Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Muchelney Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Langport > Muchelney Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Muchelney Caravan And Camping Site
Abbey Farm
Muchelney
Langport
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA10 0DQ
Tel: 07920034304
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/04 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has reopened under new ownership, after previously being closed from July 2017. It once again offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jayayebee 1 review from this member

 As soon as we had decided on a site and contacted the owner communication was very good. This was our first time tenting solo so there were a lot of questions regarding booking etc. That they answered patiently. When we arrived we were told to camp where we wished and they would see us later. We had a choice of nearly the whole site. All pitches were on flat ground, with some being divided by small hedges.

When we met the owner later that day she showed my wife around the whole site and was very friendly.

The shower blocks were all cleaned every day and fresh water was nearby. The only downside was the lights on a timer at night in the shower block. It doesn't give a person much time to do their business.

Apart from that we had a really good peaceful three nights there and are already looking forward to returning next year.

Local shop were only a five minute drive away with a Tescos and a good mix of local shops. Plenty of activities within a half hour drive as well.

It is not really a child-orientated site but as we only used it as a base that didn't matter. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brian52 1 review from this member

 This was our fourth visit to this lovely little site. The facilities are ALWAYS spotless, cleaned regularly by the owner and family. Sandra( the owner) and her family are always very friendly and always have time for a chat.

This is an ideal site for exploring the Somerset Levels, whether on foot or cycling. We use it as a base for visiting the RSPB and Somerset Wildlife Trust reserves.

The town of Langport is nearby for obtaining supplies etc.

We will be back next spring! 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slowroad 51 reviews from this member

 Super site in lovely cycling country. There are hedged pitches as well as more open ones. Very quiet, could hear the cows breathe in the next field! The toilets/showers are possibly the cleanest I've ever seen - I thought they were new, they were so clean.

I met several members of the family running the site, and they were all really friendly.

Muchelney is only a tiny place, but Langport just up the road has a high street of shops and cafes. Somerton a few miles away has an independent supermarket and cafe which is worth a visit.

There's Street and Glastonbury not far off, and nature reserves at Ham Street and Shapwick. All possibly by bike - but it isn't totally level despite the name! 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Michael reynolds 2 reviews from this member

 I arrived on my motorbike on the friday about lunch time, Sandra the owner was really helpful, they have a large covered area, a barn with a flagstone floor, a freezer and lighting, so I asked Sandra if rather than pitch my tent, could I sleep in there, no problem she said, put your bike in there as well if you want, brilliant! I had a problem with the electric socket on my bike and could'nt pump up my bed, again no problem, sandra drove her car over and I used the cigarette lighter socket in that, she was great, nice to talk to and very helpful, she and her husband used to ride a Harley, and they have several bike club's that stay as it's ideal for group's who want to use the barn as a social place together. All the pitches are flat and level, and have electric, the shower's/toilet's are spotless, the lighting automatic, so no fumbling for switches, and there is plenty of hot water. Langport is a lovely little town too, with a Tesco for all you're need's. I would recommend this site to anyone, thank's Sandra. Mick, on the green Kawasaki Nomad. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MadAboutMotorhoming 18 reviews from this member

 Yet another lovely weekend break at this beautiful, peaceful site which is perfectly located for enjoying all that the Somerset Levels have to offer. We stay here several times each season and have watched the site landscape mature into carefully planned meadows. Each pitch is very generous in size enabling campers to have beautiful views of the church and Abbey ruins as the sun sets across the levels. The toilets and showers are as immaculate as the first time we visited over three years ago.

If you are looking for a peaceful escape, look no further. Enjoy!, 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jadsett 48 reviews from this member

 WE stayed on this site for two nights, having had to book at short notice for family reasons. The welcome was very warm and we were invited to help ourselves to plums and apples from adjacent trees. A nice level site with 10amp EHU and large grassed pitches. Toilet blocks very clean, although the only drawback is that at night the lights are on timer so ablutions have to be quick or take a torch! Very close to the abbey of the same name. Lots of grass for kids to play on. We ate at the Lime Kiln which is about 5 miles away on the A372 just past the Long Sutton turn. Brilliant food and excellent value!

We will be going back.  


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gemgem21 1 review from this member

 We stayed for one night and was made to feel very welcome when we arrived, there was a number of pitches to choose from all very big and super clean.

The showers and toilets were very clean also.

We will def be coming back to the camp site again, for 11 a night we will be staying longer next time too.

Would def recommend

:-)  


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MadAboutMotorhoming 18 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this gem of a campsite. We go there regularly as it is not too far to travel and we always feel relaxed after a stay there.

There are some lovely cycling routes and pretty villages in the area Kingsbury Episcopi, Martock, East Lambrook, Shepton Beauchamp, South Petherton to name but a few. There are two lovely National Trust properties in easy driving distance. Barrington Court and Montacute House. Ham Hill offers some fantastic views and walks with a great pub offering meals.

The camp site's owner is lovely. Facilities for this CS site are outstanding. Plenty of hot water in the showers. Although the shower is push button you don't have to keep pushing it every 10 seconds!

We are really surprised that the site is not visited by more guests but I guess that could be because they don't have their own website. It's a pity that we can't upload photos on this website so everyone could see how pretty it is.

If you are looking for a peaceful retreat in wonderful Somerset countryside this site is perfect in every way. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KandP 1 review from this member

 Thanks for a fantastic stay. The site is a fantastic base to explore the local and wider countryside. There is an amazing abbey across the road as well as other attractions in the village and down the road in Langport, as well as shops, supermarket and pubs.

The site is one of the best we have ever stayed at. The facilities were immaculate, toilets and showers spotless and attended several times a day as we saw. The immediate area is peaceful although next to a road but it is quiet, just the odd car and tractor, and the open views through the wildlife conservation area are breath taking.

The pitches are a good size each one clearly marked out with small managed hedges, each pitch with the option of electric hook up. The price of the pitch is cheap too 11 per pitch per night is definitely value for money (electric 3 per day extra). This is also the first site I have seen with a covered area for drying out clothes/ tents in bad weather and to have a place to entertain. We would not hesitate to recommend this site to anyone. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Muchelney Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Muchelney Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Muchelney Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Langport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6658 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement