Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Overstrand Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer > Overstrand Campsite Reviews

Overstrand Campsite
Beach Close
Overstrand
Cromer
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR27 0PJ
Tel: 01263 823614
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/07/2021 to 31/08/2021
           01/07/2022 to 31/08/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Pop Up Campsite 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Karen6 1 review from this member

 Location location location ! Beautiful and peaceful. Access to great beach, clean. What more do you need.

Itís a field with clean toilets at an amazing location.

If you want events and facilities itís not for you. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carriboo 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely little clifftop site with panoramic views over the sea. Only one other unit on site when we arrived which must be unusual for August! Five minute walk to Overstrand car park and beach, cliff top cafe serving full menu. Ten minutes further up the road is a pub and general store.

All facilities are in wooden buildings rather like cricket pavilions but shower and toilet facilities are quite modern and very clean, washing up area is a bit tatty but still clean and functional. There are two large playrooms, one has pool and table tennis and also a fridge, freezer, microwave and a kettle for campers use.

However they are only open until the end of August 2018 as they are totally rebuilding the facilities for 2019 and installing electric hook ups hopefully they wonít spoil itís charm but we will be back next year to see what the improvements have been made.

Current price £20 per night.  


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has reopened following it's closure in 2017. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: TimCESmith 49 reviews from this member

 We were a party of four adults and one child and stayed in a pre-erected 6 berth frame tent. It's dear for short stays - £126 for two nights including gas & 6A EHU - but you get a lot of tent and kit for that, and subsequent nights are cheaper. We arrived later than planned, and not having to worry about getting pitched or having a wet pack up was worth the premium.

The pre-pitched tents are excellent, well equipped and immaculately clean. There are 'proper' sprung beds, a fridge, a Campingaz double hob on a stout kitchen stand with storage, pots, pans, a plastic chopping board, cutlery, tiny tiny mugs and plastic 'glasses', plastic patio furniture and an uplighter. This all sits on a hugely strong rubberised flat groundsheet, so although the bedroom pods are sealed the very large living area isn't. Ours was well pitched on a slight slope, but I did go round and tighten the guys when the weather took a stormy turn. We brought some of our own kit and were glad of our familiar pan set, glasses and mugs, but you could have a perfectly civilised time with just your own bedding and towels.

The site is exposed to the elements, being on a cliff top. The ground is a bit lumpy and bumpy in places, but the grass is well cut and the clippings collected. Our tent was pitched with wire pegs, but I'd go for plastic here. Gazebos are not allowed, because it's a small site and gets windy. No campfires either, for the same reason, although you can borrow kettle barbecues. As it's only open for two months a year and is celebrated in Cool Camping and a zillion Sunday supplements, the site does get busy.

Facilities are compact and basic but well lit, clean and unthreatening. Two lavatories and two showers per sex, and four washing up sinks. The pot-wash is crammed into a too small room, so if you're using one of the sinks in the corner you'll need to use the high level shelf. There is also a relatively smart public lavatory just the other side of the playground, which I suppose would be an option if you'd overdone it at Cromer Tandoori. That said, none of us ever had to queue. The cafť and games room were pleasant and welcoming and were well used by children and people in backpackers' tents.

The location is the big draw of this site, but I liked the youngish, fun vibe. It's friendly, relaxed, short on rules and quite beautiful. The two non-campers we brought with us are now converts. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jon sole 3 reviews from this member

 This is the second time we've camped here in a couple of years, both times getting one of the cliff-top small tent pitches. It's a nice site, great views from the cliff-top and well placed for walking or driving into Cromer. Only had to queue once for the toilets and that was no more than a couple of minutes. Straight into the showers both days. Pitch size was good, with plenty of space between tents.

Recommend the crab-shack at the beach entrance for all your fresh crab needs! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aymsx4 1 review from this member

 Great cliff top small site with its seaside charm. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The pitches are well planned with plenty of space for the kids to play.

The toilets are clean and practical. I asked for a sqeegee mop once as the showers were in heavy use. It wasn't an issue although, may be a spare one would help keep the floors clearer, if people cleared up after themselves.

The kids enjoyed their freedom as the site is so intimate they quickly made friends and enjoyed the club room. Sweets are sold in 20p or 50p bags from the cafe.

Loved the site and will definitely be returning next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grannyb 1 review from this member

 This is a simple, well run site in a beautiful location. Only 2 toilets and 2 showers for ladies and the same for men but this was plenty. The showers were basic but well planned with hooks and a chair. The simple play area was excellent for the six children in our party- from the two year olds up to an 8 year old. The small cafe on site was good value. Cromer is in walking distance along the cliff path and there is a good local beach albeit with few facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cigdem 1 review from this member

 I wouldn't bother listening to the negative reviews of the toilet block of this campsite. It's clean, and although small, the whole campsite is small and intimate and it's big enough for purpose. It's a lovely campsite with an ideal location. The village of Overstrand is quiet with not much traffic. The village playground is located directly next to the campsite, and it's well equipped for both older and younger children, with some shade, which thankfully, we needed. The beach is dog friendly and sandy and right below the cliff on which the campsite is located. The White Horse pub is child friendly and very busy but worth it. The walk into Cromer took us with children about an hour, and it's beautiful. We found blackberries and apples and mint. The garbage bins were overflowing when we left, but the dishwashing facilities and game room were great. I would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mid20scouple 2 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site. We camped here in two of their pre-erected euro-camp 6 tents, we were a party of 5 adults and 4 children 18months, 4yrs, 7yrs and 10yrs and we found we had plenty of space and equipment for all of us. The tents are as they say fully equipped with everything you need inside(take your own bedding)and there is plenty of space around each tent to put up wind breaks badminton net, swing-ball etc. The location is great right on top of the cliff with amazing view of the see and short 5 min walk down to the beach. The only down side to being right on top of cliff is there isn't really a fence between the site and the cliff so it is a worry with small children. The site is small, which we really liked as it meant older children could just wonder about up to games room toilets etc without getting lost or being to far away. The local facilities are good. On the site there is a games/play room for the kids with table football, table tennis and lots of toys for little ones. There is also a cafe serving breakfast and burgers etc in the evening which has a pool table and board games in. The toilet/shower block is a little small, two toilets and showers in each of men's and women's so best not to go at peek times e. G. First thing in morning but they are kept very clean. Off the site but very near in the village there is a great play ground, a small shop another cafe a pub and a hotel with a restaurant, we ate at the hotel on the Sunday they had a great carvery. Also North Norfolk is a great location as there are lots of other things available to do within a short drive if you fancy going off site. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and so were the other campers definitely a family friendly site, the kids all played together really well and wasn't too loud in the evenings. We will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kidsandcamping 1 review from this member

 Overstrand is a lovely campsite with lots going for it. The views of the sea are pretty unbeatable, as is the convenience of having a great sandy beach for swimming literally a stone's throw away. The children's play area next door is great and the nearby pub and cafe and village shop are really handy. The site is very friendly too. There were only two toilets and two showers for women and they're fairly basic. One of the toilets was blocked on several occasions during our four night stay. Staff did come and address it when it was reported. I did have to queue for showers fairly often too. The other thing I'd mention is that there was no real space for ball games and kids were kicking footballs round our tent which was a bit annoying sometimes. There was also a huge group staying near us who were super noisy until fairly late at night. All in all it's a great site and we will be going back next year. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Overstrand Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Overstrand Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Overstrand Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cromer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3297 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement