Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Exeter > Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park
Sidmouth Road
Clyst St Mary
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX5 1DR
Tel: 01395 234888
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 138
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 21 to 26                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yorkshall 1 review from this member

 We've just returned from a rain-soaked week at Crealy, where we took in the Sidmouth Folk week, and the Crealy Theme Park.

We visited the same site last year - WOW! What a transformation! Congratulations to all the staff at Crealy, because the campsite is lovely.

The site has been sculptured nicely, and when it matures, the pitches will be more secluded.

The bathrooms are not what I'm used to on a campsite. They'll be providing towels next! Seriously, it's a clean, welll maintained site with plenty of clean showers and toilet facilities, plus additional family bathrooms, where you can take kids for a bath.

2 playgrounds, which attract the kids. The only constructive comment I can make regarding the site is that a lot of kids ended up using the areas around the toilet blocks as a scooter haven, as all the other paths were gravel. It's not ideal, and maybe Crealy could find a suitable way of surfacing an area so kids can play on scooters in a safer area - but that is really picking at straws.

Pitches well drained considering the rain, and all have a light, tap, and hook up (if you want hook up).

The theme park is ideal for kids up to say 15, and the bonus of on site free entertainment and the huge play area in the eveinings made our kids want to go back every night.

Some of the other campers were way too noisy into the early hours of the morning, but Crealy staff did log this, and said they would check on the situation. No such problems the night after.

Shop OK, limited range, but not overpriced, themepark catering not to my taste, but ok if you like fast food.

In all a friendly, welcoming site, with non- imposing wardens and friendly staff. Thumbs up if you're a family looking to keep kids entertained on a camping break. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Angelawalklett 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived here on the Wednesday of half-term, just ahead of the weather front that was to affect southern Britain! With growing grandchildren we were going to try out our newly purchased Kampa Pod 310 awning which we erected on the spacious, and level, super pitch to which we had been escorted to by a very helpful and informative 'park ranger'.

The site Warden came and introduced himself and made certain that we knew how to contact him, should we have any problems. He also gave us the helpful hint that when checking out the showers (as we all do, be honest!) that they are automatic, so don't get too close!

The facilities block is impressive in design; spacious, efficient under-floor heating (should we need that in June?) but, considering the site has only been open for about a month, it was disappointing that some toilet seats and toilet roll holders were already broken.

Whether this reflects on the quality of the fittings or the clientèle, I don't know; but I think it will have to be more robust to cope with a full site in August. The dish-washing facility is limited and open to the elements which wasn't a problem for us on a fully serviced pitch but could be for those in tents.

The two playground areas, although targeted for the younger age, are high quality and there is plenty of open space for the older ones to kick a football or throw a sulk!

This is going to be a very nicely landscaped park; the plantings between the pitches are already maturing. It is young at the moment but they have been sensible by fully developing one half rather than make you feel like you're camping on a building site.

Crealy Park is literally across the lane and comes with the same high standard of helpful, friendly and courteous staff. What's more, you can access the Adventure Zone from the Bar in the evening so have your own personal playground, without the crowds!

Highly recommended! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hywel31 9 reviews from this member

 We were at the site from the Monday bank holiday until the end of half term so during quite bit of the bad weather.

As it is right next to Crealy adventure park you would only really camp there if you have children and to my mind Crealy is best suited for children up to about 10 years old.

The site is very new and according to the staff had only been opened for two weeks. As others have said it is very new and not all of the site is open. The facilities are very good with a shower block, a shop (a little more expensive, eg. 2pts of milk for 99p rather than 89p in Tesco - you pay for the convenience), a children's play area, launderette and three family / disabled bathrooms.

They also kept adding whilst we were there following feedback - hooks appeared in the shower during our stay and I think they were planning more additions.

The staff are really friendly and helpful. During the bad weather they came round to check that people were ok and lent people stronger pegs to contend with the gale force winds.

It is next to the Crealy adventure park and there is a gate with direct access from the campsite to the park (although this was locked for some of the time we were there as they were sorting out the access control system. I think campers will be given a swipe card or a code to use that gate)and campers had access to the park before and after the official opening times.

There was entertainment in the evenings (if that is your thing) and some of the park restaurants are open for breakfast and dinner. The tickets for Crealy are about £15 and give you 7 days entry (more than enough in our minds, not to the children's though!)

It is very close to Exeter and not far from the M5 junction so easy access to a lot of Devon and Dorset so plenty to do if you get bored of the park.

The one negative aspect is that the park is very new and some of the turf had not had enough time to bed in - in the soil in some pitches (although fortunately for us not in ours. Also the landscaping is new and the shrubs and trees have yet to establish themselves.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return, but this is a site which has the potential to get better as it develops. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TheWebsters 2 reviews from this member

 We visited Crealy Meadows on Jubilee Weekend (2nd - 5th June 2012) with three other families (2 caravans, 2 tents), whilst the site itself is very nice, there were a few things that badly let down this '£1.4m development' and stopped us being 'able to enjoy the luxury of all the new investment. '

The website fails to mention that the site isn't actually finished - only one of the two toilet blocks was open, not all the Medieval \ Safari tents were erected (instead there were just wooden platforms) and it looked like half the pitches were still to be created. There was no building work going on though, this could have been because it was a Bank Holiday weekend, or it could be planned for when the site is less busy.

As the site is new, the landscaping is also new and has yet to establish itself, hundreds of young trees \ bushes have been planted which is good, but this does mean that the our fellow campers had a habit of walking between pitches as a shortcut to the play area \ toilet block - which meant that we had to re-seat our waste pipe \ electric cable several times after it was tripped over.

In addition, new turf has been laid to create the pitches - unfortunately it appears to have been laid on very soft soil, all our pitches suffered from subsidence when vehicles were parked on it, with them sinking into the soft ground. Luckily it wasn't raining too hard, but if it had then the pitches would have quickly turned into a deeply rutted mud pit.

The website states 'When developing Crealy Meadows Caravan and Camping Site, we asked experienced caravanners and campers, what they needed and wanted from a holiday park; our Park has been built to their recommendations and specifications. ' - They seem to have missed some advice designing the Toilet Blocks - they omitted to fit any hooks or shower curtains in the showers, toilets or washing areas - so whilst they are very nice, your clothes are all wet. Similarly in the Family Rooms there are no hooks or tables to change babies \ small children on - so you struggle to dress them on a wet floor. Some mops would have been nice to wipe over the area before \ after.

On a more positive note, the staff were all very friendly and looked willing to help where they could. The shop is well stocked (but pricey as with all campsite shops) and open decent hours.

We purchased tickets to the Crealy Adventure Park, which gave us 7 days access - so we were able to come and go as we pleased over the weekend as the site is a few minutes walk from the campsite. Access is also available to some of the attractions in the evening for those staying on the Campsite.

In all, we had an enjoyable stay and would consider going back in a year or so when the site has had a chance to mature, the teething problems are sorted and it's actually finished ! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tulah 1 review from this member

 We visited Crealy Meadow on their opening weekend as a group, with a mixture of touring caravans and tents. Only half of the site is open at the moment, but the half that is open is excellent.

The pitches were very generous, each one having its own hook up, water and waste water point. The shower block was large, modern and clean. There was a shop which was well stocked and the staff were helpful and friendly, especially Lee the park warden who was a real hit with the kids.

The adventure park is only a minute or so walk away and if the kids still have energy on your return to the campsite there is a wooden play area.

It's worth mentioning that if you visit Crealy Meadow off peak, then the entry to the park is free, which makes it exceptional value for money. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cloverlady 3 reviews from this member

 Came here last August in our caravan - thought the site was a bit pricey given it was just a field with a portable cabin for toilets but the kids had a good time in the themepark (best for younger children I would say). You pay extra to go into the themepark - one days entry covers you for your stay. (Up to 7 days I think)

Another reason we chose this site was the site was in an area we particularly like and Crealy was well placed for days out we think.

We were looking forward to booking to come this year too particularly as we were told the campsite was to undergo an overhaul over the winter. A senior member of staff there was really selling it to us and saying that the prices were not expected to rise as he realised the costs for the basic facilities on the bare field were already quite high.

However, on checking prices for the revamped site this year we were shocked at the increase to say the least.

We have decided to look elsewhere for our summer holiday break this year as unfortunately the site does not represent value for money for us as a family.

Therefore, the ratings I have given represent LAST years facilities and not the new revamped facilities as I have no experience of these. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 26     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Exeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4655 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement