Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cotswold Hills Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Cotswold Hills Country Park Reviews

Cotswold Hills Country Park
Hook Norton Road
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 5TE
Tel: 01608 644860
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: February 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevin651816aog 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site with great hosts and good facilities.

We were so impressed we have booked again.

The site is very well laid out and is only just off a main road but seems like you are in the middle of nowhere 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fport39105kdl 1 review from this member

 Friendly helpful team.

Very clean and tidy and small site and facilities.

Great quiet location but near to main routes.

Electric hook up included in reasonable price. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kaffy327085xqx 1 review from this member

 Excellent! not much more to say,

It's clean,

Staff friendly,

Good information on things in the area,

Helpful,

Loads of room,

Lighting good at night, felt safe. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Bricklayer 22 reviews from this member

 Booked in for May Bank Holiday. We booked in advance and as usual and as a courtesy to the site we notified them we have a continental van (door on the wrong side). As did our friends who were staying too.

Upon arrival at the site the barrier was down. We pulled up and went into reception. We paid deposit for our security card to open the barrier. Upon doing so the site staff (maybe owner) came out and spotted our continental van.

They then said we needed to be moved and we were not going onto the pitch originally booked.

They then said our van looks a bit like a 'hobby' (it's not a hobby) and they don't allow hobby vans.

And they don't allow twin axle vans either. Especially hobby. On advice from 'the council'

Well our single axle van isn't a hobby. And we have never had an issue before. But we didn't feel very welcome.

We were taken to the far end of the site and we're instructed how to pitch our van. Site staff were insistent we followed the 6m rule gap from other units. Which we did. (as we always do)

Just felt we were not welcome or trusted to pitch correctly.

The site is flat and level. There is a fast food van on Friday nights selling burgers etc

Being bank holiday weekend the site was busy. 3 showers in the gents was not enough for the numbers of campers on site

The facilities otherwise are adequate. The ehu is fine there are multiple fresh water points etc. There are a fair few seasonal pitches and a park home on site (funny many of the seasonal pitches were twin axle vans)

During the weekend many units arrived. Funnily enough the 6m rule went out of the window and it seemed to get quite 'cramped'

The site is ideally placed to visit the wolds. Chipping Norton and the hook Norton brewery.

There are several other good sites in the area with a warmer welcome and better facilities. The site is fine. But not as good as others 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: SherryLZ 4 reviews from this member

 Love clean friendly site

Visited in Feb 1/2 term & we were very lucky with the weather

Pitches are a good size & it is quite a small site so it should be ok in the height of the season.

Walked into Chipping Norton - no footpaths so make sure you take a torch

Only gripe was that the lights turned off while I was in the shower, as they are on a motion sensor which is not located in the main part, on the plus side the shower were hot & clean.

We were encouraged to feed the chickens any food scraps & eggs were on sale in the reception

Nearest shop was Aldi walk-able distance

Recommend the brewery tour at Hook Norton & we had a lovely lunch there. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Niknrich 17 reviews from this member

 Our fourth stay at this nice site who are welcoming to well-behaved groups. We were a group of seven in a campervan, a small caravan and two tents, and were pitched in our usual spot at the end of the main field.

The facilities are very well-kept and clean, and the pitches are level and well-drained. It's a bit of a walk to the toilet block etc from the bottom of the field but we like the quiet end!

Chipping Norton is handy for shops, takeaways etc as of course is the Hook Norton brewery for the beer fans. However there aren't any pubs etc within walking distance but the Indian takeaway deliver to the site.

I think the EHU is still only 10A so you need camping kettles etc not domestic ones as they'll trip the fuses.

We enjoyed our stay as usual and will probably be back next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pharri91 5 reviews from this member

 Great site, good facilities. Even the grass cutting are collected.

Only down side is if your are a dog owner, there is no dog walk on site. If only the owners would turn the bottom corner of the rally field over to dogs the site would be perfect. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lissabuff 8 reviews from this member

 Just back from a 3 night visit to this site, reasonable price, greeting was first class, had ordered some sun, , , , just as it was literally started hissing down! but good laughs abound.

Explained where all you would need was to be found, and kindly put our van onto the pitch as the ground was quite sodden after several days of heavy rain, nice quiet and friendly site, kept in good clean order, chickens were quiet, no early rising cockerel! [thankfully]

Showers were nice and hot. After you had avoided the first ice cold blast. Only little niggle is the short flow of water between the push button activation, and that the heating was on between 6;30 and 8;30 am, not sure many benefited from this pleasure, possibly set an hour later might be more appreciated, but the block was kept in clean condition at all times,

Friday evening saw the burger van crew open up and F&Chips were good value for money, the site is well placed for visiting this wonderful area,

Would have no hesitation on returning again, 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cuddlecat 7 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for the first time and found it excellent.

The site is very well maintained and was quiet and peaceful (however we were in an off-peak time so it could well be different in high peak times). The area is wonderful, near to so many lovely places.

If we had to be critical at all, it was the showers themselves, very poor water pressure and not very hot, but this would not put us off going again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lorraibenn 1 review from this member

 Stayed here as part of the CCC Rally, it is a lovely well kept site. Facilities were immaculate and the staff work very hard to maintain standards.

The man from the small shop on site was very helpful when we discovered a gas leak in our campervan and advised on the correct seal that we needed which they sold at a minimal cost.

The only thing that spoiled our stay was the traffic noise from the road at the side of the camp site. 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cotswold Hills Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cotswold Hills Country Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cotswold Hills Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4411 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020