Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gibsons Barn Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Preston > Gibsons Barn Caravan Park Reviews

Gibsons Barn Caravan Park
Longmoor Lane
Nateby
Garstang
Preston
Lancashire   (Browse area)
PR3 0JB
Tel: 01995 606202
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30 hard standing pitches
Open: March To December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Valde107212mga 2 reviews from this member

 Perfect weekend at Gibsons Farm

Our first visit and definitely not our last

10 out of 10

So friendly on arrival, nothing too much trouble

Would definitely recommend

We had a wonderful weekend

Thank you Val and Paul x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Kelly sessman 1 review from this member

 Very friendly people, great location only a short walk into Garstang.

We were able let to leave the motorhome on the day of leaving until 4pm without any extra cost. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kiwiislander 14 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site, just one suggestion - invest in a jet wash or steam cleaner - those toilets need much more than a quick mop, they are filthy and slimy in the showers - it wouldn't take much to have them spotless. 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CaravanTent 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at this site a while ago, and after having liked it we decided to return.

The site comprises of touring caravans on hard standing pitches with electric hook ups. There is a large field that is occasionally used for tents or Rally's. Each toilet/shower block comprises of 2-3 cubicles, urinals and two showers. There is an outdoor pot wash area, a disabled toilet and a utility room with washer/dryer facilities for a small charge. There are three water points for obtaining drinking water. There is a recycling/general waste disposal area. Over a small bridge is a large field that is used by dog walkers to exercise their dogs. Attached to the main house is a cottage that is also available to rent.

The good bit: The site is a family run working farm. The owners are very approachable and helpful. The location is excellent for walks into a Garstang (once you've negotiated the national speed limit road that has no pavement) along the canal, visits to Lancaster or visiting trough of bowland or beacon fell. There is a pub a short walk away at the end of the said road that serves good value pub food. The facilities are ample for the size of the site appears very peaceful. There was very little noise after 10pm in the evening. It is far enough away from the road to prevent noise from traffic.

The bad bit: The site is need of a little TLC. The hard standing pitches are not marked out as well as we remember from our previous visit, moss and weeds are starting to take over the stoned area. The toilets and showers areas do not appear to be cleaned on any routine basis. A hand towel is changed daily and toilet rolls topped up but no other cleaning/maintenance routine seems to take place. There are no hand dryers or paper towels. While we were there the toilet blocks didn't appear to be cleaned once. There is a mop bucket to mop out the shower but this is very dirty and looked like it might make it worse by using it.

There is no lighting around the site at the evening. Trying to get to toilet block at night without a torch is difficult.

The area where caravan toilets are emptied is not covered or protected from children playing next to it in any way. It is completely exposed.

There is very little for children to do. Most make their fun in and around fields.

Summary: This site is very good value, go location and is well facilitated. It could be a brilliant little site if it was maintained better/tidied up a little. Toilets/showers need to be cleaned on a daily basis with the provision of hand towels or dryers rather than one hand towel to be used by all. Lighting around the site would make it much safer for navigating the site at night, especially for children or the infirm.

We would recommend this site and will probably visit again in the future. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robirene 1 review from this member

 Stayed for the weekend me my wife and the dog `kiko` excellent site very friendly staff and very very clean toilets - shower block. Would recommend this site and will definitely be going back next year. If you dont like camping there is an excellent cottage you can rent for a very reasonably price.

There are electric hook ups if you want one but we just used a cooker and bbq`s. Also not too far from blackpool. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kenzo05 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic camp site, can't wait to book for next year now. The owners were friendly helpful, the facilities were clean and warm. Toilets well stocked with toilet rolls each day and cleaned daily by owners. Also toilets and sinks were close by so no need to walk for ages with all your dishes.

Other people staying on the site were very friendly and after our friends left early they encouraged us to stay and offered there help taking down our huge tent, which was really appreciated.

The only thing I would recommend is maybe a wooden mat for showers so you aren't standing on a wet floor, putting on your clothes.

But can't thank the owners enough, the site is well worth a visit and the good thing the owners aren't being greedy with pricing. Very reasonable and great service and John is very helpful with any questions you have before arrival, and I had plenty. So thank you John.

Hope to be back soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Craig147 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 days on this lovely little gem of a site. 2 adults 2 children(both 15)and we really enjoyed the warm welcome from the people who ran this site. Our pitch was more than enough room for a 21 ft van and awning. Hard standing and very clean. The toilets are always clean. (little hand towel on the hook is a nice touch)and showers hot. Nice walk along the canal to Garstang (15 min). We are only 30 min away from this site but you would think you were 100 miles away. The views are lovely. Will soon be going back thanks very much. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Gifster 2 reviews from this member

 I spent the August Bank Holiday here, with my wife and son (15 months). We were part of a large group with an age range if 15 months to 50 years plus. We were in a folding camper and the others in the group had a large caravan and very large mobile home.

We all found the site very easily and had no trouble getting onto the site. The staffing levels are minimal as most of there time is spent on the farm, but the facilities were always clean. The large showers were a great benefit with small children.

There is no play area for children, but they (2 kids) found there own entertainment, and weren't bored at any point. There was a grass island in the middle fro them to play on, but unfortunately there was one inconsiderate dog owner who insisted on using it as a dog toilet and not cleaning up after them! But this is not a reflection on the campsite, just the one dog owner, who spoilt it for the kids on the site.

There isn't very much close by and it is about 15 min walk to the canal and a further 15 mins into Garstang, with parts of the walk not having any footpaths. But if you drive, it is about 5 mins into the town where there are plenty of shops, pubs, banks and a couple of reasonable supermarkets.

The electricity is 10amp and we didn't have any trouble running anything. You can BBQ on your pitch. There are 2 fields on for caravans with hardstandings and a separate tent field, which doesn't have electric. The is also a nice holiday cottage at the entrance, which again is an excellent price.

Overall very happy with the site and at 15 per pitch per night, without charges for dogs, awning or additional people, I will definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeni_c 5 reviews from this member

 Good site with basic facilities. 12 a night without EHU, 15 a night with. The tent field is level and quite big. We didn't use EHU (1 night stay). The caravans have separate pitches. Slightly exposed location, not much road noise.

The toilets were clean. The 2 showers (in the ladies, no idea about the gents) were large family sized cubicles, sort of wet room style. Separate laundry room with inside and oustide potwash.

Washing machine is 1 an hour (takes 2 hours to do a 40 degree wash?!) and the tumble dryer was also 1 an hour.

No playground for the kids, but the field is big enough for them to run around on. There is also a separate dog walking field.

It is near the canal, and there is a very pretty walk into Garstang, which has quite a few shops. Will definitely use it again, in fact going back in a fortnight for Garstang Show! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliemoorby 2 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely stay here, the sight was lovely and everyone was friendly. The toilet block was very clean, there was only two toilets in each, but was no problems.

The showers where more like wet rooms also very clean with plenty of room and hot water.

There was plenty of room for my little boy to run around although there was no play area. I cant really find anything wrong with this site. We had a lovely walk into garstang along the canal.

We brought a rubber dinghy with us so spent a lot of the time on the canal. The site is easy to find.

We will definitely be going back. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gibsons Barn Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gibsons Barn Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gibsons Barn Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Preston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6367 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement