Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lower Milton Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Wells > Lower Milton Caravan And Camping Reviews

Lower Milton Caravan And Camping
Milton Lane
Wookey Hole
Wells
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA5 1DE
Tel: 01749 675326
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 28 Reviews
                8/10 from 28 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emste76 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely, back to basics campsite set in a lovely location. We spend 5 nights at this little gem of a campsite. The children and dogs had a great time. Loved the stream and woods the children and dogs could play in. Nic the owner is friendly and very approachable. We enjoyed having a fire each night and looking at the stars. We enjoyed exploring the local area. The walk to Ebbor Gorge and views were stunning. A short walk to Wells was lovely. My only criticism was just one shower, though it was always hot and I didn't mind putting 20p in the honest box. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BarryLeslie 6 reviews from this member

 This site is over-rated! Long grass in sloping field. Dogs running free so care needed when walking to the (single) shower. No hot water for (single) wash-up and no dedicated Elsan disposal. Electricity by trailing cables unprotected from vehicles. Great for walking and ambiance; but at 15 per night with electric. Any rain would make it difficult to get off unless you were at the top of the sloping field. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julie78 1 review from this member

 Fantastic campsite! We arrived at around 6. 30pm and after looking for the office for a bit we found a very pleasant man (the owner) and his cat and dog, who helped us find the perfect pitch. We asked about having a fire and he guided us to the allocated campfire points, which were many and close to pitches. The owner was very agreeable, friendly and laid back. We didn't have a fire in the end but you can buy logs from the owner.

There is a woods on the site and a stream running through it. We were told that you can camp in the woods if you want a more wild-camping experience (just let him know though). It is a very pretty place to camp and I relaxed straight away. Dogs seem to be very welcome and there was no problems from any of the dogs on site. Very well behaved. Red Kites flew around in the sky, along with other birds.

The road is very narrow to the entrance of the site but just take it easy when travelling down it. There are passing places along the way to aid you but we had no issues in our MPV.

Facilities are basic but clean and there is only one shower but we didn't have any real issues getting a shower, whether that was luck or not I don't know. There is a box for 20p's to have 2mins in the shower but I'm not sure if that is an honestly box, as it seem to last longer than 2mins (of course we were honest anyway, the odd 20p doesn't break the bank). There are two toilets but many portaloos scattered about the site. There are about three different fields in which to camp and no marked pitches, so find a spot and pitch. In one field they let the cows graze behind an electric fence but again they were no trouble at all and they just got on with it. They seem to like watching the dogs. I was watching both cows and dogs (something to do while I relaxed with a GnT).

We went to Wookey Hole Caves one day. It was only a handful of minutes away, so close! A great day out for the family and stopping at Wells cathedrall on the way back to the site was a great idea too. So beautiful!

Only thing I would change is the sign to the 'Office'. It is pasted on the wall of the toilet block but it is really the owners house, so took us while to figure that out lol

All in all we would go back in a heartbeat! I loved this site, it had everything you need to camp, basic but perfect for us. Totally recommend it to those who are REAL campers! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: MATTTT 1 review from this member

 Stayed for 4 nights, great site friendly owner

Peaceful place with nice walks for the dog

Next time we will go without the electric and you can pitch up anywhere in the bigger fields

Bit tight getting in and a single track road leading in, although you can come in from Wookey hole way and its a much shorter and easier way in

Only 1 washing up area and 1 shower and 2 loos, so can get a bit busy, basic but clean and the shower was hot

If you like a paved road with marked pitches and a formal site this may not suit but we had a great time

The wookey hole club was great too, friendly, dogs allowed and cheap, no food though. 


Date of Visit: December 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Exsisman 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived here on a wet (very) New Years Eve with 3 other campervans. No chance of driving on to field where we could have our planned fire. 'No problem' said owner, 'I've got a tractor'. A while later 4 vans in place with endless skill, care and patience. Repeat performance next day for return journey home. Will be back again when it's drier!

Great open site. Walk to Wells or Priddy. Camp fires. Shower, loo, water, EHU if you need it. Great host. What's not to like? 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Topwelt 6 reviews from this member

 This site is very over rated it was a night mare getting our caravan in they don't inform people about the tight ness of the gap they have so many people living on there and you can tell that the residents don't take to kindly to people coming on there was cow dung every where the site really was not taken care of we got stuck on the high grass I would not go back there it really needs revamping was not to dear but every where needed cleaning 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cyanara 1 review from this member

 On the plus side the location was good. Just down the road from Wookey.

There is ONE shower, this is inadequate for a site this size, in a block with just two flushing loos. If you are a festival goer and are used to using chemical toilets located in the middle of a field then this wont bother you.

But if the least you might expect is hot water in the toilets, hot water to wash up with, and more than one shower on site then maybe this wont be for you. Maybe the total lack of basic facilities is reflected in the price though which at 7 quid pppn is very cheap. This site would be perfect for a caravan owner who doesn't need to rely on the facilities or teenage groups because there seemed to be no rules regarding loud music played into the night. Would have loved this site 30 years ago! I don't have small persons anymore so my rating for child friendliness is based purely on the lack of facilities. The kids on the site did enjoy playing in the woods (we thought they should have had an adult with them though) Also customer service was not needed so irrelevant. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bracken123 2 reviews from this member

 A great campsite. We came with the children and dog and really enjoyed our stay. The countryside and walks are amazing. The Village club is very friendly and great for a local Cider. The facilities are kept clean and the pitches are well spaced out and hookups are available The Wookey Hole caves are a short walk away and well worth a visit and wells is only 1 Mile away across the fields. We Can thoroughly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Had a two night stay during the very wet weather / flooding spell. Unfortunately we sunk in to the grass on our way across the field and had to get a tow from the owner in his tractor; he didn't mind a bit giving us a tow and was really helpful.

Given the amount of rain and flooding locally, the site although boggy wasn't too bad considering.

We really liked the site as it was a good basic campsite, that maintained it's rural charm and was set in nice scenery.

There are plenty of good walks from the site and the pub down the road in Wookey was very good for food and drink. Also local (by driving) is Wilkins Cider Farm, definitely worth a visit on your way to the site to top up with supplies.

We'd visit this site again without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Margaret F 2 reviews from this member

 Child friendly site, great for adventures in the woods, very accommodating and helpful owner, peaceful setting with a choice of fields but best is near the woods in the hollow, local pubs nearby and Wells centre 10 mins away as well as being close to Cheddar and Wookey Hole. They occasionally have land rover club trials and Moto x trials so check with owner first if you want to avoid this busy noisy but exciting weekend for boys time, don't worry it's not run in the pitching fields so your safe.

Definitely gonna book again for a long weekend so relaxing highly recommended, only draw back is there is 1 shower, toilets there are 2 in the block with the addition of portaloo's being put at strategic points around the fields for parties of people or you depending on where you set up camp.

Firepits dotted around the pitch areas are handy as well as big bags of dry wood available from the owner chargeable obviously but very worthwhile, I'd give it 9 out of 10 if only had another shower or 2. 


Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lower Milton Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lower Milton Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lower Milton Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wells      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2635 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement