Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park
Leekworth Lane
Middleton In Teesdale
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 0TL
Tel: 01833 640582
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 141 Reviews
                9/10 from 141 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: T6fle 4 reviews from this member

 I wouldnít describe myself and my husband as a young couple, or mature. Middle aged with a dog fits the bill best.

This is a good quality site. Easy walk to village, about 1km from site. Lots of beautiful scenery and dog friendly walks. The river tee runs along side with good fishing, Iíve been told as I donít fish myself.

The village of Middleton has shops, fantastic fish and chips, small friendly tea rooms, free toilets and parking. Not far from Low or high falls water falls.

Campsite in my opinion 10/10.

Clean, well maintained, spacious, clearly signed, new toilet block, hot showers 50p, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pottsy 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a quiet relaxing weekend at this lovely site. This was our first visit and will not be our last.

Set in wonderful countryside with lots to see and do - lots of good walking, High Force, numerous farm shops within half an hours drive and close to Barnard castle and Richmond.

The site was spotless, including the toilets and showers. The pitches were large and it was nice being able to choose our pitch. We picked next to the river and found it was level and the perfect spot.

The shop is stocked with a variety of goods including flies and specialist leaders, from a respected angling guide, for fishing the river which is free. As an angler I was impressed that I could walk a few yards from my tent to fish.

The owner is on the go from morning till night, friendly and helpful and visiting each pitch to make sure all is well and to provide campfires if required. Make sure that you pay attention to the rules on arrival and leaving times to minimise issues on the narrow lane especially at busy times.

It wasn't an issue when we were there and there is passing places to pull over if necessary.

We enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Peter2204 1 review from this member

 Returned for another stay at this lovely site this time staying on the family side of the site (normally we are on the adults only) as our daughter came as well with the grandchildren.

Once again a warm welcome from Robin on arrival and the pitches which were next to each other were perfect and large.

The kids loved the riverside walks into the town and dam building in the river.

Once again had a great time and will return next year. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonna1972 1 review from this member

 Started the 2019 season of at this lovely site. What I love about this site is you are in the middle of the countryside but only a 10 minute walk from the village, where you can get everyday items.

The site itself has spacious pitches, free wifi and a immaculate shower block.

Showers are 50p, you get more than enough time for a long hot shower. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samstevenson 10 reviews from this member

 As previous reviewers have said there are some really positive things about this site. Peaceful, big pitches and new toilet block.

Negatives are the narrow approach, expensive showers at 50p a shot and the water pressure is poor. The grass in the adults field was in desperate need of mowing and there was a huge mound of rubble and soil behind pitches 30-35 which meant the view was rather ugly.

Finally, the bins were over flowing on the Friday when we arrived and by Tuesday were unbelievable and just made the place look unkempt. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sherog 10 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week here. Not been for a couple of years. But it was still great. So peaceful, excellent facilities and very friendly staff.

I was on adult only site, new since the last time I was there. There is a large field for children to play on if needed.

Plenty of places to visit near and far. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Teenoso 8 reviews from this member

 It is a lovely site, well organised, very clean and tidy. Flat grassy areas with plenty of generous hard standing, EHUs & TV points included.

Extremely friendly reception, only donít arrive before 1. 30pm or you will be castigated, understandably so as the half mile lane to the site is single track with very limited passing places.

Downside is the cost, site fee plus £2. 50 per night electricity plus 50p for a shower. We really think these should not be extras.

Upside, it is a great riverside setting with an easy walk along the River Tees into the Town. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catarinabod 50 reviews from this member

 Stayed 3 nights during Easter school hols with daughter and dog. Site felt too much like a car park. Pitches at the end near the shepherd's hut were the best in my opinion.

Fairly quiet while we were there, although charged for high season due to school hols. 50p per shower and no hooks or shelves, nor by the washbasins. Underfloor heating not on while we were there. Expensive wi-fi but phone signal reasonable.

Pot washing room has only 2 sinks and was cramped. Good location for walk into Middleton across fields or by river. Walked to Low Force along Pennine Way from the bridge in Middleton.

Excellent fish and chip shop plus plenty of other amenities in Middleton. In summary - excellent location in stunning countryside but site expensive and the little things that matter haven't been dealt with.

Most expensive of the 5 sites used during our 2-week tour. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tent wife 1 review from this member

 First time here as just started back up with camping and I must say 'we love It' so much so we have booked back up to go again this weekend. Owner is very friendly, everything is spotless from toilets to pitches.

Only thing I wish it had is a little kids play area. There is a great river right by the site with a gate to enter the dog walk and river.

Site is very child friendly I think this is helped by the fact they have a field out the way for adults only. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattelli 9 reviews from this member

 Just had a great 3 nights at this campsite.

We picked our pitch of T26, which was the last pitch before the shepherd but so we had no one on one side. The pitches along this wall are all on a slight slope, but it wasn't a problem.

This was a lovely campsite, plenty of room between pitches and good clean facilities with great views.

There are plenty of gates along the site to get access to the path and river. You can walk to the town along the edge of the river (a bit narrow and rough in parts, but great for a dog walk). There is also a walk over the fields to get to town or just use the road you came in on. We tried them all and it took about 15 mins ( the river walk slightly longer as you come out at the far end of the town of Middleton in teeside.

The campsite was kept clean and the owner was always around doing work. There is also a small shop that sold the essentials.

We enjoy good long walks with our dog when we camp, and this site is ideal. In fact that's one of the reasons I know we will be back. There were so many walks we 'need' to do!

Excellent stay and hopefully we will be back in August. 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4425 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020