Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Platts Farm Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Conwy > Llanfairfechan > Platts Farm Camping Reviews

Platts Farm Camping
Aber Road
Llanfairfechan
Conwy   (Browse area)
LL33 0HL
Tel: 01248 680105
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11
Open: 30 March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 29 Reviews
                9/10 from 29 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is closed until 01/03/2021 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 01/03/2021 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: 707336 3 reviews from this member

 Used as a base to explore North Wales.

Weather was horrendous, but site was great. Quiet but staff were friendly and attentive.

Nice and close to the beach for activities to get out an about. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Neil camper piper 21 reviews from this member

 We went to platts farm at the very start of the camping season. The weather wasn't kind to us and it was a cold weekend too. Luckily the site allows firepits and also sells fire wood. Which meant we didn't suffer too badly from the cold. This was also part of the reason we choose platts farm. Camping just isn't half as much fun if you can't have a fire.

The site has two level fields surrounded by a high stone wall which are part of the remains of a victorian walled garden. Both camping areas have a large open but sheltered area with tables and bbq areas. The site is small and has five pitches in one side and six in the other. The site takes group bookings and again part of our trip here was to see what it would be like to book the site for a large group of friends next year.

I'm happy to say that we will definitely try and book the farm. It's location makes it a great place to stay as it sits very close to the edge of the town and the train station for some of our non driving friends. You would think it would be a noisy place but it's not and a very peaceful place to stay. The neighbouring land has a woods and the high thick stone walls dampen the sound of the town.

We were walking distance from a Co op,

Pubs, cafes and other shops as well as the beach.

The site has two large shower rooms and two unisex toilets. The toilets might be a bit of a problem if the site was fully booked but we pretty much had the place to ourselves with just us in a tent in one field and a camper van in the other. There's two sinks in a wash up area that's also under a large cover.

There's a bunkhouse too. That will appeal to some of our friends who aren't into being in a tent. Another good reason for booking the site as a whole. They also have some electric hookups as well as a few hard standing pitches too so everyone is catered for.

The site and the town make for a great place to use as a base to explore the local area as well.

I would highly recommend this site to all types of campers. The high walls make it a great place to let children run free and the remains of the old garden are a great safe place to let them run and play. The garden is large but there's no camping allowed there giving it its own quiet atmosphere.

We look forward to back there again with our friends. Just a matter of getting my mates to plan a date is like herding cats. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PippaMJ 4 reviews from this member

 Rather disappointed in this site! Having booked after seeing the lovely reviews on here and having spoken to a very friendly lady about the booking, we were hopeful and looking forward to our stay. However, the lovely reviews really don't reflect our experience at all. Although in a village setting, this was not a quiet site. The main A55 North Wales expressway runs behind it, so there is constant traffic noise in the background. We arrived after reception closed (it's only open 9 -9. 30am & 5-5. 30pm); the paper on the door showed us which pitch we had been allocated and that was it! No other information at all. We stayed 5 nights and not once did anyone from the site come and make contact (we had paid in advance). The pitch sloped and was very stony. Fortunately, we are seasoned campers, so we had some extra strong tent pegs with us. We eventually found the toilets, up some rickety stone steps. There are only 2 individual unisex toilets for the whole 11 pitches, so there was always a queue. One of the toilets is so small that the handbasin for it was outside. In another small room (back down the steps) are the only 2 washrooms for the whole site, each containing 1 handbasin & 1 shower cubicle (unisex again). There were about 40 people on site most nights while we were there - so you can imagine the queues. There are also 2 washing up sinks but only one draining board and 2 clothes washing sinks. The showers were free and hot and there was washing up liquid provided. Parking is away from pitches and there is insufficient parking. One group of people brought 3 cars for their one pitch so we had nowhere to park one night & the same happened to another lady another night. Electric hook up is available at 8 per night - do have it, there are no other electric points available. Everyone is welcome here, large family groups and large groups of youngsters; as well as couples. Campfires are allowed. However, with no staff around, the very few posted campsite rules were just ignored. The children were allowed to run and scream at all hours, the young men drank late into the night and the campfires were dangerous. They were supposed to be only set up on hardstanding but everyone of them were set up on grass in front of the tents. One was even left totally unattended for over 10 minutes. This is an accident waiting to happen. The weather was good, so we went out most days. Conwy Castle, Swallow Falls at Betwys Y Coed (lovely lunch at the Falls Hotel), Mount Snowden and Anglesey are all within 30 minutes drive. Excellent food at Oceans Bistro on the sea front and a well stocked Co-op nearby. If you do choose to stay, watch carefully for the entrance - the only signage is a small blackboard on the pavement and also take plenty of insect repellent. The site is damp in places, so the Welsh midges are present and so ferocious; they could give their Scottish cousins a run for their money. We camp regularly - and all over Europe - but this site is the poorest value and has the most spartan facilities of any we have ever stayed at. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karmalaa 4 reviews from this member

 We chose Platts Farm for our first camping trip with our baby. We are quite seasoned campers but taking a 9 month old in a tent was still quite a daunting thought. Based on the reviews/location of the site it sounded a small, quiet, friendly site which would be ideal for our first couple of nights camping as a family.

The site was exactly as we expected, lovely and welcoming. It had a very calm feel to it and although in the middle of a village was very quiet.

Reception was closed when we arrived but there was a clear notice on the door showing which pitch was ours. I agree with previous reviewers, the site could easily have fit more tents but limiting numbers per field meant that everyone had their own space. We set up under some trees, nice soft ground, flat pitches and no stones. The entire place was spotless with clearly marked recycling and waste bins. There is space near your pitch to park which meant we could pitch up and unpack whilst the baby was asleep in the car, but also meant we could leave some things in the car when they weren't in immediate use. After pitching and unpacking we called into reception to pay for our pitch, the lady was really friendly and gave us directions to the beach (10 minute walk) shops an pub (2/3 minute walk).

The facilities are 2 toilets which were clean and home to reasonably friendly spiders. Toilet roll, hot water and soap were all provided which was a real bonus! The washing up facilities are under cover and also had hot water and washing up liquid (very unexpected and a lovely surprise!) there was a stand pipe in the same area for drinking water. There were showers but I didn't use them so can't comment.

There is a large barn roof with picnic tables which is a brilliant area to cook/eat/sit if the weather turns.

I can highly recommend the pub, lovely food, welcoming and very accommodating to the little one. Can also recommend the cafe on the sea front, delicious cake and very reasonably priced.

This site went a long way to making our first family camping trip a success, plenty of space for the little one to crawl and explore, we even had a look into the walled garden where we saw rabbits. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Martiwood 2 reviews from this member

 An unlikely village setting hides this great little campsite. Set in the grounds and garden of a former Victorian vegetable growing house.

Suspecting the weather was not going to be kind we booked this site with a view to its sheltered set up and lay out. A big covered barn enclosure right next to our pitches enabled us to set up both a warming campfire (supplied with wood and kindling for a small charge) and the barbecue which we optimistically brought with us. Under the lighted enclosure was a raft of picnic benches again ideal to prepare and share our food and wine.

With only 11 pitches, we had 3 together in the Afon section all to ourselves. Being fully enclosed the site was great for the three 5 year olds and two under 3's with us as wandering off was not easy. Two toilets and two showers including 3 sinks for pot washing facilities were ample for the size of site.

The welcome from the owner was warm and practical with a view to leaving the paying up business until the following day and letting us set up quickly to avoid the impending downpour. The fresh eggs from the resident Ducks and Chickens were a tasty treat.

This site would be an ideal base for both Anglesey and Conwy.

Would we go back? A very happy yes. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caton.p 3 reviews from this member

 Stopped for the bank holiday weekend, we that's all our family and found this site really lovely so so friendly. Nothing to much trouble, ten minutes walk to the beach and shops, also the local pubs. We hired the fire pit and toasted marshmallows the kids loved it, so did I ! All in all this is a great site and will be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camperman3 3 reviews from this member

 We love the north wales coast, and picked this site for the location, we could reach the beaches in Anglesey in 15 minutes and Llandudno was the same in the opposite direction, so very convenient.

The site itself is very nice, it is enclosed with stone walls all around, making you feel safe. Toilets and showers are good, and there was a covered wash up area which was handy when it rained!

The chickens were also a nice touch, with fresh eggs on sale.

We would recommend this site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jeff6000 2 reviews from this member

 Loved the overall feel of this site, lots of old stone farm buildings, think some will have been the bunk house which I did not see inside seems an interesting concept. Toilets and washing facilities were quite good and the owners were very pleasant. Also noticed there were steel grates in the fields for holding small controlled fires would like to try next time. There was a Spar 3 mins walk from the campsite entrance also a pub which I didn't try. Overall I liked the site and will return soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rik11 2 reviews from this member

 Booked 6 nights here at Platts Farm & what a great site, we took our greyhounds here & even though the tame chickens were out they soon got used to them & we felt safe as the gate was shut all the time. It is a lovely place & the owners are very nice & welcoming, its ideal for family groups you couldn't want for better. Yes there is only two showers & toilets but they are clean & very usable. If your lazy campers like us the take aways are only a short walk & there's also two cafe's on the sea front 10 mins walk away. We would recommend this site for families or calm dogs & owners of course. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cabravieja 16 reviews from this member

 We have just booked another stay at this site. The owners really listen to what people need and now a freezer is in reception. Useful bags of ice for sale alongside marshmallows, eggs.

Because this site is gated and walled with no open water you don't spend your time on high alert and can enjoy yourself. The kids can go off with new friends and do kids stuff. Freedom, confidence and a bit of adventure. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Platts Farm Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Platts Farm Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Platts Farm Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanfairfechan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Conwy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1834 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement