Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Overstrand Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer > Overstrand Campsite Reviews

Overstrand Campsite
Beach Close
Overstrand
Cromer
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR27 0PJ
Tel: 01263 823614
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/07/2021 to 31/08/2021
           01/07/2022 to 31/08/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Pop Up Campsite 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happy2campers 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent location and beautiful area. Will be visiting again before august is up! small tent itches right on the cliff edge allowing amazing views sunrises and sunsets and you can walk down to the beach through a little walkway.

Toilets are basic and home to many moths etc, but who goes camping to look at the toilets anyway! has basin toilets and shower which in all honesty is all we care about.

Enjoyed a late night swim, early morning walks along the beach, and encountered a seal, which we were lucky to get close enough to for amazing shots off! all in all the location is excellent staff friendly and site generally well maintained.

Go for the sunsets and falling asleep to the sea if nothing else. Thoroughly recommended site we had a blast! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrbaggy 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for one night based on the reviews on this site.

There's no disputing that the location is amazing and our staff experience was positive, we were offered help erecting our tent in the wind.

However. The facilities are way below the standard we expected for the price we paid. The cafe and shower blocks are in dire need of updating. Even if it's just a coat of shed treatment and a tidy up. I would not expect to be visible whilst sat on the toilet either, thanks to the gap between frame and door. There was no soap in the dispensers, thankfully we decided against using the shower facilities which was fortunate as the ladies area was under 2 inches of water, probably due to the poor drainage/lack of provision for the size of site. If I had been charged a LOT less I would have been less unhappy with the facilities on offer. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Knichol 1 review from this member

 Just back from 5 nights at Overstrand (2 adults, a 4 year old and a 2 year old) and it was so good I have booked another 5 nights for a few weeks time!

Beautiful location, views are stunning and beach amazing. However it's the owners that make it - they go out of their way to provide a fun, comfortable, well run site. They create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere which rubs off on all the campers - making for a fun and friendly time.

Although the facilities are minimal we never had to wait for the shower and they were always clean and tidy.

Great campsite - would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AandJO 1 review from this member

 The location is perfect, on the cliff edge above the beach at Overstrand. The dog-friendly beach is immediately below and, although not directly accessible, not far to walk. It was great to be able to eat supper whilst looking out at the sea, and I love waking up to the sound of the waves below (the tide was in).

The facilities are basic and rather what used to be expected. Our visit was mid-week before the main school holidays started; the female facilities (2 WCs, 2 showers) were adequate and clean for the number of people on the site although I suspect they may become busy in the main holiday period/at weekends. Hot water was fine (no variation in temperature possible), although I had difficulty keeping the water flowing sufficiently long to rinse medium length hair - it seemed easier to keep the tap pressed with one hand which made things a little awkward. Kitchen washing up facilities were adequate.

There is no wifi available (although we were advised where to go locally) and there was limited possibility to charge mobiles etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsPenfold 1 review from this member

 Wow, fantastic! We have had a really wonderful holiday at the Overstrand campsite. We Loved the family friendly atmosphere and the well run warm and welcoming team! We also liked the traditional values that are up held by the campsite and the fact that it was no trouble for the staff to help us with our enquiries about the local area. Although it is a small site with basic facilities it is set in an ideal location with most of the family pitches a good distance away from the cliff edge. There is a lovely children's park and the campsite is a stones throw from the beach, Excellent! We also liked the on site cafe as it serves food throughout the day with a warm and friendly smile and there are games available for everybody to use, which we though was a realy nice touch. Thank you for a holiday that was excellent value for money and we will see you again next year X 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blackledges 1 review from this member

 Superb location with breathtaking views over the cliff tops. The down side is that the campsite is very exposed and susceptible to high winds which means that we were unable to erect our Event Shelter. Following one particularly gusty night the ban on gazebos became very self evident.

The site is well managed with very helpful and cheerful staff. The cafe was very reasonably priced and they catered well for children with a games room, pool table and nearby playground.

There's lovely cliff top walk to Cromer (though the town itself is fairly rundown and not particularly inviting) and you can walk back along the beach. The campsite itself is not particularly large and can feel cramped when full.

Overall we enjoyed our time at Overstrand, despite experiencing the full gamut of a British summer and fully recommend it to anyone. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gonzo1 1 review from this member

 This site is in a beautiful location, within easy walking distance of beach, play area, pubs and village shop, Conservative Club made us welcome also.

The site is small and staff couldn't be more helpful.

Toilets and showers were clean as was the kitchen area, the games room for the children was a hit and we ate an evening meal once which was really good value for money.

Would definitely visit again, the only complaint is that it is only open for July & August 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sheph 1 review from this member

 Four of us went to Overstrand as part of a golf holiday, playing at nearby courses. Campsite was perfect for what we were after, which was cheap and close to Cromer and Sheringham.

Great views, and enough space for a large 4 man tent and 2 cars.

The campsite has a small cafe which served very cheap bacon and egg rolls early in the morning as well!

The showers/toilets were basic, but fine for what we needed. It is after all a campsite. We were four guys and can deal with some basic showers.

Great stay, and would certainly go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BobCheeseEye 2 reviews from this member

 I booked a pitch for the weekend based upon the description on this site and the site owner's own site, which described the site as having a beautiful cliff-top location and basic, but clean facilities.

I could not fault the location, as it was indeed beautiful, perched upon the top of the norfolk cliffs offering fantastic views of the sea.

The beach, which is a short scramble down the cliffs, or a more gentle stroll down a man-made route, was a lovely sandy beach with plenty of space, which was not busy and can be described as idyllic.

The site at night was quiet, and you could hear the sea from the tent during the night which was very atmospheric.

In terms of the general location, I can only say that Cromer was a bit of a let-down, in that it was a bit dated. Not dated in terms of it being quaint, but dated in that it was a bit tired as a tourist destination. It's saving grace was an excellent Italian restaurant called the Bella Vista.

The biggest let-down of the weekend however, was the sites facilities, and specifically the cleanliness of the shower/toilet block, or rather the lack of cleanliness!

The showers can only be described as 'skanky'. The shower/toilet block seems to be a major hotbed of arachnid and lepidoptera (spiders and moths) collections, as they were everywhere, lights, walls, ceilings, showers; with plenty of them swimming in the overflowing floods of water on the floor due to very poor drainage, with the shower trays doubling as baths.

The drainage was so bad, that even though the showers had a ten-second button delay-on facility, your feet were submerged in drainage water within half a minute. Oh, and not forgetting that the shower was only luke-warm at best.

The only other thing to note is that the toilets share the same room as the shower/wash facilities. And therefore, you probably don't need me to describe things further!

Would I return? Not unless the shower/toilet block issue was dealt with. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Musicmanofkent 1 review from this member

 Lovely great views, beach minutes away, friendly family run cafe. We stayed in a pre-pitched Euro Tent, which was clean and spacious. It was my daughters first time camping and they loved it.

The only gripe as others have mentioned is the toilet / shower facilities. Only 2 toilets and showers for either sex - didn;t seem to be a problem for the males, but definitely need twice this number for females! 


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Overstrand Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Overstrand Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Overstrand Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cromer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3381 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement