Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Moss Wood Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Lancaster > Moss Wood Caravan Park Reviews

Moss Wood Caravan Park
Crimbles Lane
Cockerham
Lancaster
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA2 0ES
Tel: 01524 791041
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 31
Open: 1st March To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 27 Reviews
                9/10 from 27 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Holton60656pob 1 review from this member

 Very well laid out site and the team running this park were amazingly friendly. The guy eventually parked my van for me (first time out). Good choice of local produce too and free loan of books and DVDís.

The only downside is the steep hill to exit where you have to drive up to the barrier before it opens, my car didnít like me holding it on the clutch.

If you want a peaceful out of the way site then enjoy this one.

Give reception a call for the alternative route avoiding a very steep bridge.

Overall 10/10 and we will be back thank you. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JethroT 2 reviews from this member

 Booked as close to Lancaster. Toilets are clean but in the ladies you are sitting on top of the sanitary bin, very small.

Liked the herb garden. Bus stop not in walking distance so transport needed. Wardens pleasant. Site is very wet.

Pitches close together 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Mondeocort 38 reviews from this member

 Arrived mid afternoon to a warm welcome and reception staff were friendly and informative. We were told where and how to pitch on what was a very quiet weekend with only a couple of other touring units on site. There were other units which were seasonal.

The pitches were not spacious and they were close together so we were glad it was quiet. Had it been busy with units pitched either side, we would have felt hemmed in and claustrophobic. The layout on pitch was van and awning on hardstanding then car parked on grass between each pitch. Car parking was available elsewhere on site. The services were at the back of each pitch so we didn't need to use our aqua roll or waste hog as we carry hoses etc for use on serviced pitches.

The facilities were spotlessly clean, warm and it was lovely to have a shower with room enough to change without getting clothes wet etc.

The reception also doubled up as a small shop with essentials and treats available.

The site was made up of a statics mainly with tourers to the edge of it, it did feel like one site though, not them and us!

Access to the site was easy if you consider that you may meet oncoming traffic and be willing to wait in wider parts of the road or passing place. The road is quiet though so chances are most of the time, you will not meet oncoming traffic.

We have a big dog and an amble around the site was adequate for a morning and night time walk. There appeared to be plenty of footpaths and bridleways further a field for longer walks. We would have liked to have seen a secure paddock / field for dogs to be able to use for a run and to burn some pent up energy on site. More sites are providing these now, room allowing and they are well used.

Would we return, yes only for a couple of nights and only during off peak periods. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LENNYP 1 review from this member

 Just spent 2 nights at this lovely site

The site was spotless and well kept and everyone very friendly including Chris who told me the best spot to fish which meant I spent a few hrs catching some lovely fish.

We will return 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lornamd 13 reviews from this member

 A one night stop on the way to return our hired motorhome- lovely site.

Welcome was so friendly, offered us a pitch to watch the sunset from and showed us where to let the dogs have a run.

Toilet block was warm, clean and very spacious.

Site is nicely laid out with touring area and static units. Electric and water points on each pitch, our only problem was the lack of a drive over grey water drain, but we managed! Shop and reception building is very modern and all the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

We would definitely return, and maybe for a bit of a longer stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 71Scottie 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely site which is very well looked after. Owners very friendly and helpful.

Site is primarily for Static Vans but there is a nice area for tourers. The only criticism is that the pitches are two narrow (would never get caravan, awning and car alongside each other as requested) and too close to neighbours.

The toilets and showers were kept very clean, even though the site was busy, with reasonably good facilities.

Even though there were children playing (as they should be!) everything quieted down by 9pm.

Would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue Conde 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this Caravan site for two nights in our touring Caravan. We meet friends for the weekend, first impressions was that the pitches are quite close together, however as we were not putting up an awning and we were pitched next to each other this didnít cause a problem.

Apart from that all the other facilities on site were excellent, well laid out and very clean. The kids play Park was well designed for all ages and well maintained. The touring park was full when we arrived but the facilities were more than amble to accommodate this.

Good field for dog walking and kids playing ball games etc, away from caravans.

We visited the ice cream farm down the road which was excellent and good value for money, would definitely recommend this Caravan site and ice cream farm. Hope to stay here again soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RobOwen 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived on a Friday of a bank holiday weekend and the site was fully booked, so everything was at capacity. That said facilities were well maintained and clean, the grounds were not over-run nor was the children's play area noisy or crowded.

Pitches are a little narrow and perhaps one of the tightest we have stopped on, but there was room for us to roll out our awning and set up a dog pen for our 2 young Dalmatians.

The playground and playing field kept our 9 year old son occupied for the duration of our 3 night stay.

The area for exercising the dogs was very good and everyone seemed to clean up after walking their dogs.

All-in-all a very nice site with friendly staff, well maintained facilities and a fitting sister site to Skelwith Fold. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ling2008 1 review from this member

 First trip in our new van took us to Moss Wood. What a pleasant place to go! Really lovely owners, beautiful reception and shop, fantastic toilet block. All amenities were 1st class.

Very nice secluded spot that was easy to get to for us first timers. Lots of sunshine to boot! Really good waking get areas for the dog and play area for kids.

Can't recommend highly enough. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trevord2011 7 reviews from this member

 Fantastic a lot of sites could learn a lot from them.

Arrived on the Tuesday afternoon and office as closed as day off barrier let us in and after a few minutes was met by Chris sorted out the paperwork and toilet key put us next to toilet block as wife as walking problems. Nice well looked after site clean and tidy.

Kids play area great our 5 year old loved it and able to see from the van.

Owner really helpful great little shop on site.

One we will be back to next year. 


Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moss Wood Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Moss Wood Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Moss Wood Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lancaster      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6294 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement