Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Platts Farm Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Conwy > Llanfairfechan > Platts Farm Camping Reviews

Platts Farm Camping
Aber Road
Llanfairfechan
Conwy   (Browse area)
LL33 0HL
Tel: 01248 680105
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11
Open: 30/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 35 Reviews
                9/10 from 35 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: G4hrh4 2 reviews from this member

 Very quiet site and extremely convenient for the place I was going. Handy shops like the Co-op and Post Office a short walk away and a dog-friendly cafe (I was travelling with my canine companion) just along the road from the entrance. Handy for the beach, too.

There was an excellent secure dog exercise area where he could play ball.

Only two showers and two loos available per field (Covid restrictions) but it wasn't a problem as there weren't many people there.

I didn't get the Internet while I was there because I didn't have the log in password, which is why I only gave it 9/10 for facilities and customer service, but I wasn't really bothered about that; it made a change to have a break from browsing and I read a lot. It certainly didn't spoil my stay. I'm sure if I had searched for the owner I could have got what I needed. I didn't see anybody from the management while I was there; the pitch was on the door of reception and following the emailed instructions I just parked up and made myself at home.

Sam was very helpful by email. 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Leahre 1 review from this member

 The site is set on a beautiful farm with lots of things around to explore.

It’s close to the beach and shops.

The toilets and showers were lovely and clean and the staff were very friendly.

Will definitely be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jolest 1 review from this member

 Campsite is stunning.

Its in a stunning location.

Will definitely be going back.

The facilities were very clean and ground was well kept.

There is a lovely walk down by the river and close to betws y coed 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Happyshar 2 reviews from this member

 Nice little quirky campsite in the grounds of some old buildings that have been converted into showers / toilets / cooking & washing up areas…

Location is brilliant for the Co op / beach / and take aways…

All clean and well maintained and unusual !

Nice for a night or twos stay.

Fire pits & logs for hire and the clamping pods were stunning ! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Martin 1 review from this member

 Lovely site

We stayed in the bell tent, it had a double futon bed, and a plug socket, We took our own chairs.

It was next to the river, you could hear it, but impossible to see it.

In the field is a dome glamping tent, so just the 2 tents which share a large barn type building each with their own camping 2 burner cooker, with gas and a fridge, and a picnic table. You also get your own shower/toilet room which were modern and clean.

The camping field has space for 9 tents and a camper van, they have 2 large barns between them and 2 shared toilets and 2 shared showers, all looked very clean.

The site is wonderful, it was a dairy farm back in the day, it has a walled garden with an enclosed dog exercise field.

Just outside the site is a nice cafe, a 5 minute walk is a co-op one way, or down the main Street is a chippy, an Indian takeaway or Chinese takeaway.

A pleasant pub is also only a 5 minute walk.

Overall a bit of a hidden gem, in an area that is criminally overlooked, lots and lots to do in the area, and I'm pretty sure we will be returning. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Baks 1 review from this member

 Wonderful site really pretty lovely garden area for children to play in. Site lovely and clean and really good facilities.

Great location for days out Conwy castle, Bangor and Llandudno.

Had a really lovely stay nice and quiet at night too.

Beach about 10 minute walk. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: 707336 3 reviews from this member

 Used as a base to explore North Wales.

Weather was horrendous, but site was great. Quiet but staff were friendly and attentive.

Nice and close to the beach for activities to get out an about. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Neil camper piper 23 reviews from this member

 We went to platts farm at the very start of the camping season. The weather wasn't kind to us and it was a cold weekend too. Luckily the site allows firepits and also sells fire wood. Which meant we didn't suffer too badly from the cold. This was also part of the reason we choose platts farm. Camping just isn't half as much fun if you can't have a fire.

The site has two level fields surrounded by a high stone wall which are part of the remains of a victorian walled garden. Both camping areas have a large open but sheltered area with tables and bbq areas. The site is small and has five pitches in one side and six in the other. The site takes group bookings and again part of our trip here was to see what it would be like to book the site for a large group of friends next year.

I'm happy to say that we will definitely try and book the farm. It's location makes it a great place to stay as it sits very close to the edge of the town and the train station for some of our non driving friends. You would think it would be a noisy place but it's not and a very peaceful place to stay. The neighbouring land has a woods and the high thick stone walls dampen the sound of the town.

We were walking distance from a Co op,

Pubs, cafes and other shops as well as the beach.

The site has two large shower rooms and two unisex toilets. The toilets might be a bit of a problem if the site was fully booked but we pretty much had the place to ourselves with just us in a tent in one field and a camper van in the other. There's two sinks in a wash up area that's also under a large cover.

There's a bunkhouse too. That will appeal to some of our friends who aren't into being in a tent. Another good reason for booking the site as a whole. They also have some electric hookups as well as a few hard standing pitches too so everyone is catered for.

The site and the town make for a great place to use as a base to explore the local area as well.

I would highly recommend this site to all types of campers. The high walls make it a great place to let children run free and the remains of the old garden are a great safe place to let them run and play. The garden is large but there's no camping allowed there giving it its own quiet atmosphere.

We look forward to back there again with our friends. Just a matter of getting my mates to plan a date is like herding cats. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PippaMJ 4 reviews from this member

 Rather disappointed in this site! Having booked after seeing the lovely reviews on here and having spoken to a very friendly lady about the booking, we were hopeful and looking forward to our stay. However, the lovely reviews really don't reflect our experience at all. Although in a village setting, this was not a quiet site. The main A55 North Wales expressway runs behind it, so there is constant traffic noise in the background. We arrived after reception closed (it's only open 9 -9. 30am & 5-5. 30pm); the paper on the door showed us which pitch we had been allocated and that was it! No other information at all. We stayed 5 nights and not once did anyone from the site come and make contact (we had paid in advance). The pitch sloped and was very stony. Fortunately, we are seasoned campers, so we had some extra strong tent pegs with us. We eventually found the toilets, up some rickety stone steps. There are only 2 individual unisex toilets for the whole 11 pitches, so there was always a queue. One of the toilets is so small that the handbasin for it was outside. In another small room (back down the steps) are the only 2 washrooms for the whole site, each containing 1 handbasin & 1 shower cubicle (unisex again). There were about 40 people on site most nights while we were there - so you can imagine the queues. There are also 2 washing up sinks but only one draining board and 2 clothes washing sinks. The showers were free and hot and there was washing up liquid provided. Parking is away from pitches and there is insufficient parking. One group of people brought 3 cars for their one pitch so we had nowhere to park one night & the same happened to another lady another night. Electric hook up is available at £8 per night - do have it, there are no other electric points available. Everyone is welcome here, large family groups and large groups of youngsters; as well as couples. Campfires are allowed. However, with no staff around, the very few posted campsite rules were just ignored. The children were allowed to run and scream at all hours, the young men drank late into the night and the campfires were dangerous. They were supposed to be only set up on hardstanding but everyone of them were set up on grass in front of the tents. One was even left totally unattended for over 10 minutes. This is an accident waiting to happen. The weather was good, so we went out most days. Conwy Castle, Swallow Falls at Betwys Y Coed (lovely lunch at the Falls Hotel), Mount Snowden and Anglesey are all within 30 minutes drive. Excellent food at Oceans Bistro on the sea front and a well stocked Co-op nearby. If you do choose to stay, watch carefully for the entrance - the only signage is a small blackboard on the pavement and also take plenty of insect repellent. The site is damp in places, so the Welsh midges are present and so ferocious; they could give their Scottish cousins a run for their money. We camp regularly - and all over Europe - but this site is the poorest value and has the most spartan facilities of any we have ever stayed at. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karmalaa 4 reviews from this member

 We chose Platts Farm for our first camping trip with our baby. We are quite seasoned campers but taking a 9 month old in a tent was still quite a daunting thought. Based on the reviews/location of the site it sounded a small, quiet, friendly site which would be ideal for our first couple of nights camping as a family.

The site was exactly as we expected, lovely and welcoming. It had a very calm feel to it and although in the middle of a village was very quiet.

Reception was closed when we arrived but there was a clear notice on the door showing which pitch was ours. I agree with previous reviewers, the site could easily have fit more tents but limiting numbers per field meant that everyone had their own space. We set up under some trees, nice soft ground, flat pitches and no stones. The entire place was spotless with clearly marked recycling and waste bins. There is space near your pitch to park which meant we could pitch up and unpack whilst the baby was asleep in the car, but also meant we could leave some things in the car when they weren't in immediate use. After pitching and unpacking we called into reception to pay for our pitch, the lady was really friendly and gave us directions to the beach (10 minute walk) shops an pub (2/3 minute walk).

The facilities are 2 toilets which were clean and home to reasonably friendly spiders. Toilet roll, hot water and soap were all provided which was a real bonus! The washing up facilities are under cover and also had hot water and washing up liquid (very unexpected and a lovely surprise!) there was a stand pipe in the same area for drinking water. There were showers but I didn't use them so can't comment.

There is a large barn roof with picnic tables which is a brilliant area to cook/eat/sit if the weather turns.

I can highly recommend the pub, lovely food, welcoming and very accommodating to the little one. Can also recommend the cafe on the sea front, delicious cake and very reasonably priced.

This site went a long way to making our first family camping trip a success, plenty of space for the little one to crawl and explore, we even had a look into the walled garden where we saw rabbits. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Platts Farm Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Platts Farm Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Platts Farm Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Llanfairfechan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Conwy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3865 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement