Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Poole > South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park
Dorchester Road
Lytchett Minster
Bournemouth
Poole
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH16 6JB
Tel: 01202 622 577
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: 12/04/2021 to 02/01/2022
           01/03/2022 to 02/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 431 Reviews
                9/10 from 431 Reviews

Photos (25)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  431 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Casali 1 review from this member

 Our first ever camping holiday. Beautiful quiet spacious site, helpful and friendly staff but above all, fabulous shower and toilet facilities.

Fresh baked authentic croissants, pain au Chocolat and pain au raisin from the shop that rival the best we've had in France.

We were also close enough to walk to take part in the Saturday morning park run at Upton Country Park.

The motorhome was hired as a trial run. It's made us decide we want our own and will go back to this campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: The Ref 12 reviews from this member

 Lovely site which is well maintained by a caring and friendly staff.

Clean facilities and a well stocked shop which was almost european in it's approach (fresh bread, cake and pastries available every monring from 0800).

The toilets were inspected and cleaned every 40 minutes, though this didn't stop some people thinking the mops were there for decoration or use by only the staff and not cleaning shower stalls after use.

Local pub (not the nearest) was delightful with a good menu at reasonable prices, and plenty of take away options for those who wanted not to cook but eat at "home".

Well worth a visit, but make sure you know what type of pitch you've booked as there were a few people who thought they'd booked fully serviced pitches but actually hadn't owing to the naming convention.

We're going back there next year, so we're impressed! 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Leahs 1 review from this member

 As new campers, this was our second time camping. The facilities at the campsite were amazing!

The staff were all so friendly and there was so much to keep our family occupied in the area.

The only gripe I have was the noisy road next to the field we were in. 2/3 nights we were woken up by loud, I assume motorbikes.

But everything else was amazing and we will definitely be returning! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cmdcrd 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Staff extremely friendly. Great location.

Large pitches. Well stocked shop.

Poole a few minutes away, Weymouth and Bournemouth short drive away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Tracey 1 review from this member

 We enjoyed the friendly staff. Clean facilities.

Site needs us to have the ability to show pitches, so we can request a pitch. Some are too to shaded.

Otherwise a great site. Thanks will look at booking again. Hopefully being able to choose pitch 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 15 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Deadly dor 14 reviews from this member

 Yet again a lovely welcome and stay at South Lytchett Manor Park.

Stayed 26th June to 11th July.

Felt very safe staying as the Park had Sanitizer at all the doors of all buildings and masks had to be worn to enter.

Even Sanitizer at gates of Playground. Although we have never taken children camping.

Due to Covid 19 had to move 2020 booking to this year.

Since our last visit 2019, the Coffee shop addition to the shop was greatly used by us. Hot drinks, different Breads and pastries, available each day.

Friday to Sunday mornings, being able to have Bacon Rolls from the pop up pod saved not having to cook on these mornings.

Saturday evenings Fiery Fox Pizza visited and their freshly cooked pizzas were lovely.

We had a super grass pitch with EHU, for our Outwell Drummond 7 Tent.

Already booked our 2022 pitch. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iank01 4 reviews from this member

 This is a very nice site with very friendly and helpful staff. The pitches do seem a bit cramped, but manageable.

Although there is free wifi it is almost non existent on most of the park as we walked around looking for a better signal. Even next to the office you were lucky to get a signal and that dropped out constantly.

Mobile signal is very poor and at times we were lucky to get 2 bars up. Not a big deal but annoying when you want to check bank details and the signal keeps dropping out.

What is amazing is that the site caters for over 300 pitches of all sizes but they only have two washing machines and two dryers.

This meant queueing to use the washing machines or walking back to your pitch and trying again later. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kazwell 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, lovely clean facilities and friendly staff.

Great cycle paths into Poole, sandbanks, Wimborne minster.

Highly recommend this site & will be staying again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: PhillipBatts 3 reviews from this member

 The EH grass pitches are rather cramped.

The site is close to a dual carridgeway which is intrusive at night.

Very useful on site cafe, bakery and shop 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Fa-Fa 14 reviews from this member

 We had high hopes for SLM given the awards and reviews but our experience was quite disappointing for a few reasons. Overall it has to be said the site is well located, fully staffed, clean with plenty of facilities and a great shop. However, please note the following if you are considering it.

A week before we arrived our confirmation stated we would be adjacent to the childrenís playground and if this was unacceptable we needed to contact them for a change. I did that but they were unable to accommodate this as they were full.

They stated we were told this on our original booking (which upon checking was true but it was buried in the small print). We arrived on a busy Saturday in July to find the pitch we had been allocated was tiny.

The staff insisted on the tent being erected end-on rather than laterally as you would normally do. This meant our ground sheet would have straddled the road and had no guy ropes pegged out (with 55mph winds predicted).

Having been told they were full and unable to accommodate a change we half expected to have to turn round and go home. 20 minutes later they miraculously managed to find a vacant pitch that was big enough.

All looked fine as we were against a hedge and adjacent a fine oak tree with enough room to pitch the required way. Only the following morning did we realise this wasnít such a great pitch after all.

It was next to the dog exercise field and the site was overrun with dog owners. Hence at 6:30 each morning we were awoken by barking dogs, owners shouting at dogs and each other plus the constant clanging of the access gate and the metal poo bin.

In theory quiet time is until 8:00 but dog owners donít seem to care or consider non-dog owners (very much in the minority). Why they offer pitches right next to this melee is mystifying.

So overall be very wary about where you are allocated (especially pitch 209 and its neighbours). The rest of the site is also very crammed in so it seems the over-riding philosophy is money making rather than customer experience.

Quite a shame really as it could be excellent. 
Management response: To clarify the points raised, The pitch was booked online by yourselves online in February 2021 and we emailed it clearly in the confirmation, not in the small print!, to say it was near the playground and to let us know if this is acceptable. The potential proximity to the playground is stated on your main booking page.

Sadly, you left it just one 1 week before arrival, making it impossible to move the booking as we were full.

On arrival it transpired that the tent was larger than stated on the booking, resulting in being unable to fit on that particular plot anyway.

The pitch we therefore had to allocate was a 12x9 m sq, regrettably you were unhappy with this too.

Sorry we did not meet your expectations of us and we wish you happy camping experiences in the future.


Previous     431 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is South Lytchett Manor Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Poole      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4013 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement