Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moss Wood Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Moss Wood Caravan Park
Crimbles Lane
Cockerham
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 0ES
Tel: 01524 791041
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 31
Open: 1st March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 25 Reviews
                10/10 from 25 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Mondeocort 34 reviews from this member

Arrived mid afternoon to a warm welcome and reception staff were friendly and informative. We were told where and how to pitch on what was a very quiet weekend with only a couple of other touring units on site. There were other units which were seasonal.

The pitches were not spacious and they were close together so we were glad it was quiet. Had it been busy with units pitched either side, we would have felt hemmed in and claustrophobic. The layout on pitch was van and awning on hardstanding then car parked on grass between each pitch. Car parking was available elsewhere on site. The services were at the back of each pitch so we didn't need to use our aqua roll or waste hog as we carry hoses etc for use on serviced pitches.

The facilities were spotlessly clean, warm and it was lovely to have a shower with room enough to change without getting clothes wet etc.

The reception also doubled up as a small shop with essentials and treats available.

The site was made up of a statics mainly with tourers to the edge of it, it did feel like one site though, not them and us!

Access to the site was easy if you consider that you may meet oncoming traffic and be willing to wait in wider parts of the road or passing place. The road is quiet though so chances are most of the time, you will not meet oncoming traffic.

We have a big dog and an amble around the site was adequate for a morning and night time walk. There appeared to be plenty of footpaths and bridleways further a field for longer walks. We would have liked to have seen a secure paddock / field for dogs to be able to use for a run and to burn some pent up energy on site. More sites are providing these now, room allowing and they are well used.

Would we return, yes only for a couple of nights and only during off peak periods.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LENNYP 1 review from this member

Just spent 2 nights at this lovely site

The site was spotless and well kept and everyone very friendly including Chris who told me the best spot to fish which meant I spent a few hrs catching some lovely fish.

We will return

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lornamd 12 reviews from this member

A one night stop on the way to return our hired motorhome- lovely site.

Welcome was so friendly, offered us a pitch to watch the sunset from and showed us where to let the dogs have a run.

Toilet block was warm, clean and very spacious.

Site is nicely laid out with touring area and static units. Electric and water points on each pitch, our only problem was the lack of a drive over grey water drain, but we managed! Shop and reception building is very modern and all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

We would definitely return, and maybe for a bit of a longer stay.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 71Scottie 7 reviews from this member

Lovely site which is very well looked after. Owners very friendly and helpful.

Site is primarily for Static Vans but there is a nice area for tourers. The only criticism is that the pitches are two narrow (would never get caravan, awning and car alongside each other as requested) and too close to neighbours.

The toilets and showers were kept very clean, even though the site was busy, with reasonably good facilities.

Even though there were children playing (as they should be!) everything quieted down by 9pm.

Would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Conde 2 reviews from this member

Stayed on this Caravan site for two nights in our touring Caravan. We meet friends for the weekend, first impressions was that the pitches are quite close together, however as we were not putting up an awning and we were pitched next to each other this didnít cause a problem.

Apart from that all the other facilities on site were excellent, well laid out and very clean. The kids play Park was well designed for all ages and well maintained. The touring park was full when we arrived but the facilities were more than amble to accommodate this.

Good field for dog walking and kids playing ball games etc, away from caravans.

We visited the ice cream farm down the road which was excellent and good value for money, would definitely recommend this Caravan site and ice cream farm. Hope to stay here again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RobOwen 2 reviews from this member

We arrived on a Friday of a bank holiday weekend and the site was fully booked, so everything was at capacity. That said facilities were well maintained and clean, the grounds were not over-run nor was the children's play area noisy or crowded.

Pitches are a little narrow and perhaps one of the tightest we have stopped on, but there was room for us to roll out our awning and set up a dog pen for our 2 young Dalmatians.

The playground and playing field kept our 9 year old son occupied for the duration of our 3 night stay.

The area for exercising the dogs was very good and everyone seemed to clean up after walking their dogs.

All-in-all a very nice site with friendly staff, well maintained facilities and a fitting sister site to Skelwith Fold.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ling2008 1 review from this member

First trip in our new van took us to Moss Wood. What a pleasant place to go! Really lovely owners, beautiful reception and shop, fantastic toilet block. All amenities were 1st class.

Very nice secluded spot that was easy to get to for us first timers. Lots of sunshine to boot! Really good waking get areas for the dog and play area for kids.

Can't recommend highly enough.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevord2011 7 reviews from this member

Fantastic a lot of sites could learn a lot from them.

Arrived on the Tuesday afternoon and office as closed as day off barrier let us in and after a few minutes was met by Chris sorted out the paperwork and toilet key put us next to toilet block as wife as walking problems. Nice well looked after site clean and tidy.

Kids play area great our 5 year old loved it and able to see from the van.

Owner really helpful great little shop on site.

One we will be back to next year.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blueboy66-mcfc 1 review from this member

What a lovely hidden gem located near enough on our doorstep. Just come back from a 3 night stay on this well maintained beautiful site.

Was told by Sandra to find our spot and we certainly did. Sun all day round and the Toilet & Shower Block where right opposite our Caravan.

Really clean and spotless and the price for the night was outstanding value for money! I would highly Recommend this site for someone looking for a Tranquil and Peaceful stay.

The shop was well stocked and the people working on the site where really polite & helpful. Me and my wife liked the site so much we are considering purchasing a Static Caravan on this site so we can chill out and relax without the hassle of Towing & Pitching up.

Thanks Sandra & Chris.

Paul & Sue

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debsy70 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from this lovely site. The owners were very nice. We took our two small dogs and the dog walking area was beautiful and very big.

Most sites only offer a very small exercise area so this was really welcomed. The area for tourers is great.

Lots of space and there is a lovely little fishing pond at the back if you like fishing. We went to Morecambe for the afternoon and to be honest there isn't much there especially we weren't allowed on the beach with the dogs.

Got nice fish n chips on the front though. We loved this site, so much so we left it there to return this weekend. Can't wait.

Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3159 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019