Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tyddyn Du Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Tyddyn Du Campsite
Bontddu
Dolgellau
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL40 2UA
Tel: 01341 430644
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 30
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GoalPostHead 2 reviews from this member

What a great site. Camp fires on the floor, farmer sells bags of wood for £4 each and delivers plus allows you to pick up dead fall from the nearby woods.

Showers and toilet block - basic but clean.

Great location to visit Barmouth.

If you want a proper camping experience I would recommend and will go back myself.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jewsack 2 reviews from this member

Yeah, so my first review. This is absolutely my type of campsite, basic but very clean facilities, the owner buggers off and leaves you to it once you've paid. I saw him 3 times over my 3 nights. Fantastic location, really quiet. The showers as mentioned were great, not often you get on tap water to enjoy. 10 minutes drive to supermarkets in 2 directions. Surprised not to see the midges mentioned, take insect repellent and/or citronella and you'll be fine. I'll definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NTP1 6 reviews from this member

This is now in our top 3 campsites. It is in a stunning location with views that are breathtaking

It is back to basics proper camping.

The facilities are basic but clean, the owner is very helpful, the pitches are excellent and flat and the scenery magnificent.

There are woods accessed from the site and these lead to river which can be crossed and then a footpath follows to the estuary which can be walked at low tide. Be careful as the tide can rise quickly though.

Real campfires every night, the owner will sell you bags of logs and you can get your own wood from the surrounding woods for smaller stuff to get it going.

The pub nearby (under 10 mins walk) is good with local real ale and good food in the evenings.

Recommend shell island as a day trip. Miles of beaches and sand dunes.

I was told midges can be a problem but it was very windy all week we were there so no issue for us.

We camped in the lower field near the estuary, but be careful as it floods on high tide. The owner is very aware and will let you know if it is safe when you are there.

Really relaxed. Just turn up, pitch and enjoy

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sairywairy 1 review from this member

Lovely location.

Right on the estuary.

Fairly basic facilities- 1 F and 1 M shower. However never had to wait. Although basic- always clean.

Local pub easy walk- serves basic pub food.

The bottom field floods when there is a high tide - check before you pitch, otherwise you might have to move like we did.

This site is really all about the location and the stunning views of the mountains

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daveukleics 24 reviews from this member

Lovely site. Great views. Toilet shower block very nice. Wifi good but you have to pay for it. On arrival I was told straight away that I could take my pick up on site to unload and then I would have to bring it off site and park outside the barrier. It's not a works pick up or even used for work, it's covered in at the back with no sign writing.

I was told it was for insurance purposes. Never been told that in the last 6 years of vanning.

We were escorted to our pitch and before I got out the groundsman was unhitching the van, he quickly spun it around towards the pitch which was at a steep angle, he continued to roll it into position when I heard a bang, I looked at the back of the van and one of the stabiliser feet had snapped off where the van had dropped off the edge of the road onto the grass. On closer inspection I realized it had cracked the corner of the van about 80mm long. They did replace the feet but if this had not taken the full force of the impact it would have definitely ripped the corner of the van off.

Our pitch was very steep, that steep the back of the van was touching the floor and could not drain my waste water into the hog.

I could not get the awning poles inside as one end was off the floor and the other was too low. Luckily it did not rain whilst we were there or it would have filled with water as it was in a dip.

If you get windy weather there be very very aware of your awning, .

The site views are lovely. Most of the pitches are level ish buts lots are not. Seasonal vans are literally 4ft in the air on blocks in places.

The site is well kept with lots of flowers and mown lawns.

The beach close by is ok but not the best, it's ok for walking dogs but you would not want to set a blanket and chairs up there. There is a pub just out of the gates.

I would not return due to how most of the pitches are and the fear of hitting a windy period but this is a nice site.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Luscombe 1 review from this member

Absolutely amazing views. The feeling of space is tremendous.

You can walk the hills, swim in the rivers, eat by the campfire. If you want to relax, then this is the way to go.

Facilities are fine. It's a place with a chilled atmosphere and enough room to suit those who love the outdoors life.

Local facilities include Coed Y Brenin, a nice beach at Barmouth and good cycle paths. A climb to the peak of nearby Cader Idris is recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daddad 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this site.

What a fantastic place. We had full on sun during the day and sub zero at night. Thank god for EHU and a fan heater.

The site has both open and more secluded places to pitch. We chose a more sheltered pitch as the wind was really strong when we arrived. (glad we did as the wind didn't really drop whilst we were there)

The site has stunning views across the Mawddach estuary to Cader Idris, which was covered with snow during our stay.

As mentioned by other reviewers the toilets/showers are a little basic but were always clean so not a problem.

Will certainly go again.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Agnes Nitt 5 reviews from this member

Had stayed at this campsite many years ago, and although we stay in Barmouth at least once a year had never been back. Decided it was time. As it had been raining the pitches by the estuary were very boggy and we were worried about getting out car out if it rained anymore.

Had no problem pitching on the upper level just by the shower blocks. Good job as the heavens opened on Sunday evening. It was an adventure I can tell you.

The showers and toilets were basic but very, very clean and the water for the shower was hot with no time limit. A god send as I was covered in mud from slipping down so many times

The owner was very friendly as was his son who came to collect the money. We couldn't have a fire as the weather didn't permit this, but next time we definitely will pitch on the estuary and look out over the stunning views with a camp fire and a couple of glasses of wine. How perfect will that be.

The Halfway House is only a ten minute walk and the meals were very reasonable – I think we had two meals for £12. 00. Because of the weather we didn't feel like cooking but found a café just up from the campsite which did a good full breakfast.

Will definitely be going back, perhaps not when it is monsoon season.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sospan-fach 4 reviews from this member

Having read an earlier review I decided to try out this 'little gem' and was not disappointed.

The views surrounding the site are, quite frankly, stunning. Cader Idris is within easy reach via a short drive and the 800m climb provides even greater views of the locality.

The facilities are extremely basic - the gent's urinal is open air - but they are kept very clean as were the showers and bins.

The owner was almost always around and would chat about the locality, give advice about walks and local towns but was never intrusive. He would provide logs for the camp fires at a small charge.

The unspoilt nature of the site meant it was a little boggy in places and you had to be careful where you pitched. However, the 'secret garden' effect meant that everyone on the site had the same attitude. Everyone was even more friendly than campers always are anyway and there was more of a family feel to the place.

I fully intend to return and wake up facing that mountain come rain or shine!

To some it up in one word. As I'm Welsh. Rhagorol!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Standish0536 1 review from this member

Fantastic site nothings a problem, camp fires and logs real camping. Only requires more electricity points but still well worth the visit

We camped on the field by the showers ground firm even though it had rained the previous week. Great views & great walks.

We walked the 4. 7 miles to barmouth but don't advise this if you've kids. Plenty of forest tracks to walk, and within a couple of miles great mountain tracks for bikes, not far away is the Mawddach Trail Cycleway nice and level easy cycling, to get to this is a wooden road bridge with a 20 pence toll,

We will be going again august bank holiday thaking son and girlfriend this time.

One person to mention is the owner, one great guy.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2311 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019