Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Glenariff Forest Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Site Reviews

Glenariff Forest Park
Glenariff Road
Ballymena
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT44 0QX
Tel: 028 2955 6000  or  028 7034 0849
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/07 To 04/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 9 Reviews
                8/10 from 9 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: EricTheRed 9 reviews from this member

This site has excellent toilet & shower facilities and is in a beautiful location with plenty of woodland walks. There is a café in the forest park but it was not open in the early morning or evening and did not display its opening hours. The nearest shop is a bit of a drive away.

This site is strangely under used - throughout my four night stay there was only ever one other unit on site. In fact I saw more red squirrels than people!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: H Battilana 2 reviews from this member

Everything about this site is superb, yet it seems to be under-used! On the 2 nights we stayed, there were just 3 units on the first night, rising to 6 on the second night. There are 50 hard standings, each with an individual electricity/water point. It is no more expensive than the very crowded Carnfunnock site, which is also run by the local authority.

The local waymarked walks are fantastic and the spacious facilities block has been built to a very high spec indeed.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elddis92 1 review from this member

Wow this place was really outa the way, it's a brand new site of about 40 or so pitches. Water, power & aerial plugin right beside your van. Toilet block and showers second to none. There is a cafe about 50mtrs away, a few long walks around the forest great if you have a dog, a LITTLE play park for young kids. I asked on the phone if I could put a awning up and was advised NO. But when I arrived about half of the vans HAD. The grassy bit at the side of the van is for parking but a lot of the vanners put awning onto it (perfect) because it had rubber matting underneath. If you want a quiet break this is the place, I'm on 3 and had no phone signal or Internet connection but happy days for the tv outlet.

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Melaniextwo 8 reviews from this member

Wonderful new site with excellent facilities. Small children's park. Breathtaking views. Excellent walks. Cafe on site. Fully serviced pitches including tv ariel connection. Have stayed here 3 times and the atmosphere is always the same. No one speaks or interacts. Expensive at £25 per night for a forest run site as all other sites are only £20.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campernic 5 reviews from this member

It should be noted that this new campsite no longer accepts tents. The campers facilities on site have been installed for future glamping pods as confirmed by Mr Mark Parker of the Forestry Commission. The issue has been raised by concerned campers in Northern Ireland and was the subject of an article in a regional newspaper.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mckee 1 review from this member

Fabulous new caravan park, wonderful weekend. This site needs to be open all year or at least from 17th March to Halloween. We previously used the old site a cross the roads

and this was used by a number on European visitors. German french Italian Dutch etc

These visitors need a site then can drive onto or book in advance especially over the summer. This is a fabulous site please please get it open for all to use. There are no other caravan parks camp sites in this area and our tourists need it open, not sure of facilities for tents but there is an Ab Fab campers kitchen and washing facilities please get it open so as we can all enjoy it. The Green Glens of Antrim are

Calling to me. Get it open Asap. THANK YOU

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gallerydigital 1 review from this member

As everyone said a great basic site.

I had the same midges problem. Burning wood didn't cure it. Once the day cooled a little they were out on force. The whole site was affected.

I was able to get the car parked up beside the tent which made packing easy. The surrounding towns are a short drive away and you will get any food you need from there.

The views are just amazing.

We just turned up and pitched hoping that the warden will be round later.

Apart from the insect life we had a really nice relaxing time. The warden indicated to us that the site may close soon and move closer to the visitor centre. That would be an interesting development.

This is a great area for a base camp for budding photographers!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IanStewart 2 reviews from this member

What vickywhyte1 said! She sums up the site perfectly.

Works equally well with a tent - any size, there's plenty of space.

Yes it is basic, but the area is stunning. If you want the high-life, head for Portrush. If you're after quite and nature and a good base for exploring the delights of Antrim, this is it.

Excellent value, but you get what you pay for - good basic shower/toilet block but beginning to look a bit shabby.

Plenty of grassy area for pitching tents, warden didn't seem to mind where, but avoid the low lying area to the left of the shower block because if it rains, you'll sink!

This is a Forest Park campsite not a commercial campsite. You need to come prepared and self-sufficient, no handy convenience store or pizza delivery here.

Come to enjoy the peace, quiet and location.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vickywhyte1@hotmail 3 reviews from this member

Been to this site a few times now and we think it is a really good basic site. We have a VW campervan and a 4 man tent and the ranger didn't bat an eyelid when we put the tent up beside the campervan on a hard standing pitch, no mention of an extra charge.

Good Points

- Not usually very busy

- Good value - £13.50 per night for hard standing with EHU

- Beautiful setting - forest, coast and Glens of Antrim

- Very close to Giants Causeway, Portrush/Portstewart etc, Dunluce Castle, North coast scenic drive etc etc

- Site fee includes free entrance into Glenariff Forest Park which is accessed just up the road - our 3yrs old walks to it!

- Forest park has a small, spotlessly clean, old fashioned restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch and evening meals

- Good basic facilities - showers, toilets, chemical toilets disposal and washing facilities.

- Camping for tents is a large grassy area - very relaxed about where you put your tent and you can bring your vehicle right up beside your tent

- Sheltered site, surrounded by trees

- Dont need to book - just turn up.

Bad Points

- No shops or bars etc near by.

- Midges ( we burnt some wood on our BBQ and the smoke deterred them really well. The forest ranger didn't seem to have a problem with this as several others did the same )

- Cant book - we have been over NI 12th July holiday and got a space with noone on either side of us, so not been a problem so far

- Site facilities are a bit tired and basic but absolutely adequate.

All in all this site is a Forest Park campsite so don't expect anything else. The good points are the setting and location and the relaxed atmosphere.


Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in N Ireland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


326 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0859