Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Overstrand Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer > Overstrand Campsite Reviews

Overstrand Campsite
Beach Close
Overstrand
Cromer
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR27 0PJ
Tel: 01263 823614
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/07/2021 to 31/08/2021
           01/07/2022 to 31/08/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Pop Up Campsite 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 31 to 35                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarej24 1 review from this member

 This was a really friendly little site, owners very welcoming and helpful and all the other campers friendly and considerate. The Cabin cafe served very reasonably priced snacks and drinks which we sampled though did not stay long enough to try the hot meals. The table tennis, table football and cupboard full of games was invaluable during the many wet spells we had.

Toilets/showers good for the price though often a queue for the ladies loo! A few hooks to hang washbags and towels on would be helpful - when the weather is bad and you are also clutching umbrellas etc there isn't a place to put things. Good wash up room, plenty of sinks and very hot water, also a free freezer for your ice packs and you could charge your phone while sitting having drinks in the Cabin.

Beautiful view, very close to lovely sandy beach. Felbrigg Hall (National Trust) close by with house, walled garden and walks. Lovely warm pool at Sheringahm with wave machine running every half hour.

We had a great time and would come again despite our tent getting flattened during bad weather and having to go home a day early. I noted for next year that only the Outwell tents stood up well, ours (Coleman tri-space) faired badly with a side-on wind straight from the sea. The ready set up tents looked very nice though we didn't use them ourselves. They held well during the strong winds. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cemh 5 reviews from this member

 We booked our holiday through Go Camping (my second trip with them and I would highly recommend the company). The tent was ready erected and fully equipped. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We only ate at the barn once but breakfast was very good and very cheap. Perfect spot if you are wanting a beach holiday, as described it is a literally a 10 minute walk to the beach from the tents. I was amazed that the beach was so quiet in August but obviously pleased. The children enjoyed some body-boarding - there is no lifeguard but we were vigilant. There is an ice-cream van in the car park next to the site and toilet facilities very close to the beach.

We did not go into Overstrand village so I could not comment but we walked into Cromer along the beach path alongside the nearby golf course. Cromer was a pleasant little town, not particularly pretty but all the usual seaside stuff was available, including shows on the pier. Not too commercialised and you pass some very pretty beach huts on the walk in from Overstrand.

The children enjoyed the crabbing off of Cromer pier. If you are planning any excursions make sure you take one of the seal trips from Blakeney which I would highly recommend. The Broads are within easy driving distance and I would also recommend taking out your own boat for a couple of hours. Again we were very lucky with the weather but that was great fun. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HazelS 5 reviews from this member

 I just had a couple of great days with Gocamping at Overstrand. It's a lovely site in an amazing clifftop location above the beach. Very friendly, welcoming people and great nosh from the Shack. Thanks Gocamping team. Highly recommended.

Overstrand is lovely village - it's like stepping back in time. There's a shop for essentials, a Post Office, a hotel and a pub. The pub food is very good indeed (the best chicken pie I've ever had), although a touch pricey. The beach is fabulous, although pretty windy when I was there (take a windbreak and you'll be fine).

You can see Cromer pier from Overstrand and a walk to Cromer is great. It's one and a half miles and takes about half an hour at normal pace. Either along the beach or the clifftop. And in Cromer it's definitely worth searching out a little fish shop I found (sorry I can't remember the name) on a corner just on the road that starts to lead out of Cromer. It's only a stroll - on the edge of town. They do fabulous Cromer crab. Nice and simple, served however you like it. I opted for it with brown bread and mayonnaise.

Overstrand and Cromer are both worth a visit. I'm going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shiprob195 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a short break at this excellent campsite.

We chose this site by looking at this website, booked directly with them by phone and got directions from their website.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who showed us to our pitch.

The views are amazing. The site is situated right on the edge of the cliff.

The shower block/ toilets were clean and well kept.

There was a cafe on-site serving breakfast/lunches and evening meals. We only sampled the breakfast (very reasonably priced).

Just outside the campsite there was a small children's playground. The beach was a 5 minute walk away.

The White Horse Inn and a local shop was a 10 minute walk away.

Cromer itself was 10 minute car journey away, or a mile and half walk along the cliff top.Not suitable for a toddler in a buggy.

I would definitely recommend this campsite to anyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deborah3 1 review from this member

 Surprised to be the first one to submit a review as this is a lovely site, located just on the cliff on the beach. Everything simple and basic, but good atmosphere of the people running it, friendly, and they themselves staying in a big tent. Lovely to stroll around the beach and along the cliff, to Cromer. Sanitary and toilets all fine. Rather quite too. 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 35     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Overstrand Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Overstrand Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Overstrand Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cromer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3480 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement