Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moss Wood Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Moss Wood Caravan Park Reviews

Moss Wood Caravan Park
Crimbles Lane
Cockerham
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 0ES
Tel: 01524 791041
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 31
Open: 1st March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 25 Reviews
                10/10 from 25 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smash1919 1 review from this member

Excellent campsite. We chose it for our first outing with the tourer because of the good reviews and being relatively close to home. It is very relaxed, clean and well maintained, the pitches are large enough with everything you need, grey water, fresh water and electricity.

Well sign posted with reception immediately visible on arrival. Very friendly park wardens who were very helpful and allowed us to stay later on departure day.

The campsite is well maintained with separate sections for tourers, seasonals, statics and tents. The playground kept the kids occupied and there is a huge playing field for ball games just behind reception. There is a little lake well stocked with fish which is a nice little wander and even a little woodlands to explore.

The toilet/shower block is well maintained and clean. The only complaint/comment is that the showers are too hot. Thankfully I was warned by other campers but you could not let kiddies have a shower it's too hot and even the adults struggled to stand under them. This is the only reason it's not a 10 out of 10 across the board.

The little shop is small but well stocked with a library of DVDs and second hand books to loan.

Close by the Wallingford ice cream shop and pudding restaurant is well worth a visit, fabulous ice cream and very reasonably priced which explains why there are queues out of the door and round the building, the good news is that the queue is fast moving. Puddings are amazing too and you can get a cakeaway if you can't fit it in after the ice cream.

The local chop shop 'thorpeys' does amazing fish and chips.

All in all a great first trip. The kids gave if a million out of ten! Only warning is there didn't appear to be much to do locally if you like going on hikes but if you just want a relaxing few days it's perfect.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Niccolls 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, very friendly staff very helpful as it was our first time touring. We had a lovely pitch and it was in the sunshine. The playground was quite close so you could see your children playing. Our boy made friends.

The showers and toilets close by lovely hot showers generous cubicles. We had a lovely walk through the blue bell wood beautiful. We met some great people who gave us lots of advice and everyone was friendly.

Nearby is wallings ice cream parlour fab you get huge servings of real ice cream. Can't wait to visit again in summer holidays.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony t bone 10 reviews from this member

This is a very good site. We were phoned by the owners en route to say that if we were going to arrive early that was fine, infact told us to arrive as early as we wanted!Both owners very friendly.

The on site shop was really quite good with very reasonable prices. The shower block was pristine with constant hot water. Although of the push button type, once pressed, stayed on for a good while.

Pitches were more or less level with the grass resembling that of a bowling green rather than a caravan site!Pitches have own water, EHU and grey waste disposal.

The children's playground was adequate with lots of children regularly using it.

A well kept fishing pond on site which is well stocked. Kept my 21 year old step son entertained for hours.

One minor and only criticism was the absence of a hose pipe in the chemical disposal point. It didn't present too much of a problem but would have made life a bit easier. All in all a great site and we will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jeanchene 2 reviews from this member

An excellent site with truly helpful staff.

Comfortable, good facilities, very clean and hot showers.

Looking forward to another visit.

Pity about the weather but no fault of the site--the pitches were dry and A OK.

The chippy was a fair drive but again worth the effort--useful little shop on site and the staff could not have been more accommodating.

A great place for a weekend or for newbies to touring.

Kids playground was a real hit with my grandsons but never noisy at any time.

An excellent stop over for lake district visits or just to get away into rural unspoiled England-yes it does exist North of Potters Bar.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tizerj 1 review from this member

Excellent. We are new to caravanning and found this site because it was an hour away and wanted to get used to our van, awning etc. What we found impressive was the space we had in which to manoeuvre the van into position (not that this was necessary because the owner offered to do this for us!) but novice towers will understand! We were opposite the children's play area which we found ideal (and the kids loved their new found freedom). Toilet block very clean and also dish washing area ideal. Wish we'd have stayed longer to get involved in Easter activities going on, or to discover more of surrounding area, but definitely going here again, it's well worth the money!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Karenlucy1974 1 review from this member

What can I say? This is the 4th time we have stayed at Mosswood and we love it!

Its only 45 minutes from home so perfect for a Friday evening getaway.

The staff are wonderful and remember you even if you have only been once before. We love the pitches and the space, having a large twin axle van is not a problem here!

Washroom facilities are great, clean and spacious.

The kids love the play area and always make friends.

We cant wait to go back. Its lovely waking up at 9.30am to the sounds of the birds singing and not campers / caravanners up early and being noisy as we have experienced on other sites.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Claver58 4 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site that we would definitely recommend. It has 100+ statics and then space for 25 tourers.

Each tourer pitch is serviced with hard standing, waste and fresh water. I measured pitch spacing at about 26 foot.

A small shop at reception and they have a separate field that is GINORMOUS for ball games etc. At bank holidays, we understand they have evening events for people on this field. They have a fishing lake nearby with carp up to 12 lbs, not that I'm a fisherman. An excellent children's playground as well.

The loo and shower blocks are immaculate and I cannot fault them. The site is beautifully maintained. Quite a few of the tourers are left there for the whole season. Park is quiet and Clevelys is about 1/2 hr away.

Cost in June 2009 was 18 per night.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Makie 7 reviews from this member

We stayed at Mosswood for May Bank Holiday and were very impressed. The site is well run by very friendly staff and despite a huge down pour we had a very relaxing time. The shower/toilet facilities on the site were clean and well maintained and the site has a small shop selling all the basics at competitive prices. There are no tents allowed on site, which is a mix of static and touring caravans. Over the weekend the static owners had arranged activaties for kids and adults (sports, disco and games night) and made the campers in tourers very welcome, a good time was had by all. A very good play park is on site for kids.

In the area there are plenty of places to visit and a good selection of pubs and restaurants. Garstang is a stones through away and has some great shops selling local produce for the discerning shopper, the fishmonger is particularly good.

I would highly recommended this site for a visit, I will definitely return soon.

Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy b35 10 reviews from this member

We live local and fancied a short break away and looked around and what a little gem we found

A tidy well presented site with all the facility's you need for a holiday.

Each pitch has its own electric and waste water supply (grey water drain by electric hook up)

Toilets are spotless and I would say to be honest the cleanest I have seen to date. Showers are big enough for family's.

I would describe this site as a quiet one close to blackpool ,fleetwood,garstang,preston and lancaster so plenty to do in the surrounding area.

On site has a basic shop and a playground (pretty good one)for the kids ,also a field is set aside for the kids to play footie or such .

The staff (or the lady we spoke to on site) is friendly, helpful and what you should expect A+

In all a basic site for a quiet getaway but pretty close to attractions

7/10 for me will visit again

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Delboy5465 20 reviews from this member

A lovely site not far from the small village of Cockerham.The pitch was large with plenty of room to reverse your unit onto the pitch.Each pitch was fully serviced.The site is ideal for families with small children as there is a great playground and also a huge field behind reception for them to let off steam .The road down to the site does get alittle narrow in places so keep to the arrival and vacating times which were arrivals after2pm and vacating pitches for 12 noon.Upon arrival at the site we were met by the warden who was a very friendly man who explained all the facilities,you could also order your morning newspaper.The shower and toilet block were absolutely spotless with two large showers in each for both sexes.The cost for our camper with 5 people was 20 pounds per night which was reasonable .Would I ever use this site again? yes I would not hesitate ,you cannot beat camping in the countryside with only the sounds of birds for company.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4567 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019