Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Teds At Hunger Hill

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Shifnal > Teds At Hunger Hill Reviews

Teds At Hunger Hill
Kettlemore Lane
Sherrifhales
Shifnal
Shropshire   (Browse area)
TF11 8SA
Tel: 07923 132219  or  07807 798288
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 Vans + Tents
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adamscott 2 reviews from this member

Spent one night at this campsite on the 7th June with my family. On arrival there was no instructions and no-one around to speak to. Eventually we found someone and they told us to pitch anywhere, which we did.

The facilities were clean, but I think just one shower for each sex was not enough.

Later on a group of six arrived and set up in the middle of the field (camper van, tent and a gazebo). They became noisier as the evening wore on, with the music getting louder. They eventually cranked the volume right up and opened all of the camper van doors. We put up with this until 10pm when we contacted the site owners. The owners were not the least bit interested and did nothing.

I had to go and speak with the group myself which and explained that we had children trying to sleep.

The customer service and care at this site was non-existent and I will not be returning

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kimble 5 reviews from this member

We arrived here on Saturday evening. The site is easy to find, the only criticism I would have is that there where no instructions on where to go once you got there.

We drove up to the farm shop and spoke to Ted (the owner) he told us to pitch up anywhere.

We pitched at the top of the field pointing down the field.

What a lovely spot! the views where lovely and the site is so quiet.

The field is huge and well maintained.

The toilets are a portacabin which are keep very clean and well stocked with toilet roll.

We didn't use the shower during our stay so I can comment on that but the Shower area looked spacious and clean.

The site has a footpath going through it so we went for a nosey and found a lovely open field to let the dogs go for a run.

The only noise during our stay was the cockerel and the peacocks!

This site was perfectly situated for us as we where heading to Weston Park Sunday morning.

Lovely site and will definitely use again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Seasideboy1964 1 review from this member

Recently spent 3 nights in a tent at this site. From 13/08 to 15/08/13. Me and my son wanted to be near RAF Cosford - hence this choice. A very large field - hook ups down a couple of sides - I did not need an EHU so picked a spot at the top of the field. Grass was quite long but didn't cause any issues. The ground was okay for plastic pegs/metal pegs. Stones here and there but no real issue. The field did not get too busy whilst we were there. 2 nights were dry. The third night was wet wet wet! The field did not flood! The toilet/shower block was a large unit. The gents side had a single shower room with bench - lots of room, 2 toilet cubicles with lots of paper, 2 sinks with liquid soap, 1 urinal. All cleaned daily. No issues with hot water. My only addition would be a shelf and/or hooks near the basins. A large sink for pots/pans would also be of use! But we managed! Directions to site were easy! No issues in finding it. Owners were lovely and the farm animals often visited the camping field. 13 a night was very good value. A small town was nearby. 5 mins away by car. Telford was only 10-15 mins away at most. Ironbridge was 10 - 15 mins away too. A nice site with nice owners. Good value for money. We hope to go again!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rosamao 3 reviews from this member

Well what a find! A truly superb campsite with fantastic views over the local countryside. The facilities were clean and kept well stocked. Even though there were only 2 ladies and gents toilets and one shower each for men and women we never had to wait. The pitches were very spacious and we could choose where we wanted to pitch depending whether we wanted electric or not.

The farm shop sold some of the best meat we both ever had the sausages and steaks were especially good. They also sold fresh eggs from their own hens.

The peacocks were an added attraction even if they were rather vocal!

The local town Shiffnal had a supermarket and the usual shops

You get in a small town.

Bridgenorth is a fantastic historic town with a good selection of eateries and shops. The clifftop railway was excellent and it saved a strenuous walk uphill in to the town!

The river Severn runs close by and you can enjoy walks along the river bank.

Ironbridge Gorge with all the museums associated with the industrial revolution are both enjoyable and educational.

There is a steam railway in the town that runs throughout the year which is great fun and has that nostalgic feeling when your aboard. The railway station hasn't changed at all over the years and the pub sells some of the best real ale my husband has ever tasted.

We enjoyed both our visits to this campsite that we came back to Bridgenorth in November to discover all the hidden gems that the area has to offer, because when we were camping we had the dog with us and we were limited to places where we could take him.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Graham 34 reviews from this member

Visited this gem of a site with three other couples (all in tents). What a lovely place to spend a few nights. As described the owners Carol & Ted make you feel right at home and point you in the general direction of where to pitch up. We had EHU so were located along the hedgerow next to the access lane. No traffic noise to worry you at all.

With the site being attached to a working farm the only noise you will 'suffer' is the call of the peacocks and the clucks of Chickens. The farm also has pigs, cows and goats so plenty of animal sounds to wake you at daft O'clock in the morning. If you want a quieter stay ask to be nearer the two 'pods' also located on the site.

The grass is kept short but be aware there are a few rocks under the surface of the turf so bring a few rock pegs to prevent bending your normal pegs.

Clean shower block (Portakabin) that contains a shower room, two WC's, two sinks and a single urinal (in the gents of course)

Great location, being close to Telford and Wolverhampton and just a 15 minute drive from the M54 (Cosford air museum)

Some nice walks emanate from the site but there are some electrified fences to prevent cattle wandering off so keep an eye on any little children who may be curious and want to touch the posts.

Great site and would recommend to anyone

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Moneypeni 9 reviews from this member

A lovely basic site that's situated next to a working farm. We stayed here for 3 nights as the OH wanted to visit the RAF Museum at Cosford and it was only a 15 minute drive away so the site was ideally located. Booking communication was fast and efficient and the owner was very welcoming on arrival and welcomed us to have a look around the farm, which had an excess of cute baby farm animals.

The site itself is a gently sloping field with lovely grass that is cut regularly but not too short. There are plenty of Electric Hook Up points and water taps right next to most of the pitches. The ground can be quite hard and stony in places, which resulted in one or two bent pegs but nothing too serious.

The toilets are in a portacabin, but were much better than some I have experienced. They were spotlessly clean and, more importantly, warm the whole time we were there. The shower was free, hot and huge with plenty of room for dressing.

Overall, a lovely site, with great views that feels like its in the middle of nowhere but is actually on about 10 mins from Telford.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cathy hall 4 reviews from this member

We recently visited hunger hill farm in our tent along with my son in his tent. When we arrived we were greeted by Ted on his tractor, he was a lovely man to say the least whose laid back approach is second to none, he let us choose our pitch and showed us all we needed to know.

He later came to ask us if we were ok and found he was one of the most pleasant people I think I have met. He always used first names with us an never forgot our names!

The view were beautiful and was a great peaceful stay.

The showers and washing facilities were clean and adequate. The kids were able to pick their own eggs for breakfast which they loved!

We also bought a lot of our bacon, burgers, sausage from teds farm shop which were outstanding.

I would recommend a stay here to anyone seeking a quiet comfortable friendly stay.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Quiet couple 1 review from this member

We originally booked this site for 7 nights but stayed 13 nights. In order to take our 6 years old granddaughter to visit various museums in the area

A very quiet site with beautiful views.

The owners made us very welcome. The toilet block is spotless with lots of hot water.

The one shop (cum post office) in the village stocked the usual essentials, Or the Asda store approx 5 miles aways is ideal to stock up and purchase any petrol/diesel.

We will certainly use this site again

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ctag11 1 review from this member

Have just got back from a three night stay at this lovely campsite. Beautiful surroundings on a gentle slop with a fabulous large field. Plenty of electric points and waterpipes.

Immaculate toilet and showers at top of feild, nice hott shower with plenty of room to get dressed!

A couple of peacocks wandering around with chickens and ducks and some very cute piglets that my daughter wanted to pignap!

A nice walk to village down the lane for a paper, no ice creams though!

Lovely eggs and sausage from ted the owner for breakfast. No play area but ted very kindly delivered a bale of hay he was collecting for the kids to play on witch provided hours of fun!

We were only booked to stay 2 nights but my kids loved it so much they begged to stay another night which we did.

Great field with plenty of space, fantastic owners and we plan to return every weekend when there is no torrential rain!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fionavan 39 reviews from this member

Only stayed for one night so that we could get to Cosford Airshow nice & early - approx. 10-15 mins drive (excellent museum). Everyone very friendly & helpful (Carol? on the phone, and Ted when we arrived)

Large open field site - would be great for families & games, we only managed frisbee due to bad weather & limited numbers

Plenty of space on large gentle slope with shower block at the top of the site, frequent water pipes & plentiful hook-ups.

The shower block was spotless at all times, shiny & new shower with piping hot water & plenty of space to get dried & dressed in a warm cubicle afterwards - one shower, two loos in the ladies, I believe the gents is the same.

Although we arrived a bit late for the farm shop, we sampled Ted's sausages - gorgeous!

All in all a good site with everything we needed, in a pretty aprt of the world - would make a good base to tour the area, and we'd like to return. I haven't marked child friendliness as we only had one with us, and Oliver had a lot to plan for the day at the air show!

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Teds At Hunger Hill?   There is a shop on site    View all facilities

Is Teds At Hunger Hill dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Shifnal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3407 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020