Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Quiet Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > The Lake District > The Quiet Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 83
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 225 Reviews
                8/10 from 225 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  225 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Si_app 6 reviews from this member

 Nice clean easy going modern eco site well maintained with very welcoming young helpful staff. Large private hard standing fully serviced pitches, so large in fact our water mains adaptor or waste pipe wasn't long enough. Helpful staff came to the rescue with extra hose and waste pipe.

Obviously during these strange times the site was very busy and we found ourselves wishing they'd built the shower block a little bigger in order to cope with demand from the people in tents and lodges. Also the wifi and 3G struggled with demand a little at peak times.

The site is on quite a steep hill so the kids were rocketing down on scooters and bikes to get to the play area. Then having to push them back up the hill to get home. There is no one way system or speed bumps for cars and I have to say it's an accident waiting to happen unfortunately.

Play area for kids is huge with tunnels, a fort, trees to climb and rope swings. My youngest is 7 and she would leave the 'van after breakfast and come back when she was hungry absolutely filthy. She had the best time. My eldest who is 13 did not however. The pokey games room is terrible with just air hockey for £1 a go, table football and a pool table. Nowhere for teens to hang out sort of thing.

Quality kiosk serving pancakes and bacon barms etc in the morning followed by pizzas in the evening. Barn converted into a cosy pub but with only two local lagers and a cider on when we visited.

Nice big enclosed dog walk opposite the site and one beautiful off the lead walk to Aira Falls and back. Didn't visit the local pub as it was a walk along the roads or through fields. If you need supplies Pooley bridge is a 10 min drive or Penrith is only about 20 mins away.

There isn't a village nearby with a shop, pub etc to walk to unfortunately. If it had that this site would be somewhere we would visit every year without fail.

But overall it's a well run site, can recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Harriot64 5 reviews from this member

 Access to the site for inexperienced caravan owners will be difficult, unless you have a mover fitted, positioning a caravan on the pitches is not easy,

Toilet areas were poorly maintained and lighting around the site was negligible, take a torch.

Pitch fees are expensive for very little in return. The takeaway is expensive and in our opinion not very good.

Not a site we would recommend, there are much better sites in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Stacey 1 review from this member

 Me and my partner stayed in a hobbit hole at the quite site and it was absolutely gorgeous!

Definitely a 5 star and will be staying again very soon!

Very clean, kept well and stunning views.

Thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cpw1984 3 reviews from this member

 We camped at the Quiet Site in the October half term with the kids (5 year old and 1 year old) and had a great time. It was our first time camping with the kids so late in the year and we were a bit concerned about the cold weather.

We prepared well in advance and the thermals, fleeces and electric blankets did the trick - the kids slept better than they do at home! We also had our wood burning stove in the tent which was great for taking the 'edge' off in the mornings and for cooking on/making a brew.

The site is well located being about 20 minutes from Keswick and 40 minutes from Bowness/Ambleside, with plenty to do nearby. We can recommend the 8 mile walk to/ from Aira Force waterfalls from the site - the views over Ullswater on a clear day are stunning.

There is also a great pub serving food and their own beer just a 5 minute drive/25 minute walk down the road in Watermillock (the Brackenrigg Inn). There is also a bar on the site itself serving drinks and snacks and a sausage van serving breakfasts in the morning (£6. 50 for a full Cumbrian breakfast) and dinner most evenings.

The pitches are a well sized and the pea gravel surface ensures that they are well drained. We have struggled to fit our 5m bell tent onto the pitch at other sites, but no such issues here, and despite all the rain in the days leading up to our stay, the pitch was reasonably dry with no puddles and only a little mud around the gravel.

The facilities were clean and warm with plenty hot water, and the family bathrooms/ shower room were a great bonus for us. The campers kitchen also came in very handy and has a kettle, toasters, a microwave and fridges/ freezers all free to use.

The staff were really friendly, but also non-intrusive and left you to enjoy your stay as much as possible. The on-site shop is well stocked and have freshly baked bread/croissants every day (don't forget to order the croissants the day before though). You'll need your own containers for most items as the shop is zero waste so most items are dispensed into your own container (which is a great idea in my opinion and hopefully more shops/supermarkets will catch on).

Overall we had a great stay at the Quiet Site and will certainly be booking again for Summer 2020. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Billiecam 1 review from this member

 This is the most relaxed site.

Pitches are generous, most with views of Lake.

Lovely Old Worlde Pub, great walking direct from site.

Lovely farm shop on site.

Love it! 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Njwinn 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, staff friendly but leave you in peace. Toilets and showers clean and plenty of hot water. Fantastic bar / pub on site with welcoming real fire, very cosy. Pitches flat and well spaced.

More than happy to recommend.

Only down side for use couldnít find a secure area to let the dog off the lead but she had plenty of exercise walking with us so not a major problem. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tour gs 16 reviews from this member

 Visited for the first time in October for a 4 night break. Access is via a fairly narrow road but no issues even with our 8ft wide caravan.

Good reception on arrival and shown to our pitch by a very helpful young lady. Had to borrow some planks of wood to get the caravan levelled so take some with you if you have some.

Small shop on site with some essentials. Very nice pub on site which is a converted barn. The site was generally quiet due to the time of year but the pub still got busy on the Saturday night when live music was on offer. It appears the pub is also used by people visiting the caravan site opposite this one.

Very friendly bar staff and a cracking roaring fire. Pub doesnít do food but there is a sausage n mash van which is open most nights. The Brackebrigg Inn is about 1. 5 miles down the hill and serves great food at reasonable prices. Iíd recommend the steak pie!

4 nights for two people in October including a Friday/Saturday night for £70 is great value for money.

Iíll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Athers 9 reviews from this member

 Tried and tested campsite I would be struggling to find any negatives about this wonderful site. My wife and I along with my springer spaniel

Stayed here for a full weekend and had a fantastic time even in the pouring rain, great facilities even have a full size bath for use very clean toilets and showers.

There is even a bar on site with the best open fire I have ever seen some days there is even entertainment just check their website for details. On specific days days they have a mobile van which offers some great food the breakfast are brilliant just when you cant be bothered to cook.

The surrounding area offers some great walks for all abilities and ages, close to lakeside itself within easy walking distance and last but certainly not least dog friendly, staff seem to always at hand if you should need any assistance and very friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Diddyone63 1 review from this member

 Lovely location ideal for exploring the lakes wonderful walks around the site.

The views are amazing and the facilities are great very clean and tidy great bar and food 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clara Van 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site in a peaceful location which seems to have undergone some improvements over the last 12 months. The Hobbit Holes look fantastic especially at night when lit up. The shower block is adequate but there are no shower curtains so you need to put anything you donít want soaked, well out of the way.

There are however four separate bathrooms/shower room, love these. Cooked food is available from The Saucy Sausage, an on site catering van which is manned at limited times for breakfasts and evening snacks. This was our second stay at The Quiet site, sadly for both visits we were allocated pitches which were far from level.

On our first visit the pitch was so high, ground wet and uneven that we could not get our caravan on to the pitch, they did offer to site the van for us but thankfully gave us a flat pitch otherwise we would not have stayed. T

his time we were allocated an awful pitch on a incline, half worn tarmac, part gravel and difficult to set up because of the position of the water and grey waste sink, and a lady with a seasonal pitch who insisted on parking her car between our pitch and the next.

Such a shame some of the pitches have not received the same attention as the Hobbit Holes, we wonít be returning. 


Previous     225 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Quiet Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Quiet Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Quiet Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near The Lake District      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3621 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window