Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Longniddry > Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays) Reviews

Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays)
Seton Sands
Longniddry
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH32 0QF
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 34 Reviews
                6/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. We don't have toilets. We don't have showers. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kangeroopoo 4 reviews from this member

 Seaton Sands has an entertainment venue for kids which is excellent - even has a swimming pool. Staying in a caravan is fine. However their attention to the camping side is very poor - sunken camping field with poor drainage resulted in the flooding of our tent and the formation of a small pond near the toilet block last year. This year they have thrown strips of turf (badly) over the area that was flooded (the pond).

The shower block was grim as there is nowhere for you to put your clothes in the tiny cubicle. It looked so grubby I used the disabled shower - which was bigger but still no chair or place to hang clothes.

We stayed here last year and attended the Edinburgh Tattoo which was fantastic - the same thick cobwebs and dead spiders still adorn the ceiling in the toilet block.

Camping field needs work - proper drainage and re-turfing. Toilet/shower block needs gutting and redesigning so shower areas give somewhere to put your clothes and get dressed. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tricia16 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 3 nights at this site, launderette, shop and chip shop at one end and swimming pool and main complex at other end.

Beach just across the road. Toilet block was OK, free showers but floors were always in a mess, I think one of the toilets were leaking. Covered dish washing area with 2 sinks and plenty of hot water.

Did not use complex as had the dog with me. Torrential rain on the last night and when we woke the tents opposite were flooded, clients were moved to other pitches, Malcolm who looks after the touring area was very helpful,

I would book this site again as enjoyed chilling out and going for walks with the dog. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Loopytriplelll 27 reviews from this member

 Once again just returned from another wonderful stay in Scotland Friday - Tuesday 4 nights.

Having read all the bad reviews about seton sands last year and risking the 5-6 hour journey from Nottinghamshire I'm really glad we did so much that we returned.

Again the touring site is a basic grass site but you get electric all to your self there is water in the taps and although again nothing luxurious a hot shower to swill off. I think the womens showers seem to have had some work but apparently the mens haven't.

I would say to haven if they re-furbished the shower block that at least 50% of the moaners on this site would probably stop. I have had worse b&b in blackpool and paid more. Entertainment usual haven stuff so don't go expecting top cabaret ie Elvis in Las Vegas.

These are young folks probably being paid £6 an hour and working ridiculous hours to keep us holidaymakers happy. They do a good job. We stay at a lot of haven sites and have noticed already this year haven seem to have changed the style of entertainment it's a bit less cheesy.

Now on to our main reason for visiting.

Edinburgh. What a beautiful place to go. It's about 12miles from site and takes about 20 minutes to get there by car. Best and cheapest place to park is Waverley train station right in the city centre, though there is a height limit so no roof boxes we took ours off and left it at site.

There is way too much to list about the city it has so much history and the buildings are magnificent. Do try a bus tour from Waverley bridge (the bright red City sightseeing buses with the horrible histories logo). You get a recorded guide and free headphones and you can get on and off all day

We visit London every year and love it but this couldn't be a more different capital city, it is so tranquil and not at all rushed, there's always something going on on the royal mile. Yes it is a hilly city but even after hours of walking you're not as tired as a few minutes in london. If you like eating out you must go down cannon gate on the royal mile to a small Mexican restaurant called Pancho's Villa (google it) you won't be disappointed.

Another place is a pub called the cuddy Brae just off the by pass (1st exit) as you head back to seton it is easy to miss though. Great service and food. Again try and google it ?? or if you're not that adventurous the chippy on site isn't bad decent portions freshly cooked as you wait mostly(peas a bit dry)

Not much more to say except go and give it a try you never know you might just enjoy yourselves and like we did fall for Edinburgh one of our favourites. Will we return oh yes.

Next stop Littlesea Weymouth July Read on. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JetBlack 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from 1 night at this site, we have stayed in a few haven sites due to good price and there is a lot going on for the kids.

The touring area is not very big and people seem to pitch or park up where ever.

The tents & touring caravans are all in the same area beside a Spar Chip Shop & Laundrette which is handy, there is also a sports area for basketball, football etc, but this can get very noisy if it's a busy weekend like we experienced.

The toilet/shower area can only be described as revolting.

The minute you walk in the ladies the stench hits you, they look like they have not been cleaned or floors mops in years never mind months.

We never witnessed any cleaning regime while we stayed there, we never used the showers as could not have stayed that long due to the stench, and we brought home our dirty dishes as again the washing area had 1 sink which again didn't look great even for dirty dishes.

We did venture into the indoor complex but never stayed long, the whole place seemed to be filled with either NEDS or small kids running riot without supervision.

Needless to say we will be returning! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Smandley 16 reviews from this member

 Just spent 7 nights at this small site. Entertainment good, swimming pool OK, nothing special. Touring site could be much better. Toilet/shower block in desperate need of an upgrade but usable. Right near the shops/launderette. Would probably go again but you don't get much room on your pitch, could be a fire risk issue. Warden - Brian, was very helpful and does the best he can with the facilities he has. Ground wasn't particularly level. Great bus service direct into Edinburgh. Lovely views across the Forth. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AudsleyI 12 reviews from this member

 Having stayed at a few Haven sites over the years I generally know what to expect at their touring sites. I know these sites are not everybody’s cup of tea, but we use them because you can get some good off peak deals and generally they are quite good pitches. Good deal or not, however, I was truly stunned at how low the standard of facilities was at this site; verging on the unacceptable. And I was not the only person there at the time that felt that way after talking to a few fellow campers.

The main issue is what I can only say is the site management’s total lack of any maintenance regime whatsoever which, by default, implies a total, if not cynical, disregard for the paying customer.

As stated in previous reviews the main toilet blocks are in an appalling state of disrepair. You name it, broken, and then “bodge” repaired and then broken again…. All toilet and shower doors with “bodged” locking devices as the originals had long since been damaged and never replaced. Holes in toilet doors, left by the last bodge or broken unit, plugged up with silicon sealer.

The actual size of the toilet cubicles was so small you have to walk round the door and stand at the back wall adjacent to the pot to get in and close the door. The washbasins had no plugs and the hand dryer (which only worked if you pressed its trip test switch – yes, with wet hands) was only just hanging on by its loose wall plugs. I found the toilets in the main bar that serves food to be in similar, if not worse (only one toilet pot with no seat), condition. Although I have to say, though in very poor order, the facilities were always well cleaned.

Now this is not on for a number of reasons, most of them obvious, but one of the main ones being that Haven can be charging up to £40+ a night for you to experience such luxury. Come on Haven, you must do better than this. You may want to blame your guests for destroying all this equipment, but that is part of parcel of the business you’re in. Look it’s quite simple: something gets broke, you get the maintenance department to fix it (if you don’t have a maintenance department, employ one). You have to suffer the possibility that a small minority your touring guests will be vandals, but embrace the fact that majority are not – deal with it.

I will not mention any other of the sites facilities or describe the pitches or any other of the things a normal review would address about a site because it simply is not worth it given how low the parks management obviously think we campers (the paying customer) are.  


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Loopytriplelll 27 reviews from this member

 This site is - Lovely - Lovely - Lovely.

Do not be put off by the previous reviews.

We have just returned from a 3 nights stay at this site and wished we could have booked for longer, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Seton Sands. We read the previous reviews and were totally horrified and not looking forward to our stay - however when we arrived the staff where brilliant and very helpful. The warden pointed out our pitch and left us to it. (I hate it when they stay and watch especially when you have to put the awning up lol)

Yes caravans are mingled in with tents but this is a CAMP SITE.

Yes there is black and green plastic covering on the ground but this is just a covering to protect the grass and reinforce the pitches.

No big deal?????

Yes the showers are basic (but if you want the Ritz then pay Ritz money) - the showers are hot and wet (what more can you ask for) - although cleaned twice a day the floors do get wet and sluggy but this is not a major issue.

The site shop and chip shop was on our door step and so was the entertainment complex (which is a novelty because tourers are usually put on the outskirts and its a car ride to the entertainment)

The entertainments was the best we've seen on haven sites with a duo called 'The Professionals' and a group called 'Back to the 80's' The Funstars were good especially Skip lookout for him - he's a character!

Edinburgh is beautiful - go on the Horrible Histories Sight Seeing Tours its the best and my 8yrs old daughter loved learning all about Edinburgh's murky past.

We will definitely return next year and hope to stay for a full week we enjoyed our stay that much - Excellent site - excellent funstars - prices not bad in the shop or bar - well done Haven. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nedreud 7 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 6 week tour of Northumbria and Southern Scotland, Altogether we stayed on 7 different touring sites. Unfortunately one of them was Seton Sands. We stayed at the beginning of June 2010.

Before I start my major moan -- the plus points, The staff in reception were very friendly and welcoming. They directed us to the touring field and told us to wait at the entrance for the 'Touring Warden' who would meet us there and see us onto our pitch. The site shop is well stocked with prices no higher than most caravan sites. The Take-away served very good food, again prices in line with other tourist areas.

Now the moan --- We arrived at the entrance and waited for the 'Touring Warden'- - and waited -- and waited. After 15 minutes he arrived and said ' Go and park next to the bin compound'. I asked if we could park on the first pitch (No.1) which was unoccupied. He said no, that he had allocated us pich Number 9 (even though the booking form reception had given us stated that we should be on Pitch No. 1.) With that he turned and strode off and did not appear again that day.

We went to pitch No. 9. The field was totally covered in a peculiar plastic mesh in various shades of green and black a few bits not secured down. I have seen valleys in the Lake District less deep and more level than the sight which greeted us. There was also a lot of litter lying around. Our pitch had about a pound of dog biscuits scattered on it. However we had booked and paid so we set up. As others have written, people just seemed to arrive and pitch up just wherever they felt like.

We decide to go for a meal at the restaurant. It was dark, dingy and stank. Totally off-putting, my wife picked up a menu and discovered it was coated in grease, We did not eat there.

Back on the touring field, we looked on in amazement as two couples and numerous children arrived and set up 2 very small tents not on a pitch but between two already occupied pitches. They then proceeded to fasten a large plastic sheet to the perimeter fence and drape it over the tents providing a enough space behind and between them for them all to sleep, whilst there they spread quite a lot of plastic bottles and containers around.

At 10.45pm, On the next pitch another large commercial van arrived, this one slightly modified for sleeping in. This contained a man, a woman and two children, they used the sliding side door as the entrance and exit as they all separately went to the toilets I soon found out just how noisy these doors can be. It turned out that the husband was working in the area and so at 6.15 the next morning the whole family individually went in and out of this door as they went for washes or to the toilet. The van left at 7.30am. This was repeated the next night.

Other people have reported that the toilets were new in 2009. In the mens toilet, every door had had the lock kicked off, My daughter is disabled and on looking at the disabled toilet refused to use it. The Chemical disposal facility was dirty and in serious need of refurbishment. Both times I used it I found fluids of an unknown nature running through the doorway, across the paving onto the grass.

We left after 2 nights even though we had paid for 5. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Supermum44 1 review from this member

 We spent 3 nights at seton sands last weekend. After reading numerous reviews I was really worried as we had already booked. Well when we got there we set up and then plugged in our electrics only to find out that they weren't working, we called security who came over within 5 minutes and told us that the hook up point wasn't working. We had to move to another pitch! I wasn't at all happy about that but we soon got sorted out. I did complain to reception about it the next day, didn't find them particularly helpful.

Anyway, apart from the bad start I can't fault the park. The camping field is uneven but we didn't find it to be a big problem. It wasn't noisy or litter strewn as I've read in other reviews. We found the entertainment very enjoyable and the funstars friendly, especially Skip who went out of his way to entertain and amuse the kids.

We really had a great weekend and are looking forward to going back next month. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gemzy 1 review from this member

 I went in a tent to seton sands in may. I already had been there camping in September & I loved it. I went with my friend & her child & my two children the kids loved it I was up singing at karaoke lol ! but everyone including the staff were so friendly and helpful !

Especially Skip I would recommend seton sands for everyone with kids because skip is amazing he entertained my kids all weekend an got them up on stage !

I will definitely visit seton sands again

The only bad thing was the showers because there was a few spiders in it but other than that it was great!

There is a spar at the camping bit as well as a chip shop which was fantastic 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Longniddry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5459 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement