Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park
Leekworth Lane
Middleton In Teesdale
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 0TL
Tel: 01833 640582
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 159 Reviews
                9/10 from 159 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  159 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MrIbbo 2 reviews from this member

 We will definitely return. Great site, with great staff and excellent value. What is not to like about it?

Liked: Excellent well ran site. All visitors are met at the gate by staff who give a detailed explanation of the site and answer any questions.

Great facilities on site and a great location.

Disliked: Nothing. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Angel1958 1 review from this member

 Pitch size was great. We selected C47 and it was perfect, in the corner by the river and direct access down to the "beach". Very private too.

For such a large site there needs to be more grey waste disposal drains. As far as we could see, there was only one.

It would be helpful to be given a welcome sheet, with a map of the site, the WiFi code, useful information etc on it. And information on any walks from the site would also be helpful.

The shop open hours are few and far between and the stock is limited.

It's a lovely campsite but with a few tweaks it could be fantastic. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Johng1 9 reviews from this member

 Excellent location, a nice 20 minute walk along the river to Middleton.

Toilets and shower block were clean and smelling lovely.

Quick response from owners.

Very quiet. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Trevwag 2 reviews from this member

 Access

Long narrow access to the site with limited passing places.

General

The setting of the site is peaceful with views of the surrounding hills. The river Tees flows passed the site and fishing is available. All the staff we met were friendly.

Pitches

We had a grass pitch in the adults only area. The pitch was fairly large and despite the recent heavy rainfall drained well.

Toilets/Showers

These were cleaned daily from 12:00-14:00. The facilities were ok nothing special but you have to pay 50p for the showers.

Waste Disposal

There is a toilet in what could only be described as a broom cupboard. This was filthy the entire time we were there and the floor permanently had ‘water’ standing on it due to lack of drainage. Really didn’t like using this at all.

Dish Washing

Again, a broom cupboard type of arrangement. Really could do with more space. The facility is adjacent to the waste disposal and if someone is emptying their toilet it stinks. Bad design all round.

Cost

We originally booked for 2 adults and a dog which came in at £35/night which we were ok with. However, two others came with us and the cost for that took the itch cost up to £59/night which is ridiculous and means we won’t be back. Might also explain why it was quiet over a bank holiday weekend. 


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulj6 1 review from this member

 The site is immaculately clean, well organised with areas for those who want a quiet stay.

Power hookup, water points.

New immaculately clean modern shower and toilet block.

A beautiful area to be in with riverside pitches available and views over the Teasdale hills.

But best of all and the most important is very helpful friendly owners

If you want a place to relax and unwind, de stress you will not find better.

* you have tried the rest, now try the best * 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Shazis 3 reviews from this member

 Good points. Campsite lovely and in a great location. We cycled to Barnard castle along the Tees Railway Path which was lovely but lots of gates.

Middleton is lovely and has toilets which is a good job as we had unhook our camper from the awning and drive there to use the toilet between 12-2 one day as rules on the campsite are strict and the disabled toilet wasn’t working (no alternative arrangements could be made)and we do not have on board facilities. Even though cleaning of the ladies wasn’t in progress I still wasn’t allowed to use them.

Another thing is that the elson point is in the same building as the washing up facilities. There is only a partial wall that divides these two facilities and I was caught unawares by the awful smell the first morning as I washed our pots next to a queue of people emptying their sewage. It’s for this reason I wouldn’t stay in this particular campsite again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Malmac 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent, clean site. Friendly staff, beautiful views. Camped in adult only field by river.

Short walk to Middleton with excellent butchers (pork and wild garlic burgers)

When we visited Barnard Case had farmers market on (first Saturday of each month) - got some venison steaks for BBQ.

Campsite provides firepits each night if required for £7.

Highly recommended, will return next year. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elizab 2 reviews from this member

 Wonderful few nights away in a lovely setting.

Our second time and very friendly and helpful.

Facilities are really nice and clean.

Definitely recommend, good value 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Snookerloopy 1 review from this member

 First time staying here and what a stunning location and so peaceful, definitely would recommend !

Had few issues with electrics as it's low wattage so in order to use TV you must turn your other electricals off in van when using portable double electric cooking hob, but we managed.

Gorgeous river walks and ideal for dogs.

Owner appears very friendly and site is immaculate.

Very narrow road to tow caravan if you are newbies like us but we managed it.

Will definitely be on our list for many more visits. Well done to the owners 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Leathe 1 review from this member

 This was a very nice site clean and tidy.

We felt really comfortable here.

Would recommend to stay for camping.

Highly recommended.

Well maintained and friendly. 
via mobile


Previous     159 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


37019 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement