Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hay Lane Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Foston > Hay Lane Farm Campsite Reviews

Hay Lane Farm Campsite
Hay Lane
Foston
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE65 5PJ
Tel: 01283 585275
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 13
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 23 Reviews
                9/10 from 23 Reviews

Photos (8)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ianbriary 2 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay at Hay Farm its a well kept site with good facilities. Two very clean toilet blocks (ladies and gents) and a washing up hut. Open grass areas for kids. Site quite open so storm straps deployed for windy weather.

We found lots to do in the area with our 8 year old son including conkers in the national forest (highly recommended). We are not exactly keen cyclists but we took our bikes which was great with the quiet flat roads and car free cycleway not too far away (goes to derby).

Overall excellent value and great site highly recommended 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Parkandride 6 reviews from this member

 What a well looked after site this is!

Even the grass was cut during our stay in November.

There are hardstandings, a hard access coupled with a non-sloping location, particularly useful in a heavy motorhome which would be a nightmare if it were to get bogged down.

It`s now £11 per night(incl. EHU) which is good value to my mind. All the facilities are kept very clean and are reminiscent of a C&C site with the jay cloths, soap dispensers, hand dryers etc.

Half an hours drive from Alton Towers and 20mins from Derby Centre.

Would definitely recommend the site especially off peak season. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wendy106 4 reviews from this member

 Our second visit and it won't be our last! Lovely clean peaceful place. Other reviewers have mentioned road noise but honestly it's not noticeable. Everything is spotlessly clean and the owners are lovely, very unobtrusive though- we had to go and find them to pay our pitch fees before leaving. Plus they don't want you off by a certain time- we didn't leave till 5pm. Nothing on site and not even a pub in walking distance, but Hatton and Hilton both a few minutes drive away. Co-Op in Hatton and Tesco Express and a lovely chippy in Hilton. Sudbury is just down the road, we visited Sudbury Hall. The pub over the road, The Vernon Arms, does a lovely Sunday roast for less than £8. Also went to Bakewell a lovely drive through the Peak District.

At £10 per night including EHU what's not to like?? 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David fowler 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 7 nights from this wonderful site, very friendly people running it, this is a great site if you what peace and solitude, yes you can hear traffic noise from the A50, but not in the van at night, great TV reception from van aerial if you got freeview. Toilets and showers [20 pence for six minutes] are in a port cabin but kept spotless, there is a small wall heater you can switch on [ 5 minutes intervals] when you come out of the shower. A summer house at the side was used for pot washing, Warning, the sign says very hot water and it is very hot, there was a separate shower and toilet block for the ladies but was being fitted out while we stayed on site. I will certainly go back to this site, highly recommend, sadly not suitable for small children. If you need shopping then you can go to Hatton, about 2 miles away for a Nisa with a ATM outside, Co-operative, butchers, post office, Public house, Cafe, hard ware shop. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Milo1234 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a three night stay at this lovely friendly site. There are about twenty spacious flat hardstanding pitches. Two toilets (unisex) and one shower (20p for 6 mins) in portakabins, all spotlessly clean and well maintained. There is a heater in the shower room which is very welcome at this time of year and totally free. Wash up area in wooden summerhouse with plenty of hot water again spotlessly maintained and free.

What a refreshing change to find a site which is excellent value for money, £8. 00 pn or £10 with ehu, no extras for dogs, awnings, etc. And no rules & regs posted everywhere.

The owners are lovely, give you all necessary information and then leave you to it, even let our son stay til evening checkout with his caravan with no extra charge.

Although we are C&CC members I don't think you have to be to stay here anymore.

Will definitely be returning if visiting this area again & would certainly recommend 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pablo1308 18 reviews from this member

 This is a fabulous little site, with the emphasis on little (which my wife and think is a huge plus point), all pitches are extremely flat and the site is very well maintained. There is easy access to the site from both directions off the A50 and although it is fairly close to Hay Lane there is very little road noise. The owners could not do enough to help and they were very pleasant and friendly.

The site has now been given permission for more than the 5 pitches mentioned on the main page, probably around 20, this still make sthe site feel small and friendly. There is a lovely summer house which is done out for the pot wash area, this looks new adn has 2 sinks which helps reduce the queuing. There is plenty of space available for children to play and because the pitches are large this doesn't feel intrusive.

Now the negatives the toilets and shower block contains 1 shower and 2 toilet cubicles (unisex) which is not great for Ladies and my wife and sister-in-law felt a little uncomfortable with this. They are in the process of building an addition/new block which should resolve this.

I found the site to be brilliant value for money (I was treated to the break by my Sister-in-law and her Fiancé) although I do know the pitches are only £10 per night per unit and this is fully inclusive of electrics. The pitches are a good size as between 2 pitches we had more than enough room for our trailer tent with awning, my sister-in-laws caravan with awning and a gazebo.

Highly recommended we will be return several time sin the future 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grahamdeal 1 review from this member

 Small site, very clean and tidy. Quiet with no frills. Toilets, shower and washroom facilities always spotlessly clean.

If you want a site with all the frills this is not for you, but if you just want a peaceful base for exploring Derbyshire or just chilling out it's perfect.

There are several villages within a couple of miles with pubs, supermarkets, chippies and assorted takeaways.

There is even a very good transport cafe. We will definitely stay there again. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deco333 5 reviews from this member

 We had a tour for a week of Derbyshire staying at three sites in total. This was by far the best imo. Cheapest per night at £10 inc EHU or £8 without, immaculate facilities, a tour on arrival by the considerate owner, 20p for a shower which has plenty of room to dry yourself and dress and also has a heater if needed, very modern and spotlessly clean pot washing cabin and toilets which are currently unisex (lockable door if needed though) but a separate brick built modern block for females looks nearly finished.

Shops are about 5-10 mins away by car in Hatton. There is a large co-op store, newsagent, pubs, chip shop and other places for a meal.

As the reviewer below mentions, there is a slight noise from the A50 but you forget about that after 10 mins of being at this wonderful site.

The site is chippings for the road and hard standings but also has grass all round which was very short and a lush green with no muddy patches.

Stay had to be cut short due to work commitments but would have loved to have stayed on there. The owner let us stay longer into the afternoon to get our gear dried off due to the rain and refused any extra money for us to do this. A true gent. Something I feel other site owners would insist on a payment even if the pitch wasn't needed for someone else!

Recommend this campsite to all campers and caravaners. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Midwaymark 4 reviews from this member

 Having been put off by heavy rain and being fed up with many sites offering only space in the car park. We visited this site just for 1 night, it is only about 15 miles from home so was ideal,

Their website looked nice enough but we weren't expecting too much due to the atrocious weather we had had over the previous week. How wrong can you be, having been greeted by the owner, we were given a guided tour of the facilities, a portable cabin with 2 toilets (unisex), washbasin with hot water / drier, tourist info.

A separate electric shower (20p /6 Mins) with a proper cubicle and room to dress. A Dish wash room with 2 sinks. CDP, and all absolutely spotless.

The site comprises approx 20 well spaced hardstanding (chippings) with grass in between with hookups, overlooks open farmland. A little rumble from the A50 but nothing to spoil the relaxing atmosphere that this site offers.

If you are looking for an all singing all dancing site or even local facilities then this is not for you (unless you use your car)

Nearest pub is about 10 minutes drive away. It is quite remote but hey some of us like a bit of peace and quiet away from the rat race.

Can't wait to return to this site for some more peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cozminne 1 review from this member

 We stayed here as a very welcome alternative to camping at Donington Park for the Download festival as I wasn't actually going. The site was very well kept and the ground was extremely even making for a great nights sleeps (no rocks digging in your back!)

Although the facilities comprised of only two toilets and one coin operated shower they were spotless and we more or less had them to ourselves as the only tent camping there. The toilets had hand soap and a hand dryer provided and fresh toilet rolls in for you to replace yourselves as and when needed not just when they get cleaned in the morning like some other campsites. The shower was 20p for 6mins which was suprisingly enough (we kept all spare 20p pieces in the washbag so neither of us got caught short as it were!)or for £1 you got half an hours worth. The shower compartment had more than enough space to get dressed and had a very warm heater to stand under if it's a bit chilly! As the shower was all encased in its own cubicle (just like you'd get in a house really) nothing got wet although the floor is slippy so take a bath mat to stand on when you get out as there isn't anything like that provided which is fair enough.

There's a washing up 'summer house' which has two sinks and draining boards for everyone to use - BE WARNED the water is piping HOT! It was burning through my rubber gloves but there are signs and we were told when we arrived that the water is extremely hot!

The only slightly negative thing is that the site is in the path of the local airport but we were warned of this before we arrived and it doesn't bother us (I slept through a small earthquake once!) but that's something to bear in mind if you're a light sleeper. It's also very easy to get onto the main roads (the A50 is just round the corner) but far enough away to not hear them.

The owners were extremely nice people and were very concerned about us being in a tent as the weather wasn't on our side and were very accommodating when we were very late arriving due to bad traffic and weather. We were welcomed very warmly and given the brief tour of all the facilities and left to choose our pitch - the grass is kept well and the road ways are nicely gravelled.

All in all a very nice little site and not too expensive - £8 for us with no electric or £10 if you wanted a hook up for a night. No extra charges per person or anything like that. Highly recommended and if we're in the area again we would definitely stay there again! 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hay Lane Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hay Lane Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hay Lane Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Foston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2311 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement