Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crowtrees Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Stoke On Trent > Crowtrees Caravan Site Reviews

Crowtrees Caravan Site
Leek Road
Waterhouses
Stoke On Trent
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST10 3HR
Tel: 01538 308074  or  07973 702608
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 21
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 86 reviews from this member

Just had a three night break at Crowtrees. Superb little site!

Although originally a Caravan Club CL, whilst these 5 pitches are still discreet from the rest of the site, there are now another 15 pitches beyond them, all new for 2018. All pitches have their own hook-up. Water and drainage. There is a small toilet block - also looks new and absolutely spotless, as well as a laundry and washing up sink. There is a small information shed, where free range eggs appear most mornings - great at £2 a dozen!

The site is protected by an electronic barrier that works on number plate recognition, as well as an access gate further down the drive, which has a coded padlock. We were greeted there by Craig on arrival and pointed in the direction of the pitches. There were already four units on this part of the site. The pitches, which are a generous size, overlook fields and hills in the distance - very pleasant. Be aware that there are no facilities for children.

There is a bus stop just outside the site driveway, with 6 buses each way (Ashbourne to Leek) on weekdays. 3 on Saturdays.

The village now only has one pub -the Olde Crown Hotel. It does do meals but we didn't sample them. There is a fish & chip shop within walking distance of the site with some sit-in tables.

Around and about there are lots of walking opportunities - especially the Manifold Trail. Bikes can also be hired.

Leek is a nice little town with a good selection of shops, restaurants, cafes and pubs, as well as two smaller supermarkets and a large Morrisosns. Parking can be a bit of a problem at busy times.

Beyond the town there are Rudyard Lake and Tittesworth Reservoir to walk round and enjoy. Both have tea rooms. There is also a small steam railway at Rudyard - most delightful!

In the other direction down the A523, don't forget Ashbourne, Dove Dale and Ilam.

All in all a lovely little site, well situated for the Peak District and Stafforsdhire Morelands. We will definitely be coming back next year!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jueansteve 1 review from this member

This was our first adventure with our recently purchased van so we stayed fairly local to our home (15 miles). Been through this area many times but never stayed. What a lovely spot!

Arrived late on Friday night and set up without being hassled for fees up front just a cheery 'sort it out tomorrow'. Great hardstanding with hook up and water/waste all to hand. Dog friendly. Showers and toilets spotless. Excellent value for money at £15 a night. Thanks

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gibsons 1 review from this member

We've driven past this site many times over the years and always said we must try it. Well we have now and it's lovely. Traditional CL with good size pitches and each has its own water and grey waste disposal point. Alongside the site has now been extended with a further 15/16 pitches. Lovely small toilet block with lashings of hot water. It even has a dog/bike wash. Superb area for walking right from the site. Also cycling with Manifold trail just down the road. We did that on our tandem but other routes in the area are quite hilly. The only blot on the landscape is the nearby tarmac quarry and its huge tower building. There is some noise but it is only in the background and did not detract from the site. Helpful and friendly owners who are regularly around tending the site or the horses in the adjacent fields. We shall definitely be visiting again

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Matrachel2008 1 review from this member

This is a great little site, had a very warm welcome on arrival testing out a new pitch. The site is just on the edge of Waterhouses village. Fantastic new toilet and shower block first class!. Easy access onto the pitches which are fully serviced. Great facilities with washer and dryer available and fresh eggs to purchase. Easy quick walk to a great chip shop and pub in the village. Also easy access to bike tracks into the peaks.

There are 6 pitches in total which are hard standing with great outlook overlooking fields.

You do hear some traffic noise and the occasional blast of a horn from the local quarry works but this does not spoil your stay.

I would highly recommend a visit as no doubt we will probably revisit. Thanks for a warm welcome and friendly stay.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tag 18 20 reviews from this member

Just back from this great wee site, a real bargain for a fully serviced pitch in lovely surroundings. We visited this area in order to visit Alton Towers for a few days with teenagers, it was ideal for my kids.

Local shop has all the basics and the chippy provided a huge dinner one evening, all within a short walking distance.

As mentioned previously the toilet area is a little uncared for but for the low pitch fee it's bearable. You will need to take your own soap, toilet roll and hand towel or just use your caravan's facilities.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bowyer 19 reviews from this member

Our first outing of the year was at this lovely little site that is about a mile from the Manifold trail. The little village of Waterhouse has pubs, chippy and shop; all within walking distance. The pitch we used (road side) was flat; others had a small slope. Traffic was heard, at times, however nothing to spoil our time at this site. There is also a factory near by though nothing of it was heard. Good pot washing area; however I would have liked a separate toilet which was incorporated within the shower wet room; also within was the wash hand basin. Only one critisism is the quality of the toilet block area as a whole; however, for £12. 50 all-inclusive of electicity, this site is value for money and well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bush56 4 reviews from this member

Hard standings made fixing the awning a bit tricky, but can see why they're needed. Surrounding grassed areas were beautifully maintained. Great that each pitch has own water and electric supply. Service point lights are possibly a little too bright at night. Some road noise at peak times, and gentle hum of the cement works, but this was outweighed by the location of the site, near to walks and trails, and the beauty of the scenery. A separate toilet may be good as it was very wet being in with the open shower. Shower area could do with some maintenance as it's looking a bit tired. Not bothered by anyone, or unnecessary rules, and a friendly greeting when paying. Don't miss the Churnet Valley Trail from Oakamoor to Denstone - fantastic!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percysybil 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2013 and had the benefit of some cracking weather.

The site is spotlessly clean and the pitches, all of which are hardstanding, are roomy enough to accommodate your van, car and full-size awning.

Excellent chippy, pub and local store (which seems to stock just about everything!) are all within a 5 minute walk.

EHU, drinking water and grey-waste at each pitch which for £12 per night is an absolute bargain.

Wet room, loo and washing facilities are clean and easily accessed from the pitches.

Dogs welcome at no extra cost and owners are friendly and welcoming.

Easy access to the site with no troublesome hazards to negotiate, whatever the size of your outfit.

Definitely one for the favourites list.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CrisPr 5 reviews from this member

Brilliant site and facilities.

All 5 pitches are hard-standing & fully serviced.

Pleasant quiet place.

Don't be put off by factory dominating the view or being close to A road - you hardly notice them.

Fully heated & tiled wet room with shower and toilet.

Also Washing machine & tumble-dryer on 50p meters.

Great chip shop adjacent to site (5mins walk).

Recycling facilities adjacent to wet room.

Easy access to Peak District.

Sat-nav takes you to wrong place when entering postcode, but we double checked location on Google Maps before setting off!

Will definitely return!

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lesleyhw56 4 reviews from this member

We used this site as a one night stop over, and what a lovely little site it was.

The 5 pitches were hard standing and well set out, each having electric hook up and water. They had a wetroom with toilet, wash basin and shower, although a little on the small side, it served its purpose, and was very clean. This site also had a utility area for washing your pots, and also had a washing machine and dryer.

We had a problem finding the farm, as our sat nav sent us down a single track road and to completely the wrong farm, and according the the lady that lived there it was a regular occurrence! Thankfully she pointed us in the right direction, and needless to say, the sat nav is sacked!

Without hesitation, we would stay here again.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4875 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019