Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site Reviews

Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site
Bankhead Villa
Chainbridge
Horncliffe
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2XT
Tel: 07554 953697
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 99 Reviews
                9/10 from 99 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming 1 mile   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: RoyMond 2 reviews from this member

Well what more can I say about this fantastic adults only caravan site, this was are fourth visit in the past year and have booked for two more visits this year, Nina and Patrick have totally refurbished the reception and shower block to a fantastic standard and as we already loved this site it only made are stay more enjoyable.

The area around this fantastic site is glorious and the views are breath taking and a most for walks into the beautiful Northumberland countryside and as its only six miles from Berwick upon Tweed, you have all the shops you need.

The site is kept immaculate and with fully serviced pitches it has everything you need, so book at visit and enjoy this unspoilt beautiful part of the country.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DottieClare 4 reviews from this member

Lovely well kept site with great facilities. Right next door to Chain Bridge Honey Farm with its Beekeepers garden and fantastic museum and gorgeous honey.

Lovely riverside walks and very close to the Chain Bridge across the Tweed, one side you are in England walk across to the other and you are in Scotland. We visited Paxton House across the river.

There is a pub in the village which does basic but tasty pub food and is dog friendly.

We sat outside the van on one of the days and all you could here was nature - bliss.

This site is a credit to Nina and her husband. We will be back!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lindadf 8 reviews from this member

We first visited this small site back in 2011, we found it a little gem then. After returning to touring after a few years of having a static we decided we needed to return.

We weren’t disappointed

Nina very quickly responded to my emails when I was enquiring about booking, the transaction was easy and communication thorough.

Arrivals dealt with via a board at the entrance, so much simpler than going to reception and then having to turn your caravan round.

The pitch we were on was nearest to the road/entrance, but absolutely no noise from road overnight. A nice lawned area next to pitch perfect for sitting out on.

The site is still very well maintained, clean and tidy throughout, Nina is very pleasant and helpful, whilst maintaining a discreet presence.

The facilities block is bursting with information leaflets about the local area.

Even on a busy bank holiday weekend this site was peaceful, friendly and a great place to be.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: FindlayMac 7 reviews from this member

From Booking this site to arrival & departure was truly outstanding. Nina (Owner) got back to us very prompt and was very sincere and welcoming.

What a lovely well maintained site and absolutely beautiful surroundings. Nina and her Husband take pride in keeping their site and buildings in pristine condition.

The Toilets and Showers were immaculate as was the laundry room. If you need WiFi you can go inside the residents lounge where there is also a Television.

A truly enjoyable experience staying at this Site and we will certainly return and would Highly Recommenced but did want to keep this (Hidden Gem) to ourselves as we truly loved it.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NMack 11 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site. We stayed here for 4 nights on our return north and it is a great base for visiting Berwick, Alnwick and the National Museum of Flight to name but a few. Being a small site and adults only, it is extremely peaceful. You hear the odd car visiting the honey farm which is accessed behind the site, but that is it.

We had the 'pleasure' of sitting out Storm Ali on site without mishap. The work that Nina puts in to keep the grounds and the facilities tidy, is a credit to her. Facilities are excellent and there are more washing machines than I've seen on far larger sites. The underfloor heating in the showers is a bonus and the showers cubicles always felt warm.

You see the Chain Bridge before you enter the site and its only a few minutes walk down hill. A nice leg stretch of an evening.

Would definitely recommend this site if you're looking for somewhere not too far from a main road, has good access and is extremely peaceful.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lindafieldview 1 review from this member

What a beautiful site only stayed one night as we were on way home. It's a credit to the owners so many facilities and kept immaculate.

Good to hear site doesn't close in November. Will definitely go again.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Scara001 5 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site you very rarely see Nina but you know she has been around as the site is spotless, and the facilities are kept in pristine condition as well. It is a great base for visiting loads of places, we had a fantastic dolphin display down at Spittal just a few minutes drive from the site.

There are great walks along the River Tweed you can make it to Berwick just 5 miles along the river or cross over to Scotland via the Chain Bridge and stroll along the river to Paxton House.

But you know you are going to have a peaceful evening when you return to your base at the caravan park. Oh yes a good meal is to be had at the Fishermans Inn.

We will be returning I am sure to this gem of a park.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DAVE4560 2 reviews from this member

What a gem of a site, whether you just stay and relax or use as a touring base, this sit is top quality, facilities are of high standard, the Owner / Warden does everything possible to make sure your stay is a lovely experience.

The honey farm is a short walk as is the famous chainbridge crossing to Scotland. Nearby villages of Eyemouth and At abs are both well worth the visit.

Try the Lowery tour of Berwick where there are notice boards showing the sites of his paintings all around Berwick. Thanks again Nina

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wileman66 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 weeks at this beautiful campsite and did not want to leave. It was our first time in the area and we will be returning. The campsite is ideally located to get to all places of interest but still remains peaceful and relaxing.

Berwick on Tweed is the nearest town with all the usual shops and amenities along with the train station with direct links to Edinburgh. Honey Farm next door is well worth a visit and sells the most delicious ice cream.

Site is well kept and showers etc cleaned to a high standard. All in all I would highly recommend and we will be returning in the not too distant future.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: N.romeo@talk21 4 reviews from this member

What can you say about this gem of an adults only campsite. Peace and quiet (ignore the wood pigeon at 4. 30 am) and an aura of calmness. Generous hard standing pitches with your own piece of lawn too. Water and electricity are all located very close to each pitch.

The facilities are of a very high standard with lovely little touches that you wouldn't expect. For example: washing up liquid if you forget to take your own, a hair-drier and a good sized mirror, air fresheners in the loos. Hot water at any tine of the day and the best showers I've ever used anywhere.

There is a lounge area if you want to sit somewhere comfy and a small library - leave a book, swap abook etc. A friendly welcome from Nina who owns the campsite and is so laid back.

Will definitely be returning.

Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4009 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019