Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Les Trois Chateaux

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Lorraine - Alsace > Eguisheim > Les Trois Chateaux Reviews

Les Trois Chateaux
10 Rue Du Bassin
Eguisheim
Lorraine - Alsace   (Browse area)
68420
Tel: 00 33 389 23 19 39
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Roaming Rover 6 reviews from this member

Initial impression not that good as there is no space on site for arrivals, so several units were in the road at the entrance, potentially causing chaos. Luckily the only traffic is people going to the campsite.

You need to leave some kind of ID at reception, although the lady on reception was very helpful and gave the example of a library card. I left my AA card. The pitches are very small and some are sloping. The main positive is the location- it really is very close to the historic centre of Egusheim which is very picturesque.

It has plenty of wine cellars, and also bars and restaurants. There was a visit from a stork while we were there too and there are storks nesting in the town.

We enjoyed our stay but the site was a bit claustrophobic.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 49 reviews from this member

Very popular ACSI site where advance booking was necessary even in April. The queue forms after 12. 00 and by the time the office reopens is quite long! We confirm that you should follow the (excellent) signs not satnav which will take you through the town with its narrow roads, crossroads and detours. The site itself is basic with very narrow pitches which means you are very close to neighbours on both sides. An awning would be a very tight fit! The facilities were good but limited in view of the number of pitches. €18 with 10A electricity. Staff at reception were excellent. However, you will be here because of the mediaeval village not the campsite and the village is excellent - a 5 minute walk - picturesque - picture postcard -wine tastings everywhere - a range of restaurants - a 'Petit Train' (we recommend this at 7 €). There is a wine tasting on site every Saturday at 5. 30.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dawath1948 21 reviews from this member

Great site, a little uneven but nothing to get excited about.

Sanitaire cleaned twice a day, separate facilities for male and females.

Reception staff extremely helpful and friendly, especially Mirielle.

Eguisheim is a short walk away, well worth visiting and taking the walk around the ramparts, and can recommend the scenic train ride around the town and into the surrounding area.

Loads of information available at the tourist office.

A superb site to be our base for two weeks whilst we visited the other ancient towns in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

We opted for this site after visiting Le Medieval in nearby Turkheim, since it's in a more rural location.

First, don't follow sat nav instructions to get to this site; it'll take you up narrow, twisty roads and alongside a vineyard. Instead, follow the signposts once you reach Eguisheim.

This campsite is larger than it first looks, and was very busy when we were there (May 2017). The pitches are mostly small so there's a bit of a 'packed in' feel. The sanitaire block (there's only one) is kept clean and tidy (separate sections for men and women) but it's quite a trek from the pitches on the higher level. The site is mostly used by caravans and motorhomes so maybe this isn't an issue for most people, who use their own facilities.

There are quite a few cabins on the lower level, around the entrance. The pitches are a bit scrubby and it's not what I'd call a lovely site but it's an easy and pleasant (signposted) walk from the site into Eguisheim, past the stork nests, and we had an enjoyable day strolling around (along with the other hundreds of tourists). Most of the restaurants were shut when we were there (Tuesday closing for many, clearly).

I reckon this is a site to use as a base, not as an ultimate holiday destination.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Parlourbarn 22 reviews from this member

Within 5 minutes’ walk of beautiful Eguisheim, an ideal site for 2/3 nights to see the villages in Alsace.

However we could not have stayed longer, the pitches were small and the whole site cramped and very busy. Most guests were Dutch with generally smaller caravans than our standard 4 berth fixed bed. We paid for an XL pitch, but even they are varied in size and shape, some of which you could only access with a motor mover. You could pick your own pitch though. There are considerable comings and goings every day, from 7 am some days.

Generally the whole site was poorly maintained with overgrown shrubbery and grass, although the reception staff were very nice, you had to ask re local supermarkets, WiFi etc, the information was not offered.

Eguisheim itself is stunning and busy with day trippers, but at night is completely dead, with only one or two restaurants open, we were very surprised.

Not a site we would return to now we have seen Eguisheim.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Livewires 10 reviews from this member

My husband and I visited this ACSI site in September 2014 with our campervan and 2 dogs. The staff were lovely and we found the site to be very clean and the facilities very good with plenty of hot water. We were allowed to choose our own pitch and we paid an extra euro to have a slightly larger corner plot. Not that we needed a large pitch, but because it had a wonderful view over the adjacent vineyards.

The site was fairly busy but we had no problem finding a decent pitch at 2pm [we had not booked].

We loved the walks through the vineyards [signposted] which are dog friendly and accessible directly from the campsite. The village of Eguisheim is stunning and just a short walk away. It is beautifully set amid the vines and well placed for visits in the area.

We would definitely return to this site and thoroughly recommend it.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andiamo 4 reviews from this member

We stopped here for one night en route. It was easy to locate and far enough from the motorway to hear no noise but also close enough to be a convenient stop. We chose our own spot to pitch and the warden was friendly and helpful. The sanitary and other facilities were good. This is a site we would return to. The village of Eguisheim was stunning. There were old buildings, tiny streets, fountains, restaurants and an interesting church. There were also signposted walks from the campsite. Lovely!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jkingscott 2 reviews from this member

Alsace is a fantastic place to visit and Eguisheim is one of the nicest villages we went to, however I didn't go much on this site.

Of all the campsites I stayed on this summer (5) this was the only one to take a fairly large deposit - and charge me 6€ for booking. They also required a credit card to be held at the office the entire time we were there. They also charge a deposit for the key - not a big deal, but again the only site to do so.

A small freezer is available - but you are charged a euro each time you take something out.

The facilities are very good, clean and with plenty of hot water. The pitches though are very mixed, some are fine - if gravelly, though they do mention that when you book - but some are tiny slithers you could just get a small dome tent on.

While the facilities are well maintained the pitches aren't - grass not cut or shrubs pruned, the odd bit of rubbish left. Ours - 124 / 6 I think, was large only because most of it was completely unusable, rough lumpy bare earth.

I'd be suggest one checks out the pitch first before handing over your credit card! I much preferred camping at the municipal site in Ribeauvillé!

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Judi S 16 reviews from this member

Oh wow what a little gem but in normal French fashion the reception is strictly closed for lunch between 12. 30 and 2 however you can park up and go investigate the pitch you would like to stay on.

I would agree with other reviewers that the pitches are not huge but there are some XL pitches available and as we were there off season our pitch cost us 14 Euros a night including a 1 Euro supplement for the XL pitch. If you are interested, it was pitch no 71 which is right on the end of a line overlooking vineyards.

Shower block was very clean and tidy, cleaned at least twice a day. Loo seats and loo roll in each cubical too!. Nice hot showers and loads of hot water for washing up etc. Washing machine and dryer available too.

It's position in the country side surrounded by vineyards, perfect, the village it is in, Eguisheim, looks like something out of a fairy tale (you expect to see Hansel and Gretel coming round the corner). The village had a small general store, butchers and of course a bakers shop.

I guess you could spend all your time just visiting the upward of 20 caves in the village and loads more in the surrounding area but that would be a waste. It is a great locations for visits out. Mulhouse, with its car and the train museums are a must together with Saltzburg and the centre of Colmar.

Lovely area for hiking and if you just want a drive round you will not believe the miles and miles of vineyards and loads of soooooo pretty villages. Fairly big supermarket about 6 km away which had all supplies needed.

Loved it here and will go back to explore more of the area at a later date.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 37 reviews from this member

We stayed here for two nights on the way back from Garda, the pitch was adequate and I think we could have got our awning up OK. Ample room behind caravan to park car which was accessible using another campsite road. We used the acsi card here. Small children's playground directly opposite amenities. Very amenable warden, who pointed us to the information we asked for. Toilet and showers were good and I didn't have to wait even with the site virtually full. The pitch we had was beneath a conker tree and they were dropping with regularity. A couple of times we were awoken with the crash of them landing on the roof. We also collected a large amount of walnuts as there are loads of these trees about. The town which is a short walk away is a GEM, stunningly beautiful houses dating back hundreds of years. There are numerous vintners in town and free tastings of the produce are available from many. We did and bought some nice wine to bring home, which are now resplendent in my wine rack, but not for long I expect. There are plenty of restaurants in town.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Lorraine - Alsace

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3837 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019