Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Quiet Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > The Lake District > The Quiet Site Reviews

The Quiet Site
Ullswater
The Lake District
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0LS
Tel: 07768 727016  or  017684 86337
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 83
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 222 Reviews
                8/10 from 222 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cpw1984 3 reviews from this member

 We camped at the Quiet Site in the October half term with the kids (5 year old and 1 year old) and had a great time. It was our first time camping with the kids so late in the year and we were a bit concerned about the cold weather.

We prepared well in advance and the thermals, fleeces and electric blankets did the trick - the kids slept better than they do at home! We also had our wood burning stove in the tent which was great for taking the 'edge' off in the mornings and for cooking on/making a brew.

The site is well located being about 20 minutes from Keswick and 40 minutes from Bowness/Ambleside, with plenty to do nearby. We can recommend the 8 mile walk to/ from Aira Force waterfalls from the site - the views over Ullswater on a clear day are stunning.

There is also a great pub serving food and their own beer just a 5 minute drive/25 minute walk down the road in Watermillock (the Brackenrigg Inn). There is also a bar on the site itself serving drinks and snacks and a sausage van serving breakfasts in the morning (£6. 50 for a full Cumbrian breakfast) and dinner most evenings.

The pitches are a well sized and the pea gravel surface ensures that they are well drained. We have struggled to fit our 5m bell tent onto the pitch at other sites, but no such issues here, and despite all the rain in the days leading up to our stay, the pitch was reasonably dry with no puddles and only a little mud around the gravel.

The facilities were clean and warm with plenty hot water, and the family bathrooms/ shower room were a great bonus for us. The campers kitchen also came in very handy and has a kettle, toasters, a microwave and fridges/ freezers all free to use.

The staff were really friendly, but also non-intrusive and left you to enjoy your stay as much as possible. The on-site shop is well stocked and have freshly baked bread/croissants every day (don't forget to order the croissants the day before though). You'll need your own containers for most items as the shop is zero waste so most items are dispensed into your own container (which is a great idea in my opinion and hopefully more shops/supermarkets will catch on).

Overall we had a great stay at the Quiet Site and will certainly be booking again for Summer 2020. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Billiecam 1 review from this member

 This is the most relaxed site.

Pitches are generous, most with views of Lake.

Lovely Old Worlde Pub, great walking direct from site.

Lovely farm shop on site.

Love it! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Njwinn 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, staff friendly but leave you in peace. Toilets and showers clean and plenty of hot water. Fantastic bar / pub on site with welcoming real fire, very cosy. Pitches flat and well spaced.

More than happy to recommend.

Only down side for use couldnít find a secure area to let the dog off the lead but she had plenty of exercise walking with us so not a major problem. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tour gs 16 reviews from this member

 Visited for the first time in October for a 4 night break. Access is via a fairly narrow road but no issues even with our 8ft wide caravan.

Good reception on arrival and shown to our pitch by a very helpful young lady. Had to borrow some planks of wood to get the caravan levelled so take some with you if you have some.

Small shop on site with some essentials. Very nice pub on site which is a converted barn. The site was generally quiet due to the time of year but the pub still got busy on the Saturday night when live music was on offer. It appears the pub is also used by people visiting the caravan site opposite this one.

Very friendly bar staff and a cracking roaring fire. Pub doesnít do food but there is a sausage n mash van which is open most nights. The Brackebrigg Inn is about 1. 5 miles down the hill and serves great food at reasonable prices. Iíd recommend the steak pie!

4 nights for two people in October including a Friday/Saturday night for £70 is great value for money.

Iíll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Athers 7 reviews from this member

 Tried and tested campsite I would be struggling to find any negatives about this wonderful site. My wife and I along with my springer spaniel

Stayed here for a full weekend and had a fantastic time even in the pouring rain, great facilities even have a full size bath for use very clean toilets and showers.

There is even a bar on site with the best open fire I have ever seen some days there is even entertainment just check their website for details. On specific days days they have a mobile van which offers some great food the breakfast are brilliant just when you cant be bothered to cook.

The surrounding area offers some great walks for all abilities and ages, close to lakeside itself within easy walking distance and last but certainly not least dog friendly, staff seem to always at hand if you should need any assistance and very friendly. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Diddyone63 1 review from this member

 Lovely location ideal for exploring the lakes wonderful walks around the site.

The views are amazing and the facilities are great very clean and tidy great bar and food 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clara Van 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site in a peaceful location which seems to have undergone some improvements over the last 12 months. The Hobbit Holes look fantastic especially at night when lit up. The shower block is adequate but there are no shower curtains so you need to put anything you donít want soaked, well out of the way.

There are however four separate bathrooms/shower room, love these. Cooked food is available from The Saucy Sausage, an on site catering van which is manned at limited times for breakfasts and evening snacks. This was our second stay at The Quiet site, sadly for both visits we were allocated pitches which were far from level.

On our first visit the pitch was so high, ground wet and uneven that we could not get our caravan on to the pitch, they did offer to site the van for us but thankfully gave us a flat pitch otherwise we would not have stayed. T

his time we were allocated an awful pitch on a incline, half worn tarmac, part gravel and difficult to set up because of the position of the water and grey waste sink, and a lady with a seasonal pitch who insisted on parking her car between our pitch and the next.

Such a shame some of the pitches have not received the same attention as the Hobbit Holes, we wonít be returning. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Markjenn 4 reviews from this member

 First let me say we booked this on recommendations from visiting the caravan exhibition at Manchester. The directions were spot on arrived about 19.30 red hot evening. At first glances I thought great we are going to love this but that was short lived. While I was there I checked and we were only the second twin axle on site which was noted when booking online. We booked a serviced pitch as I don't carry barrels the pitch did not fit my van so put it at an angle no awning required so that was ok.

Looking forward to nice meal in bar area only to be told no food served but there was a butty wagon outside ok can live with that. The bar can only be described as a shed full of old antiquated stuffed animals and numerous heads on shields which looked like they have not been cleaned since they were shot and mounted. The beer they served was probably the worse beer I have tasted in a long while and I do like my real ales which is a shame as the pub at end of the lane brews its own and is fantastic

The toilet and shower facilities were to an ok standard but could do with cleaning much better. 1 elsan point ok can live with that. While was hooked up to my water supply my connectors sprung a bit of a leak so while we were out a nice gentleman switched off my tap. On return I switched it back on, he switched it off saying it was dripping down the slope wetting an adjoining pitch, which I did apologise for to my neighbours. He then explained the tap is not designed for my Truma blue water pipe which some how baffled me as that's exactly what it is designed for. I fixed the leaking hose connection only to find it was the tap leaking not my connector.

The site itself is in a stunning location but quiet it is not there were many units and statics in close proximity - we were only 12 feet from a row of statics and the noise was terrible but I know its not all about me. But the prices that they charged me for a fully serviced pitch only to find they have put me on the smallest pitches when I had given them my caravan length is beyond me. Would I go again I think not but I am sure people love it.  
Management response: Thank you for your review. Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. You were on one of our largest pitches (10m x 11m), which has just been refurbished. Your large caravan fitted easily on to it.

Our beer is well regarded and while our bar is not everyone's cup of tea, most like it.

*Note to readers of review: As every parent knows: giving advice to young children can result in outbursts. The same thing occasionally occurs when a 'quiet chat' is needed with a guest. In this case the guest was asked very politely to turn off their water tap directly feeding their caravan as their connector was leaking. And by leaking I mean around 1/2 litre per min, so badly leaking. The pitch below the leaking tap was waterlogged. The guests response was not positive. As a result we now have this very negative review from a guest who had given every indication of enjoying their holiday, right up to the point where we politely pointed out their leaking connector.

Regards Daniel (the person who asked you nicely to turn your leaking water tap off!)


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: RenshawPeter 1 review from this member

 My family stayed here for a long weekend and can honestly say that we had a great time site is lovely not to mention the bar and log fire

Would recommend for walkers and anyone who wants a peaceful sleep 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katepep 3 reviews from this member

 Very much recommended. This site has everything we needed for a comfortable stay with two young children. Clean and ample facilities plus 3 family bathrooms which were great with the little ones. Members of staff on site were all very helpful.

Our pitch felt quite private due to the layout out of pitches and it felt like a nice lot of space to ourselves and not to mention the incredible views! Childrenís soft play was small but our two had fun. The outdoor play area was in the process of being finished so we didnít spend too much time there.

It feels expensive but you get what you pay for and it is in The Lake District. The big shared fridges and freezers were also really useful. 


Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Quiet Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Quiet Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is The Quiet Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near The Lake District      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5521 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement