Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seren Bach Campsite (was The Radnor Arms)

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Hay On Wye > Seren Bach Campsite (was The Radnor Arms) Reviews

Seren Bach Campsite (was The Radnor Arms)
Llowes
Hay On Wye
Powys   (Browse area)
HR3 5JA
Tel: 01497 847460
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Mamble 1 review from this member

 Absolutely stunning uninterrupted views & very peaceful. Best views Iíve had from a campsite.

Quirky rustic campsite with clean showers and toilets.

1 hour easy walk along the river in to Hay-on-Wye, lovely book town filled with boutique and antique shops.

Lucie was very quick to respond to enquiries and welcoming on arrival.

Definitely keep this one on my list of go-to places to stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amanda Jay 1 review from this member

 Glorious views, great welcome and communication and all facilities were fabulously clean. We stayed during Hay Festival and it was the perfect base to chill and relax between talks. I really like the fact that cars need to be parked away from the camping field as it doesn't turn the site into a car park or detract from the amazing views. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jo Keen 1 review from this member

 Wonderful campsite overlooking stunning views of the black mountains. Close proximity to the river wye for fantastic canoeing. Hay-on-Wye a short drive away with superb restaurants, pubs, cafes, book shops galore. Lovely facilities, very warm and friendly welcome and helpful reception on the campsite. Highly recommend. Will definitely be back.  


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sox500c 11 reviews from this member

 Small camping field behind the pub. Slightly uneven ground but good enough. Superb views from the bottom of the site. Camp fires allowed in designated spots. Two showers, unisex, and quite basic toilet facilities which are shared with pub guests. All facilities were kept clean and tidy. The boot room is a bonus, with a toaster, kettle and sink as well as tables and chairs. A nice garden area with tables and chairs. The field is close to the road so some traffic noise can be heard but I didn't notice a great deal of noise at night.

The pub itself is more of a restaurant with a few stools at the bar. A good range of drinks available. The food is excellent although a little pricey. I strongly recommend booking a table in advance if you intend to dine at the pub because when we arrived on a Saturday evening all the tables were reserved. However, we were offered pizza in the garden which was very nice. All staff were very friendly and accommodating. Also, the pub is only open Wednesday to Sunday. We were warned in advance of the pub closing times but it would have been helpful if we were advised of the need to reserve a table for dinner when we booked the camping.

A pleasant one-hour trek along the Wye Valley Walk takes you into Hay-on-Wye which is a pleasant little town with several pubs and restaurants. A similar distance in the other direction is Glasbury, smaller than Hay. Here we rented a Canadian kayak (seats 3) and spent a lovely afternoon paddling downstream to Hay. Wye Valley Canoes provided the kayak and they also rent out scooters if you are so inclined. They meet you at Hay, or Whitney if you rent for a whole day, and return you to Glasbury. We chose to remain in Hay and they took the kayak back. A very enjoyable afternoon and we had time to stop on a pebbled beach for sandwiches and refreshments.

We were fortunate enough to be in the area when the Three Cocks Vintage Steam Rally was held in Hay. Recommended if you like vintage steam engines, cars, motorcycles, trucks, tractors etc. As well as a car boot and helicopter rides. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ferretlady 13 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend camping at the Radnor Arms site.

The camping is in a field behind the pub, with beautiful views. We were only using the site as a base as we were doing PR ferret work at the vintage show in Hay on Wye.

Cars are only allowed on the field to unload, load. Which if you have children is a plus. The site is very basic, with 2 unisex showers and 2 toilets in ladies and gents. These are also shared with pub visitors. They are very basic but served what we needed. There is a boot room with kettle, toaster, freezer and washing up sink.

The camping field is next to a main road, so can hear traffic, but didn't bother us at all.

The pub is very homely, excellent meals and service. Not cheap, but very tasty! Has a pretty garden area, with a summer house to use if wet.

We would go back for a weekend as a base but don't think we would spend longer as a bit too basic.

Everyone was very friendly, even the guys that stayed on friday night on a stag weekend. They were very respectful of the other campers. Well done lads! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Achy 14 reviews from this member

 Excellent site with fantastic facilities. Yes it is just a field behind a pub but the view is great, you can have a camp fire,

The toilets and showers were very clean (despite sharing the showers with pub customers) and there is a terrific 'boot room' with hot and cold water, a large sink, kettle & toaster and tables and chairs inside for those times when the weather really isn't that favourable!

The food in the pub was very good and I felt good value for money too.

Pitch fees are very reasonable. All in all a great little site-the only down side is the noise from the road, although even this wasn't too loud, as you can pitch right at the end of the field and be a fair way from the road. It does quieten down over night too.

I would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bezfam 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed in the camping field, due to weather we were the only ones there. Very nice pub, excellent service from Percy the bar man and lent us two mugs for coffee in the morning.

Have a Boot Room which is left open to campers and has facilities for making a basic breakfast. Food in the pub was excellent.

Washroom facilities are basic and clean. The showers were electric and nice and hot. Recommended for a quick stay if your on the road 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Welshcamper100 13 reviews from this member

 Ssshhhhh! Don't tell anybody else about this fantastic pub and campsite. The site may only be a rough field behind the pub and the toilets are shared with the pub but what a find.

The views are spectacular, there are fire pits, you can easily walk into Hay on Wye, the food though pricey is excellent and the owners are friendly and welcoming.

The boot room is a godsend on a wet and windy day with kettle and toaster. Showers were hot and clean. Cant wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kijog 1 review from this member

 Brilliant little campsite set in the Wye Valley, this was our first time camping and we'll definitely come back here again. Plus points: * setting - looking out over Wye Valley and hills of the Brecon Beacons

* nice facilities - showers were hot and there is a 'boot room' with sink, kettle and toaster as well as table and chairs if you need to escape the weather. They let us use their freezer to chill freezer packs and booze.

* the pub itself - Percy is great, very friendly and helpful, the food and beer are excellent, I would definitely recommend budgeting for a slap up meal here

* value for money - at 5GBP pp, pn it is excellent. In the interests of balance the only issues in my eyes are the proximity to the main road (A538 Hereford-Brecon), but it is quiet at night and traffic should only be an issue if you're really sensitive to noise. The pub is closed from Sun evening to Wed lunchtime, but I suppose it is testament to them that you want to spend time in the lovely beer garden!

In terms of attractions, Hay on Wye (book town) is close by (and can be reached in about 2 hours if you opt for the lovely riverside walk), the Brecon Beacons nearby (too much to list here!), canoeing on the Wye from Glasbury to Hay, day trips to Hereford/Brecon, cider mills in Herefordshire. Would definitely recommend! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ian Franks1 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and I, our two children together with our friends and their two children (4 teenagers) have just returned from a fantastic week end at this site. Situated behind the Radnor Arms Pub it offers stunning views over the Black Mountains, Close enough to Hay on Wye to walk into town should you feel energetic and quiet enough to appeasl to those seeking a rest from the hustle and bustle of the workaday week. The Pub itself offers an extensive reasonably priced menu with superb home cooked food and we booked dinner there to celebrate my 57th. Birthday. The food was absolutely superb and the chef / owner the perfect host, nothing was too much trouble to ensure that his guests had an enjoyable experience. Unfortunately after our celebratory meal my 15 year old daughter fell and injured her ankle. It was 10. 30 at night none of us were able to drive (too much celebrating) but Colin offered to drive my wife and my daughter to Hereford Hospital A&E dept. Rather than us get a taxi. This from a man I had only met the evening before. I cannot praise him or his staff enough. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seren Bach Campsite (was The Radnor Arms) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seren Bach Campsite (was The Radnor Arms)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Seren Bach Campsite (was The Radnor Arms) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hay On Wye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3045 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement