Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park
Leekworth Lane
Middleton In Teesdale
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 0TL
Tel: 01833 640582
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 137 Reviews
                9/10 from 137 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  137 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonna1972 1 review from this member

Started the 2019 season of at this lovely site. What I love about this site is you are in the middle of the countryside but only a 10 minute walk from the village, where you can get everyday items. The site itself has spacious pitches, free wifi and a immaculate shower block. Showers are 50p, you get more than enough time for a long hot shower.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samstevenson 10 reviews from this member

As previous reviewers have said there are some really positive things about this site. Peaceful, big pitches and new toilet block. Negatives are the narrow approach, expensive showers at 50p a shot and the water pressure is poor. The grass in the adults field was in desperate need of mowing and there was a huge mound of rubble and soil behind pitches 30-35 which meant the view was rather ugly. Finally, the bins were over flowing on the Friday when we arrived and by Tuesday were unbelievable and just made the place look unkempt.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sherog 9 reviews from this member

Just spent a week here. Not been for a couple of years. But it was still great. So peaceful, excellent facilities and very friendly staff. I was on adult only site, new since the last time I was there. There is a large field for children to play on if needed. Plenty of places to visit near and far.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teenoso 7 reviews from this member

It is a lovely site, well organised, very clean and tidy. Flat grassy areas with plenty of generous hard standing, EHUs & TV points included. Extremely friendly reception, only don’t arrive before 1. 30pm or you will be castigated, understandably so as the half mile lane to the site is single track with very limited passing places.

Downside is the cost, site fee plus £2.50 per night electricity plus 50p for a shower. We really think these should not be extras.

Upside, it is a great riverside setting with an easy walk along the River Tees into the Town.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Catarinabod 38 reviews from this member

Stayed 3 nights during Easter school hols with daughter and dog. Site felt too much like a car park. Pitches at the end near the shepherd's hut were the best in my opinion. Fairly quiet while we were there, although charged for high season due to school hols. 50p per shower and no hooks or shelves, nor by the washbasins. Underfloor heating not on while we were there. Expensive wi-fi but phone signal reasonable. Pot washing room has only 2 sinks and was cramped. Good location for walk into Middleton across fields or by river. Walked to Low Force along Pennine Way from the bridge in Middleton. Excellent fish and chip shop plus plenty of other amenities in Middleton. In summary - excellent location in stunning countryside but site expensive and the little things that matter haven't been dealt with. Most expensive of the 5 sites used during our 2-week tour.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tent wife 1 review from this member

First time here as just started back up with camping and I must say 'we love It' so much so we have booked back up to go again this weekend. Owner is very friendly, everything is spotless from toilets to pitches. Only thing I wish it had is a little kids play area. There is a great river right by the site with a gate to enter the dog walk and river. Site is very child friendly I think this is helped by the fact they have a field out the way for adults only.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattelli 8 reviews from this member

Just had a great 3 nights at this campsite.

We picked our pitch of T26, which was the last pitch before the shepherd but so we had no one on one side. The pitches along this wall are all on a slight slope, but it wasn't a problem.

This was a lovely campsite, plenty of room between pitches and good clean facilities with great views.

There are plenty of gates along the site to get access to the path and river. You can walk to the town along the edge of the river (a bit narrow and rough in parts, but great for a dog walk). There is also a walk over the fields to get to town or just use the road you came in on. We tried them all and it took about 15 mins ( the river walk slightly longer as you come out at the far end of the town of Middleton in teeside.

The campsite was kept clean and the owner was always around doing work. There is also a small shop that sold the essentials.

We enjoy good long walks with our dog when we camp, and this site is ideal. In fact that's one of the reasons I know we will be back. There were so many walks we 'need' to do!

Excellent stay and hopefully we will be back in August.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Archiegoodlad 1 review from this member

Great site in a fabulous location but. At £81. 50 for 2 nights it's not good value, especially when you add on the extra for showers at 50p a pop.

Constantly running out of loo roll too, so go prepared!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wulster 17 reviews from this member

Spent three nights here during the latter part of May. This was a really nice site, in a fabulous location by the river. The views around are excellent. Really easy to find, access is from the edge of town (South Side), but as other reviews have said, the access road is narrow, so may be a problem if encountering another vehicle coming opposite direction. Should be ok, as hopefully caravans / motorhomes etc that are leaving, will be away before new arrivals get there. We didn’t have any issues. There is a brand new reception / shop and toilet block, with dishwashing area. Spotlessly clean. Showers are 50p, but you get enough water for that. No issue with the extra cost, as the facilities were excellent. We had a very large hard standing pitch. It was level, so no hassle getting settled. A number of pitches are on grass, but wouldn’t image any issues with them. Walking into town is no problem. Either walk along the access road, or via the river. About a mile or so, will take 20 – 30 minutes. Also, from the site, using the river, you can access a number of walks which can take you to surrounding villages or up to Low Force and High Force. Walks are pretty well signed, but would be worth getting some local maps or guide books. Although we had excellent weather, this is a good site and its location is fabulous. Robin takes care of the general day to day running of the site and was really nice, helpful and chatty. His mum and grandmother are also about the site. They were also very pleasant. Middleton In Teesdale is a nice little town and having been there before, would go back again. Also, would definitely use this site again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Raymondp3895 4 reviews from this member

Just got back today from 4 days camping. Great site with excellent facilities and views. The only negative is the price, a bit expensive to be honest but still loved it. Staff very friendly indeed. We will definitely go again when a bit warmer lol

Previous     137 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


62 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019