Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Murmur Yr Afon Touring Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Dyffryn Ardudwy > Murmur Yr Afon Touring Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Murmur Yr Afon Touring Caravan & Camping Park
Murmur Yr Afon
Dyffryn Ardudwy
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL44 2BE
Tel: 01341 247353
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kitbit 1 review from this member

Loved this camp site. You can either pitch along the path next to the babbling stream if you want EHU, or at the top in the 2 fields if you don't. All the pitches are flat and well kept, all with water nearby.

Toilet blocks are regularly cleaned, 2 tokens gives a really good shower. Washing up facilities are around the side of the toilet block, only minor criticism is that another sink would be useful as we often had to queue, but it's nit picking.

Nice and close to the beach without being exposed - the trees kept off the worst of the windy weather while tents on other open fields were being thrown about by the storms we had.

Nice kids play area at the bottom, 5 mins from the nearest pub (also with a play park) and 5 mins drive from a well stocked Spar. Bigger supermarkets and a camping supplies shop in Barmouth if needed.

The owner has a freezer and rents out ice blocks if you need them, a really good system that prevents crammed icy freezers and constant rummaging that lets the cold air out!

The owner was lovely and couldn't have been more helpful, we will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RachyHH 3 reviews from this member

Very friendly and helpful owners that make you feel really welcome.

The site is ideally situated for Harlech, Barmouth, Shell Island etc (we saw dolphins at Shell Island which was absolutely amazing!) Would also recommend a visit to Nantcol falls and Black Rock sands. It has an excellent pub next door and another pub, The Cadwgan Inn about 10 mins walk down the road, both do excellent food and the Victoria Inn a short drive away, towards Shell Island, has a very large outdoor covered area, should it be raining and you have a dog!

The site is immaculately kept, nestling beside a fast flowing stream tucked away from the road. The pitches are flat and you can choose where you pitch. We have a large tent and there was plenty of room here. Plenty of access to EHU and water. Nice little children's play area (we had no kids, but it looked nice!)

All of the beaches are stunning, dogs are accepted on one side of all beaches, all year round, they have half beaches for no dogs.

The shower/toilet facilities are cleaned very regularly. The showers accept tokens that last about 5 mins, but I put 2 tokens in together to get longer. There is also a hairdryer and electric point that accepts tokens.

Downside: No Orange phone signal, but I enjoyed that too!

I will be going back here as soon as I possibly can, absolutely loved it!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Arabella87 1 review from this member

As I am very new to motorhome driving & this was only the 2nd time I have attempted to 'hook up' my motorhome I was very nervous. This could not have been a better experience! We were met & directed to our pitch by the owner in his van who then helped me park up. Both he & his wife went out of their way to make us welcome.

It is a lovely quiet site, quite unspoiled by entertainment complexes & though the facilities were fine they could have done with a bit of updating.

I do have to agree with the reviewer who wasn't impressed by the shower tokens! That said, it was spotlessly clean & cared for.

It is on a bus route to Barmouth one way & Harlech the other or alternatively the train isn't far away & runs the whole coastal route to Portmadog.

We can't wait to go again!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mandysteve 7 reviews from this member

Arrived on site to be met by the owner who advised us which was the best pitch to get the evening sun, and then helped us on to our pitch, and even helped level the caravan and unhitched for us. I think if we had let him he would have put the kettle on as well. Very attentive friendly and welcoming.

The site is very well kept and in a very nice position with a stream running through which adds a nice sound of constant running bubbling water. Very relaxing. We spent 4 very relaxing nights with only the sound of the stream and the birds singing every morning.

Our only gripe and it is a small one given how perfect everything else is, was the shower and toilet block which was unheated, and the fact that shower tokens were 5 for £2, which is ok except that on putting your token into the meter you had to wait at least 30 - 40 seconds for the hot water to come through. It is then a mad rush to get showered before the token runs out, which isn't very long hence a few close shaves.

Also found the flooring in the showers was very slippery so be careful. We started to take a shower mat which did make it feel a bit safer. Despite my gripe I would recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We came across this when looking for a single night.

Owner very helpful and pleasant. Toilets / showers were clean and tidy - sitye wasn't overly busy but no queueing whilst we were there.

Site is kept well - grass cut, overall very tidy. We found it to be very quiet - mainly seasonal pitches on the top site and most of these weren't being used.

Only very slight downside was where we pitched most of the hardstandings were very close together with resulted in cars being parked on pitches or close to other owners vans.

Overall its a lovely site - very quiet, well kept and to be fair one the best aspects is the owner who was fabulous.

If in the area we would stay again

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisma1971 1 review from this member

Have just returned from spending 5 days on this campsite and have to say I found it very good.

We took our two children aged 8 & 12 and weather permitting had plenty to do in the area. You are only a short distance by car (or bike) from the beach and the local shop (Spar) is within a few minutes walking distance. We found the site is in an ideal location to venture into Barmouth or Harlech.

As for the site itself, upon arrival the owner helped us to our pitch and showed us around. When I realised my electric cable would not reach our caravan from the power outlet, the owner kindly offered to loan us one free of charge.

The facilities are fine, plenty of power outlets and water supplies on the pitches. The showers and toilets are adequate, you get a token for the shower for 40p and that lasts about 5 minutes. There is a small play area for children at the foot of the site.

The site is in very picturesque surroundings and is very peaceful. The owner rejects same sex groups so you don't get all night parties.

We shall be returning next year!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stevieag 13 reviews from this member

We found this site by accident

It has wonderful facilities, clean, tidy.

The owner greeted us on arriving and spoke for a good length of time without pressure to stay. Really nice chap and he keeps this site beautiful.

£15 per night for tent, dogs welcomed.

Pub next door and shops down the road. (championship winning sausages or as owner referred to them 'cock on')

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Klivex 2 reviews from this member

We liked this site so much, we returned again.

We first camped here last year with 2 tents and a tourer caravan. It was the location and charm of this site that attracted us, as it’s close to the excellent beach, a well stocked Grocers / Butcher and a couple of nice Hotels that do good evening meals. All within walking distance.

We were pleasantly surprised to find the site has a natural feel and not over developed. We pitched our Tents and hooked up the Tourer right next to the lightly flowing welsh mountain stream (which is nice to sleep by), all secluded by trees. The owner greeted us and we found him a helpful friendly chap who seemed to have a great pride in his site and kept it neat and tidy. He’s always on hand to ensure that everything is running smoothly and everyone is ok.
The toilets, showers and laundry room are adequate, centrally located and very clean. As are the pitching areas with some very attractive wooden sculptures of birds dotted around. There is also a good children's play area.

All in all we found this an excellent camp site and would recommend it to all fellow campers.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sir Rob 1 review from this member

Having had the pleasure of using this site for almost three years on a pretty regular basis, I thought it was about time to repay some of the courtesy shown to my wife and I by the owners of the site - hence this review.

There is no doubt that this well cared for establishment is located in an enviable and secluded spot in a pleasant small village that has as many facilities as most people will need when taking a 'break from the madding crowd'.

The clear mountain fed stream running alongside has the air of tranquillity that the site owners and majority of guests care so much about. This is a top retreat and should not be confused with, or compared to, those sites that cater for holidaymakers who prefer to enjoy themselves in a busier or more commercially based environment.

The facilities offered on site are perfectly adequate and are well maintained by the owners who clearly continue to invest in their business.

In brief summary, the site ticks all the right boxes for us and, we have found the owners to be accommodating, obliging, and importantly, respectful of guests privacy.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stuhub 3 reviews from this member

I don’t often feel compelled to write a site review as I feel the best way is to experience the site for yourself. However I have first hand experience of the site reviewed by Hippo as this is my regular choice of site and I couldn’t agree less with many of his comments.

The site is a real gem amongst some of the larger, more commercial sites in this area. I have stayed here in tents, folding caravan and touring van and have never had a problem reaching a hook up when needed. For those that prefer a more traditional approach (as I do on occasion) there is a field without hook up points.

The loos are adequate and well kept – I struggle to see how anybody could have a long walk to them, they are not close to the entrance and are sufficient for a small site. Whenever I have stayed I have been offered shower tokens by the owner on booking in. The site owner always escorts you to your pitch and is more than happy to back your van onto the pitch for you if you are struggling (can be a godsend after a long journey when nerves are frayed) for this reason, he is often around.

Security – it is not possible to get onto the site without coming past the main office, reception area. I tend to stay up pretty late when I am away and have often seen the owner doing a late night / early morning “sweep” of the site to ensure that all is ok.

I cant comment on the playground, although I know this is new. I have a dog and there is a decent dog run just off the top field.

Nearby pubs. Ael Y Bryn – turn right out of the site and you cannot miss it, real ales, decent Guinness and a cracking menu. I can thoroughly recommend sitting out front watching the sunset over the Lleyn Peninsula. Cadwgan – turn left out of the site and turn right at the sign to the beach, great beer garden for kids and a decent pint (especially Purple Moose – local brew) NB – dogs not allowed in the pub.

This is a fairly busy part of the Welsh coast so it is well served by shops – Dyffryn Ardudwy has a Spar with a butchers that you will struggle to beat. If you need more then Barmouth has a large Co-Op and Iceland.

All in all, this is a cracking little site – if it were to change it would become part of the,” all singing, all dancing, flashing neon light” sites of which there seems to be a plethora in this area. It is a smallish site and this is part of its charm. I’m by no means an old codger but I do like a degree of peace and quiet, this is a site that you can pretty much guarantee you will not be plagued by the dreaded Lads Weekend, as there are loads of other sites happy to accept them

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Dyffryn Ardudwy      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3833 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019