Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Barlings Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Langworth > Barlings Country Holiday Park Reviews

Barlings Country Holiday Park
Barlings Lane
Langworth
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN3 5DF
Tel: 01522 753200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 25
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Edwa43 6 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for three nights in July ’17. The site location is great – about 7 miles from Lincoln, a short bus journey, with the bus stop in the village about ½ mile walk.

There is little else around in the village, no shops, one pub with strange opening hours (so worth checking the board outside), nicely done out and friendly staff though.

The site has a gate entrance which needs a fob for in and out (£10 refundable deposit). The site comprises of tent area, fishing ponds, seasonal caravanners, touring field, two log cabins and caravan storage.

We arrived and were allocated a pitch right next to the toilet block, I wasn’t keen on this so requested an alternative and were advised the ones that were free the duration of our stay and advised we could have a look and pick one. We did and the spot we chose was lovely. Still close to the toilet block as this is in the field / grassed area for tourers, but far enough away. The new toilet block comprises of 5 wet rooms (one of them probably primarily for the log cabin use) and one separate shower and one separate toilet. No chemical disposal.

We had a walk around site after we were pitched and realised we had been very lucky with our location. The seasonal area is very cramped, almost on top of each other and quite loud. The old toilet block is in this area, which doesn’t look very nice and the chemical disposal is here too, which is a proper loo in a portaloo cabin – bit gross, not clean. This is also where the hard standing was, had we opted for hard standing, we would have asked to move location or even have left the site as we couldn’t have stayed this close to the seasonals. Some of the seasonal caravanners treated the place like a nightclub. I am not trying to be a party pooper but no one needs music loud enough for other sections of the site to hear and certainly not late at night after the time when they should have turned it off (according to the paperwork issued at check-in).

Unfortunately, despite the nicely done out, seemingly quite new toilet / shower block, the facilities were dirty each time either myself or hubby went to use them. I don’t mean grassy floors or cobwebs; it is a campsite this is to be expected. But other caravanners feel it is not their responsibility to clean up their ‘mess’ even though loo brushes are provided. It is disgusting! Whilst not the fault of the campsite as it is the people using the facilities, perhaps if the facilities were checked more frequently then the rest of us wouldn’t have to deal with that. This was raised with the warden and we were advised there was a new cleaner, who was off that day. In fairness the next day when they had been cleaned they were gleaming. Perhaps feedback for the site should be to put signage up to remind users that the facilities are for everyone and to leave them in a clean and acceptable standard.

In the main it is a nice campsite but has a lot of potential to be great campsite. If you are in the area it’s worth a visit for a couple of nights.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jegordon 9 reviews from this member

Good location for Lincoln, site down quiet lane away from a busy road. Bus stop within ½ mile walk. Entry is by a gate operated with a fob system so is well secure.

No shop within walking distance, so maybe reception could sell 'essentials'. There is a pub a 10 min walk away which has been refurbished with good beer.

The site is a bit tired and in need of some upgrading ie. Old toilet block/signage. I thought some of the grass pitches should be graveled with the site being open all year, would look better than placing cones around wet areas. Also, some of the seasonal tourers let the site down by needing a good wash and some of the awnings are in poor condition and look as if they have been up from 1 year to the next.

Could be a gem of a site if the owners want it to be.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Astro tone 1 review from this member

Unfortunately this site is getting worse and from a fishing point of view it is now down to 1 lake (the Kingfisher lake is unfishable unless you clear your swim due to lack of water maintenance) bringing in a water bailiff or someone that cares about fishing ect. Would be a good start, as this is an unacceptable situation to be in if you're charging for fishing in a lake there shouldn't be the need to do the job of the site staff(water bailiff). The new toilet block although well located, and well thought out it is no longer maintained as it used to be it has gone from checked and cleaned every day to wait till someone complains or as and when it's thought about. As for value for money the camping yes is great but the fishing does need a lot to be desired, especially after all the larger fish were removed when it ownership was taken over. After going when it was under the old owner and regularly to date it is a noticeable slip of standards although the new toilet/shower block was brought in under this owner and a much needed improvement it was. The site is now aiming mainly at the sale of chalets/cabins and hard standings for static vans and moving away from the caravan and motorhome users that come for the fishing or a short stay. This needs to be addressed before it becomes just the owners of the chalets and the people with caravans stored there as the only users as this will not only limit the customers but also the chance of development of farther improvements IE wheelchair access (even the new disabled facilities in the new block feature a step to get over (something that needs addressing to maximise usability in case someone is there without the use of their legs or very unsteady when walking) with the local transport links there is pretty much everything you could need just a short walk and a bus journey away (Lincoln city centre)

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rod+Ali 18 reviews from this member

Lovely quiet site set around fishing lakes.

The facilities were new and clean and not too far from the pitches.

There were a lot of seasonal pitches which looked a little bit crammed in on the hardstanding area, but there was plenty of room on the grassy touring area (next to the new toilet block)

Not much happening in the local village which was a 5 minute walk away - one pub had shut down and the other was undergoing refurbishment and was only open in the evening.

There is a regular bus service to and from Lincoln which cost us £7. 50 each way for 2 adults and a dog.

All in all - a good site which we would use again if in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sammyfaith 2 reviews from this member

2 night stay, beautiful site, excellent staff. A very relaxing stay with the best facilities we have ever come across. No bad sides to this park. 10 minutes from historic City of Lincoln. I don't fish myself but spoke to those who do and all where complimentary of the well stocked lakes.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caz16 1 review from this member

Just had a lovely, peaceful & restful 6 days overlooking the many beautiful views of the lakes & trees.

Husband has enjoyed his successful days of excellent fishing.

Although this has only been our 2nd visit over the last 2 years we haven't changed our opinion of the site or staff.

We witnessed the start of many improvements & now have seen the excellent new toilet/shower block; warm, clean & spacious. The new Clamping Cabin looks awesome.

If you want a quiet midweek break then this is the spot.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kitcat 10 reviews from this member

Beautiful peaceful site. Very secure and well maintained. Warden is very helpful and accessible. Facilities well looked after. Around a 10 minute drive into up hill cathedral area of Lincoln. There's a Waitrose and Tesco within 10 minute drive as well as a good Indian take away / restaurant (Mach).

I think the best pitches are the ones around the lake but there is a good choice. Very dog friendly. Highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adamedwardsteather 29 reviews from this member

Fab welcome by name: 'We have been expecting you Mr Edwards. '

Camped well away from the caravans by the side of the football goals which made for an excellent drying rack. Most of the vans are weekenders so unoccupied mid week. The site was very quite, a little distant road noise only. So we had the best nights sleep of the trip.

There are two toilet blocks, one a month old which has several unisex wet rooms plus a wet room with no loo and a separate toilet. There are two small snags with this:

- There are no mats by the doors, so the wet rooms get used just for the loo and muddy feet leave a trail.

- There is no indication of occupancy, so people try the doors when you are in.

But they were spotless and it does mean you are in a shower which is not next to a toilet being used by someone else. Also very handy for families. However, they do have the 30 second buttons, which I'm not a great fan of.

Much nearer to our tent was an older block with laundry and dishwashing facilities, which were good, but the loos were clearly past their best and I assume due for replacement now they have the new block. I went in once and didn't use them again as the new block was worth the walk.

The site is ideal for those fishing (not us) but not much in the way of anything for children other than the football pitch with two goals.

Big electric security gate for which you have to get a fob, so don't forget to ask if you need to. The local pub does food, but not every night, so if cycle touring, you need to bring supplies.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NottsP 4 reviews from this member

Big site, lots of semi-permanent caravans on site - but not crowded. Good pitches between the ponds. Quiet site. Friendly staff. New shower blocks great - big wet rooms, which were fantastic for us to use as a family with the kids, loads of room to get them washed and dried in with us and really clean too. Five-ten minutes from Lincoln city center. We used as a stop over on the way to the coast, which was only an extra hour away. Touch pricey once an awnings added (£24 a night with an awning)

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lynn Douthwaite 4 reviews from this member

Just came home today after spending 4 nights at Barlings, what a great place to be.

On arrival large metal secure gates, opened by code on wall given to you by manager.

Very large areas for tourers, camping and lodges.

Roads are good and level, everywhere so clean and very well kept by the young manager who was very nice and pleasant, very hard working.

Older shower block, very clean lots of hot wAter.

New shower block is almost finished with 6 wet rooms.

The lakes were wonderful, my husband caught lots of carp up to 15 LB in weight and a few bigger that got away, tench, perch, roach, Rudd and other types of fish all in excellent condition.

Very quiet site, just what is needed after a stressful time at work.

Met some lovely people.

Close to Lincoln City, about 6/7 miles also on bus route.

Fantastic gem of a site, can't wait to go back there.

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4070 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019