Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Exeter > Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park
Sidmouth Road
Clyst St Mary
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX5 1DR
Tel: 01395 234888
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 138
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wingnut76 1 review from this member

 We stayed at crealy meadows for a four night break (Monday to Friday) at the end of August 2014. This was our first camping holiday so we weren't sure what to expect and, being honest, don't have anything to compare the site to.

We thought the site was excellent. There was plenty of space and we didn't feel at all crowded. We were on one of the pitches at the back of the site so not only was it quiet but there were only fields behind us.

The toilets and showers were exceptionally clean all the time we were on site, even though we had some very wet weather. The underfloor heating meant the showers were lovely and warm and the floor dried between users so the large changing area in each cubicle was dry. The showers were free and there was always plenty of hot water. The Family bathrooms were great for bathing the children as well.

On the day we arrived it was pouring with rain so having pitched in the rain we took advantage of the on site pizza delivery which delivered to your tent - no need to even go and collect them.

We didn't need to use the shop although it is quite small it appeared to have the basics. There is however a lovely farm shop about half a mile along the road which is very well stocked and even had a take away fish and chip counter.

The adventure park next to the site was good for our children (3 and 7) but would probably be a bit tame for teenagers. Having a pass for the whole week meant that we could pop in and out whenever we wanted and using the campers gate meant that we didn't need to queue to get in.

In all we thought this was a lovely site and will no doubt come back. The site is probably quite expensive compared to others but we thought it was worth it and it made for a very easy first holiday! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Kyka7862 8 reviews from this member

 Spent a week here half term. Nice site with a few niggles. Staff are excellent, polite and friendly. The pitches are very spacious, although quite a few inc ours was a bit sodden and did resemble in parts a ploughed field. Its a newish site and needs time to mature and hopefully the weather will be kind to the site and sort out the pitches and allow the grass to grow. It was full for the week we spent here but we never had to queue for showers or toilets in the am and never felt it was cramped. The plus side and there are many is that entry to the Crealy Adventure Park is included in the price. Evening entertainment is on Crealy Adventure park and finishes at 10pm. The staff are extremely polite friendly and helpful and full of energy (despite the long shifts) and the biggest indoor play area I have ever seen is open for the kids to play while you have a drink meal or relax. The on site shop sell basic groceries but not camping stuff, Tesco/Sainsburys less than 3 miles away and Martins Caravan dealers/Shop 2 miles away. I would have liked to see the pitches rolled when vacant just to try and keep flattish. A few years ago this site was just fields wondering if drainage was a problem then? Despite everything niggling we had a great time and we will be back. Kids loved it and great location! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Upsydaisy 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a wet week at this campsite and still had a fantastic time. The site is nice and the staff are extremely friendly. The facilities are excellent with each pitch having a full service point. Waste and water etc. Showers are lovely and lots of room so you can shower children with you too. For the little ones ie my 4 month old baby, there are family rooms with a separate shower and a bath which was fab. All rooms were warm due to the underfloor heating. Crealys park was good for the kids. As said before more suited to under 11s. Night time entertainment was good for the kids too and it was good that the indoor adventure soft play was open too so the kids can still play at night even if it rains. Also good is the fact there are 2 playground areas on the campsite it's self.

All in all a brilliant site and can't recommend it enough for families with children. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Daves mate 21 reviews from this member

 Just back from our Easter break at Crealy.

Staff are superb, always happy, helpful and friendly. Facilities blocks are very modern with state of the art showers straight off the starship enterprise, the only downside being the lack of hot water at times. We experienced at least a couple of days with no hot water on site at all, I, and many other campers, had to boil a kettle in order to have hot dishwashing water. There is a sign in the facilities block saying this is due to the site using an environmentally friendly bio mass boiler. Now I'm all for being 'green' but would argue that if the hot water system doesn't work properly it's far from environmentally friendly?

The site is very open, some of the pitches are quite bare with not much grass and very soft ground that puddles quite easily with a little rain. That said it's a very new development and I imagine this will be remedied as it matures and the planted landscaping grows. Each pitch has it's own tap, drain and electric hook up point with a built in light, a nice touch but I really can't think of a site where I've thought the tap was too far a walk away. I'd also like the option to turn off the built in light as this illuminated our sleeping area throughout the dark hours. The electric hook ups are the type that will take a 'pay as you go' card system but this is not used. As the site is trying to be 'green' in other areas perhaps this is something they could think about moving forward?

The jewel in this particular site's crown is it's connection with the Crealy adventure park which our kids loved and was the reason we chose to stay here. The 7 days for the price of 1 offer makes it fantastic value. Evening entertainment is provided in one of the park's indoor areas and is of a decent standard with the same enthusiasm levels from the staff as is found in all other areas. Being able to use the covered 'adventure zone' of an evening is a big plus but we did get the impression that evening entertainment for campers was somewhat of an afterthought.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and will very probably return. I can't see it being a long term favourite though as children over the age of about 10 would quickly outgrow the adventure park and lets be honest, that's the only reason you'd stay at Crealy Meadows. I expect the minor issues we encountered to be teething problems of a new campsite and that this site will grow to become a great feature of the overall Crealy experience 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Ferretlady 13 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 3 night stay in a Safari Tent. The weekend was free as I won the holiday in a competition. A big thankyou to Crealy!

Pro's

Staff are extremely friendly and helpful

Excellent site for children

Facilities are spotless

Good base for touring area

Con's

Safari tents are not very good in windy weather, the thicker canvas flaps and bangs against the frame and is extremely noisy (earplugs essential)

Dogs not allowed in tents, even in a crate.

Dogs not allowed into theme park.

No where to eat or drink in evening after 5. 30 (except on saturday nights, As late in season.

Woodburner is a stove, but don't expect to cook quickly on it.

Woodburner eats a lot of wood and needs filling regularly.

I do feel that if people are staying at the site, all of the cafe's should still be open. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mitzionline 9 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely campsite with really friendly and helpful staff. The toilet/shower block facilities were really modern and spacious and regularly cleaned - great showers although watch the smooth tiled floors as they are a bit slippery. There are a couple of family bathrooms with proper baths available too. The site was half full when we visited as Devon school holidays had not yet started. Very family orientated site and quite lively during the day - there are two play parks on site for the kids to enjoy. Pitch sizes are good and we had no disturbance at night - but having said that we had asked for a quieter pitch and ended up in a spot away from most of the other campers.

There was was one very tiny mini counter-top size freezer in the laundry room which was almost full when we arrived - the staff offered to help by putting our freezer blocks in their staff freezer but I think a site of this size could do with a large chest freezer for campers.

When we booked we took up the offer which gives unlimited access to Crealy adventure park next door which was well worth the money - the park is easily accessible through a 'secret gate' in the campsite. The park was great fun for kids and grown-ups. Most of the rides are free and there are places that sell pizzas/burgers etc and a there is nice picnic area by a lake at the far end, but being so close to the campsite we could pop back to the tent for lunch if we wanted.

Regarding groceries - there is a very small shop which sells the basics on site and it was nice to be able to buy fresh warm baguettes from there in the morning. A large Tesco's was 10 minutes or so drive in the Exeter direction left out of campsite. However we discovered turning right out of the campsite a shorter drive brings you to a large farm shop which sells a good variety of foods, fresh breads, meats, fish, vegetables, tins of things, wine/beer etc and it also has café and sells fish and chips - which we meant to try but didn't - we will next time!

A great site all in all - we would like to return to Crealy again next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MadMum1972 11 reviews from this member

 We visited Crealy on 20th July for a week. What a wonderful site! The staff are so friendly and attentive. The amenities are clean and pristine and very new as I believe the campsite is only a year or two old. The temperature in the showers are electronically controlled. There was always somebody attending to the cleaning of the showers. There was also music playing gently in the toilets and showers which was very relaxing and good to boogie along to in the shower.

There were two play parks on site which my children enjoyed. They also took part in the Own a Pony experience which was well organised.

All the pitches have water and electric to them which is a lovely touch. There is a little shop on site which sold delicious baguettes!

The main attraction was the Crealy Adventure Park next door. We purchased our tickets through the campsite and they were valid for the seven days. There isn't any queuing either as there is a secret gate from the site, which you use your access card to open.

The park was great and we had so much fun every day. Even the staff in there were friendly and really seemed to care about their customers, rather than it just being a job! Everybody was so attentive. We went back in the park at night as they had a little entertainment up to 9pm which was perfect. The children were able to play in the indoor play centre whilst we watched on with a little tipple or two.

The site was quiet at night and we had no noise disturbances at all.

There really isn't anything negative to say about Crealy. It is, and I am sure, will continue to be a fantastic site. The trees and shrubs are not established as yet as the site is so new but once they have grown, the pitches will be quite private.

Beautiful site and so pleased we chose to holiday there. I hope they continue to succeed as they certainly deserve to. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hampsterracing 2 reviews from this member

 As crealy adventure park members we were lucky enough to receive an offer of two nights free camping at crealy meadows.

The whole experience was top notch from start to finish. The welcome and information was spot on.

The standard of the site and toilets was also excellent. (probably the best I have found)

Although I have not rated the value as it was a freebie I have looked at the price structure and for us (we travel in a motorhome with 3 x adults and 2 x children) It would be £46 per night on a standard pitch with hookup in low season !this is a little above my budget unfortunately. (I had to rate the value to submit the review) 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jooetbag 1 review from this member

 Brill site, helpful staff. Toilet blocks were best ive been in, and playground very good. The shop very good even though doesn't sell drink. Ground very level excellent all round.

Food was ok bbq night some nights, or chicken, pizza

But we went to near by pubs which was about 10 mins away. (cat and fiddle brill for kids play area inside and out)

Crealy itself was brilliant kids loved it spent at lot of time there. In the evening the bar was cheap, entertainment was very good, most of it done in house, but the one bloke singer and comedian very very good. Action zone was brill kids in there all night even adults by the end of night.

In the area there is loads to do exmouth and other days out really close.

Would love to go again maybe just for weekend (we went for 6 nights)  


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thethornes 1 review from this member

 My family stayed 4 nights, we had 2 tents, granddad and I in one tent, my 3 grandchildren, son and his wife in the other tent.

What a transformation from last year. Well done crealy meadows on the new site.

We stayed close to the shower block, only downfall parents allowing kids to run around and in and out of the block. The shower blocks are excellent hot water, clean, underfloor heating, hairdryers.

A nice play area on camp site. Crealy park, great, kids happy all day on the rides etc.

Evening entertainment staff amusing the children with games and dances if they are not on the slides or in the play area. Parents joining in too.

Nice bar and food available. Already booked for 2013 cant wait to go back. Hope you don't out price yourself. Keep up the cleanliness and helpful staff. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Exeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4722 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement