Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site Reviews

Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site
Bankhead Villa
Chainbridge
Horncliffe
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2XT
Tel: 07554 953697
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 116 Reviews
                9/10 from 116 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  116 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Grahamgunn 2 reviews from this member

 Very quiet. Immaculately kept. Flat, quality pitch.

Very friendly owner.

Would definitely return. Facilities closed due to Covid so cannot comment.

Great base for everything in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Desand 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely, clean and friendly site. We enjoyed our stay very much, we will return again.

They were very helpful when we had car trouble.

It's a lovely area for site seeing and we had several good cycle rides from the site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coastcamper 24 reviews from this member

 This was the only site we could find with availability on the Aug BH weekend within 100 mile radius! Not sure why as it is a little gem.

Beautifully kept lawn, borders and hedges - like camping in a garden. All hard standing pitches large or even larger and level. Water point at each pitch and electricity at or very nearby.

Unsure how much of the booking / check in process was altered by Covid but we were delighted with it. Paid by BACS prior to arrival. Board at entrance clearly informing us of our pitch number (there are only 16).

Facilities were closed but with access to own water point it was easy to use the Motorhome as it is intended - first time in 7 years we have used the shower!

Chemical toilet disposal next to grey water drain and bins. Drain a little tricky to access with bike rack on back and so those with longer vehicle or with outlet in the middle of their van would need a hosepipe.

Location is stunning. Beautiful view from entrance down to River Tweed and the union Chain Bridge. Easy 1 1/4 mile walk along the river to Horncliffe. Not quite so easy 5 or 6 mile walk in the opposite direction to Berwick. Would suggest walking as far as the single track road then taking that to the roundabout. Once you cross the main road cut back down for the last 2 miles of the riverside path. (The middle section is overgrown, full of nettles and pretty slippy. )

Lots of easy cycle routes along the many single track roads to choose from. Go over the chain bridge to explore the Scottish side of the borders or stay this side of the Tweed and visit Ford and Etal.

The campsite backs on to the Honey Farm which, although closed, was obviously still producing honey judging by the number of bees on our van when we returned on the sunny Sunday afternoon. Not sure what had attracted them as there were no flowers nearby. They all seemed pretty lazy so maybe nearing the end of their lifespan?

This is the 5th site we have stayed on since lockdown was lifted and the 3rd with closed facilities. It is the only site that offered a reduction because of this. Much appreciated, thank you.

We will definitely visit again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Karenl 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site, liked the fact we just arrived name was on board at entrance telling us which pitch we were on so hooked up and we were settled in.

Lovely riverside walk nearby, close to Berwick which is beautiful

Definitely will stay here again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mulberrybush 17 reviews from this member

 Pros: This is a nice tidy site which has electric and water on each pitch. The owner is very friendly. There are lots of wonderful walks from site which we enjoyed with our two labs.

Cons: This is not a quiet site despite it's claims to be. The site is boarded on two sides by a large area apparently owned by the Honey Farm and seems to be owned by someone who collects antique/clapped out commercial vehicles, tractors and machinery.

These are VERY noisy and he and his mates kept driving them around for fun. The noise continued on and off, mostly on, from the time we arrived on Friday afternoon until we left Monday morning. (Started at 9. 20 sun morning) In between they were left idling.

A couple in a caravan said this had been going on for the 2 weeks they had been there so it was not just a one-off weekend thing. Needless to say we will not be revisiting. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The clunies 2 reviews from this member

 Chainbridge adults only caravan site horncliffe berwick is a lovely place to visit, My wife and myself and angus our westie enjoyed our 3 night stay on route to york,

We could not fault anything about the site even though the facilities block was closed for covid 19 reasons,

The owners of the site are very polite cheerful and very helpful in every way and the site itself is just perfect,

The surrounding walks outwith the site are very scenic and peaceful, Berwick upon tweed with shops/cafes/pubs and walks is very nice and is only 10 mins drive away,

We hope to return to this lovely place, Bob/Alison and Angus Clunie. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Sal672 1 review from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site highly recommended

Beautiful clean

Big spaces

Beautiful area for walks by the river tweed and the amazing union bridge 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chris5448 34 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site. Beautifully kept. Pitches are large level hardstandings with grass to the side.

Water and electric points on individual pitches. Decent free Wi-fi.

No facilities open this season due to COVID but we always use our own anyway. Plenty of disinfectant left at strategic points for your use.

A short walk to the river and bridge.

Highly recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ronbev 4 reviews from this member

 First time at Chainbridge caravan park was delighted by the quality of the site, toilets and showers and so peaceful.

A big thank you to nina and Patrick the owners, it was a pleasure and hope to return when open again when this crisis is over 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ElaineSP 1 review from this member

 Superb, quiet, adult only/dog friendly site that is well maintained and clean.

The 'facilities building' is probably the best we've seen on any small site - Nina & Patrick have supplied campers with a lovely on-site building that has various rooms housing a sitting area with tv & free WIFI, a kitchen area with microwave and 2 washing up sinks, washing machines & tumble dryer plus ironing facilities, 2 superb showers (not on an annoying timer or present tempreture) & with sliding glass doors so the dressing area stays dry and also has a chair to use so no slipping over getting dressed on one leg ! plus 3 separate toilets.

There are only 16 pitches and most (if not all l) have hook up and close to fresh water tap.

Nina (the owner) is friendly and on hand if needed. She has supplied plenty of touring literature inside the facilities building including a parking permit for visits in to Berwick (which has tons of free 24 hour parking sites including space for motorhome parking in the car park next to B&M).

Only downside was not knowing we needed to pay by cash but luckily we had just enough on us.

The site has great views and is next door to the Honey Farm with a really interesting exhibition, visible/working bee hive (glass display so you're protected), sales of honey etc and a fab cafe set in an old double decker bus offering a superb spread of cakes to have with your cuppa. Across the road is a lovely walk along the river for dogs & their humans (although a bit muddy in wet weather).

Superb stay which we wish had been longer. 
via mobile


Previous     116 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2172 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement