Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Royal Oak Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Nottinghamshire > Car Colston > The Royal Oak Certificated Site > Reviews

The Royal Oak Certificated Site
The Green
Car Colston
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG13 8JE
Tel: 01949 20247
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sonjudwen 27 reviews from this member

 On approach the pub and surrounding green looks superb and well kept.

Entrance to the field behind the pub seriously needs attention, while we appreciate it has been wet of late, the entrance will only get more churned up unless the owners get some hardcore.

Fees were £9 a pitch and £6 a night for electric. Did not use the pub though it did seem very popular so I guess the food was well worth it, only sorry we didnít get to try the Sunday lunch as we were out all day.

Plenty of walking from the site through various footpaths. Water and waste easily located. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Janec5 1 review from this member

 Had a very good night stay to break our journey down south. Booked to do the same in a few weeks time.

We booked a table in the pub and because we had our trainee guide dog with us we were given a table so that the pup would not be disturbed, which was very thoughtful, so also booked for dinner when we return again in a few weeks time. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pam B 1 review from this member

 This was by far one of the best CL sites weve visited with a great country pub thrown in for good measure.

The field is slightly sloping at the top but there's plenty of flat level ground down the bottom with hook up too. Drinking water is available and also an elsan point.

It is a pity that there are no toilets and showers which would be the 'cherry on the cake'. However you can use the pub toilets during the pub opening times.

Richard and Vicky who own the site and pub are amazing, so friendly and welcoming. We ate there on 2 evenings and the food was great, plentiful and very reasonably priced. Our plates went back to the kitchen empty on both occasions.

We will definitely be going back again in April next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Mally t 2 reviews from this member

 Loverly spacious c. L site, good food in the pub, landlady and landlord very friendly and helpful,

Basic facilities, no children's area.

Would go again. 


Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 67 reviews from this member

 A real gem. Great pub site set back behind the village green in a lovely village.

Camping is on grass at the back of the pub which was mainly flat. Electric points are around the edge of the field. No facilities outside of the pub except for black waste disposal but good clean toilets in the pub open early in the morning.

The pub itself was very welcoming and the food was great with outside seating on the edge of the village green with a view of the free roaming cattle. Very peaceful. We will return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Piper4909 1 review from this member

 Pretty much agree with previous comments, Real Ale spot on food was a high standard, we ate in the pub both nights. Public transport very thin on the ground waited ages for a bus, wanted to go to Nottingham, gave up and settled for Bingham. I felt very welcome with locals & staff. So much so that I am arranging a Burns Supper with Richard a very likeable chap. My Bagpipes only come out when I am happy. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Firephil 1 review from this member

 What a great little site in the country side. Grass pitches with electric hook ups. Waste water and elsan point. Toilets available in the pub during opening hours 11:00 - 11:00.

Located at the rear of the pub which offers a great selection of beers and wines including guest ales.

A roaring log fire in the bar area to ward off the chills.

Good bar food and specials at reasonable prices.

Child friendly site although no play area for them but plenty of open space to play safely.

A short drive into Bingham for local shops etc.

Will definitely use this site again and only £10. 50 a night. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colin R Walker 3 reviews from this member

 A cracking site, it was just a simple flat expanse of cut grass, with all the amenities you need. For a tenner, including electric, it was brilliant value. The toilets were spotless.

There wasn't much in the way of shops/attractions, but that one of the main reasons this site was chosen.

The Royal Oak was all you'd expect from a country pub, efficient friendly staff, very friendly locals and the food was superb. Well done Richard and crew. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alinsteve 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from The Royal Oak Certified site and we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We managed to get an electric hook up pitch last minute at Bank Holiday weekend. The site is lovely and clean and the toilet blocks which are situated inside the pub are also immaculate. The Royal Oak is a lovely traditional pub with home cooked food and a very friendly atmosphere. The staff are all friendly and the service is excellent. We had Sunday roast and would recommend it and before we left we has a couple of sandwiches with a bowl of homemade chips, which was also lovely. The only negative comment I would give is there are no shower block facilities and if this was added it would be something that would certainly improve this site. We will definitely return to this site again in the future. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mr Patient 17 reviews from this member

 Everything about this site is right. The owner, the landlord, Richard, is really friendly and helpful.

The site is a big field behind the pub, well-kept and mown. The facilities, water, waste, recycling etc. , are spot on.

The pub is great with friendly locals, well-kept real ales, a good selection of reasonably priced wines, and excellent food. Dogs allowed in the bar. We had a huge sandwich with chips for lunch when we arrived, an evening meal one night and Sunday lunch. All excellent, and very good value too.

Nice area: Colwick Country Park ten miles away is beautiful for walking, and the old town of Newark is well worth a visit.

A cracking site and I canít wait to return. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Royal Oak Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Royal Oak Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Royal Oak Certificated Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Car Colston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

  

  

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Sussex 18/05 to 19/05

Endless activities for you and your dog to enjoy plus weekend camping - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4500 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement