Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Benone Tourist Complex

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > N Ireland > Limavady > Benone Tourist Complex Reviews

Benone Tourist Complex
53 Benone Ave
Limavady
N Ireland   (Browse area)
BT49 0LQ
Tel: 028 77750555
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 106
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Belfastjules 1 review from this member

Have visited this site several times before.

Generally I love it but on this occasion due to our wonderful summer weather, the pitch was a mud bath from before our arrival. Obviously the previous occupants had experienced the same. This really made life difficult as everything got absolutely covered in mud. Even with ground sheets and rubber tiles we were waterlogged.

The beach and facilities were as good as ever and I am unlikely to be put off going back, but I feel that more should be done in terms of drainage/ground quality to ensure minimal inconvenience to poor tent users.

I do love this site though because of the proximity to the beach and the availability of electric hook ups (often not available for tents) and will definitely return in 2017.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alig69 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at Benone Tourist Complex for the first time over the first May bank holiday. I booked it while the weather was very good, but unfortunately it wasn't brilliant by the time of our stay, it was four seasons in one day stuff. Shouldn't be too surprised by this as it is N. Ireland after all!

We had booked a non-awning grass pitch with electricity for our tourer. When we arrived the staff were lovely. They quickly gave us some leaflets and gave us the toilet block key (5 deposit) and a map. We found our site easily enough as they're all numbered pretty clearly. The site was really busy, it being a bank holiday, and there was not a massive amount of room between caravans or for manoeuvring, so we decided to push our caravan into place. About 4 caravans share an electricity post with their site numbers on each meter. You have to buy 1 prepaid electric cards which are read into the meter on the post to switch it on. We used 1 over two days so it's pretty reasonable. The site itself was very well maintained with clean enough toilets. The showers were just OK, mainly due to them being pretty weak, I much prefer a stronger shower, however they are free.

Our two little girls 2 and 5 were very excited about all the play parks and facilities in the Tourist Complex building. They spent ages playing in the three play parks with the other kids. The pool was empty, but it was far too cold for a pool anyway. It'd be great during the summer. There was a kids disco on the Saturday night which was clearly popular, although it was 3. 50 in. We didn't bother with it as the kids were pretty tired anyway. We did play crazy golf though which was good fun. I also saw it had a full golf course, putting green and tennis courts. Indoors there were pool and table tennis tables, plus a decent little shop which sold buckets and spades, sweets and crisps and best of all Maud's ice cream! Again the staff were lovely in there.

Around the site there was loads of space for BBQs, football or cycling. There were swarms of kids on their bikes having a ball, including my 5 year old. The beach is only a 5 minute walk away too, or you can actually drive onto it. During our visit the weather meant the beach was a bit too windy to stay on for long, but we did go for a walk along it. You can see the whole way to Portrush to the right and Donegal to the left. At the Downhill end you can see Musseden temple perched above the cliffs. Nearby you've got Roe Valley Country Park, Downhill, Castlerock, Benevenagh mountain and the Magilligan ferry to Greencastle in Donegal. It's also pretty handy for Colerine, Portstewart etc. Which is no more than 20 minutes away. Derry/Londonderry is also not too far away, probably 35 mins travel.

We experienced pretty stormy weather both nights we stayed at the site. It seemed pretty sheltered, but it wasn't. Quite a few people ended up taking their awnings down in the middle of the night, so I'd advise a good look at the forecast before putting up an awning.

Overall a very good, but busy site and we enjoyed our stay. It is quite weather dependent on how much you will enjoy it and its facilities, but it is great for families. Nice change from the normal spots on the north coast

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jmc74 5 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site. Definitely one of our favourites that we have been to.

Plenty of clean toilets and showers, outside work stations for doing dishes, very we'll laid out, spacious, and gorgeous scenery. Plenty of bins/recycling bins on site.

The beach is a 5-10 min walk from the site, great for tiring the kids out!

There is an outdoor splash pool and park within the complex, however, we never used this, as it was 5 per child to get into.

We stayed in the touring park as we wanted ehu. It was beautiful, and quiet at night. Something which I love! No noisy neighbours partying to all hours!

The site was well drained with no mud problems. It had been raining heavily the night before we arrived. No problems pegging in either. No stones underneath.

A fantastic well run site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Numberguy 3 reviews from this member

Took us a bit of time to find and when we did we got a shock. This has to be the cleanliest campsite I have had the pleasure to be on. The Shower and toilet block is cleaned around 5 times a day and is spotless. I found that the staff to be a great bunch and would go out of their way to help you in anyway they can. As for the web site which we had checked and booked through needs a majoral overhaul. Things that are advertised on site are a 5-10 mins drive away by car. Also having to pay so much for an open door swimming pool was far to expensive for us to use as the was know family concessions in place.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PMcS 1 review from this member

My family have visited this site coming four years now; so you can guess we think its ok.

I like the layout of the site which allows some privacy in areas and the caravans are not on top of each other. The complex has heated pools, a bouncy castle, playarea, bowls, golf and a lovely wooden walkway to the beach over the sand dunes which you can walk or cycle. There is a small shop and takeaway a short distance away and Cooley's restaurant does a reasonable feed suitable for all ages. The staff are pleasant and helpful at all times. Having a beach on one side and mountains on the other makes you feel you are away in another country instead of an hour an a half up the road. If you had great weather in Ireland you wouldn't get anywhere in a foreign country better than here. We just love it.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Popajop 1 review from this member

Visited this site with my husband and two boys aged 4 and 2. Loved it! Great weather helped! Small tent area only about 5 pitches I think!

Tourist complex has playpark and heated pools which the kids loved! Also a bouncy castle while we where there.

Very reasonable entrance to tourist complex 5 per child and they could come and go all day as they pleased from 11am til 6pm! Short walk to the stunning benone beach.

Toilet/shower block short distance from tents. Thought the showers could have been a bit bigger, no curtain to stop water splashing floor outside shower tray so floor was soaked and not enough space to hang clothes etc.

There were family shower rooms in caravan site about same distance in other direction but our key didn't fit those doors! All in all we ad a fab time, staff very friendly!

Will hopefully be back. Need to book in advance as its always booked out!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sindydoll 1 review from this member

Stayed here at Easter and as first attempt at tenting, great experience. We stayed in the small non electrical tent site which was private, quiet and much less hectic in comparison to the larger caravan areas (only 5 tent spaces in this area). Room for kids to play and no worries of traffic. Showers and toilets always clean and warm. Laundry and hairdrying available.

Bit disappointed that outside pool not open during Easter break

Cafe on site basic but welcoming and ok for emergency feeding. No shop on site but there is one ten minute walk away. Beach a short walk away with nice dune walk taking you there.

24hr security so always felt safe and secure even stayed a night extra on my own with kids and no hubby

All in all great value and friendly welcome to the north coast.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Clarkjp 13 reviews from this member

Quite enjoyed it staying here, the weather was good for a change, the area was flat and spacious between vans, the only negative would be having to use electric cards for power.

Only a short walk to the beach or there is a outdoor pool (weather permitting) for a few pounds which gets the kids in for the day, if not there's a green in the middle of the park to mess about in.

Toilets and showers are basic but clean, for snacks and things you need to go to the main block on the way in, other than that head out for lunch.

I will definitely be back here for a lazy break.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in N Ireland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3542 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019