Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Site Reviews

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Dorchester Road
Lytchett Minster
Bournemouth
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6JB
Tel: 01202 622 577
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 1st March To 2nd January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 386 Reviews
                9/10 from 386 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport On Site 

Reviews:  386 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deadly dor 13 reviews from this member

Visited South Lytchett Manor Campsite for our 8th visit the beginning of July.

The Staff were very welcoming as usual, and a member of staff showed us to our pitch.

This visit, due to the good weather, had never seen the site so full at this time of the year. Even the big field was in use and at weekends, non EHU were in a section of the playing field. But even to the increase of visitors the up keep of the site was as good as on other visits.

As usual, over the closed season, improvements had been made, Showers had been upgraded, and extra outside Dish Washing areas had been added.

All Facilities were kept spotless at all times.

Also this year there is the added Fresh Bakery, every morning you could get fresh Bread, Rolls, Croissants, Choc au Pan and Raisin Whirls.

The shop also had a good selection food, drink and camping goods.

The Bus service from outside the gates is very good, Poole, Swange, and even Weymouth.

If you go through Randalls field you can walk to the Craft Centre, where Dylan's Cafe is open every day for Food. Would recommend booking a table for Sunday Lunch, even locals book Sunday Roast.

There is also 2 pubs in the village, the closest about 10/15 minutes walk, where the campsites give you a voucher for a free bottle of wine when having meals there.

The only downside for me this year, before leaving I was unable to book my Pitch for my regular 2 weeks next year as someone had already booked it. There are also people that have already booked for 2020.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 204 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Leave A35 at roundabout and take B3067 Dorchester Road. Continue through Lytchett Minster and about half a mile further on the site is on the left. The entrance is through an ornate gate which looks quite narrow but will accept all units of normal dimensions.

South Lytchett Manor Caravan and Camping Park Is a large and busy site situated on the outskirts of Poole and about half a mile from the village of Lytchett Minster. We received a very pleasant welcome from the reception team who gave us a run through about where everything was on the site. The campsite is open from 1st March until 1st January each year. There are around 150 pitches marked on the site plan set out alone a spine road that runs through the site. There are addition pitching areas set off of this road. The majority of pitches are on hardstandings (some with a vehicle sized concrete base) with a lesser number on grass. There are three categories of pitches, Deluxe which is fully serviced with water and waste, Superior with electric and Standard with no electrics. The electric bollards use CEE17 blue connectors and are rated at 10 amps. All pitches with electrics also have access to a TV hook-up which is free to use but you have to provide your own cable, also available to purchase from reception. There is a large grass field set out with electric points not marked on the site plan. Whether this is for rallies or just a general overflow area in the peak season I don’t know but when in use would considerably increase the capacity of the site. Water points are dotted around the site but grey waste and chemical toilets can only be emptied at four points around the site so a fair walk from some pitches. The motorhome service point is in front of the main toilet block in the centre of the site and has good access for larger vehicles. There are three toilet blocks spaced some distance apart through the site, they are of an excellent standard. If the site was full I imagine they could be under pressure. As part of the site, there is a large field, opposite reception, which seemed to be used as a kick about area for ball games and also for dog exercise. As well as the kick about area children area well catered for with an adventure style playground and for older ones a games room. Reception sells a range of caravan accessories plus some food lines including freshly baked bread and newspapers and exchange gas cylinders. Opposite reception is an information hut with details of local attractions. There is site wide WiFi which is free but I found it was very inconsistent in connection terms. The 4G signal on site was reasonably good. Depending on where you pitched you may experience some noise from the nearby A35. We were pitched just down from the entranced which was far from peaceful at certain times of day. On booking the site requires a £50 non-returnable deposit and the balance must be paid 28 days before arrival date.

For those that don’t want to take their vehicles off site there is an hourly bus service into Poole in one direction and Swanage in the other from a stop directly outside the campsite. From Poole bus station services run to Bournemouth. The railway station is also on the bus route. From the campsite there is no end of places to visit within a twenty mile radius. For shopping Poole will cover most requirements and there is an ASDA and a Sainsburys in the town centre and a Tesco a little further out, the later having good access to the fuel pumps for motorhomes-use the pay at pump ones for best access. For eating out Poole obviously has many restaurants, especially along the Quay, although closer to the site is the St Peters Finger pub which is about a half mile walk from the site. We had an excellent Sunday roast there and also took advantage of the free bottle of wine voucher given to us by the campsite. A short walk out of the site is a small craft centre and the café does cream teas and other refreshments. A voucher from reception will get you a free coffee or tea.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andie74 17 reviews from this member

Wish all sites could be to this standard.

Would definitely return. Don't have bad word to say, spotless facilities, nice pitches all a good size.

3 dog walks and doggie ice cream.

Only used car once to got Dorset heavy horse centre (dog friendly day out) good bus service.

2 pubs and cafe walking distance.

Can't wait to come back.

Only thing I would add to improve site would be a dog laundry for pet bedding.

10/10 site

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GAVWTD 7 reviews from this member

We had booked 3 nights at South Lychett Campsite months ago having read the awards the site had won. We were so looking forward to our stay. We left after 1 night as this really wasn't the special site we imagined it would be; in my opinion it was just a well managed, well staffed standard park and honestly nothing special at all. Perhaps we had been spoiled by earlier this week having stayed at Lucksall Camping and Caravan (on banks of River Wye and a superb site) and then the wonderful Warcombe Farm in Devon (again couldn't fault it, just as large as Lychett but not as crammed in). South Lychett was third site on this break and was the one we had been so looking forward to; however out of all 3 (and perhaps out of all other sites weve stayed at this year) South Lychett was by far the least impressive; none of our family aged 46 to 11 could see why this had won awards above the previous two. There appeared to be no privacy on any pitch having walked around it with the dogs, I have been told by the owners there are hedges around some but we honestly hadn't seen any and being told there are 'views of fields from our pitch' is just an insult as the view ahead was a play area and caravans, cars, and awnings. Shame as many people are happy to pay for larger private pitches, even just the odd small hedge allows some privacy when needed but not here. Again maybe we have been spoiled at other sites but the dog walk was not much to shout about, being a mowed strip of grass. Unlike the large private acres of wood/land at both Lucksall and Warcombe. Thr road outside though not the campsites fault was very busy to cross easily and safely. There is however a bus stop outside.

Very sadly South Lychett didn't match our site preferences at all; such a shame I hadn't asked to see a site map with pitch numbers clearly shown after not being able to find one on the website.

We felt far too crammed in and too much like being a goldfish in a bowl for us to fully relax and being near the children's play area (though the children were very quiet and really well behaved) is not something we would ever chose and had we been able to see on their website a site map we would certainly not have booked.

Have to say the staff were wonderful, offered a very warm welcome and the helpful chap showing us to our pitch was really nice. The shop was also great. Shame we missed a chance to try their cakes and scones as they looked great. Facilities were clean and perfectly adequate but for truely amazing facilities just visit Warcombe Farm.

Just such a pity having long looked forward to our stay, and having read the plaudits, that the site just wasn't for us.

Sadly we wont be back and we've never said that about any site we've been too as we like to revisit, but I'm sure others campers who like being so close to neighbours you can hear them sneeze (yet still being the required 6m distance lol) will be back. However we will return to the other two sites which were superb and indeed we have returned to Lucksall for the 2 remaining days we had booked at South Lychett a much nicer site all round.

I was told by online staff a few days before our visit that the site was full as we had wanted to book an extra day and on the morning we pitched we were told again by the gentleman who guided us in that they were fully booked so as they would not have been able to have repitch us which we left.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Choc 13 reviews from this member

A fantastic caravan site which is very well run and organised from arrival to departure. The site itself was very clean and well maintained with a relaxed, pleasant feeling about it. The shower and toilet facilities were clean and well resources through-out the week. Staff were very helpful and approachable and they were visible at all times but not intrusive. The location itself was superb and very central to most tourist attractions. Pitches are spacious and the super all service pitches can’t be faulted. We will definitely be returning in the future.

We also went on a bank holiday and stayed the week not once did I have to wait for the shower or toilet. As they say you pay for what you get and you certainly got value for money.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daneellard 4 reviews from this member

What a great site! Spotless loos that never seemed to close. Grounds / grass kept very neat & tidy. Staff cheery and helpful. Pitch was level, no jiggery pokery required! Handy for the 'Jurassic Coast' with bus stops immediately outside the site.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DavetheIV 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site but we found it too big, busy and expensive for our liking. It is however well situated & allows easy access to the many local locations that deserve visiting. The amenities were found to be well placed, very well cared for & exceptionally clean.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kentpingu 2 reviews from this member

I have been camping for 40+ years and can honestly say this is the best campsite I have ever stayed on. It has won several awards and you can see why. The owners and staff take pride in their work and keep the site immaculate which in turn makes the camper keep it that way. Everything about the site was excellent. Shop selling fresh cooked bread and pastries, all the basics, sweets, ice creams, newspapers, and nik-naks. There are also vouchers for local pubs. If you have dogs there is the long lead walk, the short lead walk and a safe enclosed, off lead walk. The play park for children looked good also. Dylans' restaurant can be accessed from the site and we enjoyed a full English breakfast there at a reasonable cost. Hard standing on a standard pitch was a very good size enough for the van, awning and car without feeling cramped and grass alongside which was also kept immaculate. The tent field looked to have good sized pitches as well and was level. Thank you people of South Lychett Manor you have created another happy camper who will gladly return

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jadsett 42 reviews from this member

We spent 5 nights on this site with grandchildren. First of all we were very impressed with the booking process, having originally booked for 4 nights and then discovering we were able to stay away longer. A quick phone call produced a 'no problem' response. The welcome when we arrived on site was equally warm.

This is one of the best sites we have ever stayed on. It's extremely well organised with a mixture of grass and hard standings. We opted for a 'Superior' pitch which came with hard-standing, electrics, water, grey water disposal and TV hook up. The amenity blocks were kept spotless and provided a mixture of the usual shower/washroom/toilet facilities with individual large unisex toilet/shower rooms. Younger members of our party were very impressed with playground facilities and the availability of free wi-fi. The well-stocked shop offers fresh rolls and croissants each morning

We took advantage of the voucher offer for the local St Peter's Finger pub and were quite impressed with the food, although when we visited some of the draught ales were unavailable.

Out and about, we had a superb visit to Monkey World, but were disappointed with Poole, where the High Street seems to have suffered from competition from the newly expended Dolphin Centre and out-of-town shopping sites

This is a site we will definitely be returning to.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 11 reviews from this member

We arrived here on 15 March for a 3 night stay. The staff here are so friendly and informative, we were welcomed like long lost friends. At check in we were given a voucher for the local tearoom and another for the St Peter’s Finger pub, both were welcome… always nice to get some freebys. We were also given the login code for the free site wide WIFI, excellent. This is a lovely site; nice sized pitches, beautifully maintained grounds and facilities and plenty to do from the site using the local buses. There are regular buses from right outside the site gates to Poole, Corfe and Swanage. It is an easy level 15 minute walk into Upton where there is a variety of shops including a Co-op. There are 2 pubs in easy walking distance, the St Peter’s Finger and the Bakers Arms, both are welcoming and serve local ales and food. There is also a small courtyard craft centre where you will find Dylans Tearoom, just through the hand gate at the rear of the site. We walked along the cycle path from the site through Upton Country Park, Holes Bay Nature Reserve and on into Poole, a mostly level walk of about 5 miles… ask the wardens for directions, we then court the No. 40 bus back. Bad weather forecast caused us to leave the site a day early (good decision as it turned out). We really enjoyed our stay at South Lytchett Manor and will definitely return to further explore the area.

Previous     386 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Dorset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth £109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2021 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1523