Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Shawn Riggs Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Whitby > Shawn Riggs Certificated Site Reviews

Shawn Riggs Certificated Site
Glen Esk Road
Ruswarp
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 5HL
Tel: 01947 604949  or  07776 052386
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dhails 1 review from this member

 Small and peaceful very well maintained site in absolutely stunning location next to the River Esk in Ruswarp.

Very helpful, friendly and informative owners.

Basic site with water and EHU. A 20 minute walk into Whitby down the footpath next to the river.

Can highly recommend this little gem and will definitely be back soon. 


Date of Visit: December 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Robert 1 review from this member

 Great little site with a warm welcome from Janet the owner.

Great location on the edge of the River Usk with a 30 min walk via a number of spectacular routes into Whitby, or a 5 min train ride from Nearby Ruswarp station. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chevy1 1 review from this member

 Gorgeous little site tucked away with beautiful scenery. Really lovely owner Jean.

Great walk into Whitby taking around 30 mins

Super value

Definitely stay again and will recommend to others 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pattabob 1 review from this member

 Unlike the previous revue, that gave this Cs 1 out of 1. Its not its a fantastic little site, in a beautiful location, over looking the river esk.

Steam trains passing through and within easy walking distance of whitby.

Hard standing so no mud as previously moaned about in last revue. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Queencatifah 2 reviews from this member

 We were very unimpressed with this site. It had very poor waste disposal and water provision. After rain, the site was very muddy making it almost impossible to keep our caravan clean, as we have dogs.

The entrance was very tight. The site was no better than a small car park. We were also charged £19 per night when we expecting to pay a lot less. Because we were staying with friends who had made the booking we didn't say anything because we didn't want to cause a scene.

The village of Ruswarp is lovely. And the riverside walk to Whitby was very pleasant. But those are the only good comments we can leave about this site. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kay Edwards 1 review from this member

 We have been going here for 20 years now and that speaks for itself! Basic but picturesque, the owner Jean is very friendly and does everything she can to make sure your stay is the best it can be! Opposite the River Esk and the North Yorks Railway. We often walk the rail side path into Whitby which takes about 40 mins. The Bridge Inn about 5 mins walk is very welcoming and has fantastic ales and food. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Katerulespete 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with basic facilities.

Ideal location for Whitby. 20 minutes flat walk along railway line path. Ruswarp is a lovely village with pub, tearoom, boat hire, butchers.

Site itself is hard standing with stones. Sheltered and relatively quiet with some traffic noise from the road but not at nighttime.

You do need to stop in the road to open the gate and have a look first for which pitch your aiming for. We were in a tourer with no motor mover and this made positioning somewhat stressful as it’s a little tight to manoeuvre. Not a problem for motor homes or vans with motor movers. We unhitched and pushed into position. , we would return in the knowledge that this is what we would need to be prepared for.

Pitches were numbered and it was pretty self explanatory where to pitch and owner was very relaxed about it all.

I wouldn’t recommend for families with toddlers due to tidal stream running around site.

We would happily return again. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Yvonneoct63 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site. owner lovely very helpful. will be back. only 20 min walk to whitby. also bus and train on door step. lovely pub and butchers in little village two minutes walk away. open all year. Definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Craig H 3 reviews from this member

 On our arrival we picked a pitch as we weren't given a pitch number. Had to fill water tank with a few trips to the tap with a water carrier. Site small as its a CL site for 5 units. Next day we were welcomed with you on the wrong pitch move or leave!. Unless you given a specific pitch number how are we to know. On speaking to other users of the site they said they not always given number just to park where ever. The owner did apologies.

Should be 5 units not 6 !

Nice site, quiet and only 25 min walk to whitby alongside river and train track. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wongone 1 review from this member

 Great little site friendly helpful owners, walk into whitby spot the seals on the esk, lovely place lots of nice countryside to wald or drive.

Bit of a steep approach to site from both sides of ruswarp, but easy to find and turn into located on river esk. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Shawn Riggs Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Shawn Riggs Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Shawn Riggs Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Whitby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4681 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement