Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York Chowdene Certificated Location

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > York > York Chowdene Certificated Location > Reviews

York Chowdene Certificated Location
Malton Road
Huntington
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9TD
Tel: 01904 289359  or  07598 170518
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Units and 4 Glamping Pods
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 72 Reviews
                9/10 from 72 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (8)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: February 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chris K J 2 reviews from this member

 Great site

Very convenient for bus into York from Monks Cross Park and ride also shopping at the retail park.

Useful shower available for small fee.

Would definitely stop here again.

Very peaceful at night do no problem getting a decent night's sleep.

TV reception was good. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Elaine 1 review from this member

 Very friendly welcome by Catherine.

The plot was hard standing so suitable as had a great deal of rain before we arrived and whilst the 3 nights stay.

The surrounding grass was very sodden and difficult to walk on.

The toilet /shower room was adequate but basic. Thank you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Guido8 1 review from this member

 The camping is conveniently located, very near York city centre. Upon arrival, we were welcomed and the check-in went smoothly.

The camping itself is small but overall well kept.

The only negative note is that the toilet/shower facility is, in our opinion, quite below standard, to the point that we avoided showering for the two days we were there. 


Date of Visit: January 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Diane7 1 review from this member

 The owner was very welcoming even though we arrived late.

This was our first trip in our camper van and it was a great start.

The location was quiet and peaceful whilst still being close to restaurants, shops and cinema.

We will definitely stay again. 


Date of Visit: November 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Berry7 1 review from this member

 Perfect for what we wanted and expected. Flat, quiet, small yet spacious, easy to find site near to Monks Cross park and ride, York.

Single toilet and shower ( takes 20ps or £1. 00 for shower) but spotlessly clean and never a queue even though all pitches taken.

On cycle route into York probably 4 miles on the flat, but we used the P&Ride £3. 50 return each 15 mins into the centre ( only disappointment closes around 6. 30) but there are later buses.

Did walk to cinema at Monks cross, also plenty of national chain restaurants so a very relaxing break. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a pleasant trip to York enjoying all the tourist haunts and also an International Rugby World Cup game at the stadium 10 minutes away from the site.

We chose this site as it was quoted as £21 per night on the CAMC website when booking was made, walking distance to the park and ride and retail parks.

The park and ride was £3. 50 return into York city centre. No need to pay the 'big site' prices and drag the motorhome through the city. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and told the prices had increased to £25 per night.

Good job I had a little extra in my purse to cover the difference. The site is accessed easily from the main road but down a poorly maintained shared driveway so a bit bumpy and mucky, caveat to that, Autumn is a mucky time of year.

There is a gate to open beyond the small industrial unit that is always closed and the road surface slightly improves once on site land. The pitches were hardstanding, not quite level and needed a tidy but caveat, Autumn!

There was no view from any pitch due to very high hedging. The elsan point was only just adequate in the fact that it was there. It was grotty, very unhygienic and smelly.

The washroom lacked any ambience. It was cold with no where to put anything if you wanted to use the 20p for 2 minutes shower and would be greatly improved by a lick of paint and pipes being covered and more professional signage regarding general usage.

We also didn't find the advertised waste water drain. This site provides however a welcome host who was very friendly and very easy access into the city and surrounding areas.

If we return to the beautiful city of York, we would stay at Chowdene again as it's a great base and being in a motorhome, apart from the elsan point, we are happy to use our own facilities. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 4ndysu 2 reviews from this member

 Nice friendly welcome to this little site in early March 22.

After a couple of weeks of storms and heavy rains, the grassy areas were a bit 'soft', but the hardstandings were fine.

Monks Cross/Vanguard shopping area is walkable from the site, and 'park and ride' transport into the city is available there too.

Great location to explore the city or further afield. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: February 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pattyled 9 reviews from this member

 Nice tidy little campsite just a short walk to the park and ride so easy access to York.

We were going to the LNER Community Stadium for a rugby match. It was only a ten minute walk away so Chowdene a perfect place to stop.

We will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AndyJane2019 1 review from this member

 We really liked the position of the site in relation to York.

Easy access to bus into the city. With only 6 pitches it was a quiet site but there was a bit of road noise from the busy A road into York, sirens and noisy motorbikes from time to time.

The toilet and shower was combined, not a problem with that but if someone was showering there was no access to the toilet. Shower wasn’t very powerful which was a bit disappointing and with on 1 hook for clothes and towel it was a bit of a juggle. Can I suggest a shelf and seat near the shower to make life easier (trying not to put wet feet into pants is a struggle).

Catherine the owner was really nice and these minor upgrades would do justice to her for keeping a really nice site.

Would go back in summer ! 


Date of Visit: January 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Marky2 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site very handy for park and ride at Monks Cross for a quick trip into York.

Catherine was very friendly problem with electric supply and she had the electrician out in half an hour

We will definitely stay again. 
via mobile


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is York Chowdene Certificated Location child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York Chowdene Certificated Location?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is York Chowdene Certificated Location dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4679 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement