Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site > Reviews

Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site
Bankhead Villa
Chainbridge
Horncliffe
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2XT
Tel: 07554 953697
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: 23/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 137 Reviews
                9/10 from 137 Reviews

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  137 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Roverm 1 review from this member

 Brilliantly kept quiet adult only site,

Excellent facilities always kept clean and tidy even the showers had what felt like underfloor heating and had shower units that you didn't have to keep depressed to enjoy a lovely shower

Facilities included a laundry room (coin operated) and an additional TV lounge with a table crammed with local information leaflets and personal recommendations from previous customers 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kerritoo 2 reviews from this member

 Top class site others should take note,

Immaculate grounds and facilities.

3 unisex toilets and 2 showers as well as much more

Excellent for cycling

No drive over grey waste for large motorhomes but we just used our hose which was fine

Definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pickle 3 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site

Very quiet and adults only and also dog friendly

Great facilities, toilets & showers very clean

There is also a great TV room with selection of Dvds books & magazines

The owners work very hard to make this site such an excellent place to stay

Will definitely be returning 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Morrms 14 reviews from this member

 A fantastic little adults site. It was great see that no signs were up saying toilets would be closed for cleaning for two hours, the facilities were always immaculate and must be cleaned when people not about.

Pitches were adequate size and it’s not unusual that you park in front of caravan to avoid being on the grass.

Patrick the owner was always helpful and on the end of the phone if you needed anything or at his house.

Close to Paxton house and pub in Paxton village is lovely.

Site is central for visiting lots of places from Cheviot Hills to Holy Island,

Highly recommend walk around St Abbs and also visiting beaches nearby.

We’ll definitely back as the area is excellent and site is perfect 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JuanHuNose 4 reviews from this member

 Nice location next to the River Tweed, unfortunately the chain bridge was still under repair so not usable but there are walks along the river.

Level hardstandings, although some are a little tight if you have an awning as you then have to park in front of the `van (no parking on the grass).

Facilities are spotlessly clean with an information centre, laundry room and common room with books/TV/DVDs.

A couple of negatives - the grey water disposal point doesn`t have a facility to wash out your grey water container, and we were plagued with `fridge alarm going off in the evenings when the site was full. This was due to the voltage drop (I measured 192 volts which was enough to upset the `fridge) and also seemed to affect the microwave. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Flashfreddie 1 review from this member

 Lovely small adults only campsite in a stunning location for walks,

Beaches and touring the area. The site feels a little congested at full capacity due to cars having to park in front of their caravans, however it is really well looked after with well tended shrubs and flowers. There is some noise from visitors to the Honey Farm but it's happy noise so that's fine!

The facilities are clean with extras like washing machine, microwave and loads of information about the area.

Now to the niggles - the access door to the showers is small and as an arthritis sufferer I struggled to get in and out easily and it was quite disconcerting to be plunged into darkness after a few minutes and have to exit the shower to get light, also the shower was not warm enough for me or my husband. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Baillie128 1 review from this member

 This site is located in beautiful countryside far from busy road noise or anything else likely to disturb. The downside of that of course is that if you are in a Motorhome getting to shops becomes a bit inconvenient.

On arrival we were met by a pleasant lady who made sure we were ok and offered assistance should we require it. That was the last time we saw anyone from the site owners /managers. No big deal but a visual presence occasionally would have been nice.

As for the site itself we found it to be below the standard we have experienced on other Tranquil Park sites for the following reasons:-

The chemical waste point supplied water through a very short, leaking rubber hose. Consequently touching said hose risked contamination. The fact that there was no cleansing facility provided was disappointing.

Grey water disposal could be a health hazard due to the provision of a mucky, soaking wet rope to be used for raising the cover…Yuck!

Several external light points were out of order or making movement during darkness risky without a torch.

Toilet facilities looked tired and cheap, the showers cold and cramped and overall there appeared to be a lack of attention to detail. There was no apparent notice of any cleaning regime indeed I saw no evidence of any such activity during our stay.

Overall the site is not that bad but in terms of value for money it falls well short of the mark.

Would we return…No 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pettergo 24 reviews from this member

 Friendly, excellent facilities including tv lounge, washing machines and dryers, jigsaws and good library for wet days.

Quiet location, free WiFi, good value.

Highly recommended.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulcoan 17 reviews from this member

 POSITIVES

Nice well positioned site

Easy to get too

Adult only

Beautiful area

Small

Quiet

Good clean facility

Full serviced (nearly)

Right next to the Tweed and the historical Chain Bridge down the hill

Other side of the bridge is Scotland

NEGATIVES

Service pitch does not include grey water so need waste master

No close dog walks just a road down the hill to the bridge

Very poor communication

Never received a single text or acknowledgment

Found had given away our pitch on our last day which they admitted totally their fault as recorded our departure date wrong, sorted but left a bad taste in our mouths

Would we come again NO 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ab70 1 review from this member

 Chainbridge caravan site

An average site

16 pitches - we were on pitch 1 which I would deem to be the worst pitch on site, the better size and open and sunnier pitches being 6 - 16, allowing awnings and car to have sufficient space, so if you are thinking of staying try to get one of these, although there are no guarantees.

Our pitch (north facing front) was surrounded by high hedging thus the awning stayed damp and musty most of the day, due to lack of sunlight to dry it out.

Car had to be parked along the front of the caravan adjacent to the driveway in, as there is insufficient space to the side to park.

The pitch is not wide enough for a standard caravan and 2. 4m awning.

Also as the pitch widths 1-5 are narrow the neighbours awning encroaches on the fire safety distance for sites.

Constant noise from adjacent road and visitors to the neighbouring honey farm, plus the ongoing works to Chain Bridge do not make it a quiet stay in comparison to other tranquil sites we have used.

Facilities are minimal 2 shower units and 3 wc’s for 16 pitches, thus possibly 32 people, you may need to queue, this number of units would be ok if there was grey water waste at each pitch, but there is not.

Cubicles are small approx 950 wide with sliding shower doors opening width approx 450.

There is no ambulant disabled facility and in fact the corridor in the facility block is sloping and uneven along its length with approx 7 deg cross-fall near entrance, thus being a trip hazard.

There is a tv room and dishwashing facility in the block as well 2 sinks which we did not use plus washing machine and dryers.

The grey waste disposal has a concrete lid openable by a length of rope. Wc waste is by the common metal box and liner. Be aware, There are no sanitising stations near either of these.

There are separate skips for general waste and recycling.

Apart from arrival we did not see or speak to the owners.

Berwick on Tweed is the nearest large town for shopping. 


Previous     137 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Chain Bridge Touring Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54974 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement