Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Royal Oak Certificated Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

The Royal Oak Certificated Site
The Green
Car Colston
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG13 8JE
Tel: 01949 20247
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 32 reviews from this member

A real gem. Great pub site set back behind the village green in a lovely village.

Camping is on grass at the back of the pub which was mainly flat. Electric points are around the edge of the field. No facilities outside of the pub except for black waste disposal but good clean toilets in the pub open early in the morning.

The pub itself was very welcoming and the food was great with outside seating on the edge of the village green with a view of the free roaming cattle. Very peaceful. We will return.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piper4909 1 review from this member

Pretty much agree with previous comments, Real Ale spot on food was a high standard, we ate in the pub both nights. Public transport very thin on the ground waited ages for a bus, wanted to go to Nottingham, gave up and settled for Bingham. I felt very welcome with locals & staff. So much so that I am arranging a Burns Supper with Richard a very likeable chap. My Bagpipes only come out when I am happy.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Firephil 1 review from this member

What a great little site in the country side. Grass pitches with electric hook ups. Waste water and elsan point. Toilets available in the pub during opening hours 11:00 - 11:00.

Located at the rear of the pub which offers a great selection of beers and wines including guest ales.

A roaring log fire in the bar area to ward off the chills.

Good bar food and specials at reasonable prices.

Child friendly site although no play area for them but plenty of open space to play safely.

A short drive into Bingham for local shops etc.

Will definitely use this site again and only £10. 50 a night.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Colin R Walker 2 reviews from this member

A cracking site, it was just a simple flat expanse of cut grass, with all the amenities you need. For a tenner, including electric, it was brilliant value. The toilets were spotless.

There wasn't much in the way of shops/attractions, but that one of the main reasons this site was chosen.

The Royal Oak was all you'd expect from a country pub, efficient friendly staff, very friendly locals and the food was superb. Well done Richard and crew.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alinsteve 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from The Royal Oak Certified site and we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We managed to get an electric hook up pitch last minute at Bank Holiday weekend. The site is lovely and clean and the toilet blocks which are situated inside the pub are also immaculate. The Royal Oak is a lovely traditional pub with home cooked food and a very friendly atmosphere. The staff are all friendly and the service is excellent. We had Sunday roast and would recommend it and before we left we has a couple of sandwiches with a bowl of homemade chips, which was also lovely. The only negative comment I would give is there are no shower block facilities and if this was added it would be something that would certainly improve this site. We will definitely return to this site again in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mr Patient 17 reviews from this member

Everything about this site is right. The owner, the landlord, Richard, is really friendly and helpful.

The site is a big field behind the pub, well-kept and mown. The facilities, water, waste, recycling etc. , are spot on.

The pub is great with friendly locals, well-kept real ales, a good selection of reasonably priced wines, and excellent food. Dogs allowed in the bar. We had a huge sandwich with chips for lunch when we arrived, an evening meal one night and Sunday lunch. All excellent, and very good value too.

Nice area: Colwick Country Park ten miles away is beautiful for walking, and the old town of Newark is well worth a visit.

A cracking site and I canít wait to return.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lees14 13 reviews from this member

Just got back from a bank holiday weekend away with my family & it was excellent.

We didn't want to travel far so it was ideal as it was only 30 mins away.

Nice big field at the back of the pub with nice clean facilities you can use the toilet in the pub when its open.

Excellent food available as well as a good selection of drinks to choose from.

The pitches are £10.50 a night with electric which is excellent value for money & we will be returning to this site in the future.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nippertripper 1 review from this member

Visited this site and stopped for one night just to test our new caravan. Site is lovely and quiet. There was a rally on and we thought we might not be able to pitch with electric but the landlord Richard was brilliant and gave us a couple of pitches to choose from.

The pub is lovely and welcoming too, and although we didn't eat, the menu did look very tempting with a specials board available too. The pub is very 'dog friendly' too.

There are some pretty little villages around and walks to choose from.

If there are a few of you - you can have use of the skittle alley at the back of the pub too which was nice.

There isn't a shower and you can only use the pub's toilets when they are open, but this isn't a real problem if you are self contained.

Nice site - will definitely be making it a regular stop.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jnewitt 6 reviews from this member

Just got back from this site and it was amazingly clean & tidy for £10pn which included electric hook up,

the food was amazingly good and not to expensive but we would recommend you book as its a very popular pub with the locals,

there are no shower blocks but its a pub site and we don't expect that anyway, but we have a shower in our van, the toilets were spotless as like everything else,

our dog loved the field which was newly mowed and she could run to her delight.

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Littleangel343 2 reviews from this member

We have recently bought a new caravan and wanted to test it close to home so came here! As the first review says, its in a field behind a pub and in a very quiet location. Electric Hookup was included and it was only £10 per night. When we arrived we set up and went for a meal which was superb! Extremely friendly and helpful staff and locals. It was explained that we could use the pub toilets when the pub was open and was shown where the tap and toilet emptying facilities were. Overall, the food is excellent although it advisable to book as it is popular, very quiet location and we will definitely be returning. One down point is the field gets very boggy and muddy and when it rains unless you have a 4x4 you could get stuck in the mud although there is always someone in the smoke shed to give you a push. Really looking forward in going back again.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1323 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019