Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Swanage Bijou Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Swanage > Swanage Bijou Camping Reviews

Swanage Bijou Camping
Kirkwood Park
Victoria Avenue
Swanage
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH19 1AR
Tel: 01929 426809  or  07729423780
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 80
Open: July 29th And Most Of August

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 27 Reviews
                8/10 from 27 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf On Site   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: MummyPapps 1 review from this member

The camp site is great. You park your car away from the camping area but no problem as wheelbarrow around to help move items.

This means the campsite is safe so children and dogs didn't need to worry about cars. The staff very friendly and helpful nothing seemed too much trouble. The toilets very clean.

The site also allows fires which we love. I will be staying again. We didn't use our car as able to walk everywhere a garage nearby selling milk etc if you can't walk to Swanage.

There is also a noise policy which is great so it quiet late at night and early in the morning
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sambl 1 review from this member

A great site. No cars in the camping area makes it feel rural with the convenience of being in town so everything in walking distance. Wheelbarrows available to cart equipment to your pitch which you can pick yourself. Separate long & short stay fields. 10 mins walk to town/beach/steam railway.

The short stay camping in use for Bank Holiday weekend used part of the golf course and there is free football golf or pitch & putt on site for campers.

Fridge & freezer available to use if needed. 2 power points available if you need to blow up an airbed or charge a phone. Fire pits too for campfires at night. Toilets & showers are constructed in huts outdoors but this adds to the charm. Wash up & basins are all outside too but wasn't a problem & added to the whole camping experience (even in the rain!) Nice hot showers and lovely breakfast van serving hot food & drinks. Friendly & helpful staff.

Would recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Reverend 2 reviews from this member

This is a well run camp site. The toilet and washing facilities were always clean. The showers were free and hot although standing on concrete to shower is not the most wonderful of experiences. Typically queuing at the busy times, but as always there are quieter hours in the day in which to grab a shower.

What should be noted is that this is a busy site which is unsurprising given its great access to the town centre and beach (10 mins walk to the front). Tents are close together and it can be somewhat noisy. Most people respected the need to keep quiet after midnight.

If you are looking to camp in a field with lots of space far from the nearest tent forget it. If you want a town based site where that is clean and friendly and where you can have a fire then it will suit you.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cazzyt 1 review from this member

Fabulous location with such friendly and welcoming guys and girls running the place. Felt automatically relaxed upon arrival. Was a real pleasure to check in and stay here. So close to the town, restaurants, beach and shops.

Great info given on check in and the site was really well looked after and had great facilities including clean and fresh showers and toilets. Freezer for your freezer packs and great washing up facilities, fire wood and blocks. Even pitch and putting.

Just the right amount of shade and sun on the site and loads of space. Great not having cars driving around at all times of the day and night.

All the other campers we met during out stay were courteous and friendly. Would stay here again and wish we could have stayed for longer.

It is basic but great because of that. Thank you we will be back

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LK103 10 reviews from this member

Had a great time on our second visit to this site. Carnival week was on so the whole town was very busy but not enough to cause any problems.

The owner and his team are really helpful, patient and friendly and try too keep the site as good as possible but are somewhat hindered by some campers not taking responsibility for their own 'little darlings' but generally as previously noted most people are fine.

Access to the beach and town cannot be bettered and is one of the many things that make this site well worth a visit.

Could do with a few more WC's and additional water points nearer to the pitches but the other facilities were ok.

There is some traffic noise but you get used to it.

Looking forward to returning next year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Colleen 1956 1 review from this member

Fabulous site. Toilets immaculate, could do with a few more. Hot showers FREE! Pot washing facilities. Playground for children just a 3 minute walk away. Huge playing field adjacent to the site.

Dogs welcome. Owners are extremely helpful and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. Free ice block freezing. No EHU. BLISS. Level ground. Cars not allowed near tents so very safe for little ones.

All in all a fabulous place. Real camping and so close to the beach. Value for money? Most definitely when the location is taken into account and not having to use the car all week.

No need for outrageous car parking costs.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheBabbs 2 reviews from this member

This was the first time in a very long time it have been camping and with a 1 yr and 3 yrs old. I was dreading it but I ended up staying an extra night and would of stayed longer if we didn't have to return back to work. Very friendly staff and superb facilities there is also an enclosed shower unit for mums and babies which was lovely and warm. Lots of space around our pitch and not far to walk from the car( wheelbarrows are supplied) great distance to beach and town centre about 10mins level walk. No riff raff where seen just lovely like minded families. We are definitely returning we even brought a better tent today as ours was a bit small. Lovely sheltered positions and fire pits available. Loos where lovely and clean and they even offered to charge my phone for 1 a day. Could not fault this place at all.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Byronsmith 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Bijou and would like to say WOW, what a fantastic site. We stumbled across this site purely by accident and am so glad we did. The site was fab, excellent location minutes walk from swanage town/seafront. The owners are fab and made us feel at ease from the offset. I won't ramble on as you need to visit for yourselves. What a gem of a place 10/10 from us

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jujo 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a weekend stay here. The site was packed and it was difficult to find a pitch.

The toilet facilities consist of portaloos and are inadequate for the amount of people on site. One toilet was blocked and was still not attended to by the time we had left.

The site promote recycling which is great, however when placing our rubbish in a mixed cycling bin I was greeted by a hostile owner who was moaning about sorting through everyone's rubbish every day. I didn't need to hear his gripes as I am a paying customer.

On a positive note, it is really close to Swanage and the reception staff were extremely pleasant.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mjmurphy 2 reviews from this member

Yet again we had a great time at Kirkwood Park. I love this site as it is so near to the beach with the added bonus of a children's play park on the way, which my children think adds a fun start and end to their day on the beach.

The facilities were even better than before and the owners just as friendly and helpful.

Although initially the price is high for a campsite, this is offset by not having to drive to the beach and pay parking charges.

I look forward to returning again next year.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Swanage      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7199 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019