Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park
Leekworth Lane
Middleton In Teesdale
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 0TL
Tel: 01833 640582
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 146 Reviews
                9/10 from 146 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nnnccc 17 reviews from this member

 Nice greeting at reception. We really liked this site. Had a real good feel about it and absolutely stunning scenery around it

Checked in and told where our pitch was. Drive over a grass field to our all grass pitch which was absolutely massive but flat and with electric and a great view of river. Was a bit worried that in heavy rain grass may get a bit sodden and chance of vehicles getting bogged down but it looks like owner is working on things all the time so possibly a road round field to pitches may be one of them.

Toilets/showers were restricted due to Covid and didn't use so unable to comment but buildings look reasonably new so imagine they would be of a very high standard. Handy little shop in reception as well. There is a cracking walk through gate from site onto river side then along into Middleton-in-Teesdale which has some nice cafes, bars, etc.

Nice touch we thought was the hiring out of log burners and getting logs delivered each night. Very nice. One thing though, make sure you arrive during allocated times as very narrow lane to site.  


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Emma A 1 review from this member

 Very clean, organised and easy to book. Really appreciated the fire pit.

Lovely area, we had a very relaxing weekend, went on the circular walk at Low Force only a few miles away.

Thanks for a great weekend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fodhead 4 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, well laid out with good services. Robin the owner was extremely helpful friendly. He has done a great job with the site.

There is a small shop on site, stocked with some groceries and camping supplies. The river runs at the back of the site and the sunsets are fabulous!

The lovely village is a 15 min walk away.

Would definitely go back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Judith 2 reviews from this member

 Really enjoyed the site. Nice spacious pitch. Well kept grounds.

Very nice host.

Beautiful adjacent river walk.

Due to covid we didn't use shower block so unable to comment. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Paulc7 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 5 night stay with my 2 boys. I've stayed at this site a few times over the years. Great location, they have got the balance right here of top notch facilities but keeping the wild camping feel of the site.

Great spot to relax, its right on the river which is great for walking and just messing about with the kids.

Robin keeps this site immaculate and maintains high standards in every way for us all to enjoy. The fire pits are a great add on too.

If you are looking for a quiet site set in wonderful countryside then this is for you. Very child and dog friendly. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: T6fle 4 reviews from this member

 I wouldnít describe myself and my husband as a young couple, or mature. Middle aged with a dog fits the bill best.

This is a good quality site. Easy walk to village, about 1km from site. Lots of beautiful scenery and dog friendly walks. The river tee runs along side with good fishing, Iíve been told as I donít fish myself.

The village of Middleton has shops, fantastic fish and chips, small friendly tea rooms, free toilets and parking. Not far from Low or high falls water falls.

Campsite in my opinion 10/10.

Clean, well maintained, spacious, clearly signed, new toilet block, hot showers 50p, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pottsy 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a quiet relaxing weekend at this lovely site. This was our first visit and will not be our last.

Set in wonderful countryside with lots to see and do - lots of good walking, High Force, numerous farm shops within half an hours drive and close to Barnard castle and Richmond.

The site was spotless, including the toilets and showers. The pitches were large and it was nice being able to choose our pitch. We picked next to the river and found it was level and the perfect spot.

The shop is stocked with a variety of goods including flies and specialist leaders, from a respected angling guide, for fishing the river which is free. As an angler I was impressed that I could walk a few yards from my tent to fish.

The owner is on the go from morning till night, friendly and helpful and visiting each pitch to make sure all is well and to provide campfires if required. Make sure that you pay attention to the rules on arrival and leaving times to minimise issues on the narrow lane especially at busy times.

It wasn't an issue when we were there and there is passing places to pull over if necessary.

We enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Peter2204 1 review from this member

 Returned for another stay at this lovely site this time staying on the family side of the site (normally we are on the adults only) as our daughter came as well with the grandchildren.

Once again a warm welcome from Robin on arrival and the pitches which were next to each other were perfect and large.

The kids loved the riverside walks into the town and dam building in the river.

Once again had a great time and will return next year. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jonna1972 1 review from this member

 Started the 2019 season of at this lovely site. What I love about this site is you are in the middle of the countryside but only a 10 minute walk from the village, where you can get everyday items.

The site itself has spacious pitches, free wifi and a immaculate shower block.

Showers are 50p, you get more than enough time for a long hot shower. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samstevenson 12 reviews from this member

 As previous reviewers have said there are some really positive things about this site. Peaceful, big pitches and new toilet block.

Negatives are the narrow approach, expensive showers at 50p a shot and the water pressure is poor. The grass in the adults field was in desperate need of mowing and there was a huge mound of rubble and soil behind pitches 30-35 which meant the view was rather ugly.

Finally, the bins were over flowing on the Friday when we arrived and by Tuesday were unbelievable and just made the place look unkempt. 


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Leekworth Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2333 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December