Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Island Lodge Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Kingsbridge > Island Lodge Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Island Lodge Caravan & Camping Site
Stumpy Post Cross
Kingsbridge
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ7 4BL
Tel: 01548 852956
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 35
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 22 Reviews
                8/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jean Mercer 1 review from this member

 We have just arrived home after a brilliant Holiday at Island Lodge. This small site is very well kept and the facilities are immaculate.

On arrival, we were given lots of local information and had a choice of a hardstanding or grass pitch. We preferred the grass pitch.

The owner was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We felt very comfortable and relaxed here. A hose broke in our caravan and the owner supplied us with one of her own.

The site is very well situated for exploring this beautiful area and we enjoyed some lovely cliff walks. We like to have a walk after our evening dinner and there is a couple of lanes just up the road where we walked each evening. The verges of these lanes were very pretty with wild flowers growing out of the banks. One lane led down to Kingsbridge and had lovely views but it was all up hill on the way back.

We are quite keen birdwatchers and on site there were numerous birds including Woodpeckers and Nuthatch. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dorothy North 3 reviews from this member

 During the first 24hrs of our first visit to Island Lodge in May last year we fell in love with this peaceful place, and its friendly helpful owner, and now have a seasonal pitch here that we use often. The site is beautifully maintained - both pitches, and facilities. The shower block has recently been improved and extended; the disabled shower room is first class. There's plenty to do and see in the surrounding area from uncrowded beaches; Dartmoor National Park; lots of good eating places; and small but interesting market towns including Kingsbridge just over a mile away. Dogs are made welcome on site and in the area. There are plenty of good walks close by, and a lane just off the site that is perfect to excercise your dog. Many pubs in the area are dog-friendly so eating out with our pet is no problem - she was even made welcome at the local church today as it was much too hot to leave her in the car! We don't have children so have not given a 'star rating' for child friendliness - however, the fact that there are baby-changing facilities and that I've seen some happy looking children while staying lead me to believe that they are made as welcome as we and our dog are! 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheeky oiks 2 reviews from this member

 We have used this site on many occasions and always found the owner very helpful and full of local information. If she does not know then she knows a man who does! The information provided by the site prior to arrival clearly states that credit cards or debit cards are not accepted and that cash payment for any balance due is required on arrival. I do not see a problem with this. The site does allow dogs and it is the owners responsibility to ensure they are under control and kept on a lead. Whilst there is no actual dog exercise area on site, there are plenty of dog walks just outside the site. There is dog waste facilities on site. No dogs should ever be left in the outfit or awning unattended. There are plenty of dog friendly pubs, beaches and attractions in the area so they do not need to be left.

The site is beautifully maintained and the facilities ( toilet, showers, laundry etc;) at the site care first class which have over the years continued to be improved. The site is now rated as a 4 pennant site by the aa. There is a very useful small shop on site for those things you forget to pack or need quickly on site.

There are glass bottle recycling facilities and you pay a nominal amount for a waste bags. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colouredcob 5 reviews from this member

 This site was our first place to visit with our caravan and 2 dogs, the owner seems a little prickly and abrupt but I am guessing this is just her way, having spoken to a couple of others who we're camping they felt she was rude and they would not stay again. We were given lots of brochures regarding the surrounding area and things to do when we checked in.

There is wifi advertised for the site but we never used this as our mobile phone provides us with internet coverage.

The site is very nice indeed, very clean, showers are lovely with plenty of hot water. There is only one washing machine which is token operated for 3, considering the site was not that busy, I had to wait a couple of hours to use it. Imagine that this would be a pain once the site becomes busy.

There is an odd set up regarding the rubbish, there are NO bins and you need to purchase a 'green' bin bag for 1. 50. We decided against this and took our rubbish to the town and placed it in the rubbish bin there.

Our stay was peaceful and enjoyable. Sadly we were not permitted by the owner to leave the dogs at all, we have crates which they sleep in and they are very well behaved so this made meals out in the evening a problem. Because of this I would not wish to take the dogs again and so may choose a different site.

No card facilities available so cash needed to be paid on arrival, this caught us out and we had to go and find a cash point, which after a 6 hour drive was the last thing we wanted to do.

There was a small play area which seemed popular with the small children that turned up the day we were leaving.

Hook up was good, everything worked fine, plenty of water taps available,

Considering all this I would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lizzard 1 review from this member

 This was a great site to use out of season - couldn't find many that were open all year in this area. It was ideal for exploring the area as Dartmouth was only an hour on the bus from Kingsbridge and Salcombe only half hour. The pleasant walk into Kingsbridge was down a relatively traffic free country lane and was just over 2 miles. However coming back was all uphill so it's easier to take the bus back which is about 10 mins. Once in Kingsbridge you can get buses to pretty much anywhere. Ferries run to Salcombe in the summer. The Seven Stars is a lovely dog friendly pub near the bus station, but we didn't find any pubs or eating places within walking distance of the site. Although it is dog friendly there isn't a designated dog walk where you can let the dog off the lead, but as mentioned earlier the lane to Kingsbridge is nice to walk down although not safe to let the dog off as local cars do use it. The toilet block was very clean but with only 2 wash basins I should imagine it can get very busy in the summer months. Mirrors above the wash basins in the ladies would have been nice and a shelf to put your wash bag on to save putting it on the floor. These really are minor points though as there was always hot water and the showers were lovely. My only gripe was the rubbish disposal system - you had to pay 1. 50 for a green rubbish bag to dispose of any waste as there were no bins anywhere. I found it very strange not to have recycling bins (apart from glass). All in all though a pleasant stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dorandles 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic stay we have just had at this wonderful site. The site is superbly equipped with lovely clean showers/toilet block, hook-ups, hard and grass standings, children's play area.

The owners are on site and very welcoming and helpful, nothing too much trouble.

Very close to fantastic beaches of Hope Cove, Kingsbridge, Salcombe and only a short drive or bus ride to historic Plymouth and Dartmouth

Will be visiting again, as soon as possible ! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ros69 1 review from this member

 This is the second year we have had a seasonal pitch at the site and it suits our family (2 adults, 3 children aged 12, 10 and 7 and dog) perfectly. Tranquil location in beautiful area, with Kingsbridge shops only a mile away. Hard standing is on quite a slope but we do have mains water and drainage connected - a huge bonus. Children play safely in small field with basic play equipment but always in view of parents. Wash block clean and comfortable, recently extended. Site owner keeps a close eye on all activities and ensures we are happy and secure. Small pop-up shop this season sells essentials, ice creams etc. Which the children love. We feel relaxed and contented when we come here - an ideal holiday retreat for those seeking peace and easy access to a gorgeous area bursting with things to do. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jade45 1 review from this member

 Great little site, found by chance as touring the area. Well kept grass, nice and tidy every where. Facilities there was every thing you could need and very clean - spacious toilets & showers, and a very large indoor dishwashing room with hot water. Luckily in a quiet location not far from the main town of Kingsbridge. We were only a couple, but there was a nice play area if you have kids, and the owner was very friendly and helpful with local information on where to go. Would definitely go back if in the area again. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LSA85 3 reviews from this member

 One of the best camp sites we have ever been too!

Very friendly owners. The site is basic but it has everything you need and it is clean and fresh! Had a toilet block with laundry room and washing up area. Children's play area.

The site has some permanent residents who couldn't have been nicer.

The site is only minutes from Kingsbridge which is a gorgeous place and also some really lovely beaches.

The shop is small on the site but if you need anything they don't have they offer you the use of the shop on the campsite opposite which is a lot bigger.

Really amazing value for money and will be back very soon 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jandf 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at Island Lodge every month this year. I would recommend this site to anyone seeking a peaceful country location close to lovely coast and lots to do. The toilets are new (2009) and very clean and warm. The showers are not on a timer which many other sites have and you have complete control over the temperature. The price is value for money and the owner is very helpful and approachable.

The rubbish system is better than most sites where their bin areas in the summer can be overflowing and smelly. Island Lodge uses large purple waste bags (1 each) which hold a weeks rubbish (2 people) When full you put them near the entrance and they are collected daily preventing smells/flies and unsightly mess. The site does have some slope to it but South Hams is a hilly area, you are able to pick where you want to stay and there are some parts of the site which are level but may be taken when the site is busy. Island Lodge provides everything we are looking for in a site and look forward to staying there again this month 


Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Island Lodge Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Island Lodge Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Island Lodge Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kingsbridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5529 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement