Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Legge Farm Coarse Fishery Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Highampton > Legge Farm Coarse Fishery Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

CLOSED: Legge Farm Coarse Fishery Camping And Caravan Site
Church Road
Highampton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that the touring site at this location has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sally21 5 reviews from this member

 We found the site easily and it was well signposted.

We met the owner when we arrived and he told us what pitch we were on and showed us where everything was and he even gave us a hand to make sure the van was level. He also lent us an extension cable for our electric hook up as ours wouldn't reach.

Pitch was a good size and a hard standing and loads of room for our awning and enough space to park the van.

The pitches have good space between them and every pitch has its own water point. Some pitches have wooden tables and benches on them for you to enjoy eating al fresco.

The showers and toilets were spotless. There is one shower and toilet per sex but we never had to wait to use them. Shower was nice and hot with an area to dry / dress, a stool and lots of hooks to hang your stuff so no trying to squeeze into a tiny space to get dried off or trying to keep your stuff off the floor and keep it dry while you shower. Each toilet block had a book swap and humorous toilet reading displayed on the walls. There is even a washing up area near the toilet block and there's recycling on the site - all clearly marked. There's also a washing machine and tumble dryer that you can use( you just need to see the guys at the house for some electric cards )

Electric is paid on a card and we used about 10 in a week which we didn't think was too bad( as I was expecting to spend more the amount of time our kettle is on !)

There are a few fishing lakes on the site which are well stocked, some horses, goats and a good sized dog walk. Dogs have to be on a lead but that is good thing.

Rick was friendly and helpful and we would recommend this site for a relaxing break.

There was a good pub just down the lane where we enjoyed a lovely meal one evening.

Would we stay here again??? the answer is a yes. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grumpy bear 9 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for four days fishing and found it a lovely quiet clean tidy site, hard standings on all pitches with water and waste on every pitch. 1 male & 1 female toilet that were spotlessly clean. Electricity was on a card meter system and not included in the price of the pitch as normal making the price dearer than expected. There was no lighting on the site at night making it difficult when walking to the toilet in the night if you did not have a torch.

The approach to the site was down a narrow single bendy road for about two miles making driving a large caravan an experience.

The lakes are very well stocked and you can expect a good days fishing, they are close to the caravan and camping fields so you are able to walk to fish the lakes. The shops are in the nearby village but you will have to drive as they are about two miles from the site

Overall this site was very good and relaxing, and I would visit again 


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wee3 1 review from this member

 Facilities at this small campsite were good and the toilets spotless. I paid for 2 bungalows and two pitches last year. The ground was very wet and boggy and when I tried to rebook this year I asked for just bungalows. I found there was little to do in the area itself but enjoy going to lydford gorge, which is 13 miles away. When I tried to rebook this year I was told I could only stay if intending to stay 3 nights or more. If you want to fish for three days I would recommend. As the campsite is so small and the pitches very close to the owners home I would not recommend for groups and children. Best for those wanting a quiet peaceful retreat or fishing trip for three days or more. We felt obliged to be quiet and tip toe around. The owners were pleasant enough. Disappointing that a 1 -2 night stay is not possible as this is the strength of a fishery on the moors where their is little to see and do nearby. No pubs in safe walking distance 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Watersorrell 3 reviews from this member

 This place is perfect for the Angler and someone who wants a quiet out of the way place to stay.

We were lucky to rent the bungalow at last minute, but we will be back to pitch our tent.

The 5 lakes are full of fish and they love to bite.

It is a little out of the way and down a narrow road, but this is what we were looking for. We wanted a place away from motorways and our busy working family life. A place near to the beach for our son, but somewhere quiet to chill out & sleep in peace.

Our 6yr old son loved to walk down to daddy at the lake and help him fish or just potter around the bungalow.

The site is a small one with 10 tent picthes and 10 caravans all with hook up. Though all of it is very nice and excellent working order. Please note - there is no playground and only a few showers and toilets, but they are clean and well maintained.

All this is reflected in price as the camping and caravan is per night and very reasonable. The caravans are almost level, but the tent field slopes a bit. Though it seems you get to pitch as you wish, so you could suit your own needs.

The owners are very nice and work very hard. They made our stay more enjoyable.

I would recommend this as a site away from the hustle of every day life - even if you are not an Angler you will enjoy the peace and quiet.

We will be back as our boy has developed a taste for surfing on Bude beach and the hubby is a keen Angler and I can have peace and quite. Totally our kid of relaxing holiday! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bury40 4 reviews from this member

 Great place out in the sticks. Wish I lived here permanently. The owners Rick and Wendy. Fantastic couple, helpful, friendly obliging and damned hard working.

Fishing ponds well organised and considerately maintained, very, very good fishing. Observe the fishing rules and take some prawns and mussels and you won't want to leave the pond pegs.

The peace here is disturbed only by twittering birds and friendly clucking hens, which by the way lay the best ever eggs we have ever tasted.

Even the goats and the cooly cooly pigs are a friendly bunch. Although the goats do have a tendency to poke their heads where they shouldn't. Though the fence. Their horns prevent them from getting back out.

There are no immediate shops so take all you need. Then sit back and relaxation will wash over you. This is a place to recoupe your energy and leave feeling renewed.

The toilets are a source of enjoyable literacy. Especially the Ladiloos. Check them out, I laughed every time I visited and spent more pennies in there than I would normally have done. The showers are very good, read whilst you wait if need be.

All will be revealed if you go stay with Rick and Wendy.

The roads to the site are narrow, careful driving will get you there safely.

Child friendliness has scored 3 as there are no fences/gates to the ponds, but this may be an adult only site, I'm not sure. Hope it is, we adults need peaceful sites to retire to. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gmantheboy 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The site is lovely and set out really well the toilet/shower block was very clean and well looked after.

Rik and wendy are very friendly and helpful. The pigs and goats where brilliant and good to see in the morning when walking to the loo!

The fishing lakes looked lovely and had some nice fish on the surface next time I stay the rods are coming with me! legge farm campsite is well worth a visit I will be back very soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jennyhooper 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this lovely site in May 2011. Rik and Wendy were very welcoming. The site was well cared for and the facilities we clean and warm.

Whilst our dog had to be on a lead or tether around the caravan and lakes, there was plenty of walking 'on site' and locally on footpaths etc.

The fishing was excellent and lots of places to visit locally. We would highly recommend anyone to visit here, fisherman or not.

Will hopefully get back there ourselves sometime. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nobby112 1 review from this member

 Have been going to this site for three years and wife and I love it. Located close to Mid- Devon it gives access to most of Devon and Cornwall for a day out.Lovely little quiet site with Ten hardstanding fully serviced pitches, makes a nice change to have electric water and drainage all provided on the pitch.It also has fishing on site as an added bonus for those who like to while away a few hrs.By the lakeside. I thoroughly recommend this site for those who enjoy peace and tranquillity. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gwen.kane 1 review from this member

 Have been using this site for many years now stayed 6 weeks on this occasion. The facilities are excellent with laundry, which is a great feature when staying away so long.

The fishing lakes are also well kept and are in lovely surroundings.

The site is secluded and quite, ideal for a quite get away. Surrounding area is also great with easy access to Bude, Dartmoor, Exmoor and Bodmin, for those visitors that enjoy walking as well as fishing.You can be sure of a warm welcome from the owners Rick and Wendy who are fabulous hosts! 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2935 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement