Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Exeter > Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park
Sidmouth Road
Clyst St Mary
Exeter
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX5 1DR
Tel: 01395 234888
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 138
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Liz+ ant Slade 21 reviews from this member

 Great site if you have children.
Staff really friendly, pitches great and facilities really good.
We used the club on the actual theme park and the entertainment was brill, but they were building a new club on site.
Only one thing with us, the park was a bit to young for our teenage girls, but that wasn't the sites fault obviously. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kyka7862 8 reviews from this member

 Firstly this visit was our 4th in 4 years but first time with a dog. Booked early this year as we always book one of 4 pitches in a cul de sac. Upon arrival we noticed that our pitch wasn't the one we booked. Turns out they had renumbered pitches so we found ourselves 5 pitches away from the one we booked. Reception staff refused to accept it was there fault and kept on saying it was ours rubbish! They have taken away loads of pitches to accommodate the medieval tents so they can add more safari tents for glamping hence renumbering. Anyway to save disappointment to the kids we pitched up and off I went to walk the dog. Given that you pay for a dog at 5 a night there are no special facilities. The dog area is basically the 2 overgrown fields which once housed the Alpacas and Ponies and an area which once people played football. 1 dog bin overflowing! We were booked in for 10 nights. On day 5 no hot water in showers or washing up area. Reported to reception told that maintenance were on it yet after 3 days still had not been fixed! Long trek to other toilet block only to queue for a shower It was only on day 3 of not hot water did the park put a notice on the door saying out of order. No explanation. Nothing. Given that you pay a lot for the pitch and facilities 3. 5 days without hot water in the toilet block is not good enough. Our opinion is that this park will soon have lots more glamping tents and static caravans at 1000+ as it seemed that the Focus was more on these than touring pitches. Wasp catchers were situated around the glampers but not where possible around touring pitches. Touring pitches without separating hedges were not clearly marked so parking became a free for all and sometimes other peoples vehicles tents and caravans were dangerously close to each other. Glampers didn't have this problem. Shop on site is still very small and does not stock dog related stuff. A new clubhouse is being built on site taking away more pitches, but we fear that if this doesn't have an indoor play area for kids (which the one in Crealy does have) then it will be a huge disappointment to families who return year on year. Yet another swaying towards glampers I think. Overall our stay could have been better. The fields for dogs should have been mowed, the dog bin was never emptied in the 10 days we were there. Dogs are not catered for yet you pay to have one on your pitch which you have already paid for. The only good thing is they have a 7 dog kennel which you book so fido can stress in while you enjoy the Adventure Park! Will we be back???? Not if the park continues the way it 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Snowyvan 9 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from 3 nights at this site. We went primarily to visit Sandy Park for the rugby but added an extra night because the weather was so lovely - and the campsite was empty. It's very well laid out with shrubs/bushes between pitches - most of which were very large. Each pitch has power & water.

There are Safari Tents, Lodges & Medieval Tents also there - bearing in mind most people are going to the Adventure Park, which I understand is aimed at the under 10's. We picked a pitch when booking on line well away from the play area and where the pitches were marked 'quiet area'. The Adventure Park is only open at weekends at this time of year, so most people were arriving Friday & leaving Sunday.

We were very impressed with this site - big, open, well laid out etc. I'm sure it's different in the main season when it's crammed with families with young children.

There's a bus stop at the entrance which goes West to Exeter or East to Sidmouth, Seaton and Lyme Regis. The Devon Show Ground is also just along the road and the Devon Show was on whilst we were there but it made little difference to arriving & travelling past it.

When we play Exeter Chiefs again or fancy a trip back, we will definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Novice99 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic place!

Pitch. We had a super pitch which was half grass half hard standing the standard ones are a little smaller and all grass. We had our own point for hook-up which we didn't use and tap for water. The pitches are well spaced out some have srubs defining the boundaries. You can pick your pitch when you book using an online map so you know exactly where you are in relation to toilets ect.

Facilities. The facilities are fantastic, the toilet and shower blocks are clean and modern with underfloor heating that keep things cosy and dry. The ladies have coin operated hairdriers. There are family bathrooms with a bath and shower and accessible toilet for wheelchair users. There is also a laundry room with washer, drier, iron and freezer for your ice packs. Apparently the guys at reception will charge your mobile if you ask but we didn't need this.

There are gravel roads and tarmac paths and the whole place is well lit without being overbearing. There is quite a lot of noise from all the nearby roads and airport but we probably noticed this more as we are not used to it, but then you don't visit crealy for peace and quiet and as most were families with young children there was no late night party noise. In fact, as we were on the edge of the site and well spaced out we heard very little from our neighbours.

All the staff were amazing, friendly and helpful, everyone from manager looking types to cleaners.

Access to the park is at a much reduced rate (and I believe free in Devon term time )and there is a gate that campers use and you can come and go with no queuing with the day visitors.

There is some evening entertainment laid on which is the usual cabaret stuff, bingo and disco, you can order food which was OK and the arcades and very large soft play area is open for the kids to run about.

There are a couple of play areas on the campsite for when the theme park is closed, again well maintained and a lot of children had brought bikes ect.

There is a well stocked shop on site and we found a tesco a few miles away. Details of local takeaways are provided and the campsite provides a pizza delivery to your tent service. Bbqs are also allowed and for sale. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rattie73 4 reviews from this member

 We just got back from a great 7 night stay at Crealy. All the staff are pleasant and happy to help. The pitch was big and flat but had no marked out boundaries so was left to a little bit of guess work when setting up. The toilet/shower facilities were very good, they were clean and very modern with hands free taps and showers. There were, however, no separate sinks for washing so you use the same ones for brushing your teeth as you do for after using the loo which is a little off putting. There are plenty of showers all with a good changing area and never had to wait once. The showers themselves are warm and modern but the shower head seems a little high up and most of the water ends up running down the cubical walls. The play area was a little basic with just a small wooden fort. The kids got bored with this very quickly but had plenty of space to kick a ball about.

Overall it is a very nice campsite but had more of a holiday park feel to it than campsite so quite rowdy most of the time and lacked the usual campground Etiquette with loud people walking between tents in the early hours and lots of laughing and shouting during the night.

I find it very hard to justify the high price at Crealy especially when the park tickets are extra and although it's a set size pitch you still have to pay extra for pups and trailers. With no campsite bar/pool or food outlets, except inside the theme park, it's just a basic campsite.

We enjoyed it here but I don't think we'll be paying the high price to stay again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Secondedition09 3 reviews from this member

 Didn't like the site at all. Units were too close together. Tents either side of us, just enough room to walk around our van. Dogs left wandering, barking throughout the night. Season pitch holders very noisy until early hours. When we complained staff weren't really intrested.

Shower blocks were the only good thing about this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Kyka7862 8 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this park, and what a difference to the pitches from last year. We had a great stay, staff are polite eager to help and always smiling. The included theme park tickets are a must if you have pre teenage children. Evening entertainment is a bit hit or miss but the children love it as well as the indoor play area. Exeter and all high street shops are about 6 miles away, large Tesco 4 miles away petrol is 2 miles away and there is also a caravan dealer selling accessories etc about 2 miles away which was handy when my gas pigtail snapped when changing the bottle. The site is nicely placed for places like Sidmouth and Lyme Regis and as a few nights stop over on the way home from Cornwall. We will undoubtedly be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glennpearce 4 reviews from this member

 First time on this site with our 6 year old and loved it. Big pitches with electric, water and lighting. Lovely staff who helped with whatever we needed. Very clean site especially the huge toilets/shower blocks with the under floor heating it stayed dry and cosy all the time always clean. Family bathrooms are great for a relaxing bath. Great to go onto the theme park at night for the entertainment and massive soft play area which the adults used as well. Character breakfast buffet was good and lots of food choices on the theme park. One thing that would be great to have on this site is a pool as I'm sure they would make it a really good one. Been to many campsites and this by far is one of the best. Highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frenchcamp12 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic campsite, the staff are all very helpful and friendly. The site is very easy to find your way around and is very tidy. The shower/toilet blocks are very clean and warm with heated floors, it has a great family bathroom with space!

We went with friends and between us had children from 5 - 9 years old that really loved the parks on site, the rides and the entertainment, it is very family friendly.

I would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The3taffs 4 reviews from this member

 Check in was quick and staff were polite. Given directions to our generous sized pitch, which we found quite easy. Also given directions to the Adventure park. Grassed area of pitch was uneven, patchy and full of weeds. Not very nice to sit on with a deckchair. Facilities were clean, but difficult to find in the dark. The outside lighting of the facility block did not work, and it was difficult to wash dishes in the dark. Being the end of October it is dark by 5. 30 and after having our evening meal we were unable to wash up. We did complain to the warden but the facility block was still surrounded by darkness the following night. The road way was poorly lit and quite dangerous in the dark when staff were driving around at speed in an unlit golf buggy. The well stocked shop as they advertise is far from well stocked. The fridge was empty and we were unable to buy milk for at least 24 hours. The adventure park was fab for younger children. Unable to find dog walk. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Crealy Meadows Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Exeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4801 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement