Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cotswold Hills Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Cotswold Hills Country Park Reviews

Cotswold Hills Country Park
Hook Norton Road
Chipping Norton
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX7 5TE
Tel: 01608 644860
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

Photos (7)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pebblehead 2 reviews from this member

 A few years ago, my introduction to caravanning was at Cotswold Hills. Since then, my wife and I have been both regular visitors and seasonal "pitchers" at the site. The help and advice I have had from the site staff, Tony, Dave and Lynn and other 'vanners much more experienced than I has enabled me to enjoy a whole new world.

The open aspect to one side of the site is the source of many beautiful sunsets and rises, there's a real "big sky" feeling where the Skylarks sing all day over the field.

Facilities are great, kept scrupulously clean and are pretty much all that you could want on a good site. Cotswold Hills Country Park is brilliantly accessible from almost anywhere and is a short distance from supermarkets and a mile or so from the beautiful town of Chipping Norton. As a cyclist, I've spent many an hour cycling the lanes thereabouts, and many pretty villages are in easy cycling reach.

Its a great place to stay and we heartily recommend it.

From Chris and Julie, thanks CHCP! 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: JamesNewark 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at this site quite a few times when visiting the Cotswolds and we really love it!

Every time weíve stayed itís been super enjoyable. The grounds are so well taken care of. Friendly and polite staff. Communal areas are exceptionally clean.

Itís a good location for exploring the ďgo to and must see areasĒ of the Cotswolds.

We are planning to return again next year and can definitely recommend it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cathy65 1 review from this member

 Absolutely beautiful site with large hard standing pitches. The toilets & showers were spotless & adhered to the COVID rules.

Perfectly situated to visit the Cotswolds with lots of places to walk & cycle nearby.

Lovely & quiet at night and the grounds were very well maintained & spotless.

A perfect long weekend away will definitely return. I canít speak highly enough of this site, book it you wonít be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Judy Norton 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely flat site but would benefit from a cafe or shop. Didn't realise that the electric hookup wasn't working until I tried to charge my iphone. Luckily there was a spare hookup we could use. It appears from reading other reviews this happens often. Permanent caravans appear to be using too much electricity causing it to trip. Lovely towns nearby & lovely walks.

Only 4 in the shower block seems a little over the top. Wouldn't have been happy if I'd had to wait to use the toilet if there was a free one but too many people using the showers. I honestly think toilets & showers should have separate entrances. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: WispaNicholas 1 review from this member

 Excellent site well run, very clean, good location within walking distance to Chipping Norton.

Camped on rally field. Distancing between tents very good & plenty of space for ball games. Quiet at night for sleeping. Dog friendly.

Definitely going back. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Darrenlewis 2 reviews from this member

 Great location for visiting the surrounding area and Chipping Norton is only 5 minutes away. We were running a little late reception called to see how far away we were to ensure that reception were open for us. The team were great and helpful.

Only gripe really toilets /showers could do with a more regular clean only seemed to get cleaned once a day and time on shower needs to be extended to at least a minute long.

If you get chance ask for a pitch along the wall.

Otherwise good value and we will return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 51 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site and we were impressed with the look as we pulled up at reception. After paying balance (hand sanitizer in reception) we were given barrier code and we progressed through barrier to our allocated pitch. Nice clean and tidy looking site with mix of hard standings and grass pitches. A lot of the hard standing pitches appear to be seasonal caravans.

The toilet block at lower end of site kept spotless with social distancing signs and floor markings. It is quite a distance from the top of site especially if you are older visitors as we are.

The site is in a perfect position for exploring the Cotswolds and only 10 minute drive from Chipping Norton.

A couple of negative points: £4 per person to have guests on site which is expensive as they only stayed 2 hours.

A couple of "residents" on site, one had several noisy visitors and large smokey fire basket burning that smelt like the weeks rubbish being burnt in the evenings after reception closed, perhaps a way to avoid £4 charge.

The second a woman who went out for 3 or 4 hours most days leaving 3 dogs alone and constantly barking as people passed the caravan. Not ideal as the temperature was very hot while we were there.

Overall a very nice site that we would certainly return to in the future.  


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Reuben Barney-Smith 1 review from this member

 Truly a special place

The scenery was stunning

The staff were so helpful couldn't do enough for us

The park was immaculate

Can't wait to go back there and create more memories.

Reuben 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: RibShack 1 review from this member

 First impressions were really good, lovely frontage and reception area, but it went downhill from there.

Firstly, we had booked two adjacent pitches, but the site had apparently only booked us one pitch (even though they had taken a 50% deposit which would have been full payment for one pitch).

They claimed there were no other free adjacent pitches until the following day due to this mistake, and put our friends in the rally field with no hookup for the first night. Even though there were 2 free pitches opposite us until the following day that could have been used. Worth saying they did reduce the rate so the rally field night was free.

From then talking to the lady on the pitch next to me that was vacating the next day, it transpired that she had booked 3 nights starting Tue, but delayed it by a day due to the weather. The site had not considered the knock-on effect of doing this.

Next issue was electricity. The team claimed it was because some people must have been using inappropriate equipment, but no attempt was made to isolate the problem. However, reading some of the reviews here it seems this is a longstanding issue and just has not been resolved. Worth noting that a lot of the seasonal pitches had electric heaters and ovens etc that could be seen in awnings. The supply tripped out regularly every 10 mins or so all night for the first two nights in the evenings. This particularly was an issue when I ran out of gas due to the lack of electricity so had to go and buy some more off site - the gates are electric so I managed to get trapped inside the site twice and outside it once!

Toilet and shower facilities were pretty clean, but to have 3 toilets and 3 showers per sex for a 70 pitch site with a rally field is not even close to enough.

Finally would be COVID precautions - there weren't any. There was a screen in reception to protect the staff and a bottle of hand sanitiser, but that was it. There was no sanitiser in toilets, water points, entrance and exit keypads and the pitches were very close together. There was a sign outside the toilet block saying 'no more than 4 people', but you can't actually see into the toilets without going in, at which point you are met with a queue of people waiting for the shower (theoretically meaning you can't even use the loo until someone has finished a shower.

I don't want to be hugely negative, as this could be a lovely site - the location is great, half a mile from a little Waitrose and 5 mins from Chipping Norton; but they need to plan better and make the facilities more reliable and sufficient. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Eb2345 1 review from this member

 We absolutely loved our time at this campsite. Really well located for exploring the Cotswolds.

Immaculately kept and spotlessly clean. Iíve read a couple of the previous reviews regarding COVID restrictions, I guess it depends how far you want to go with it. We were comfortable with the measures that were in place.

All in all a very friendly team and a very nice site. Would definitely recommend! 
via mobile


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cotswold Hills Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cotswold Hills Country Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cotswold Hills Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chipping Norton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3258 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement