Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hay Lane Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Foston > Hay Lane Farm Campsite Reviews

Hay Lane Farm Campsite
Hay Lane
Foston
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE65 5PJ
Tel: 01283 585275
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 13
Open: 1st March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

Photos (8)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Catandbones01 2 reviews from this member

Not sure I want to tell the world how quiet and peaceful this site is - you may come and spoil it :)

We had no idea what we were coming to- we were a last minute booking, but what a find.

The pitches are all hard standing with stripe of grass in between, with ehu, round a central lawned area (there are other pitches in a totally hardstanding area) two minutes off the A50 but totally peaceful and quiet. Toilets and showers look brand new and were always spotless.

The downside - or upside depending on your point of view - is that nowhere is within walking distance - the nearest pub/shop/chip shop is all a 4 mile drive away - but the peace and tranquillity make up for it.

The added bonus is the price - £14 per night including ehu on a bank holiday weekend! No charge for an awning, no charge for the dogs - camping the way it used to be (ps they take tents on a grass area with no ehu)

Child friendly - there were some children here playing on the central grass area but there are no other facilities for them

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahara 2 reviews from this member

We have stayed here numerous times for a varying number of nights. It meets our needs when wishing to visit the area. We donít need somewhere all singing, all dancing just somewhere with clean facilities and not overcrowded. Itís linked to a farm and the owners are friendly and leave you to get on with. We shall be going again this year. Well worth a stay if you want to tour the Derbyshire area.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuart l 86 reviews from this member

We spent a week here whilst we moved house close to the area. Reception was a little unorthodox - having read previous reviews we went along to the farm house and knocked on the door. We were greeted by a mature lady who told us to use any vacant pitch. (There were four at the time). The week cost us £77 - cash only. All pitches are hard standing with hook-up.

The site is situated in open countryside with field views in all directions. It made a pleasant respite after a day's decorating and cleaning! Around five of the other units on site appeared to be long term placements. Ladies facilities are excellent in a recent block. The gents are in a portakabin, and whilst always clean and functional, did not have the quality of those for the fair sex.

We breakfasted three times at the Salt box Cafe - a commercial and transport cafe about two miles down the road. It has been around for decades and does a typical large truckers plateful for a modest cost.

This is not a site for children; there is no play area and nowhere for them to kick a ball around. It is also not too good for those under canvas. The A50 trunk road is less than a mile away, and is busy 24/7. Whilst the distant noise is muted in a caravan, such will not be the case for tenters - take your own earplugs!

This site is very convenient for the local villages, and the towns of Burton and Uttoxeter are easily accessed. Hatton and Hilton villages have a selection of shops, pubs and small supermarkets that should serve most needs.

Eating places are a bit thinner on the ground. The Salt Box is good for breakfasts and daytime snack meals; the Sunnar Gow opposite is a modest Indian restaurant. In Hilton the Hilton Brook and King's Head pubs both do reasonable meals. (Avoid the Castle hotel in Hatton). Oh - and a mention must be made of Suzie's tea rooms on the edge of Hilton. A modest premises belies a good afternoon tea. Also she sells much home made farm produce, which is excellent. We went in for a cuppa - and spent £14!

All in all Hay Lane Farm served us well. Indeed we have put our name on the waiting list for under-cover storage here. It will suit us well for a quick break.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 83 reviews from this member

This site is wonderful! It is so beautifully kept and the facilities are spotlessly clean. The ladies has a shower cubicle in a little room thus ensuring everything stays dry. It was a real power shower and so nice and warm too. I spent 40p and had plenty of time for a shower. I didn't mind paying either as the pitch fees all inclusive of EHU, & awning were £11 per night, bargain!

The setting is beautiful and we had a lovely sunset view. It is close to the A50 but far enough away not to be disturbed. Therefore access to lots of places.

This really is a fantastic place and now we know its there we will be visiting again very shortly.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DawnAnnMason 26 reviews from this member

After an excellent recommendation from friends, we decided to give this place a try. We were not disappointed. This friendly site is very well kept and the small toilet and shower facility was kept spotlessly clean at all times. Situated down a country lane, the passing traffic was minimal. The dual carriageway can be heard faintly in the distance, but we soon got used to it in no time at all and wasn't an issue for us. Due to its countryside location, it is very dark at night so a torch is recommended - especially if you have dogs as they have to be toiletted off site. We did try the fish and chip shop in Hatton and found it very disappointing, but the little Nisa store was very useful and reasonably priced. This site is fantastic value for money and I can highly recommend it.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Darylljb 5 reviews from this member

Good access road, located just off the A50 between Derby & Uttoxeter.

Noise from the A50 was minimal and mainly daytime on weekdays (a distant hum)

Booked prior to arriving and although they were pretty well booked up, they managed to find me a space for the nights I wanted to stay.

Arrived and visited the farmhouse to pay my fees. Explained I may want to stay longer than what I'd originally booked and the owner was very accommodating.

Roads into and on the site were good.

Pitches are all hard standings and you'll need heavy duty pegs if using an awning.

Clean, well maintained site, with adequate waste disposal facilities.

Shower was clean and efficient. 60p gets a reasonable shower.

Drinking water was a short walk from the pitches, as were all other facilities.

We had a long weekend there and paid £11 per night for caravan, EHU, awning, car, 2 adults & 2 dogs. Seems reasonable to me.

Worth a visit.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RTS5 15 reviews from this member

This is a nice site with the pitches laid out in a semi circle around a grassed area. Three of the pitches were double sized hard standing & the rest were smaller hard standing about the width of a caravan. There are large grassed areas between each pitch. The access road into the site and around edge of the pitches is hard standing too. Most pitches are close to an EHU point, but we did seem to find the one that was a long way from the nearest free one. Luckily we have a very long EHU cable. Whilst we were there visitors were asked to not drive on the grass, quite understandable to save it being damaged, but it did make car parking a bit of an issue for those on the smaller hard standings. Having said that, the site was not full whilst we were there, so it was possible to park on an unoccupied hard standing. There were what appeared to be a a few permanently sited caravans on the area near the entrance and on the main area pitches. However, they were all clean and tidy and did not detract from the nice ambience of this site. Access to the site is a short drive up a single track lane (with spaces to pull over), and a wide gateway that was very easy to swing into and out of.

The ladies facilities were EXCELLENT with two very clean toilets and a large corner shower in a brick building. Thought has been giving to the little things like ensuring the timed lights for that section stay on longer. Plenty of hooks and a small shelf to put things on. No shelf in the shower, but plenty of floor space to stand stuff on. Shower was powerful and hot, though they are now 20p for 3 mins (about 30 secs of this is used waiting for the water to heat up). I splashed out on 60p and had plenty of time (40p would have been enough). It was the best 60p I've spent on a shower though! The toilet building always felt very warm when you went in, but the heater in the shower area was very handy to put on as you got dried and dressed. There is a large mirror outside the shower with two power points for hair dryers, etc.

The mens facilities are based in a portacabin. They were very clean and tidy too, but the mens shower wasn't a patch on the ladies apparently. We didn't use the washing up facilities, so cannot comment on those. No queues at either the mens or the ladies, I suspect most were using their own facilities, and also the site was not full.

Chemical disposal and grey water were easy to access, and there are two fresh water taps. Bins, with recycling, provided.

It wasn't very clear on arrival where you needed to go to find anyone. I wondered down the yard (through the large metal gates), and down the front of the houses. A head popped out the first door you come to. I paid my dues, was told to pitch where we liked, and that was all we saw of the owners all weekend. They were very pleasant and friendly during our short interaction.

The site is very well located with plenty of things to do nearby. We were only there for a weekend but went to the Heights of Abraham in Matlock (45 mins away), which we would definitely recommend visiting.

For those that want it, mobile signal (Vodafone & O2) is very good. Though internet connection for O2 was not as good as Vodafone was.

The one thing that just took the edge off for us is the noise from the A50. It is very close, you can see vehicles on it through the trees. The noise from it when outside is constant. Inside a caravan you can still hear a faint swish. It may be less of an issue in the summer when there are more leaves on the trees that are between the site and the road.

Overall this is an excellent well kept small site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ianbriary 2 reviews from this member

We really enjoyed our stay at Hay Farm its a well kept site with good facilities. Two very clean toilet blocks (ladies and gents) and a washing up hut. Open grass areas for kids. Site quite open so storm straps deployed for windy weather.

We found lots to do in the area with our 8 year old son including conkers in the national forest (highly recommended). We are not exactly keen cyclists but we took our bikes which was great with the quiet flat roads and car free cycleway not too far away (goes to derby).

Overall excellent value and great site highly recommended

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Parkandride 6 reviews from this member

What a well looked after site this is!

Even the grass was cut during our stay in November.

There are hardstandings, a hard access coupled with a non-sloping location, particularly useful in a heavy motorhome which would be a nightmare if it were to get bogged down.

It`s now £11 per night(incl. EHU) which is good value to my mind. All the facilities are kept very clean and are reminiscent of a C&C site with the jay cloths, soap dispensers, hand dryers etc.

Half an hours drive from Alton Towers and 20mins from Derby Centre.

Would definitely recommend the site especially off peak season.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy106 4 reviews from this member

Our second visit and it won't be our last! Lovely clean peaceful place. Other reviewers have mentioned road noise but honestly it's not noticeable. Everything is spotlessly clean and the owners are lovely, very unobtrusive though- we had to go and find them to pay our pitch fees before leaving. Plus they don't want you off by a certain time- we didn't leave till 5pm. Nothing on site and not even a pub in walking distance, but Hatton and Hilton both a few minutes drive away. Co-Op in Hatton and Tesco Express and a lovely chippy in Hilton. Sudbury is just down the road, we visited Sudbury Hall. The pub over the road, The Vernon Arms, does a lovely Sunday roast for less than £8. Also went to Bakewell a lovely drive through the Peak District.

At £10 per night including EHU what's not to like??

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4512 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019