Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Longniddry > Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays) Reviews

Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays)
Seton Sands
Longniddry
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH32 0QF
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 42
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 34 Reviews
                6/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. We don't have toilets. We don't have showers. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jules29 1 review from this member

 We visited Seton sands this weekend,and the park is good if you are staying in a static caravan. The entertainment and kids facilities were good, but we stayed in their campsite area with our touring caravan and were disappointed. Our major complaint being that it was over crowded and the caravans were much less than 3 metres apart, the ground is very uneven to and some of the people in tents were complaining of this. The toilet and shower area were always busy so using them was a bit rushed. The local shop was stocked up only criticism was the cashline had no money full time we were there. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kevsue1 19 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights here on our campervan tour of Scotland. This site was the low point of the tour! We did think about turning round and looking for another site but it was too late, and we spent the whole day in Edinburgh, leaving very early on the second morning!

The good points -

1.There is a superb bus service into Edinburgh that only costs £1.20 single fare for an adult (where we live you couldn't get a mile on that!) Much cheaper than parking and whilst it takes an hour to get into the city it was an experience

2.Very friendly staff. Very welcoming at the reception and the touring park

3.The toilets were quite new

4.Our teenagers liked the amusements

5.The chips from the shop on site were yummy

The bad points

1.The site was chaos. Tents and caravans every where, no real pitches. Kids and dogs just ran over everyone's pitches. It also felt dirty

2.It was very muddy after a day of rain so it must be bad if it rains for a while, it didn't seem to drain very well

3.It didn't feel very secure, although I did see a security patrol at night

4.The toilets got dirty very quickly, and whilst new the locks in the gents had already been vandalised and were all broken

5.When you have a shower, if someone uses the hot water in the basins, the shower runs cold (there are signs up warning about this)

6.Didn't use the facilities, but the toilets in the club were also vandalised

Would definitely not go back.

Edinburgh on the other hand is fab - go to the Real Mary Kings close -great! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hulltrucker 14 reviews from this member

 Firstly I have to say that the price here was very good value.

The surrounding area is lovely with the foreshore being literally across the road. There is also an excellent regular (and I believe 24hr) bus service that runs from the site into the centre of Edinburgh for only £1.20. The local town of Port Seton has a good value chip shop (the one on site is expensive) and an excellent fishmonger.

The toilets and showers were clean with plenty of hot water (I understand the block was new this year) - no sink plugs though which means us lads have to keep leaning on the push down taps while trying to shave and surprisingly no hand dryer either

The staff were friendly and helpful and although I didn't use them, the facilities (pool etc) looked great.

However, even taking into account this is a family site with the usual noise of children playing it was obvious that no real 'vetting' of clients takes place and I felt there was a higher than to be expected level of disturbances here

I was also concerned about security as there is no barrier on the main gate meaning anyone can drive in at anytime - also the wall between the road and the campsite is so low that anyone can climb over it and indeed there are even some steps halfway along to assist!

Overall I did not feel I could complain given I only paid £5.50 a night including hookup 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dangerousbryman 14 reviews from this member

 I scrolled back through the previous reviews and it seems there is a quite clear decline in the standards at the touring area over the last 2 years. We had originally called in at Seton Sands earlier in the year and enquired about touring rates, as we only live over the Forth in Fife. We were quoted some ridiculous figure like £50+ per night for peak season, and as I had already seen the 'field' I was never going to pay that. However, upon enquiring via the internet later in the year I got a price of about £17 per night. Huge difference for the exact same facilities. Supply and demand I know but annoying nevertheless. And how come a dog costs extra?

The Pitch Manager was the one ray of sunshine in the entire place, helpful, friendly and obliging. Unfortunately the pitches are too close together. They are also poorly arranged and not easy to manoeuvre into. I had a problem with my caravan's electrics and the Pitch Manager went out of his way to help me and loaned me a hook-up lead, and thanks also to Charlie, another caravanner, who tried to assist and who loaned me some electrical gear as well.

My sons went up to shower the first morning and found out of the three showers one had a dirty nappy in it and another was filled with vomit. The floors were muddy and littered with cigarette ends. The cleaning and checking regime is sadly lacking, the fixtures and fittings worn or broken. The taps were loose in their mountings, the lavatory doors bodged with an assortment of DIY repairs. The main door to the block had been vandalised and forced that many times it was barely hanging together.

The chip shop was good but pricey (captive audience) and £2 for a standard bottle of lemonade is taking the mickey. The shop was fairly well stocked, especially as it was late in the season.

The entertainment was loud beyond belief, the drinks expensive, the service slow, huge queues. My wife and I went into the small lounge bar away from the entertainment and there were kids running riot and bouncing up and down on the upholstered furniture. None of the staff spoke to any parents about their little darlings. How about an adult only section?

Returning to the caravan was an obstacle course in the pitch black. Tents had been pitched that close together that we had to take detours around whole areas. The lighting is poor or non-existent.

Before we left the park I filled in the Feedback Questionnaire we were given at check-in but then never submitted it because it stated at the end that internet bookings would receive an emailed feedback form. I am still waiting, but this does not surprise me in the least.  


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Fenlandflyers 2 reviews from this member

 Booked this up as our main school summer holiday. We booked in January 08 as a heavily discounted early booking. It was a prestige 2 bed static that was very clean and came with Bed linen, heating and gas all in the price. We found the cleanliness in the bar area on arrival not up to much which put us off for the rest of the week so we did the self catering bit getting food etc from the excellently stocked site shop.
The children's pla yarea seemed rather run down also and was covered in bark that was filthy. The pool was a bit disappointing also but we found a superb tropical / splash pool at Dunbar which is only 20mls away on the coast and a nice town to visit.
Plenty of places to visit but the brochures do not tell you about the power station a mile up the road which makes the coastal area the parks on look quite industrial. Took the train into Edinburgh for the day during the festival week and that was excellent along with visiting 'camera obscura' next to the castle.
Edinburgh zoo is also an excellent place to visit and we found this the best value for money as we were there all day and still didn't see all we wanted.
Would not stay on this site again but it has not put us off haven. We shall, however, do more research on a site next time before handing over £497 to them. If its standards were as high as Kelling Heath in Norfolk (which we booked a last minute week at as soon as we got home) I would happily recommend it. Unfortunately it was not. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tiggarsmum 22 reviews from this member

 On booking for 4 nights we left after just one. OK it was a last minute cheapy and we certainly didn't go expecting 5,4 or even 3 star standards but this is not a touring park, its a downtrodden, uneven field which Haven tries to shoehorn as many people into as possible.

The pitches are far to close to each other. The person next to us actually parked his car on his pitch and put up his tent within 12 inches of our van. A total disregard for safety but the warden couldn't get him to move so we ended up moving to another pitch although not before the frame of his tent had crashed into the side of our van.

According to my OH, the gents toilets were filthy. I didn't even venture into the ladies so I couldn't comment on them.

By early evening we were treated to the sight youths jumping up and down on the back of a pickup truck whilst their pals were sitting on top of they're caravan.

On returning to the site after a short walk we had to duck to avoid a can of lager that came flying out of a car window as it drove out of the site!

On returning home I wrote and complained to Haven and to be fair I decided not to write this review until I got a reply from them which, after 7 weeks arrived yesterday. In a letter littered with sincere apologies,they have taken my points onboard but do not feel they have broken the terms and conditions of my holiday, so no refund for the 3 nights we didn't stay which I can't say surprises me.

Having said all that, it is a lovely area and well worth a visit if you can find a different site to stay at.

Much as I do not take any pleasure from writing a negative review, I hope it will help someone to make an informed decision about whether to use this park. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Panther-lynne 7 reviews from this member

 Weekend break - was fine for the price (last minute so very cheap). Pitches rather wet although we moved to a slightly better one the second day. Touring area staff helpful. Entertainment at night too loud, too dark and seemed to be geared up to get your money.
Spent a couple of afternoons offsite -Dynamic Earth wasnt great and Butterfly World was. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ecko1uk 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 13 days, Staff friendly. The toilet and shower block leave a lot to be desired even after complaining to reception about the lack of hot water in the showers only managed 1 hot shower during our stay the site was overbooked both weekends of our stay and disabled facilities were poor we asked for a key for disabled toilet and it only operated the disabled shower room ie. No toilet also not even a chair provided. If we go back again it would be only as an overnight stop. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Brian humphreys 11 reviews from this member

 This isn't one of the best run Haven sites we have been to. The pitches are crammed together so much that the guy ropes overlap.  The showers and toilets are poorly designed - too small, with the doors opening inwards.
 
There is no indoor play area and the outdoor play area is a mixture of bark and mud.  Kids feet get filthy.  There is no splash zone.
 
On the plus side it is a short bus ride from Edinburgh and there are nice castles etc. in the area.  The entertainment area is ok but packed at night.  When you drive back to the campsite you know you are going in the right direction when you see the chimneys of Cockensie power station. Brian 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billy coutts 15 reviews from this member

 Booked this site via internet due to cheap price for 7 nights only £46.80. Touring park only OK. All grass pitches and very uneven and vans very close to each other. Toilets were well cleaned but showers and cubicles on small side! As you expect on these British Holiday sites entertainment and leisure facilities excellent and the chipshop on site must be one of the best we have ever tasted and local Chinese takeaway brilliant too! Great location for touring area and for getting into Edinburgh with plenty buses running from site entrance. All in all we had great week but missed Caravan Club standards. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seton Sands Holiday Village ( Haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Longniddry      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6605 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement