Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Murmur Yr Afon Touring Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Dyffryn Ardudwy > Murmur Yr Afon Touring Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Murmur Yr Afon Touring Caravan & Camping Park
Murmur Yr Afon
Dyffryn Ardudwy
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL44 2BE
Tel: 01341 247353
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Benjeek 2 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site where the welcome is both genuine & warm. A small site, catering for about 30 ish caravans but many tents, the van pitches are hardstanding and level. No problems at all, well maintained & cut grass. The toilet block is small and with the exception of a small fan heater, not heated. Showers were adequate, 50p a token which still lasts about 5 minutes. Laundry & pot wash in the same block. Toilet disposal point on site. I would definitely recommend this site to couples wanting a quieter break, although if (BIG IF) the site gets full there may be a shortage of car parking spaces, but I'm sure something could be arranged. My TV signal was very poor, despite trying using a directional aerial and a finder I couldn't pick anything up. Hey Ho! I would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Swifters 2 reviews from this member

I confirm everything that has been said by everyone else so far, the only surprise for us was buying a shower token, we're fairly new to caravanning & found this a bit of a pain to think ahead as have 3 kids & often came in early evening.

We loved the drive upto the caravan area, very pretty, the pub next door has outstanding views of the coast. This had good kids menu as well as adults menu.

Welcome break from bbq food in the caravan! Fantastic beaches nearby too. Recommend doing the train trip from Harlech to Aberdovey. (£13 for family of 5!)

Owner very helpful, & pleasant. Would come back again if in Wales.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lancs Lass 6 reviews from this member

The first time we have camped and what a lovely, friendly site. I rang the day before we arrived to see if they had a pitch available and the owner was and very friendly and helpful.

He sorted us out a great pitch and we had the choice of where on the site we wanted. It was clean, level and beautifully kept. The toilets were spotless.

As we hadn`t been to the area before we asked the owner where to go and he gave us lots of information. He came round the site several times a day to make sure everyone was ok and had no problems.

The site is next door to a hotel which has a pub for a quick pint or a meal.

We have a dog and we were made welcome and enjoyed the meal. The village is five minutes walk away and has everything you need and all the shopkeepers were friendly and helpful.

A lovely beach is a few minutes drive from the site.

We will definitely be returning next year and this was our favourite site this year.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hilary sharp 1 review from this member

The site entrance is attractive and first impressions of the place of being well kept are bang on.

The Kiddies play area is a nice size and well used by the children.

The pitches are fairly level with well kept grass and a decent space between yourself and the next pitch. Electric hook up and water not far from any of them.

The facilities are about the best l have ever used when camping, in that they are very clean, well kept, you get enough hot water to use just one token when showering and everything works, a novelty in itself these days!

The fellow campers we met were very friendly and we felt settled in very quickly.

You can get everything you need from the local shops, pubs and cafes. Harlech has plenty of take aways and is close enough so your food is still hot when you get back.

The Hotel next door provides good food and very reasonably priced drinks, perfect at the end of a busy day lounging on the beach or site seeing.

The site is well situated for going visiting some of the loveliest beaches and ancient monuments in the UK.

Fortunately there is no 'on site entertainment' but is close enough to many places, so it's not a problem if you are looking to be entertained, but in my opinion a bonus, especially when you have young children with you.

I would definitely recommend this site to family and friends, and we are already looking forward to going again next summer.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cleagarr 9 reviews from this member

We had a lovely few days here.

When we arrived we were met by the very friendly owner who guided to our pitch and asked if we needed anything; over the course of the few days he drove or walked past the tent and enquired as to how we were. We saw him helping someone out with their awning.

The toilet/shower block was immaculate and we were encouraged to use the disabled shower/toilet to make it easier with our kids. There was only one washing up sink but we never had to queue to use it so this sufficed. There is a very small play area - not really worth the bother but useful for smaller kids.

The local area is great - with two shops in the village, one with an excellent butcher selling all kinds of meat, some prepared for the barbecue.

My only gripe is that you have to buy shower tokens - I think hot showers should be included in the price of the pitch (if only because juggling three kids and remembering tokens etc. Becomes a pain!). This, though, is a minor complaint.

Overall: very well pleased and we will be looking to visit this site again as soon as possible!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Michyp44 8 reviews from this member

We have visited this site on many occasions in our tent, and always been very impressed, but this was our first visit in our caravan.

Again it was another fabulous stay – we stayed for three nights in August.

The site is quite small, tranquil, very green and situated next to a stream. It is immaculately kept and very clean. This is a perfect site for couples and families.

There’s very little I can add that hasn’t already been said, other than that all of the caravan pitches are hard-standing, so take some strong pegs (and a mallet or hammer) that can cope with hard standing ground!

As everyone else has said the owner is very welcoming and friendly.

We will definitely return to this site in the near future.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campalots 16 reviews from this member

A lovely site, very clean facilities, 2 showers (tokens from reception|), 3 toilets and 4 sinks, hairdryer & Socket for straighteners (tokens from reception) laundry room with washer dryer etc and a covered washing up area. The site is not only really well maintained and very pretty but very well laid out with tent pitches near the entrance but also at the top of the site with hardstanding area's for tourers in the middle of the site. Flat pitches with hook up, we pitched in the top right field next to the stream and couldn't of wished for a better spot.

The owner really was one of the nicest we have come across whilst camping he gave us lots of local knowledge and toured the site to check everything was ok and was always happy to stop for a chat.

The pub next to the site was nice, food came in very big portions and although wasn't the best we have ever had was quite nice although quite on the expensive side for pub grub we felt. Only a five min drive from the beach which you can take dogs on on one side, lovely and clean. A great site for visiting both Harlech and Barmouth.

We honestly can't wait to return to this site we loved our stay here and at only £16 per night inc hook up was very good value and the glorious Welsh sunshine just made it an even better trip.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cwdprice 3 reviews from this member

This has been the best site I have ever stayed on in Wales. The park is very well kept and very clean

All the toilets and showers are cleaned at least 3 times a day and they are spotless

The owner is the most friendliest bloke that I know, he made us feel at home. The children loved him and he always had the time of day, stop and talk.

It is a very friendly family atmosphere but quiet with it. There is a lovely stream running through the site that the kids loved to play in.

The site is situated approx 5 mils from Barmouth and 5 miles from Harlich

There are several lovely beaches near by with a shop and a really good butchers only a 10 min walk away.

We will definitely be visiting Murmur Yr Afon again

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TonyBharathi 1 review from this member

We visited this camp site last Easter for a week and what a superb camp site it is! All the facilities are very clean - the best we've used so far. The owners are so friendly and always willing to help.

We managed to misplace our electric hook up cable and spend a whole day looking for it. Its always expensive if you buy something at the last minute! When we spoke to the site owner explaining the situation - he straight away offered a hook up cable to use! Problem Solved!

They have a token system for hot water which we thought was ok. Kids had lot of fun playing in the stream adjacent to the electric hook up pitches. We are taking our boys (4Year & 8Year) to walk up Mount Snowdon this weekend. As always this is a last minute plan. We really wish we get a pitch here. Fingers crossed!

We wish good luck to the owners!

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Memoryremains 4 reviews from this member

Lovely campsite. The owners are most hospitable. They couldn't do enough for us. One of our party was to meet us in the pub next to the site and the owner decided to give him a lift to the pub.

The facilities were clean and well maintained. The only downside to the facilities was you have to buy tokens for the showers from the owners at a cost of 40p. However one token gives you a good 5 minutes of water.

The site is divided into 3 parts, there's the entrance which has electric hookup for tents either side of the road, there's the caravan/motorhome area in the middle then there's the top 2 fields for tents.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dyffryn Ardudwy      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4812 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019