review from this member

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful campsite. I agree with the last person to leave a review - it is an unspoilt treasure.

The site is a great place for people with young children as it is very safe. However, it is also ideal as a romantic getaway for couples - or indeed, for a honeymoon!

We had the campsite to ourselves, the views are amazing, no traffic noise or light pollution. Bliss.

The family are really friendly and helpful too - always a bonus.

We will definitely being going back again.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AllyClarke 1 review from this member

Wow!

Just returned from our wonderful weekend at Astro Clear and want to book again.

The site is wonderful and rural but really well kept. The meadow is an absolute joy and the dogs loved it.

We were the only ones on the site (except for the lovely couple who own a yurt in the field) which was very special. Lovely fire with tons of wood available and chairs and picnic tables.

They even provide badminton racquets and a shuttlecock for a quick game!

We didn't meet Ann (the owner) as they were away for the weekend but she was very helpful whilst booking and her son was looking after things admirably whilst we were there.

We loved the fact it was so unspoilt but we had everything we needed.

A rather nettley walk into Abbeydore and a lovely late lunch in the garden cafe there made this a brilliant weekend.

There arent any showers but that's ok for a weekend and we would hate it to become more commercial.

It is definitely a secret we don't want to share but the family deserve strong praise for such a lovely site!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Illinois6 1 review from this member

Just returned from a fantastic couple of nights at the site. Made very welcome by the family who allowed me to use the fridge in the garage. The supply of logs for the chimenea (fire ) was very welcome and free too it kept me very cosy while the temperature dropped. I was lucky to have clear skies the first night and was rewarded with probably the best star gazing experience I've ever had There was no else on the site, and was told if I wanted the whole site to myself or a group that they would not take other bookings or charge me any extra! Hows that for an offer. Access isnt perfect but well worth the slightly bumpy uphill track to get you the site. Just wanted to mention that the area isnt flat but there are several areas of flatter ground to pitch on. Will be returning once I know the skies will be clear at some point in the future. A gem for those who will enjoy basic camping.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Macoma 1 review from this member

The jaw dropping view should be enough to propel this site to the top of any camper's UK wishlist with basic but clean facilities for those who don't mind the absence of a shower. Tip: August is their least busy month if you want to avoid others. I had the site to myself on an August weekend! A yurt is new this year for those who prefer glamping.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Herefordshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3004 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0957