Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Dorchester Road
Lytchett Minster
Bournemouth
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6JB
Tel: 01202 622 577
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 2nd January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 390 Reviews
                9/10 from 390 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  390 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: James3 6 reviews from this member

As with many reviews its always difficult to judge just how good or bad a site is as its all down to individual personal likes or dislikes - what suits one person will not suit another. However in our case we feel we would like to offer a view on South Lytchett Manor as it is a really 'nice' place to stay.

The entrance is quite imposing with its high gates and reception is just to the right when you book in, a process which is quickly dealt with by the efficient and friendly staff. The site is split into several areas off the main roadway which runs right the way through the site. Incidentally this roadway was there before a campsite was ever introduced and was built in the second world war for heavy tanks to be driven on. So in many ways determines the shape and layout of the campsite. There are pitches on either side virtually all hardstanding and fairly open - great if you are a people watching person and are quite popular. On the right as you proceed down is an area called Randall's which is nicely laid out with all hardstanding and the majority are fully serviced plus have good privacy. Over a small bridge on the main roadway is Ronnie's Paddock, which is the newer part of the site and has very spacious fully serviced pitches both with hardstanding's or grass. Many of the pitches have been divided up by laurel hedges which as they develop offer good privacy. Further down the roadway to the far end of the site tends to be quieter as there are fewer pitches. There are 3 facility blocks including a smaller block at the far end of the site all of which are heated, modern and exceptionally clean, even when the site is very busy. There are rooms for families or disabled all to a high standard - some of these may be closed at certain times of the year depending on demand. At the top end of the site is an excellent children's play area which is enclosed and very safe for kids. The pitches around this area would be very good for families as parents could keep an eye on their children.

One of the key things for us, having visited South Lytchett on several occasions has been the staff - they are always friendly and helpful and I am sure, having seen a couple of negative reviews, they would have helped sort out any issues if only the complaint had been brought to their attention. Its the same for any site if you are not happy about something give the site a chance to sort it rather than complain in a review when you get back home. The family owners and staff certainly go out of there way to ensure their customers have a good holiday or break.

For us the site happens to be in one of our favorite locations in Dorest but it offers a very nice and comfortable place to stay with friendly staff. Other benefits also include a good bus service just outside of the site plus two good pubs in the area not to mention the great on-site bakery!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Martins16 8 reviews from this member

We were really looking forward to our stay after reading all of the reviews and I can agree its a lovely well kept site and the ease of catching a bus from site is excellent. But we did book our stay because their brochure did say heated shower block and individual wash rooms, but when we arrived on a cold October day the shower blocks were not heated and there was only one wash room open, the rest were locked and couldn't be used. I also thought the shower block was quite tired and not as clean as I expected seeing as all the awards they had won. We did query at reception and the lady said I can assure you they are heated and there are 3 wash rooms available so we did check back later that night and they were still cold and only one room open which we never did manage to use. I asked if reception could please check the heating as it was quite chilly and was also told that I had been told wrong the day before they only have one room open, I did say your brochure says wash rooms but she said there is not the demand for the rooms. I did say the rooms were the reason why we had booked the site only to be told that they would be happy for me to use the disabled room, which I did find a bit odd. Thankfully the shower block did seem to warm up slightly on our 3rd day but that could have been because the weather warmed up as well, but the rooms were still locked. We also found the road noise from the A35 to be very intrusive it seemed that you could hear it all night - I appreciate that this is not the sites fault but we would not book again as we prefer a quieter site and also expect the facilities to be as stated in their brochure. So we felt a bit mislead and I don't think it was worth the £29 a night that we had paid.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deadly dor 13 reviews from this member

Visited South Lytchett Manor Campsite for our 8th visit the beginning of July.

The Staff were very welcoming as usual, and a member of staff showed us to our pitch.

This visit, due to the good weather, had never seen the site so full at this time of the year. Even the big field was in use and at weekends, non EHU were in a section of the playing field. But even to the increase of visitors the up keep of the site was as good as on other visits.

As usual, over the closed season, improvements had been made, Showers had been upgraded, and extra outside Dish Washing areas had been added.

All Facilities were kept spotless at all times.

Also this year there is the added Fresh Bakery, every morning you could get fresh Bread, Rolls, Croissants, Choc au Pan and Raisin Whirls.

The shop also had a good selection food, drink and camping goods.

The Bus service from outside the gates is very good, Poole, Swange, and even Weymouth.

If you go through Randalls field you can walk to the Craft Centre, where Dylan's Cafe is open every day for Food. Would recommend booking a table for Sunday Lunch, even locals book Sunday Roast.

There is also 2 pubs in the village, the closest about 10/15 minutes walk, where the campsites give you a voucher for a free bottle of wine when having meals there.

The only downside for me this year, before leaving I was unable to book my Pitch for my regular 2 weeks next year as someone had already booked it. There are also people that have already booked for 2020.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 211 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Leave A35 at roundabout and take B3067 Dorchester Road. Continue through Lytchett Minster and about half a mile further on the site is on the left. The entrance is through an ornate gate which looks quite narrow but will accept all units of normal dimensions.

South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park Is a large and busy site situated on the outskirts of Poole and about half a mile from the village of Lytchett Minster. We received a very pleasant welcome from the reception team who gave us a run through about where everything was on the site. The campsite is open from 1st March until 1st January each year. There are around 150 pitches marked on the site plan set out alone a spine road that runs through the site. There are addition pitching areas set off of this road. The majority of pitches are on hardstandings (some with a vehicle sized concrete base) with a lesser number on grass. There are three categories of pitches, Deluxe which is fully serviced with water and waste, Superior with electric and Standard with no electrics. The electric bollards use CEE17 blue connectors and are rated at 10 amps. All pitches with electrics also have access to a TV hook-up which is free to use but you have to provide your own cable, also available to purchase from reception. There is a large grass field set out with electric points not marked on the site plan. Whether this is for rallies or just a general overflow area in the peak season I donít know but when in use would considerably increase the capacity of the site. Water points are dotted around the site but grey waste and chemical toilets can only be emptied at four points around the site so a fair walk from some pitches. The motorhome service point is in front of the main toilet block in the centre of the site and has good access for larger vehicles. There are three toilet blocks spaced some distance apart through the site, they are of an excellent standard. If the site was full I imagine they could be under pressure. As part of the site, there is a large field, opposite reception, which seemed to be used as a kick about area for ball games and also for dog exercise. As well as the kick about area children area well catered for with an adventure style playground and for older ones a games room. Reception sells a range of caravan accessories plus some food lines including freshly baked bread and newspapers and exchange gas cylinders. Opposite reception is an information hut with details of local attractions. There is site wide WiFi which is free but I found it was very inconsistent in connection terms. The 4G signal on site was reasonably good. Depending on where you pitched you may experience some noise from the nearby A35. We were pitched just down from the entranced which was far from peaceful at certain times of day. On booking the site requires a £50 non-returnable deposit and the balance must be paid 28 days before arrival date.

For those that donít want to take their vehicles off site there is an hourly bus service into Poole in one direction and Swanage in the other from a stop directly outside the campsite. From Poole bus station services run to Bournemouth. The railway station is also on the bus route. From the campsite there is no end of places to visit within a twenty mile radius. For shopping Poole will cover most requirements and there is an ASDA and a Sainsburys in the town centre and a Tesco a little further out, the later having good access to the fuel pumps for motorhomes-use the pay at pump ones for best access. For eating out Poole obviously has many restaurants, especially along the Quay, although closer to the site is the St Peters Finger pub which is about a half mile walk from the site. We had an excellent Sunday roast there and also took advantage of the free bottle of wine voucher given to us by the campsite. A short walk out of the site is a small craft centre and the cafť does cream teas and other refreshments. A voucher from reception will get you a free coffee or tea.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andie74 18 reviews from this member

Wish all sites could be to this standard.

Would definitely return. Don't have bad word to say, spotless facilities, nice pitches all a good size.

3 dog walks and doggie ice cream.

Only used car once to got Dorset heavy horse centre (dog friendly day out) good bus service.

2 pubs and cafe walking distance.

Can't wait to come back.

Only thing I would add to improve site would be a dog laundry for pet bedding.

10/10 site

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GAVWTD 7 reviews from this member

We had booked 3 nights at South Lychett Campsite months ago having read the awards the site had won. We were so looking forward to our stay. We left after 1 night as this really wasn't the special site we imagined it would be; in my opinion it was just a well managed, well staffed standard park and honestly nothing special at all. Perhaps we had been spoiled by earlier this week having stayed at Lucksall Camping and Caravan (on banks of River Wye and a superb site) and then the wonderful Warcombe Farm in Devon (again couldn't fault it, just as large as Lychett but not as crammed in). South Lychett was third site on this break and was the one we had been so looking forward to; however out of all 3 (and perhaps out of all other sites weve stayed at this year) South Lychett was by far the least impressive; none of our family aged 46 to 11 could see why this had won awards above the previous two. There appeared to be no privacy on any pitch having walked around it with the dogs, I have been told by the owners there are hedges around some but we honestly hadn't seen any and being told there are 'views of fields from our pitch' is just an insult as the view ahead was a play area and caravans, cars, and awnings. Shame as many people are happy to pay for larger private pitches, even just the odd small hedge allows some privacy when needed but not here. Again maybe we have been spoiled at other sites but the dog walk was not much to shout about, being a mowed strip of grass. Unlike the large private acres of wood/land at both Lucksall and Warcombe. Thr road outside though not the campsites fault was very busy to cross easily and safely. There is however a bus stop outside.

Very sadly South Lychett didn't match our site preferences at all; such a shame I hadn't asked to see a site map with pitch numbers clearly shown after not being able to find one on the website.

We felt far too crammed in and too much like being a goldfish in a bowl for us to fully relax and being near the children's play area (though the children were very quiet and really well behaved) is not something we would ever chose and had we been able to see on their website a site map we would certainly not have booked.

Have to say the staff were wonderful, offered a very warm welcome and the helpful chap showing us to our pitch was really nice. The shop was also great. Shame we missed a chance to try their cakes and scones as they looked great. Facilities were clean and perfectly adequate but for truely amazing facilities just visit Warcombe Farm.

Just such a pity having long looked forward to our stay, and having read the plaudits, that the site just wasn't for us.

Sadly we wont be back and we've never said that about any site we've been too as we like to revisit, but I'm sure others campers who like being so close to neighbours you can hear them sneeze (yet still being the required 6m distance lol) will be back. However we will return to the other two sites which were superb and indeed we have returned to Lucksall for the 2 remaining days we had booked at South Lychett a much nicer site all round.

I was told by online staff a few days before our visit that the site was full as we had wanted to book an extra day and on the morning we pitched we were told again by the gentleman who guided us in that they were fully booked so as they would not have been able to have repitch us which we left.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Choc 13 reviews from this member

A fantastic caravan site which is very well run and organised from arrival to departure. The site itself was very clean and well maintained with a relaxed, pleasant feeling about it. The shower and toilet facilities were clean and well resources through-out the week. Staff were very helpful and approachable and they were visible at all times but not intrusive. The location itself was superb and very central to most tourist attractions. Pitches are spacious and the super all service pitches canít be faulted. We will definitely be returning in the future.

We also went on a bank holiday and stayed the week not once did I have to wait for the shower or toilet. As they say you pay for what you get and you certainly got value for money.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daneellard 4 reviews from this member

What a great site! Spotless loos that never seemed to close. Grounds / grass kept very neat & tidy. Staff cheery and helpful. Pitch was level, no jiggery pokery required! Handy for the 'Jurassic Coast' with bus stops immediately outside the site.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DavetheIV 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site but we found it too big, busy and expensive for our liking. It is however well situated & allows easy access to the many local locations that deserve visiting. The amenities were found to be well placed, very well cared for & exceptionally clean.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pablo Nico 1 review from this member

We arrived 19th may and stayed five nights in our motor home.

We loved the site, especially the dog wash area which was a bonus.

On our last night we thought it would end our visit with a meal at St Peterís Finger, we arrived there at 6. 45pm. We were told one of the dish washers out of order so they werenít taking Ďwalk insí.

There were many empty tables and the Bar man was totally nonplussed.

We always choose a site that has a pub close by, our dogs are now elderly are we try not to walk them too far.

It rather spoiled the last day.

Previous     390 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1982 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1367