Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Quiet Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > The Lake District > The Quiet Site > Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 83
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 232 Reviews
                8/10 from 232 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Holiday Homes for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  232 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Janlou 6 reviews from this member

 A well kept site with excellent washroom facilities run by very friendly staff.

There is a small shop were you can buy ‘zero waste’ goods - just buy what you need and a welcoming pub with a roaring fire.

In the morning you can also have breakfast from the Quiet Bite and later in the day, a pizza. We tried both which were excellent.

With walks and cycle rides direct from the site, we had an enjoyable couple of days and wished we could have stayed longer. 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Steebu 1 review from this member

 We stayed with other members of our family,

A nice friendly site which accommodates a variety of camping units,

Modern toilet block which are unisex. Inside the toilet block has been divided into separate en-suites each comprising of a toilet, shower and wc.

Only problem not enough with queues each morning and if you only wanted a shave or just use the toilet big problem! As apart from a small unisex older block with only two toilets and one urinal you are left to queue and hope for best.

Need to invest in children play area as it seems everywhere is taken up by a camping unit.

Nice pub on site but now to small for the expanded site.  


Date of Visit: March 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Franknsue 2 reviews from this member

 Well the site lives up to its name. Very quiet.

The facilities are as good as you’ll find on any good camp site and very well looked after. Dog & boot showers which a lot of sites don’t offer.

A dog safe field just over the road, most welcome. A small shop for essentials.

A snack bar offering breakfasts tea and later on pizzas made in a wood fired oven, delicious.

There’s a real friendly bar, with well priced ales and bar snacks.

The only glitch for me is the EHU. It’s only 6A so you need to be careful what you switch on otherwise it’s ‘lights out’ when you least expect it. 🤷‍♂️.

That is the only negative thing I can say about it. It won’t stop me from going back through, as all in all it’s still a great site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Woolycomb 18 reviews from this member

 A lovely site that’s well kept. There was a sign in the toilet/shower block saying it’s due to be upgraded in late 2022 but it seemed pretty good to me - very clean and I’ve been on sites with far worse facilities.

We were only staying for one night on our way to Scotland but it was lovely to be able to go for a walk straight from site, especially as it was gloriously sunny the afternoon we arrived.

I notice some people complaining that the site was too dark at night and not much for teenagers to do but surely they’ve missed the whole ethos of the site - it’s partly in the name “The Quiet Site”!

I wouldn’t expect a truly rural site like this to have lighting and, as a camper would always bring a torch. We loved the peacefulness of it and the owls hooting.

It’s definitely a site we’d use again as it’s a very quick drive from the M6 at Penrith yet overlooking Ullswater.

My only complaint would be of our neighbours who had also clearly missed the point of the name of the site and hadn’t read the site rules saying “if your neighbours can hear your music, it’s too loud”. They clearly thought we’d all like R2 blaring into our vans too! As we were leaving that morning it seemed petty to complain but it certainly ruined the peacefulness over breakfast 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 45 reviews from this member

 We travelled here as part of a gift experience and stayed in one of the hobbit huts.

We have a campervan so this was slightly different to our normal visit to a campsite.

The reception area and staff were welcoming and a member of staff showed us to our hut. Inside it was warm as it has an electric heater.

Car parking wasn’t adjacent to the hut but we were allowed to park closer for unloading our car.

Overall it’s a nice site with good views over the lake and to the mountains beyond. The site has a lot of eco credentials which is good.

There’s a bar open at night which has had an old barn feel to it. One night there was live singer.

The pizzas at the kiosk are very good, having been made in a wood oven.

There’s a camper kitchen with toaster, microwave, fridge and freezer.

The only negative point is that the shower block is a little further from the hut that I’d like and the shower block could do with an upgrade.

There are signs up saying the toilets are being upgraded though.

Would visit again in our campervan. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Wiggletastic 11 reviews from this member

 The site is in a stunning location with views over Ullswater. The facilities on site are very well kept and the pitches are all level.

The Ullswater Way walking trail is a few minutes walk from the site.

The site has a play area, small shop, a pub with log fire and local beers, and during high season a hut that sells breakfast rolls in the morning and pizzas in the evening.

We made good use of all of these with the kids enjoying the pizzas and the adults enjoying the local Ullswater Blonde ale!

The weather during our trip was 'mixed' as you'd expect in the Lake District so we also used the dog and boot wash which was very handy. 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Bugster2005 1 review from this member

 Stayed a couple of night on the hobbit hole I’d say it was an ok experience, the concept is great except it lacks a few things.

Firstly, it should have provision for a small kitchen at least, second, it should have a shower, thirdly, no TV at this day and age? No entertainment at night?

The holiday site lacks proper lighting at night that you have to bring your own torch to navigate in the dark.

The communal shower have hot water but lacks cold water when showering which makes it awfully hot causing headache if you insist on washing your head.

Otherwise the view fantastic and it lives with its reputation as the quite place.

The staff fantastic and helpful too bad the lack of facilities ruined it for me. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Si_app 6 reviews from this member

 Nice clean easy going modern eco site well maintained with very welcoming young helpful staff. Large private hard standing fully serviced pitches, so large in fact our water mains adaptor or waste pipe wasn't long enough. Helpful staff came to the rescue with extra hose and waste pipe.

Obviously during these strange times the site was very busy and we found ourselves wishing they'd built the shower block a little bigger in order to cope with demand from the people in tents and lodges. Also the wifi and 3G struggled with demand a little at peak times.

The site is on quite a steep hill so the kids were rocketing down on scooters and bikes to get to the play area. Then having to push them back up the hill to get home. There is no one way system or speed bumps for cars and I have to say it's an accident waiting to happen unfortunately.

Play area for kids is huge with tunnels, a fort, trees to climb and rope swings. My youngest is 7 and she would leave the 'van after breakfast and come back when she was hungry absolutely filthy. She had the best time. My eldest who is 13 did not however. The pokey games room is terrible with just air hockey for £1 a go, table football and a pool table. Nowhere for teens to hang out sort of thing.

Quality kiosk serving pancakes and bacon barms etc in the morning followed by pizzas in the evening. Barn converted into a cosy pub but with only two local lagers and a cider on when we visited.

Nice big enclosed dog walk opposite the site and one beautiful off the lead walk to Aira Falls and back. Didn't visit the local pub as it was a walk along the roads or through fields. If you need supplies Pooley bridge is a 10 min drive or Penrith is only about 20 mins away.

There isn't a village nearby with a shop, pub etc to walk to unfortunately. If it had that this site would be somewhere we would visit every year without fail.

But overall it's a well run site, can recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Harriot64 5 reviews from this member

 Access to the site for inexperienced caravan owners will be difficult, unless you have a mover fitted, positioning a caravan on the pitches is not easy,

Toilet areas were poorly maintained and lighting around the site was negligible, take a torch.

Pitch fees are expensive for very little in return. The takeaway is expensive and in our opinion not very good.

Not a site we would recommend, there are much better sites in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Stacey 1 review from this member

 Me and my partner stayed in a hobbit hole at the quite site and it was absolutely gorgeous!

Definitely a 5 star and will be staying again very soon!

Very clean, kept well and stunning views.

Thank you 
via mobile


Previous     232 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Quiet Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Quiet Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Quiet Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near The Lake District      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46990 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement