Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Yelloh! Village Saint Emilion

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Saint Emilion > Yelloh! Village Saint Emilion Reviews

Yelloh! Village Saint Emilion
2 Lieu Dit Les Combes
Saint Emilion
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
33330
Tel: 0033 5 57 24 75 80
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 183
Open: From 04/26 To 09/16

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ammdkids 22 reviews from this member

This is the second time we stayed here. The last was 5 years ago. It remains one of my favourite campsites and is even better than last time. There is now a brand new pool complex with an indoor area and new water slides. It was lovely and relaxing. There is a new bar area and an outdoor band stand with exceptional bands on a few of the nights. There was happy hour followed by a family quiz at about 6pm which was good fun. The boats and tennis is free and we made good use of this. The toilets, although unisex, were clean and open to the outdoors with toilet seats. There was soap provided. The site was very quiet at night with a night watchman who we saw move some loud children out of the park at 11pm. The area is very nice and our new discovery was a lake in Libourne with giant inflatables that cost only 4euros for half an hour.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kelper 68 reviews from this member

Sad to say, we can't echo other reviewers. Just not our sort of site. Found the restaurant and decor all a bit 'plastic'. And the pitches not terrific.

There was plenty to do on site. Boating lake etc. But just too like a holiday camp for us.

However. St Emilion itself is a lovely village. Well worth a morning or afternoon. And a meal in the town square was an absolute joy, with a band playing unobtrusively in the background. Then there's the wine. !

We only stayed one night. So maybe not able to give a decent review. We found a municipal, at one third of the price, a few miles away. Only basic facilities. But pure peace on the banks of the Dordogne.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Albourneboy 13 reviews from this member

Stayed here from Mid-June to early July. We had booked a fully-serviced pitch and were a little surprised to find that the pitch we were allocated was one of the smallest on the site. Indeed, all 6 fully-serviced pitches were among the smallest on the site! However, they were conveniently placed for all the amenities and ours faced out over the lake giving us a good aspect. Most pitches (ours included) are well shaded, nestling as they do beneath mature trees and separated by hedges. This is just as well because the temperature during the last 2 weeks of our holiday averaged well over 30°C and nudged 40°C on several occasions.

There are quite a few Mulberry trees on site and the birds (including the ducks) like the ripe fruit. Unfortunately, this meant we had to clean our caravan and car of purple poo more than once!

There are a wide variety of birds around making the area a twitchers paradise and although I never saw one, we could hear the distinctive fluting whistle of a Golden Oriole most mornings and evenings.

The on-site restaurant served both breakfast and dinner. We didn't try breakfast but had dinner there a couple of times. The menu was fairly limited but the food, though basic, was not bad at all and the serving staff were, in typical French style, cheerful and efficient. We ate outside on the verandah which was partly shaded from the evening sunshine. This was just as well because there were not enough sunshades to go around and those that were available were not really large enough. It was impossible to eat inside as the room had glass walls and lacked air-conditioning so inside was roasting.

All sorts of activities were available and the site's entertainment staff worked hard to amuse, not just the few children that were there, but the adults too. Though we would not want to stay during the peak season (our children having all flown the nest), I'm sure it would be a great place for kids (and adults too) during the height of summer.

Saint Emilion itself is a lovely old village and a visit to the underground church is well worthwhile. Apart from the inevitable wine producers shops and cellars, there are also a large number of eateries - we can recommend Le Bouchon in the old market place and Lard et Bouchon in Rue Guadet.

A visit to the wonderful and impressive city of Bordeaux is an absolute must. It is easy to get to and there are some large underground car parks situated on the main road that runs alongside the East bank of the river. These are very reasonably priced and have excellent pedestrian access (via fast lifts).

In summary, this was an excellent, well-run site in a beautiful area of France. The only thing missing for us were footpaths. It would have been nice to have a ramble in the surrounding countryside but the wine producers don't want people traipsing through their vineyards, hence, no footpaths!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anton36 8 reviews from this member

We had a great week here at the end of June. This is a large site with many large pitches in sun and total shade. As a semi retired couple we found it to be a quiet and well appointed site. If we had children it would have been a great site, if manically busy in school holidays. In June quiet and peaceful with great access to Saint-Emilion. Do the yellow bus vineyards tour and the doto train tour with the wine tasting and enjoy the area. Good clean facility.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Morepints 37 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful site, located in one of the most famous wine areas in the world. It's a short drive to the town (shuttle bus twice a day). The area is a litany of names for the oenophile; and impressively stocked with chateaux.

We were given a pitch facing a large boating lake, with canoes and pedaloes; the pitches are well spaced and spacious. We were regularly greeted by a family of ducks, who had learned how to play the campers for tidbits.

The staff are friendly and professional: there was a problem I reported with the electrics, which was speedily resolved within the hour. ACSI €16 was excellent value.

The on site restaurant was good quality; clearly set up to entertain its guests with modern cuisine (and of course wine). The maître d' was pleasant and informative. A classic car club was using the site as the base for a meet, and were booked for a meal on the Saturday.

Watch out for the satnav - mine tried to take me through the backstreets of LIbourne. There are better routes.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

Stayed here again for 2 nights on our travels, see my previous review, we love this site and still just as good this year.

They have now add a jacuzzi to pool area.

Had a great 3 course meal for Mother's Day, the food really is good for a campsite.

The staff are most helpful even making me a lunch restaurant reservation at HOSTELLERIE DE PLAISANCE in town that was out of this world, 7 courses I think we had, probably the best meal we have ever eaten so push the boat out once.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

I'm really late writing a review, we did an 8 week tour in the motorhome last summer with 3 kids 10 to 13 years old. We stayed on lots of all signing all dancing sites to keep kids entertained but they thought this site was one on the best we stayed in (we must have done 12 sites). As it was a lot smaller than some of the others we stayed in they found it easy to make friends.

We originally were staying 3 nights and in the end stayed 9 nights.

The stuff to do was all free on the lake, any where else would charge. Pool was just enough to keep them amused and lovely and warm.

The shuttle bus is great into town.

The food was very good on site and if full they would plate up for you to take back to your pitch. Staff were great.

Loved the area for cycling so peaceful out in the lanes and such a beautiful town.

Bonus point for eldest meeting his first French 'girlfriend'!

Heading back for another stay this year for a few days to visit the michelin star restaurant in the town.

Loved this place!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ammdkids 22 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site from the end of July for 11 nights. I think this was one of the best sites I have ever camped on. The pools were lovely, quiet in the morning and busy in the afternoon. There is a boating lake with free kayaks, rowing boat and pedaloes with life jackets provided. There is a good play area and a giant chess set which kept my two children entertained for hours. There is a lovely walk around the lake with wooden exercise equipment and tennis courts. The pool was well maintained and baggy swimming trunks aren't allowed! The toilets were clean.

We had a lovely large pitch overlooking the lake under a huge tree which was great as it was roasting hot during our stay so proved good shade although the tent did receive some bird poo splatters!

The campsite was very quiet from 10. 30pm every night and there was a night watchman by the entrance.

The surrounding area was very pretty and we drove to Bergerac one day which was worth the visit.

If I was in the area again I would definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SandraScot1 35 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights here in June. Fabulous little site. Yelloh sites in France are very good and you usually know what to expect. This has modern toilet block with great showers and decent laundry facilities it you need them. Great swimming pool, bar and restaurant. Reception were very polite and helpful and checking in was no problem. We used out ACSI card and I think paid approx. 16 euro per night but extra because we had the dog but still very good value for money. There is a little shop at reception selling basics and you can buy your fresh baguette there each morning. They also sell the local St Emilion wine (you can't visit here without sampling the local stuff!) Lots of trees for shade in the hot weather. Lake for fishing and boating and walking the dog around. And free WiFi. They offer a free bus service into St Emilion one in the morning and one in the afternoon. You only need about 3 hours to do St Emilion - maybe longer if you want lunch. This was one of my favourite sites in France in the month we travelled around and I would definitely recommend this one. Expect in the summer it is very busy but in mid June it was just delightful. A very nice site and one I would like to visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camp-cat 4 reviews from this member

This site was fantastic. We were a family group 2 mid 30's, 2 late 50's and 2 pre teens. We all had an amazing time and did not want to leave.

The site was in an excellent location and several very good quality vineyards within walking distance. We used the site as a base for exploring the wine regions and it was perfectly placed for us.

The kids loved the pool and the children's club and we loved the very friendly ducks, who will eat bread from your fingers ;-)

Surprised at the amount of British campers, after spending 2 weeks in the South of France, where Britons seemed a minority.

Staff at reception were very helpful and the free bus was efficient and worth taking advantage of.

We were allocated a lakeside pitch, which was wonderful. The site adhered to it's 11pm quiet time, which was a godsend! All the pitches we saw were very generous, private and defined by hedges. We will be booking again for next year.

Toilet block by lake could do with some updating, but no problem with getting hot water when needed.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3382 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019