Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Eagles Garth Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Beckley > Eagles Garth Certificated Site Reviews

Eagles Garth Certificated Site
Stoddards Lane
Beckley
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN31 6UE
Tel: 01797 253494
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 24
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris+jan 14 reviews from this member

 Just spent xmas and new year at Eagle Garth, expected and received bad weather (very wet)

It was our first time here and in this area.

Site very basic, asked for hard standing with hook up on booking.

On arriving we were told the field was closed due to how wet it was and placed in an area which could have been a caravan storage area.

We were also informed she had to put credit on the meter and we had to pay for this.

I said this was not on their web site.

This was a inconvenience throughout the week, keeping an eye on the electricity we used, even knocking on the owners door on xmas day asking for a top up.

Shower and toilets are very basic with no heating.

There's a small wood accessed from the site, we were informed is a dog walk area, but be careful of the barb wire laying around on the floor on the far side which looks like the neirbours, which is not fenced off.

There is a field at the top, which we were told we could use.

Site is about 10 mins from Tenterden, which was very pleasant and Rye about 20 mins.

The Cock Inn at Peasmarsh, very cosy, good food and carvey Sundays. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tess967 6 reviews from this member

 Lovely small site in the East Sussex countryside, near to Rye and less than 30 mins from Hastings. We were invited to pitch where we liked in the small field, hook up was easy. Showers were OK, but very well used and unfortunately I could not get to use the disabled facility, which I needed, as others were always in there. Owners friendly and helpful. The concrete 'lip' in the drive as you enter was a bit of an issue - our caravan hit it twice, and we feel it does need levelling out.

We loved the smallness of the place, we don't need an all singing, all dancing type of site, and the atmosphere was family friendly and fairly quiet. Very reasonable fees. With a little work, it could be a really pretty site.

We would definitely return, and did enquire about seasonal pitches, as it would be a great location for us to use to visit family and also as a base to get to France. Unsurprisingly, there is a waiting list! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peterpam 9 reviews from this member

 We wanted a quiet site for two weeks to explore this area and couldn't have found anywhere better. We pitched up at the top of a large field and were left to ourselves to enjoy the peace. We were blessed with good weather the whole time and walking through the rose pergola to the showers/toilets was a joy every time. There is very little noise although you can hear the road sometimes as it seems to be a busy one in the mornings. The stored caravans do have a ramshackle look as they are just dotted about and not very tidily but that didn't upset us and added a little to the charm, having been to some very regimented sites in the past! We really didn't want to leave and will certainly return. If you want a peaceful setting, then this is it. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campingmeerkat 10 reviews from this member

 Lovely relaxed chilled rural small site. You approach it via a pretty lane full of vibrant yellow fields and enter up a brand new concrete driveway. At top met by really friendly owners. Fresh eggs can be bought. It is a Camping and Caravan Club site and very good value for 11 a night. We could choose where to pitch in a large pleasant field. Slight slope but not enough for us to need levellers. Near the entrance to the main field is a rose archway leading to a large barn. Outside in a caged area lives a peacock and his 2 pea hens. In the barn are two large private unisex bathrooms, with a toilet, shower, sink, bench, hooks and plenty of mirrors. At night the lights work on a timed sensor so you have to move towards it when it goes out to reactivate. The barn itself is lit by a sensor but you do need a torch to walk there at night. Also in the barn is a room with 2 sinks for dishwashing / laundry so you may want to take your own bowl. There is also an extra loo and shower. Drinking water taps are in the fields and by the archway. It was really peaceful at night. It was a steam day on the Kent and East Sussex railway so there were a few whistle toots in the morning and some peacock cries which made an interesting change from a usual dawn chorus. The site also stores caravans for people so the owners cannot control what they look like and they vary in the looks department. The nearest pub is the Rose and Crown in Beckley village- a 25 minute walk uphill there along a lovely country lane past geese and a converted oast house. ( The pub doesn't serve food on Sunday evenings but are prepared for you to order and eat a takeaway) Places to visit are numerous- the railway at Northiam, Tenterden and Bodiam, the NT Bodiam Castle, Rye, Hastings, Winchelsea and many many more.

Overall a nice site in a good location for exploring East Sussex and Kent with friendly relaxed owners. Would definitely return if in area again. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abitcamp 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site, great site caretakers and very pleasant and in a beautiful location, the toilet were very clean and well kept with good showers and plenty of hot water.

10/10 this is the site for us definitely going back wish we had found it earlier in the year.

Close to rye Hastings and the town of Beckley which has a very good pup and grub 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adandsar 2 reviews from this member

 Our first camp of the season and we chose this site because we prefer smaller sites.

Friendly welcome with enticing breakfast food parcel offered (which we didn't buy as already had our food), large field, with a bigger one behind which seemed to be where the single nighters stayed.

Plenty of space on the pitch, and plenty of space on the field for the children to run around.

The showers needed tidying in terms of painting, as the paint had peeled from the nice large showers, but despite this, once in the shower they were lovely and hot. Showers/toilets and the site generally was clean and tidy.

(Some of the caravans in storage looked a bit sorry for themselves which was a shame )

Lovely and quiet, and a great place to listen to the dawn chorus

Great location for visiting. We popped to tenterden, rye harbour walk, winchelsea beach and village, northiam river walk and did a few walks in the local woods (beckley and a woodland trust) which was beautiful with the scent of the bluebells

Nice easy pricing which was fair for what the site offered.

We would return again for the peace and location. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denty 12 reviews from this member

 For an open all year site with a near-perfect 9/10 rating, why no reviews since Aug 2012? I had to investigate. It goes without saying that visiting a site outside of the main season means it's not going to be at it's best so I'll try to be as objective as possible - but well done to the very pleasant and helpful owners for opening all year.

Easy to find, sat-nav on postcode works. Upwards sloping entrance with potholes, through a security gate that is shut overnight - reassurance also for those people winter-storing caravans of which there were many dotted about, some not in very good condition. No shops within walking distance but a sign offering a breakfast package of top quality meats and eggs could easily be used for any meal - despite bringing all my food with me, I was very tempted.

Quiet, relatively small site in the countryside, relaxed owners so a good get-away-from-it-all venue. No play area for kids, not a bad thing (depending on your point of view!)

Main pitch is a sloping rectangular grass field with EHU points along the top fence - despite appearing sloping, it's reasonably flat for tents, especially along the bottom edge where I camped, which also benefits from all-day sun as there are no hedges/trees thus aiding the morning drying process. Ground excellent for tent pegs. There are also a couple of flat handstanding areas elsewhere.

One route to the facilities is down an arched garden path which I imagine would be splendid in summer, then past the peacocks and into a barn, and the previously mentioned additions are in place. 2 massive shower with loo rooms, a large double sink washing up area with a separate loo, hot water even in early March.

Behind the barn is a fenced-off wooded area but is really much too small for dog walking

It was expensive for 1 man and his dog - 13 for a non-CCC member (10 for a member) but this pitch fee includes 2 adults and 2 kids so it is very good value, also dogs and awnings are free.

Overall, a pleasant and relaxing site, decent vista, a useful base for visiting the many local attractions, sensible charging structure and it is encouraging that improvements have been made. Bit too far for me for 1 night but I would return. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Johnabacus 21 reviews from this member

 We spent nearly two weeks at this site. A very quiet site which was perfect for us. Facilities were excellent although there was a problem with some of the lighting in the toilet area which the site owner was most apologetic about. Toilets and showers were clean and very spacious.

Nearby is Jempsons supermarket. They had some quite unique food offerings and is worth a visit in itself. It's a perfect base for visiting the attractions of Kent and Sussex. We found St Leonards church in Hythe with the skulls particularly interesting. Beware of trying to get to Rye on Sundays. The journey which normally take about 30 mins took an hour and a half as everyone seemed to be heading to Camber Sands. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: John Fuller 11 reviews from this member

 What a great find! Eagles Garth is a very pleasant gently sloping rectangular grass site with electric hook-up points along 2 sides. There is at the moment just one shower & toilet but another two are due on-line any day now. The new facilities are very nice will double sized showers and rainfall type shower heads.

Indeed, these are good examples of how the site owner is spending a fortune on ongoing improvements such as the 'rose-walk' that leads down to the showers.

The welcome is warm and friendly and the steps taken to provide extensive recycling facilities as well as a ready supply of free-range eggs make visiting this site all the more pleasing.

This is helped by its excellent location in a lovely rural setting that is surprisingly close to Rye and the south coast.

It's a great site that we totally recommend and will be visiting again very soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kwong 1 review from this member

 We recently stayed here for 3 nights, (2 adults and 2 young boys). The site is on a gentle slope but very easy to level with ramps. Electric hook up points are very modern and no issues at all.

The site is small but that's the real appeal, our boys could run in the fields and play games without fear of passing traffic that you can get with larger sites.

Yes, there currently is one toilet and one shower, but the owner has almost finished 2 brand new bathrooms!. This site is back to basics, no regimented rules or curfew times for young children.

Really enjoyed our stay, plus fresh eggs can be brought, as laid by their very own chickens, there are also 2 peacocks which the kids liked. Will definitely be going back soon. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Eagles Garth Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Eagles Garth Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Eagles Garth Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Beckley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3294 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement