Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 215 Reviews
                8/10 from 215 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  215 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Millitent 1 review from this member

Arrived in the rain and booked in at the small well stocked shop. We were given a sheet of walks and a brochure with local info and taken to our pitch. We opted for a flat pitch (20/night) at the top of the park (Top10?) which had alpine like views down the valley. Not full on lake view but very dramatic. All the Top pitches have this wonderful view but are further from the services. The pitches in the middle of the field are on a slight slope but are cheaper.

The services are in converted farm buildings. The showers are hot clean and free. There are 3 bathrooms which are excellent if like you me you enjoy a soak at the end of a hard days walking!

The bar has had a lot written about it already. It was re-roofed this winter (did not look new!) We found it a great place to go in the evening and Mick opened up for us and 2 other couples each evening. The bar toilets deserve a mention as they have been decorated with camping and local papers from the last 200 years and put on 5 minutes to every visit!

There is a separate field for children to play in which is fairly low key, rustic play park, rope swing etc. Another field is used for the sites reed bed and dog walk area.

The walk to the waterfalls from the park is a must do. The food at the George and Dragon in Clifton is amongst the best pub food we have ever had.

All in all a unique campsite that will not appeal to the 'mass' camping market (discos and entertainers) but will appeal to families and couples who come more for the area than the entertainment. A firm favourite with our family.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TraceyJH 7 reviews from this member

Arrived in wet & windy weather. We had chosen a 'flat' pitch and were pleased we had. The non-flat pitches were very much on a hill and you would not have struggles to be able to put up tables etc.
The shower/toilet facilities were good. Plenty of hot water and always clean although it was very quiet whilst we were there, only one other tent and about a half dozen caravans.
The shop was OK but wasn't always open at the said times. We were very disappointed that the bar, for which the site has won awards and is one of the reasons we (and undoubtedly others) chose the site was only open 1 night out of the 3 we were there. There were ourselves and others who wanted to use the bar facility and were unable to do so.
Very good views from the top flat pitches although this means you are furthest away from the facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robsosm867 6 reviews from this member

This site is in a lovely location as the name suggest very quite.

Lovely bar on site with huge log fire which was great when we went as it was very cold at the beginning of may.

The toilets are nice and clean.

Only problem we was we got put on a sloping pitch which caused a problems when you where sleeping as you tended to slip off the airbed with being on a angle.

Also a great pub at the bottom of the road which takes you to the site food was amazing worth the steep walk back up in the dark.

Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Max+paddy 1 review from this member

Just got back from a great weekend at the Quiet Site. This was our very first camping weekend in our motorhome. Site was very clean and tidy, the bathrooms were clean and had plenty of hot water, they even had family bathrooms which were very clean and ideal for anyone with a couple of kids and even baths for babies.
Our pitch was right next to the play ground which was ideal for our 8 year old, we never seen him all afternoon. We went for a walk from one of the maps we received when we got there. We did the 4 mile walk which took us about 2 hours, it was a bit muddy in places but we had great fun, and even took sandwiches for our picnic lunch.
On site there is bar which is a converted barn, there are a lot of animal skins and heads on the wall (bit scary) but we didn't mind as there was a huge log fire and a room where the kids went off to play. On site there is a little shop which sells basic provisions in case you forgot anything.
Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. We will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Stumpythebear 13 reviews from this member

Very nice, clean and quiet site when we visited at the end of February. Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent position in the northern lake district, with stunning views and lovely walks.

Family bathroom proved very useful as it was heated but the toilet/shower block, while very clean, was very cold. My only complaint is with the electric hook-up. The site is advertised as having electric hook-up, so I would expect to be able to use electrical appliances in a reasonable manner.

However, on arrival we were issued with a flyer that stated that the hook-up is basically only to provide lighting and that electric heaters, toasters, kettles were not allowed. We used our gas heater until, unfortunately, the thermostat failed, so we decided to go home. It might be more helpful if the website was explicit about the situation with the electric hook-up.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bluejoyce 3 reviews from this member

Have just returned from the site thought the camp was really good, there was not many caravaners there so we had our pick of were to site our van. Very peaceful nice place to chill out. Toilets and showers were very clean didn't venture in the showers as the heating wasn't on and I'm not that brave, our vans showers good so we used that.
We can recommend a good place to eat its a small country hotel called the Brentwood we had a fabulous meal there and not that expensive, it had a nice bar with a log fire and the food was great. We had a nice time exploring the northern lakes, there was still snow on the hills. We would go back to this site again our dog had a great time as so did we.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davetvhuk 3 reviews from this member

Great site, tucked away in the Lakes, single track leads to the site, but local use it one way.

Facilities on site are clean and warm, there is a family room.

The bar is just what you expect in the Lakes. One of the best we have stayed on.

This is an ideal site for those who like walking and as the name suggests a quiet site.

Only draw back, because it is so popular bank holiday stay have a minimum days policy.

This is one site that you cannot miss visiting.

It also has POD's and a great camping field.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mellfell103 1 review from this member

I've stayed on this site several times now (first in a tent and latterly in a caravan): the situation is beautiful, the facilities well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. The shower block is kept very clean, with lots of hot water throughout the day,and central heating in the colder periods so you don't freeze to death when you come out of the shower. I haven't tried the family bathrooms but they seem to go down well with families (obviously!) and those who wish to avail themselves of a bath rather than a shower. The small shop sells most of the basic stuff you need and Penrith isn't too far away if you need to find a supermarket. The bar is very popular; lots of atmosphere in there on an evening, with folk jostling for position around the log fire. Not just adults in there - children and dogs are welcome too. Some of the pitches may get a wee bit boggy during the monsoon-like periods but it looks as though work is in progress (or it was last time I was there) to improve the drainage on site. The scenery round about is lovely - the views from Little Mell Fell and Gowbarrow are particularly impressive. I've tried and tested the walks on the information sheets provided . The Aira Force one is particularly to be recommended (suggest stopping off for a drink/something to eat at the Royal Hotel half way round; the tearoom at Aira Force is expensive and disappointing in my view).

So, all in all, a great place to stay. I'll definitely be visiting this site again in 2009.

Date of Visit: November 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Countdrac 1 review from this member

First time at the Quiet Site.

Tucked away between Pooley Bridge and Glenridding the site is not easy to find.

Certainly lives up to its name at the moment!

Writing this from within one of the sites camping pod, surrounded by a dusting of snow. The children love them and they certainly have enabled us to continue 'camping' even when the temp is below freezing outside.

Getting 2 adults and 2 children in a POD is just possible with rules!

As mentioned before the bar is great. Showers and baths hot, heating well used. Very helpful staff.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hulse1977 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here at the end of the awful weather in the summer of 2008. Pitch we stayed on was quite boggy but had expected worse. The views were fantastic and location great. A lot of the tent pitches were on a steep slope but we were lucky ours was hard standing with electric hook up. The family bathroom was fantastic for our young children and was kept very clean despite the mud around outside.

One down side was the site shop which didn't have any opening times, it was pot luck as to whether it was open or not. There was a very small bar on site but we didn't use it so couldn't comment. The walks around Ulswater were lovely and near by Rheghd centre was a nice trip for the children in bad weather. Overall nice site with good clean facilities

Previous     215 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth 109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


664 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977