Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Valley Farm Equestrian Leisure

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Site Reviews

Valley Farm Equestrian Leisure
Valley Road
Wickham Market
Woodbridge
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP13 0ND
Tel: 01728 746916
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March - December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Genie6464 1 review from this member

My friend and I stayed for one night in my campervan and then had a western riding lesson the next day. Everything was perfect. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The horses all well behaved. The cafe sold nice food and in a good position to watch the animals. We had a great time, only wished we had stayed longer.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wandering Stars 10 reviews from this member

We have just spent 2 nights at this site. Being part of an equestrian centre there are of course a lot of horses about, plus other animals - goats, peacocks even a camel!

The site itself is a large well-drained field with short grass and there is plenty of room for everyone. Lovely walks in the surrounding countryside.

The showers and toilets are 'unisex' and while not the best we have seen they were certainly usable and kept clean.

There is a very nice on-site cafe where you can get a good breakfast or lunch for a fair price.

Just a 10-15 minute walk from the site along country lanes is the pleasant town of Wickham Market. Well worth a wander round here and you can get your provisions, fish and chips etc.

Ideal site for all ages

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IAN COOPER 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend here and I think our 4 year old daughter is now hooked on Pony's.

This is principally a riding school and we chose this site because our daughter wanted to ride a pony. So if you are interested in the riding, it is a great place, but if you are just looking for camping then it is quite basic and you may be better off looking elsewhere.

Firstly the camping. The camping field is just that, a large field/meadow with quite long grass and probably used for pasture out of season. Pitches are marked out but very large. The field is open on two sides and could possibly be quite exposed if windy, but offered a lovely evening sunset.

As we were here in August, they only offered weekend camping, as during the week they run pony clubs. A large group of girls was leaving when we arrived on Friday and another arriving when we left Monday, but they stay in separate huts.

The field had about 35 pitches, but there were only about 10 tents and just us on the Sunday evening. The field is through the stables, so quite a few gates to keep shutting

There is a rather average unisex loo block, 4 toilets, 2 showers, 6 sinks, which is probably arranged to cater for the pony clubs and washing up areas. Other reviews said they were very clean. But we found they were a bit messy this weekend and slightly smelly but I think they may have had a slight problem with the drainage (as a man arrived Monday to work on the cesspit) and it is a stables after all.

Now for the riding, which is what we went for. Our 4 year old daughter had a 2 minute pony ride when we were on holiday in Cornwall and wanted to go on a pony again so this was an ideal place to combine a weekend away with trying her out on a pony. I think most of the other campers had young children who were being introduced to riding too.

They have a range of pony's to suit all, but it was a Shetland for Ellie and she had a 20 minute lead reign lesson on Saturday, after which we had to book another for Sunday, when she joined a group of 4 and also a session for my wife who used to ride and was inspired to have a go again.

The instructors were great with Ellie and she can't wait to go again. Camping there, we also spent lots of time going back and forth to visit Beauty (the shetland pony) and the other horses in the stables.

Wickham market has a Co-Op and lots of places to eat and is only 5 minutes in the car, or a 15 minute walk. Woodbridge has lots more shops and places to eat and don't miss the walk along the estuary. We also visited Sutton Hoo, but were not there for long enough to see much else.

We had a lovely weekend here, but this is definitely a site where the riding takes priority

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DavP 1 review from this member

Made the most of the glorious sunny weekend (end May) and we were so happy to find this site!

On driving up to the farm we were greeted by the chickens, a beautiful peacock and albino peahen. There were lots of horses in the surrounding fields.

The lady owner was very friendly as both were all weekend and she opened the gates and showed us the toilet block and to the camping field.

After setting up we drove into Wickam Market to the local fish and chip shop and walked around the grounds of the little church while we were waiting! We took it back to our camp and watched the sunset - perfect!

Beautifully quiet area. Walked our dog in surrounding fields. Our girls (4 and 6) and nephews (2 and 4) had such a lovely weekend on this well kept site. They loved the horses and seeing them all gallop for their food at 8am in the morning!

The toilet and shower areas are really clean and new. The washing up area was nice and even had a plug!

We took a nice walk into Wickham Market, mainly through fields, on Saturday afternoon to get our BBQ food but the local popular butchers closes at lunchtime! However, there is a large, well stocked co-op where we managed to get local Suffolk sausages and everything else was reasonably priced.

We had several conversations with the lovely owners who were really happy to talk about their animals and an owl seen the previous night near the campsite!

Anyway, really lovely campsite, lovely village and a great base for a break away from it all.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracey18 1 review from this member

After visiting here again (3rd time) we really thought we should leave a review! We have always had a fabulous time here even if the weather doesn't always play ball!

The showers and toilets are always spotlessly clean and replenished regularly they are unisex but we have never had any problems with this and there 2 sinks for washing up. There are 10 EHU and you can have BBQ's raised off the ground. The pitches are big and flat.

Wickham market is only a short walk from the campsite and has a co-op, an Indian, Chinese and fish and chips all the stable foods if you don't feel like cooking!

There is a really nice pub in Easton which you can walk to, we believe is under new management and the menu looked lovely but we didn't sample the food this time as we were having a BBQ that evening the manager even gave us a bag of ice to take back to the campsite for our Pimms!

Valley farm is also an equestrian centre and in past visits we have taken the opportunity to ride as well as trying the western riding it was great fun.

All in all Valley Farm is a great family friendly campsite as you pitch round the edge of the field and you can have games in the middle, the children can just go and see the horses, Camelot, the goats sand this year the children especially liked meeting the peacocks.

The owners are really friendly and helpful we have been three times now and have always had a lovely time this is a great place to relax and we will definitely return.

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisnbevs 2 reviews from this member

After spending a pleasant couple of hours at nearby Aldeburgh, we made our way in the dark to Valley Farm campsite - I did miss the turning the first time, and had to do a circuit to get back on track, but got there in the end. We had already booked ahead, and were friendly and courteously greeted by one of the staff. After cursory booking in, we were shown to our pitch, driving through the stableyard. The pitch (we had the large field to ourselves) was perfectly flat grass, and there were 10 hook-up points. The nearby shower and toilets were uni-sex, but perfectly clean and adequate, with washing up facilities alongside. Opposite the 'amenities' was the chemical waste disposal point, nicely screened.

Waking the next morning, we realised just what a lovely spot it was, surrounded in rolling countryside with great dog walks (all signed), riding school, a camel(!), a couple of laid back goats, and a cafe, but nothing intrusive to the campsite itself. A lovely spot, definitely going again, hopefully for a bit longer next time!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Murg 4 reviews from this member

Well maintained campsite set in rural Suffolk, within walking distance of Wickham Market and an ideal base for visiting areas such as Aldeburgh, Woodbridge and Southwold.

The camping field is large, fenced and gated with electric hook up if required. Pitches are not marked (ideal if like us you have a large family tent) and there was plenty of space between us and other campers and for the children to play Frisbee and bat and ball games in the middle of the field. Quiet is requested after 11pm and we were not disturbed by other campers.

The unisex shower/toilet block is a modern building situated near to the camping field, with hand wash basins, 4 separate toilet enclosures and 4 shower enclosures.

The site was not overly busy when we visited so we did not experience queues to use the facilities. We have not visited a campsite with unisex facilities before but as a family with children it worked well.

The showers are basic but there was plenty of hot water, soap dispensers for hand washing and paper towels. The toilet/showers were always clean and there are also 2 sinks with single draining boards for washing up.

The campsite forms part of an equestrian centre and there were lessons taking place most of the day. Pony camps also take place at various times during the summer holidays. The owners and staff were friendly and the children enjoyed looking at the horses (and the camel and lama) and watching the lessons taking place. Care is needed to make sure that gates are shut behind you for the safety of children and the animals.

The owner pointed out a pleasant walk around the campsite but we ran out of time to explore this. We did walk into Wickham Market where there is a pub/small shops.

We spent a very pleasant weekend relaxing here. We will definitely return again and if you are looking for a peaceful, clean and well maintained site we would certainly recommend it.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Klunked 12 reviews from this member

Got there for the Bank Holiday weekend, didn't think of course that because it is really a stables with added camping there would be a prevailing smell of horses, but soon got over that. The site is big, we were the only motorhome, packed with tents around the edges and lot of horse mad children but with all the room they were not a pain. Beautiful horses and facilities if your children want to ride - difficult to beat the horses and the staff for this place.

Very basic and the toilets and showers were mixed which was a little off putting and often packed out. Washing up facilities minimal if you are camping. However, quick walk into Wickham Market with regular buses to all over, went to Southwold and Aldeburgh easily and could have gone further.

Would definitely go here again just for the lovely countryside, walks etc. Lots of take aways in the town of every sort, you would never have to cook. Dogs very welcome on this site and lots of special walks available.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2130 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019