Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Domaine De La Catiniere

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Fiquefleur Equainville > Camping Domaine De La Catiniere Reviews

Camping Domaine De La Catiniere
Route De Honfleur
Fiquefleur Equainville
Normandy   (Browse area)
27210
Tel: 0033 0232576351
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: BadBoyBushy 15 reviews from this member

We used this site for 2 nights as an overnight stop.

The site features a nice pool area, children's play area, club house with bar and restaurant and farm with animals.

We were pitched quite a way from the central toilet/shower block which appeared to generally be clean and a mix of typical French toilets and showers so didn't really use them.

The farm was a nice area and touch to walk around to meet the wide range of animals they have. The children's play area was sparse in equipment but sufficed.

Pitch sizes varied. We had a 8M twin axle, but had no problem in getting on our pitch, although turning was tight.

Food from the bar was good and reasonably priced.

Location wise, Honfleur is a beautiful town with loads to do locally and we found the site ideal as a base but probably wouldn't use it much during the day.

Worth noting that there is no mobile phone signal on most of the site, but wifi has been installed and is available for a small daily charge.

Personally I would only rate this site as one for staying for a few days not an entire holiday, and it's ideal for the port of Le Harve.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lou J 4 reviews from this member

We chose this site as a stop-over for our Portsmouth-Le Havre ferry crossing (and return), and booked through the Caravan Club. It is half an hour to the port, 10 minutes from Honfleur, and has shops and a fuel station within a 5 minute drive. The site is in a pretty setting, seems well maintained, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The pitches are large enough for our twin axle van, and all have water points on or next to the pitches. You have a choice of ampages on the ELU's, incurring a small additional charge the higher amps required. There are plenty of clean toilets, wash basins, showers etc, all cleaned very regularly. We didn't use the pool but it looked very nice, as did the bar area, and there were plenty of games facilities for those who wanted them, so longer stays would be catered for. Snacks, fresh bread and croissants could all be ordered daily, and there's a bar. We would highly recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrwexpress 3 reviews from this member

Despite the negative reviews, we decided to give the site a go and wow what a lovely welcome we received. We were told we could chose our pitch and if we wanted a quiet pitch then head to the top of the site, we were a bit weary so they showed us to the pitches.

We had a huge pitch with serviced waste and water, which I think is the norm in France!

Yes, the toilets and showers are very basic but they serve the purpose and did the job! We didn't use the pool facilities or bar but our neighbours (a retired couple used the slide and pool and said it was greatÖÖthink they'd had few!)

We stayed 4 nights and had a lovely time and would definitely return. Its a 10 min drive to Honfluer

Oh and whoever said it was badly signposted needs to open their eyes! Signposted once you come off the autoroute!

We will definitely be returning and will recommend to anyone wishing to stay in this area :-)

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Squiggle1 2 reviews from this member

We visited this campsite with our two young children during the summer holidays for 5 nights. The campsite was difficult to find at first as it wasn't well sign posted, however once there we were pleasantly surprised at what a lovely site it was. We pitched our tent opposite the park which was perfect as the children could play while we kept an eye on them. The pitches (with electric) are sectioned off by hedges giving you some privacy. If booking an electric pitch beware that you will probably need more than 4 amps. We upgraded to a 8 amp pitch on arrival as we wanted to use a kettle/toaster which the owner said we wouldn't be able to use on 4 amp electric. The showers were clean and we never had to queue. We were able to buy milk at the reception and had the option to order bread/croissants for the following morning. There is a large supermarket in nearby Honfleur. The site is run by a family who were all very pleasant. The outdoor swimming pool and water slides were brilliant and our children loved every minute there. We enjoyed our time here and plan to book again for next year.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart 988 11 reviews from this member

We booked this site as a stopover between the tunnel and our destination near La Rochelle. We also wanted to visit Honfleur again. The site was just after the Pont de Normandie and was easy to find. I had a friendly welcome from the lady on reception and was shown to my pitch and the electricity was set up. As with others reviewing this site, I upgraded to 10 amp supply. I found the shower and toilet block to be basic, with the usual French obsession of urinals open to view and also some stand up toilets. They did have basin toilets, but these had no seats. The block was clean and like the rest of the site was always kept tidy. It is only a 15 minute drive into the centre of Honfleur with its many shops, supermarkets and restaurants. We used the bread ordering system at reception, which was good.

We didn't use the pool and the bar area was very quiet. They have a small farm area with goats, sheep, donkey etc, which would be great for little ones and a play area. There is also a football pitch, so a good amount of space for the kids. It is situated in a valley on a rural road and you are surrounded by countryside. A good stopover site for a couple of days, but I'm not sure I would want to spend longer. Compared to some of the other sites we used, it was not cheap either.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geoff48 23 reviews from this member

We stayed for 9 nights having visited in previous years using the site as a stop over. The location is in a beautiful valley approx 4 miles from Honfleur. The site entrance is well marked from the road itís flat and wide with an adequate parking area to park and check in at reception.

The owner usually mans the reception and speaks reasonable English. At reception there is a small shop, tourism leaflets and an ice cream freezer. There is also a bread and croissant ordering system where you can place your order for the following day up to 20:00 hours the previous day.

The toilets are unisex French style, no toilet boards, however toilet paper is supplied. They were cleaned regularly including steam cleaning. In the toilet block there are urinals WCís washing area, pot washing area, laundry and showers.

The shop at reception sells very little but there are Supermarkets and Hypermarkets in abundance at nearby Honfleur and a couple of supermarkets at Beuzeville.

The owner provided a pitch very near to the childrenís playground and our grandchildren made full use of these facilities, it is his policy to put long stay caravanners with children onto the pitches near the playground making supervision easy. Our pitch was level and levelling blocks not required.

The site roads are clay and compacted stone, some have had channels in the middle and have larger stones in them to provide good drainage. Be careful with jockey wheel if you have a motor mover the channels are quite deep! In high season entertainment is provided every night, examples, BBQ, Line Dancing, Singer, and Bingo (if you like it!).

The swimming pool has a couple of water slides and a childrenís pool. Swimming trunks not swimming shorts must be worn, this is not unusual in France.

My pitch had reversed polarity and on arriving at reception I upgraded to 8 amps from the standard 4 amp with no difficulty in explaining what I would like.The pitch also had its own water supply and that was a great help in keeping the Aquaroll full. There is a fishing area on one of the two little rivers, I donít fish but I found the sign advising that you need a licence from the proprietor to fish for Peaches quite amusing.

Honfleur is a very pretty town, if you want to visit the Saturday market I suggest an early trip out of site, the town is very busy and parking spaces are difficult to find, even with a blue badge.

I have no hesitation in recommending this site for families it is especially well equipped for children say 3 to 9.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fgb54 5 reviews from this member

We arrived for the last week in August. Site is in a great position to visit much of Normandy and easily reached. Honfleur is just a short drive away and has a lot to see and do. Park in the first large car park you come to on the right by the port otherwise you will struggle. Our welcome was ok, fast and efficient. The pitch (number 13!) was a decent size but like all of those by the wash block, very waterlogged. The electric hook up was a lead hanging from a tree trunk, and had a tendency to fill up with water during a wet week. The bar/take away was popular as was the pool. Some evening entertainment was provided, but the pitch area remained quiet at night.

The wash block just couldn't cope with the number of campers and didn't get anything like the cleaning it needed. That includes the chemical waste disposal area and the fresh water supply. Quite honestly it was filthy, and I'm trying to be fair given the wet weather. That grime had clearly built up over a longer period of time.

We will look for another site if we visit the area again. Our neighbours felt the same.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Catlover174 20 reviews from this member

We stayed here in our caravan for 3 nights. It was our final stop of a 3 week holiday. The day we arrived the weather was terrible and we had had a long drive. Unfortunately like some others we were not given a warm welcome. The gentleman in reception gave us very little information other than to tell us not to wear shorts in the pool (Speedos only) and we were shown to our very waterlogged, muddy pitch. This was our 4th campsite of the holiday and the smallest pitch we had been given but it was adequate and in quite a good spot opposite a children's play area and close to the facilities. We upgraded to 13 amp electric from the somewhat meagre 4 amp on offer as standard.

The facilities were clean but not the greatest. There are no seats on the toilets which we didn't find in any of the other sites we stayed on, although it did seem quite common in public toilets in France. Some of the showers lacked direction making it difficult to get properly clean although they were warm.

There was plenty to do for young children - a good swimming pool with a couple of decent slides (outdoors though so not much good in the rain), a trampoline, bouncy castle, ball pit, ping pong, play areas. Older children would not be entertained at this site. The bar seemed nice enough although we didn't really use it except to buy ice creams and the lady serving there was friendly.

Clientele seemed to be mostly British or French. There seemed to be quite a few permanent or semi-permanent residents in mobile homes on the site.

The best thing about the site is probably the location. It is very handy for Le Havre and Caen. We enjoyed a couple of lovely evenings in Honfleur and a day trip driving along the D-day beaches and visiting Bayeux.

Overall I would not recommend this site and would not return. Although it has all the facilities to make it a good site, it lacks atmosphere and pitches are small and poorly drained.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kbarker 1 review from this member

We stayed for 6 nights,in touring caravan and had a fairly large pitch. Some pitches looked an odd size and shape but obviously selected for the size of your outfit/tent. We upgraded to 10 amp electric from the standard 4 amp supply.

Clean Unisex toilet and shower block, cleaned daily with pressure washer! Some continental style toilets, but adequate amount of normal toilets, but no toilet seats (common for French sites).

Good washing up and laundry area.

Play area and pool suited to under 10's. Good sports field with goals and volley ball net, for a family kick around.

The outdoor pool area has some slides, it was a bit on the chilly side when you first got in but soon warmed up, it didn't put the kids off they loved it (both aged 6),plenty of loungers whenever we went over to it. I was happy to let mine go around and around the slides on their own whilst Hubbie and I relaxed on the loungers when the sun was out.

Didn't sample the Bar/takeaway but something on most evenings, be it bingo/singer/BBQ/folk music, great to listen too from the caravan when kids in bed, always quiet by 2300hrs.

Good mix of British/ Dutch /French.

Overall had a good time,Lots to visit in area, close to A29 motorway for a stopover night or for staying longer. Would visit again if in area.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carolwat 6 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site after travelling overnight and were really tired but we were given a pitch and the owners son took us to it. It was expensive at £30 per night but we really needed to sleep. We were sited right next to the children's play area which we thought would quieten down early evening but the noise went on till quite late. It also started up again early morning. The pitches are a good size and flat and are separated by hedges which provide privacy. Having wandered around the site there were some lovely and quiet locations which we wished we had been on. The facilities were limited with only 2 showers for the whole site and one of these has to have the button pressed constantly for water. They were cleaned out with a hose pipe along with the toilets and sink cubicles but no cleaning fluid was used at all.

The pools are very good and the slides are excellent even for non swimmers as they don't filter into the main pool. There are also trampoline and bouncy castle and ball pit for the children. Free wifi in the bar and terrace. Pizza van on a Sunday night but this is expensive at ten euro for a margarita. Animals are on site and they all come to greet you ion hearing the rustle of the bread bag. We did enjoy our couple of nights there but felt it was expensive for what it was.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6525 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019