Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Quiet Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 215 Reviews
                8/10 from 215 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  215 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: SonnyBlanket 1 review from this member

We stayed in a pod and for a 1st camping trip with a 5 yo & a 1 yo it was awesome. We will definitely be back for more than 2 nights next time :)

The site is easier to find than I was led to believe by some reviews and was extremely clean. I would have liked a shower over the bath in the family bathrooms to make it easier to wash the kids and me in one go but generally really impressed by the facilities.

Shop didn't have everything we needed but town was only 15 or so min drive for a large supermarket.

Lots of space for kids and despite the large numbers of children the site was quite quiet! Bar was busy and well priced in my opinion.

My only critism is really for the manufacturers of the pod - a higher up shelf would be ideal for hot dinks when the kiddies are about.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Archie65 1 review from this member

What a gem, lovely facilities and caters for all tastes. Great walks from site but you need to be aware the site is up a hill. There is a bus service but down the hill, we didn't use it but enquired. Can be limiting if you don't have own transport and are not very mobile. The on site bar is fab, full of animal heads and stuffed animals beware if you don't like that kind of thing. We were lucky to have good weather but I am sure the open fire is a delight on cold evenings, the closing times vary depending on how busy they are, and don't forget to buy your bar tea towel, great memento. All the staff are friendly and very helpful.

The dog walking area is fenced in and the dog loved running in the meadow grass and the playing area for children is excellent with their very own fort, lots of fun.

The reed beds are fascinating if you are into that stuff and the whole environmental policy gives you a feel good factor.

We will definitely be coming back, excellent site :)

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LILLS54 3 reviews from this member

Booked this site last minute for a 2 night stay - how I wish I had booked it for longer. Very welcoming site with a small shop stocking the essentials. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Showers and toilet blocks immaculate and although I didn't go on any of the walks there are plenty around. The bar on site is very 'rustic' which is perfect for me and on Saturday night they usually have some form of entertainment, there was a young gentleman performing magic tricks and he was brilliant. I will definitely be booking to stay here again and for longer than 2 nights.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rytoncampers 3 reviews from this member

Spent two nights here in an Outwell Montana 6. Didn't expect to be pitching On gravel so didn't have the right pegs. The on site shop sold them for 1 each!

Nice site in a lovely position with view of the lake. Some great walks from the site. Staff very friendly and helpful. Toilets and showers looked quite new and were clean. The pub is handy, it rained so it was nice to be indoors! Kids loved the games room and the play area. Nice big field too for them to play on. The site was very noisy (considering it's name!) and we were woken through the night and very early in the morning by families with very young children.

Enjoyed our stay but wouldn't rush back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Switchbird 1 review from this member

Stayed this weekend with my partner, son and dog. Lovely campsite, very well run and very welcoming. Good mix of people and children for my son to play with. Great dog walking facilities too!

What blew me away was the bar! Totally up my street, with ram skulls and bears, absolutely loved it! There was a young lad doing magic tricks too and he was amazing!

The walk from the site to Aira Force Waterfalls and back was in credible too with a spectacular view of Ullswater.

Only thing that spoilt my stay was our blow up bed deflating and the gravel under the tent meant I didn't sleep properly for both nights but that was our fault!

Will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vw kid 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for a long weekend, rang and said it would be late when I would be arriving, I was informed to just call at the bar,

Told to go anywhere I wanted,

Site is very relaxed staff always around if needed, small shop on site, toilets very clean showers are FREE,

This site is around 1 mile up a country lane but don't let that put you off this is a well run site very clean with kids play area and lots of walks direct from site.

There was a good mix of old and young campers tourers and statics with some real nice camper vans

Sum it up quality site well run very clean good atmosphere

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayt1 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for a week toilets showers and baths are good. Site is three miles from nearest village and ten miles from nearest town. Dog friendly site with dog friendly pub but only opens three hours a night. Had to move my caravan and awning forward three yards after two days so they could dig a channel for new pipes with a digger that woke us up at early doors. They did say they would see us ok at the bar but I'm still waiting. I would go back but I would insist on a pitch on the second or third level or near the toilets. Also there is free wifi on this site but only if you are close to the toilet.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Amoo 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site with great facilities, without being tacky, The shower block is modern and clean although there are only a few showers so get there early! Plenty of hot water and hairdryers in the ladies. The two bathrooms were well appointed- one had a baby bath there for use. The site bar is amazing-really quirky and well worth a visit! Pitches were well spaced and the kids play area kept them all amused. Its a fabulous site in a fabulous area and we will definitely be back. Not a cheap site, but a good site.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Annechuck8 1 review from this member

WE have been on the Quiet site from March 2014 to the end of February 2015. We have enjoyed our stay on the Quiet Site. There are plenty of toilets and showers. They are cleaned everyday. There are three bathrooms to have a bath. There is play area for the children. A dog walking area to take your dogs. The pub is very nice with a real fire on. The people are all very nice and friendly and make you feel welcome. There are plenty of places to visit around the area. Penrith is not far to go for a walk around the shops.

Date of Visit: December 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy Coker 9 reviews from this member

Helloooo, we are from New Zealand and just finished travelling around England and Wales (over 2 months). Arrived here and were greeted by a warm welcome. We tented for two nights and stayed in the camping pods for two more nights. Tenting was good. The pitches drained well and there was a great view of the valley below. However, some of the pitches were not very level, although, camping in winter we could tent wherever we wanted to. The majority of the pitches are on top of a hill, so when the wind picked up there was no shelter. The facilities were quite a walk from the pitches, but we didn't mind because its such a lovely site to walk around. The camping pods were great. Had a lamp and two heaters so we could get a bit of luxury, but still with the feel of camping. This site is right in the heart of the lakes district, not far from Lake ullswater, windermere, thirlmere. Also not far from Penrith if you need to pop to the supermarket. Great pub on site warm and a comfortable atmosphere.

Previous     215 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cumbria   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth 109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


700 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.0977