Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Moss Wood Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Site Reviews

Moss Wood Caravan Park
Crimbles Lane
Cockerham
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 0ES
Tel: 01524 791041
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 31
Open: 1st March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 22 Reviews
                10/10 from 22 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24) and Video

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 71Scottie 7 reviews from this member

Lovely site which is very well looked after. Owners very friendly and helpful.

Site is primarily for Static Vans but there is a nice area for tourers. The only criticism is that the pitches are two narrow (would never get caravan, awning and car alongside each other as requested) and too close to neighbours.

The toilets and showers were kept very clean, even though the site was busy, with reasonably good facilities.

Even though there were children playing (as they should be!) everything quieted down by 9pm.

Would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue Conde 2 reviews from this member

Stayed on this Caravan site for two nights in our touring Caravan. We meet friends for the weekend, first impressions was that the pitches are quite close together, however as we were not putting up an awning and we were pitched next to each other this didnít cause a problem. Apart from that all the other facilities on site were excellent, well laid out and very clean. The kids play Park was well designed for all ages and well maintained. The touring park was full when we arrived but the facilities were more than amble to accommodate this. Good field for dog walking and kids playing ball games etc, away from caravans. We visited the ice cream farm down the road which was excellent and good value for money, would definitely recommend this Caravan site and ice cream farm. Hope to stay here again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RobOwen 2 reviews from this member

We arrived on a Friday of a bank holiday weekend and the site was fully booked, so everything was at capacity. That said facilities were well maintained and clean, the grounds were not over-run nor was the children's play area noisy or crowded.

Pitches are a little narrow and perhaps one of the tightest we have stopped on, but there was room for us to roll out our awning and set up a dog pen for our 2 young Dalmatians. The playground and playing field kept our 9 year old son occupied for the duration of our 3 night stay.

The area for exercising the dogs was very good and everyone seemed to clean up after walking their dogs.

All-in-all a very nice site with friendly staff, well maintained facilities and a fitting sister site to Skelwith Fold.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ling2008 1 review from this member

First trip in our new van took us to Moss Wood. What a pleasant place to go! Really lovely owners, beautiful reception and shop, fantastic toilet block. All amenities were 1st class. Very nice secluded spot that was easy to get to for us first timers. Lots of sunshine to boot! Really good waking get areas for the dog and play area for kids. Can't recommend highly enough.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevord2011 7 reviews from this member

Fantastic a lot of sites could learn a lot from them.

Arrived on the Tuesday afternoon and office as closed as day off barrier let us in and after a few minutes was met by Chris sorted out the paperwork and toilet key put us next to toilet block as wife as walking problems. Nice well looked after site clean and tidy.

Kids play area great our 5 year old loved it and able to see from the van.

Owner really helpful great little shop on site.

One we will be back to next year.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blueboy66-mcfc 1 review from this member

What a lovely hidden gem located near enough on our doorstep. Just come back from a 3 night stay on this well maintained beautiful site. Was told by Sandra to find our spot and we certainly did. Sun all day round and the Toilet & Shower Block where right opposite our Caravan. Really clean and spotless and the price for the night was outstanding value for money! I would highly Recommend this site for someone looking for a Tranquil and Peaceful stay. The shop was well stocked and the people working on the site where really polite & helpful. Me and my wife liked the site so much we are considering purchasing a Static Caravan on this site so we can chill out and relax without the hassle of Towing & Pitching up. Thanks Sandra & Chris.

Paul & Sue

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debsy70 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from this lovely site. The owners were very nice. We took our two small dogs and the dog walking area was beautiful and very big. Most sites only offer a very small exercise area so this was really welcomed. The area for tourers is great. Lots of space and there is a lovely little fishing pond at the back if you like fishing. We went to Morecambe for the afternoon and to be honest there isn't much there especially we weren't allowed on the beach with the dogs. Got nice fish n chips on the front though. We loved this site, so much so we left it there to return this weekend. Can't wait.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smash1919 1 review from this member

Excellent campsite. We chose it for our first outing with the tourer because of the good reviews and being relatively close to home. It is very relaxed, clean and well maintained, the pitches are large enough with everything you need, grey water, fresh water and electricity.

Well sign posted with reception immediately visible on arrival. Very friendly park wardens who were very helpful and allowed us to stay later on departure day.

The campsite is well maintained with separate sections for tourers, seasonals, statics and tents. The playground kept the kids occupied and there is a huge playing field for ball games just behind reception. There is a little lake well stocked with fish which is a nice little wander and even a little woodlands to explore.

The toilet/shower block is well maintained and clean. The only complaint/comment is that the showers are too hot. Thankfully I was warned by other campers but you could not let kiddies have a shower it's too hot and even the adults struggled to stand under them. This is the only reason it's not a 10 out of 10 across the board.

The little shop is small but well stocked with a library of DVDs and second hand books to loan.

Close by the Wallingford ice cream shop and pudding restaurant is well worth a visit, fabulous ice cream and very reasonably priced which explains why there are queues out of the door and round the building, the good news is that the queue is fast moving. Puddings are amazing too and you can get a cakeaway if you can't fit it in after the ice cream.

The local chop shop 'thorpeys' does amazing fish and chips.

All in all a great first trip. The kids gave if a million out of ten! Only warning is there didn't appear to be much to do locally if you like going on hikes but if you just want a relaxing few days it's perfect.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Niccolls 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, very friendly staff very helpful as it was our first time touring. We had a lovely pitch and it was in the sunshine. The playground was quite close so you could see your children playing. Our boy made friends. The showers and toilets close by lovely hot showers generous cubicles. We had a lovely walk through the blue bell wood beautiful. We met some great people who gave us lots of advice and everyone was friendly.

Nearby is wallings ice cream parlour fab you get huge servings of real ice cream. Can't wait to visit again in summer holidays.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tony t bone 10 reviews from this member

This is a very good site. We were phoned by the owners en route to say that if we were going to arrive early that was fine, infact told us to arrive as early as we wanted!Both owners very friendly.

The on site shop was really quite good with very reasonable prices. The shower block was pristine with constant hot water. Although of the push button type, once pressed, stayed on for a good while.

Pitches were more or less level with the grass resembling that of a bowling green rather than a caravan site!Pitches have own water, EHU and grey waste disposal.

The children's playground was adequate with lots of children regularly using it.

A well kept fishing pond on site which is well stocked. Kept my 21 year old step son entertained for hours.

One minor and only criticism was the absence of a hose pipe in the chemical disposal point. It didn't present too much of a problem but would have made life a bit easier. All in all a great site and we will definitely be returning.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Lancashire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


488 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0947